Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
37 of 42(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Makes my hair feel dirty
By JBR2010
on May 1, 2011
About the reviewer
By JBR2010
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The reviews make this product seem amazing but I don't care for it. When I get out of the shower my hair is not soft and feels like it has a layer of scum on it. And there's no added volume that I can tell because my hair feels like scum coated straw."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this product
By Cangel76
on July 15, 2010
About the reviewer
By Cangel76
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love the smell, my hair feels clean and it isn't oily the next day. I would recommend. My hair appears a little fuller but I don't do anything with my hair so not expecting a HUGE WOW factor with out taking time to blow dry it and style."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hair Products
By cswh
on March 13, 2010
About the reviewer
By cswh
Location:Sioux City, IA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have looked for years for hair products..tried some professional, lots of store brands. Tried Avon's just for the fun of it. So glad I did...they are the best I've ever used...the scent is awesome. Also bought the color protecting, and sleek and smooth sham/cond. for my teen and younger daughters. Avon is now their favorite, too! Friend I work with now buys Avon shampoo, too, and loves it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, especially with conditioner..
By Sukiezwz
on February 25, 2010
About the reviewer
By Sukiezwz
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have long, permed hair that is still fairly fine textured. I use this shampoo with the body building condtioner from Avon and it works wonderfully. In my opinion it's just as good, if not better, than other high-end shampoos I've tried. My hair ends up full of body without feeling weighed down or too dry. LOVE IT!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shampoo
By jkgleason
on February 20, 2010
About the reviewer
By jkgleason
Location:Society Hill, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This shampoo is great, I use it with the conditioner as well. It has a wonderful scent and works well!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
practically styles your hair for you
By JennyR
on February 12, 2010
About the reviewer
By JennyR
Location:Alexandria, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I got this product for my mother who is older and has physical difficulty bathing more than twice a week. She is philosophically opposed to "putting grease back in her hair" with conditioner despite having a lot of fly-aways. To make matters worse, she has extremely oily, straight hair that is kept in a chin-length under-cut, but because she won't use a round brush with her hair dryer, her hair is alternately flipped out, hung straight, or kinked under depending on the mood of a section of hair. By day three or four people looked at me when we went out as if to say, "You have good hair. Why can't you help your mother?" This product worked a small miracle for my mother.
Without any conditioner and no tools but a comb and hair dryer, my mother walked out of the bathroom like she just walked out of the hair dresser. She swears she did nothing different but use the shampoo.Her hair had body and automatically curled under uniformly. The fly-away hairs were minimal, and her hair looked cleaner than usual. We are just now coming to her second bath of the week, and while it is no longer perfect, it looks like day two on her other anti-greasy shampoo.
I have been using a salon-brand volumizing shampoo and conditioner, but now I am ordering my own bottles of Advanced Techniques because it seems at least as good if not better, but it is a lot less expensive.
"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shampoo
By Adel
on February 12, 2010
About the reviewer
By Adel
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"It's one of my best shampoos ever, I really love it."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A disappointment...
By avonlover81
on January 11, 2010
About the reviewer
By avonlover81
Location:Kansas
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have to be honest-this is the first product from Avon I was really let down by. I have very fine/thin hair so after reading all the great reviews I thought this would be perfect for me. It left my hair looking very weighed down. It didn't look clean, it had the look and feel of greasy/unwashed hair. My hair was extremely unmanageable. I used this product for a week so I could say I gave it a fair shot, but after a week I just couldn't take it another day. I have since switched my hair care routine to a department store brand and am much happier then I was when using this."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm glad I purchased this
By JLPM
on December 3, 2009
About the reviewer
By JLPM
Location:Pa.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I have fine hair and this shampoo and conditioner made my hair shiny and bouncy! It has a light scent but the scent smells good.
I would recommend for people who want bouncy, soft and shiny hair."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
By 2ndChance
on September 14, 2009
About the reviewer
By 2ndChance
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This really works. I wish Avon promoted their hair care line more. Now it is kind of a secret club. Try it! The price is always less than store-bought shampoos. Honestly the only negative thing I can say is that the bottle is slippery when wet and the plastic cap snaps off very easily."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for my oily hair
By LuvnLife
on September 14, 2009
About the reviewer
By LuvnLife
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have tried various brands of shampoo, all at different price points (drugstore brand to high end salon brands). This shampoo is one of the best for my oily, limp hair. I personally like the scent--it is rather strong in the shower but dries on my hair to a milder scent."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!
By MissCozy
on September 13, 2009
About the reviewer
By MissCozy
Location:Georgia
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have used TONS of different shampoos to give my hair volume. I have used the expensive salon products and the best "drug store" brands. Some have worked very well BUT when I started using Avon Advance Techniques products I knew I had found the very best. My hair has a fine texture. It has NO body and goes flat very easily. This shampoo and the accompanying conditioner gave my hair great body and shine. I am in love!!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of a salon product
By countrylady
on August 12, 2009
About the reviewer
By countrylady
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am very impressed with how the shampoo smells and feels while I am washing my hair...reminds me of the salon products used at the salon! Very luxurious. I have fairly fine hair and love to use volume/body building products, but I don't think this one works as well as some of the other name brands I have been using. I haven't tried using the conditioner with it as I prefer to use a leave-in conditioner to keep from weighing down my hair. PLUS, normally I can get by with washing my hair eery 2-3 days, but I have noticed that my hair is already feeling a bit grungy after about 36 hours. But I will keep using it...maybe wash my hair more often and try the conditioner with it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makes hair bouncy
By LucyAndMe
on July 26, 2009
About the reviewer
By LucyAndMe
Location:Boston, MA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo makes my hair bouncy with great body. I love that it rinses clean easily and smooths the hair.
The conditioner doesn't weigh the hair down either. Good Stuff !!
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite!
By Kizzer31
on July 20, 2009
About the reviewer
By Kizzer31
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use this Shampoo and conditioner. My hair is so light and shiny but not in a gross oily hair type of shiny! The smell is fabulous, it's kinda a spiced orange smell. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. I recommend it to my family and friends and have even given it as a gift!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice scent
By babycakes4ever
on May 24, 2009
About the reviewer
By babycakes4ever
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I like the scent of this shampoo and it cleans nicely and lathers well; but I don't feel like it made any difference in fullness or thickness to my hair. Also, my hair felt kinda dry after using this; and I use the matching conditioner and my hair still felt rather dry."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hello Model Hair!!!
By CarolinaGirl5377
on May 19, 2009
About the reviewer
By CarolinaGirl5377
Location:Lexington, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I just love this product! it makes my straight as a boad hair come alive. I love the volume, body, and moisure. Its like having Model Hair! Thanks Avon!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just ok.
By mandyc1108
on April 20, 2009
About the reviewer
By mandyc1108
Location:Oklahoma
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought this on sale just to give it a try. It really did not impress me at all. It did not do anything for my hair (except "clean" it of course). I also did not care for the smell. It was not bad, just had an underlying chemical smell to it. It was ok to try, but I will not be buying it again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By RENEE02
on April 9, 2009
About the reviewer
By RENEE02
Location:WI
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I USED TO USE THIS YEARS AGO AND STOPPED BUYING IT FOR SOME REASON I HAVE NO CLUE WHY AND WHEN I USED IT AGAIN AFTER 5 YEARS I REGRETTED IT. MY HAIR SMELLS SO GOOD AND I CAN FINALLY BRUSH THROUGH IT. I HAVE VERY THICK LONG HAIR AND HAVE A VERY HARD TIME GETTING A BRUSH THROUGH IT AND THIS AND THE CONDITIONER HELPS SO MUCH. WISH I NEVER STOPPED USING IT."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!
By Tang35
on April 1, 2009
About the reviewer
By Tang35
Location:Archdale, NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use both the shampoo and conditioner and love it. It has a wonderful fragrance without being over bearing. It leaves my hair clean and full of body. I do also use the volumizing mouse and love it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>