Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel

Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Such a great product
By Berna
on June 30, 2010
About the reviewer
By Berna
Location:Shelton, CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this gel! I put a small amount in my palm along with a bit of the smoothing balm. My hair came out so silky and smooth with great wave and shiny bounce!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good on all hair
By Kimmyrose
on April 9, 2010
About the reviewer
By Kimmyrose
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have curly hair, and this product tames my hair. the last gel i used made my hair curlier :( this was makes my hair mostly tamed but still alittle bit frizzy, but its impossible to get rid of ALL frizz. anyway, this is a good gel, it tames my hair, and it also works if you have wavy hair and wawnt to scrunch it. this is an overall good gel."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like a Dream!
By Jesusgurl
on January 20, 2010
About the reviewer
By Jesusgurl
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I am so glad I bought this product. This combined with the Advanced Technique balm is like a heavenly hair care duo. I was hesitant with this product at first because I've used gels in the past that just made my hair limp. However this is a very thick yet nice gel that keeps my hair in place and makes it feel smooth and easy to style. I no longer worry about fly aways of any kind with these two awesome products. My hair feels thick and bouncy and I won't be buying any other gels anytime soon. ;)"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Make it bigger!
By Anonymous
on December 5, 2009
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product is great the only problem is that it is small, i wish Avon make it bigger."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!
By pwake
on November 10, 2009
About the reviewer
By pwake
Location:Anthem, AZ
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"After using expensive salon brands for years I decided to try Advance Techniques. What an amazing line of products. I have short, spikey hair and the Shaping Gel gives me exactly the look I want without looking frizzy or out of control. Once again.thanks Avon!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Shaping Gel
By 3JDP
on October 19, 2009
About the reviewer
By 3JDP
Location:Hueytown AL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have been using AT Shaping Gel for 1 year now and I love it. I have staright hair and I use it to keep my curls in tack. I squeeze and go. Very little maintance - easy to style. It stays all day long."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT!
By 2ndChance
on September 14, 2009
About the reviewer
By 2ndChance
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"The Avon gel & mousee are great. They really hold with a limited amount of alcohol to dry your hair. I have never bought anything else since I found these!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product
By squeeze
on September 2, 2009
About the reviewer
By squeeze
Location:Taylorsville, North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have short hair and i love the Advance Techiques Shaping Gel. I wash my hair and i let it air dry and then i use the gel and it stays in place all day. My hair is straight and i have tried every product on the market but this is the only one that works for me.It is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works well with heat styles
By leelee123
on August 24, 2009
About the reviewer
By leelee123
Location:wv
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"i have very straight hair with a "fluffy" cut, so i use a large barrell iron , i add this to my hair after towel drying and then blow dry, n heat style, it always stays put and lifted...i really like it's performance, and my brother likes it for his "do"...lol"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just like the salon's
By 1LAA
on March 28, 2009
About the reviewer
By 1LAA
Location:South Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I've been using this for about 2 weeks. The scent reminded me of every hair salon I've been to. This worked really well during wet weather when my hair usually frizzes up. It really impressed me today after trying on clothes and walking outside in 15 mph winds. My hair didn't go limp/flat it looked great!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it!
By lam17
on November 17, 2008
About the reviewer
By lam17
Location:Albany NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have thick, curly hair...this gel keeps it in place without any frizz!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was ok
By tayder
on October 16, 2008
About the reviewer
By tayder
Location:Minnesota
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I used this product on my long hair and It really didn't work but last month I got my hair cut to sit on top of my shoulders and it worked! My hair stayed in place all day long. The only problem was that it was sticky and felt really gross on the skin. So i liked it but I would reccomend the Avanced Techniques hair spray over this. It does the same thing without the stickiness."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It !!!!
By KouchTater
on September 23, 2008
About the reviewer
By KouchTater
Location:Iowa
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used to have long hair, halfway down my back. I got it cut short about 18 months ago, and this is the first product I have tried that really works great with my short haircut. It keeps my hair in place without looking wet or being sticky. This is a great styling gel, and I would highly recommend it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great For MEN'S Hair Too
By kenolady
on June 25, 2008
About the reviewer
By kenolady
Location:SW Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"My husband uses this product everyday on his hair. It stays in place all day. No feminine smell, not sticky, works great! He says all guys should use this product. I love its great holding power."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gel
By Chickiemomma
on May 17, 2008
About the reviewer
By Chickiemomma
Location:Philomath, OR
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This is a great all-around gel for all types of hair. I have long, naturally curly hair and I use this gel every day to keep my curls in shape, and it also keeps the frizz to a minimum. It's fairly thick, but not heavy on the hair and doesn't weigh my hair down or make it feel like I glued it. I'd recommend this product!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Shaping Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hold
By Ouisie5
on April 9, 2008
About the reviewer
By Ouisie5
Location:Plymouth, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have been using this product for about 6 months now. It does not have a 'hair product' odor about it, provides just the right amount of hold and is a bit thicker so where you put it is where it stays. I have short hair and I have found that it holds well without making my hair stiff. It is also non-drying and isn't sticky."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful