Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop shampoo & conditioner or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
37 of 42(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JBR2010
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Makes my hair feel dirty
Date:May 1, 2011
"The reviews make this product seem amazing but I don't care for it. When I get out of the shower my hair is not soft and feels like it has a layer of scum on it. And there's no added volume that I can tell because my hair feels like scum coated straw."
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cangel76
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
I really like this product
Date:July 15, 2010
"I love the smell, my hair feels clean and it isn't oily the next day. I would recommend. My hair appears a little fuller but I don't do anything with my hair so not expecting a HUGE WOW factor with out taking time to blow dry it and style."
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cswh
Location:Sioux City, IA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best Hair Products
Date:March 13, 2010
"I have looked for years for hair products..tried some professional, lots of store brands. Tried Avon's just for the fun of it. So glad I did...they are the best I've ever used...the scent is awesome. Also bought the color protecting, and sleek and smooth sham/cond. for my teen and younger daughters. Avon is now their favorite, too! Friend I work with now buys Avon shampoo, too, and loves it!"
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sukiezwz
Location:Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great, especially with conditioner..
Date:February 25, 2010
"I have long, permed hair that is still fairly fine textured. I use this shampoo with the body building condtioner from Avon and it works wonderfully. In my opinion it's just as good, if not better, than other high-end shampoos I've tried. My hair ends up full of body without feeling weighed down or too dry. LOVE IT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkgleason
Location:Society Hill, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Great Shampoo
Date:February 20, 2010
"This shampoo is great, I use it with the conditioner as well. It has a wonderful scent and works well!"
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennyR
Location:Alexandria, VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
practically styles your hair for you
Date:February 12, 2010
"I got this product for my mother who is older and has physical difficulty bathing more than twice a week. She is philosophically opposed to "putting grease back in her hair" with conditioner despite having a lot of fly-aways. To make matters worse, she has extremely oily, straight hair that is kept in a chin-length under-cut, but because she won't use a round brush with her hair dryer, her hair is alternately flipped out, hung straight, or kinked under depending on the mood of a section of hair. By day three or four people looked at me when we went out as if to say, "You have good hair. Why can't you help your mother?" This product worked a small miracle for my mother.
Without any conditioner and no tools but a comb and hair dryer, my mother walked out of the bathroom like she just walked out of the hair dresser. She swears she did nothing different but use the shampoo.Her hair had body and automatically curled under uniformly. The fly-away hairs were minimal, and her hair looked cleaner than usual. We are just now coming to her second bath of the week, and while it is no longer perfect, it looks like day two on her other anti-greasy shampoo.
I have been using a salon-brand volumizing shampoo and conditioner, but now I am ordering my own bottles of Advanced Techniques because it seems at least as good if not better, but it is a lot less expensive.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adel
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Best Shampoo
Date:February 12, 2010
"It's one of my best shampoos ever, I really love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
avonlover81
Location:Kansas
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
A disappointment...
Date:January 11, 2010
"I have to be honest-this is the first product from Avon I was really let down by. I have very fine/thin hair so after reading all the great reviews I thought this would be perfect for me. It left my hair looking very weighed down. It didn't look clean, it had the look and feel of greasy/unwashed hair. My hair was extremely unmanageable. I used this product for a week so I could say I gave it a fair shot, but after a week I just couldn't take it another day. I have since switched my hair care routine to a department store brand and am much happier then I was when using this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLPM
Location:Pa.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
I'm glad I purchased this
Date:December 3, 2009
"I have fine hair and this shampoo and conditioner made my hair shiny and bouncy! It has a light scent but the scent smells good.
I would recommend for people who want bouncy, soft and shiny hair."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2ndChance
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Excellent product
Date:September 14, 2009
"This really works. I wish Avon promoted their hair care line more. Now it is kind of a secret club. Try it! The price is always less than store-bought shampoos. Honestly the only negative thing I can say is that the bottle is slippery when wet and the plastic cap snaps off very easily."
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvnLife
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Great for my oily hair
Date:September 14, 2009
"I have tried various brands of shampoo, all at different price points (drugstore brand to high end salon brands). This shampoo is one of the best for my oily, limp hair. I personally like the scent--it is rather strong in the shower but dries on my hair to a milder scent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissCozy
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
WOW!
Date:September 13, 2009
"I have used TONS of different shampoos to give my hair volume. I have used the expensive salon products and the best "drug store" brands. Some have worked very well BUT when I started using Avon Advance Techniques products I knew I had found the very best. My hair has a fine texture. It has NO body and goes flat very easily. This shampoo and the accompanying conditioner gave my hair great body and shine. I am in love!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
countrylady
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Quality of a salon product
Date:August 12, 2009
"I am very impressed with how the shampoo smells and feels while I am washing my hair...reminds me of the salon products used at the salon! Very luxurious. I have fairly fine hair and love to use volume/body building products, but I don't think this one works as well as some of the other name brands I have been using. I haven't tried using the conditioner with it as I prefer to use a leave-in conditioner to keep from weighing down my hair. PLUS, normally I can get by with washing my hair eery 2-3 days, but I have noticed that my hair is already feeling a bit grungy after about 36 hours. But I will keep using it...maybe wash my hair more often and try the conditioner with it."
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LucyAndMe
Location:Boston, MA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
makes hair bouncy
Date:July 26, 2009
"ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo makes my hair bouncy with great body. I love that it rinses clean easily and smooths the hair.
The conditioner doesn't weigh the hair down either. Good Stuff !!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kizzer31
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Favorite!
Date:July 20, 2009
"I use this Shampoo and conditioner. My hair is so light and shiny but not in a gross oily hair type of shiny! The smell is fabulous, it's kinda a spiced orange smell. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. I recommend it to my family and friends and have even given it as a gift!"
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
babycakes4ever
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Nice scent
Date:May 24, 2009
"I like the scent of this shampoo and it cleans nicely and lathers well; but I don't feel like it made any difference in fullness or thickness to my hair. Also, my hair felt kinda dry after using this; and I use the matching conditioner and my hair still felt rather dry."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarolinaGirl5377
Location:Lexington, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Hello Model Hair!!!
Date:May 19, 2009
"I just love this product! it makes my straight as a boad hair come alive. I love the volume, body, and moisure. Its like having Model Hair! Thanks Avon!"
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mandyc1108
Location:Oklahoma
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Just ok.
Date:April 20, 2009
"I bought this on sale just to give it a try. It really did not impress me at all. It did not do anything for my hair (except "clean" it of course). I also did not care for the smell. It was not bad, just had an underlying chemical smell to it. It was ok to try, but I will not be buying it again."
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RENEE02
Location:WI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Date:April 9, 2009
"I USED TO USE THIS YEARS AGO AND STOPPED BUYING IT FOR SOME REASON I HAVE NO CLUE WHY AND WHEN I USED IT AGAIN AFTER 5 YEARS I REGRETTED IT. MY HAIR SMELLS SO GOOD AND I CAN FINALLY BRUSH THROUGH IT. I HAVE VERY THICK LONG HAIR AND HAVE A VERY HARD TIME GETTING A BRUSH THROUGH IT AND THIS AND THE CONDITIONER HELPS SO MUCH. WISH I NEVER STOPPED USING IT."
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Body Building Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tang35
Location:Archdale, NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Product!
Date:April 1, 2009
"I use both the shampoo and conditioner and love it. It has a wonderful fragrance without being over bearing. It leaves my hair clean and full of body. I do also use the volumizing mouse and love it!"