Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm

Overall rating:
4.768 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
103 of 108(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sad to see it go
By mp3501
on December 9, 2010
About the reviewer
By mp3501
Location:St Louis, MO
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this product and so does my daughter! It is the only thing I found that works well for both of our types of hair and does it well!!! I am very sad to see it go and hope that maybe Avon will decide to bring it back!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Product
By Higgie
on December 9, 2010
About the reviewer
By Higgie
Location:Street, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the best product on the market for smoothing thick curly hair. It leaves my hair with a soft, beautiful shine. Please don't discontinue!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really good stuff!
By meghan29
on December 5, 2010
About the reviewer
By meghan29
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have uber curly hair, and although other products make the curls look great, this product also takes care of the frizz that comes along with those curls. I'm SOOOOO sad you have decided to take this "off the maket". I didn't realize it was being d/c'd, and I didn't get to buy a couple tubes to last me... :( Please bring it back! Please?!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Works So Well
By ForestGirl
on December 4, 2010
About the reviewer
By ForestGirl
Location:Rocky Mountain West
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product does what it is claimed it will do. Maybe that is why Avon is discontinuing it. I don't know who makes the decisions up there in the Ivory Tower but they are racking up a good record of discontinuing products that work for me and many others."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Advance Tech. Super Straight Smoothing Balm
By bkstylist
on December 3, 2010
About the reviewer
By bkstylist
Location:Tulsa Ok
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been looking for this product.I did not know that Avon was no longer carring it. I am hair stylist and I have been using this on alot of my clients. The men like the way it makes their hair shine and it smoothes the frizzy ends. I have soft curly hair and it also helps my end from being dry and frizzy. It works on everyones HAIR."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE
By Dancingbear
on December 2, 2010
About the reviewer
By Dancingbear
Location:Seattle, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been using this product faithfully for the past 5 years or so. I have naturally curly hair, and this is the only product that takes away the frizz, and gives me beautiful, soft, manageable curls. I have recommended this product to some of my other curly haired friends, and they are also hooked. This is our one hair must have. This product is better than any of the other similiar salon products that I have tried. It would be a shame to discontinue such a good product, that has so many faithful followers. I have tried to new lotus products, and they don't even come close to this one!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please bring this back!!
By KKRD
on November 29, 2010
About the reviewer
By KKRD
Location:West Chester, PA
Age:45-54
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love that this product prevents frizz without greasiness, it has a great consistency, it's a super styling product, and helps control my curl. It's hands down the best product I've tried. PLEASE consider bringing it back!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST HAIR PRODUCT
By selenemoon
on November 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By selenemoon
Location:DYER, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT....IT IS THE BEST. PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Don't Discontinue
By BarbaraLgc
on November 21, 2010
About the reviewer
By BarbaraLgc
Age:35-44
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I absolutely love this product. I had ordered three tubes the first time I ordered it because of all of the wonderful reviews. I have recommended this product to so many people. I am devastated to find out that it is being discontinued :( I have naturally curly hair that is colored so it tends to get dry This has been amazing with my hair whether I let it dry naturally or blow dry it. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DON"T DISCONTINUE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It really performs!
By Dessa
on November 17, 2010
About the reviewer
By Dessa
Location:Charlton, MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It's so true, LOVE this product, as someone who has tried them all for frizzy hair this really works without making it greasy or flat; it smells great and feels amazing after blow-drying. I have thick, coarse and wavy hair and this product makes it smooth, manageable and silky too. Just started using it and want to make sure I can get some more. If it ain't broke , please don't fix it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MAKES MY CURLS AND WAVES SO MANAGEABLE!
By BekC
on September 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By BekC
Location:Texas
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I LOVE THIS PRODUCT....PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE IT. I USE IT EACH MORNING WHEN I GO AUNATURAL WITH MY CURLS AND WAVES AND I USE IT WHEN I FLAT IRON MY HAIR...KEEPS THE BRASH HARSHNESS OF THE FRIZ FROM AROUND MY FACE! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO THOSE WITH ANY FRIZZ ISSUES!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Shoelady
on September 22, 2010
About the reviewer
By Shoelady
Location:MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Love it --- it is the only product that keeps my hair from becoming frizzy when I let it air dry and it smells wonderful. It helps my curls stay in place and my hair is so shiny and soft. Please, please DO NOT discontinue this product. I've recommended it to so many friends."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!!!
By Memel
on September 19, 2010
About the reviewer
By Memel
Location:San Juan, PR
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Eventhough this product is designed to help smooth hair, I use it when I wash my hair and let it air dry. I can't beleive they are going to discontinue this product...please reconsider."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hair Care product
By JennBe
on September 17, 2010
About the reviewer
By JennBe
Location:New York
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Truly love this product. The best I have ever used!!! My hair is silky soft and smells wonderful. Please do not delete this product!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hair Product EVER
By thetraci
on September 16, 2010
About the reviewer
By thetraci
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have naturally thick and wavy hair that has a tendency to get frizzy really easily, and I've tried TONS of different hair products, but all of them (even the ones I've liked), have left my hair feeling limp and greasy. This product doesn't! It keeps my hair smooth and straight without leaving a greasy feeling at all. My hair is super managable without having to wash and style it every single day! I definitely recommend this product & hope they don't really take it away!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hair Straightener Ever!
By kylgft
on September 14, 2010
About the reviewer
By kylgft
Location:GA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Pls dont stop making this product! This is the only straightener that will work on me and my daughter's coarse and wavy hair. It's way better than the new Lotus Shield!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG!! Best stuff ever1
By sunshinejen76
on September 13, 2010
About the reviewer
By sunshinejen76
Location:Bluff City, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I absolutely love this product. I straighten my hair 5to 6 times a week with a flat iron. Makes it so manageable! Leaves my hair, so smooth and shiny. Love, love, love it!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!!!!
By orrelse08
on July 29, 2010
About the reviewer
By orrelse08
Age:16-24
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I absolutely love this product! It didn't do anything amazing to my hair after blow drying, but it did shorten the drying time. The wonderful thing about this product is that it makes hair more manageable. After straightening my hair with a flat iron, my hair was left smooth, shiny, and silky soft. After a few hours my hair tends to get a little frizzy, but not with this smoothing balm! It stays smooth well into the next day. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for something to make their hair softer and more manageable. I will definitely be buying more soon!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
its alright
By Brit7588
on July 21, 2010
About the reviewer
By Brit7588
Location:Columbus, GA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"my hair is wavy but it really didn't do anything, i was hoping for it to be soft and condition like it described but all it did to my hair was make it like hair gel. not shiny at all. i gave it a 2 cause i could still use it as hair gel"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Super Straight Smoothing Balm
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love This Product
By yalesgirl
on July 4, 2010
About the reviewer
By yalesgirl
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This is a wonderful product for curly hair. I have very curly hair and have tried many different products in an attempt to have a straight look. This project is by far the best I have ever used. My hair is smooth and even holds up in the humidity."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>