Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop insect repellents or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray

Strong and dependable repellency against mosquitoes, deer ticks, gnats, no-seeums, sand flies and biting midges. DEET-free . 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
60 of 67(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Review 1 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gardgirl32
Location:Atlanta GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
incomplete order
Date:September 21, 2013
"I didn't get a pump spray attachment with this order, so it was almost impossible to apply. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing, but I just got the tube body, and wasn't easy to figure out from the website which of many variations to order. It could be the product I got was a replacment tube? Call me confused and not too happy with this purchase!!"
Review 2 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shino7
Location:Bend, OR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Helps with mosquito bites
Date:August 20, 2013
"This product is easy to apply, and has been effective against mosquitoes."
Review 3 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danl
Location:Iowa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Good stuff
Date:August 15, 2013
"I like it! This stuff is awesome and it works great. I purchased both the pump and the spray. I seem to like the spray more but only because it is easier to apply to those gard to gt at places then a pump. I highly recommend and have..."
Review 4 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldladywortham
Location:Dallas, Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
This works
Date:August 5, 2013
"Texas heat and bugs could carry you away. No bites with Skin so Soft. I have given it to grandchildren and great-grandchildren.
West Nile Virus is no fun."
Review 5 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blueyze2
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
A "staple" in our home
Date:July 22, 2013
"SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray is always needed since we live in a heavily wooded area (forest). Our climate is mild and often rainy, we get lots of nuisance insects so this product is used almost daily. We have tried a lot of products but this and the deep woods version by Avon keep us from getting bit. We buy the one with sun screen when gardening. I don't use DEET products, so this is the best we found to prevent bites when outdoors."
Review 6 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DAS6
Location:Indiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
An excellent purchase
Date:July 21, 2013
"My mother recommended this product for use outside when playing games and just being outside. We used it on the grandchildren and one of them made the comment: "MM, it smells good." You know you have a good product when even the kids make comments like that."
Review 7 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Eatenalivebybugs
Location:Bentonville, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
The spray is not enough
Date:July 18, 2013
"I thought it would be convenient to use the spray to reach my whole body surfaces where the bugs bite, but the mist makes me cough and the spray is too weak to stop the bugs. I love the lotion more. It really protects me to the point that I can spend a whole day in my garden/yard and come home without a bite!"
Review 8 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bellows8084
Location:Waimanalo, HI
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Great Product
Date:June 25, 2013
"Now that it's summer, there is a lot of mosquitoes. This product will keep the mosquitoes away. Wonderful product."
Review 9 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gtoblade
Location:FLorida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Old Beer spray
Date:April 17, 2013
"Seems to work fine, if you can get past the smell, smells like the day after at a beer party. Old stale beer. Not the best aroma to walk around with."
Review 10 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nina217
It wotks!
Date:January 30, 2013
"I recently went on a trip to the Philippines and was told this was the only bug spray that works there. I purchased this thinking that it would be greasy on my skin but I was pleasantly surprised! I came back to the US with zero mosquito bites!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SNDC
Location:Northern Virginia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love the product, hate the packaging
Date:January 29, 2013
"This product smells good and keeps the bugs at bay. I actually watch mosquitos hover over my skin and decide they don't like me once they get close to this product. (Except for where I've missed applying it and then they bite me--remember those ears and hands!)
My only complaint is that the spray bottle leaks (a lot) and must remain upright at all times. I wish they'd make it more airtight so that it's easier to take places/leave in my bag. But if I really need insect repellent on-the-go, I reach for the wipes, which I also recommend."
Review 12 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rruby
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Date:October 14, 2012
"This really works and the best part is that it doesn't feel like you have bug spray on. I just wish it didn't have a fragrance.
It's not offensive, it just smells like perfume.
"
Review 13 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BJJB
Location:Denver, Colorado
Fantastic !
Date:September 16, 2012
"This is the best product that works for me and my family. I am the mosquito magnet...but with this product, they don't even try to bite me. This is so good. It's been the best insect repellent to bring on a Belize trip as well. Now, with the West Nile virus spreading in the States...I would highly recommend this product to all who wants to be protected against insects bites. It also smells good."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NeeNeeDolls
Location:Northeast Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best product ever!
Date:September 13, 2012
"This product works really well. I am very satisfied with it.
It has a nice scent and feels great on the skin. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lori1234
Location:Monterey, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Worked Well
Date:September 13, 2012
"I used the Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin on a camping trip and had no problems with bugs or mosquitoes. It didn't seem to do anything to repel the yellowjackets but I didn't expect it to and it's not advertised to do anything for them. On our camping trip last year to the same area I was eaten alive by the mosquitoes. I gave it 4 stars because I did notice a weird taste when I sprayed it on my neck - I guess some got on my lip and I'm not a huge fan of eating bug spray...it's a necessary evil though and I'm so glad not to have mosquito bites to deal with!"
Review 16 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EAGrammy
The best mosquito protection!
Date:September 11, 2012
"Just bought 10 bottles for 7 people for our upcoming trip to Jamaica. Will spray down upon arrival at the airport and continue until we're back in AZ. This product will allow us to have a wonderful, bite free trip!"
Review 17 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Tampa, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
What a great alternative
Date:September 7, 2012
"What a great alternative to chemically smelling bug sprays. Live in Florida and it is a must have!"
Review 18 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleodogfan
Location:Montclair, NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Smells good works too!
Date:September 5, 2012
"Worked very well when applied throughly, unfortunately it's no safer than OFF, but at at least it smells good."
Review 19 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MzNora
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
It works!
Date:September 2, 2012
"No more bug bites with this spray. We have used it all summer whenever at the park or just the backyard and garden. I like sunset walks but did not like how the bugs are out at that time. With this spray I could enjoy my early evening walks. Everyone likes that it does nor smell like the other bug repellents. I have an extra bottle in the car so it is always available."
Review 20 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arlingtonmom
Age:35-44
Great solution
Date:August 22, 2012
"After trying every "natural" bug spray out there for my kids, I finally decided we needed something stronger. I was afraid of DEET, so went the Picardin route. I am pretty pleased. It is not sticky or smelly. The scent is nice, although I prefer to spray it on outside since it lingers inside. It may actually be a little drying to the skin, but I usually put it on over sunscreen so its not bad. Since its hard to carry the pump around in my purse, I like to buy the wipes too. Will use this again. I have recommended this to others as well."