Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray

Strong and dependable repellency against mosquitoes, deer ticks, gnats, no-seeums, sand flies and biting midges. DEET-free . 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
64 of 71(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Review 1 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only thing my Dad will use now
By Kristin1776
on August 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By Kristin1776
Location:Dallas, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
"We live in Texas, so mosquitos will swarm you when your outside and eat you alive. I have tried every known brand, yes some work (but have DEET) or smell obnoxious and sickening- and you just want to shower it off! When over at my dads he mentioned Avon SSS bug spray he used at a friends and how it smelled great (he hates almost every smell out there.)
I ended up purchasing a few bottles for him to have, yet once I opened one and used it at his house I ended up keeping a bottle! Smells like a body spray/suntan lotion and isn't sticky or sickening.
Will be using this when outside from now on instead of store brands! Love it!
"
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
incomplete order
By gardgirl32
on September 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By gardgirl32
Location:Atlanta GA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I didn't get a pump spray attachment with this order, so it was almost impossible to apply. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing, but I just got the tube body, and wasn't easy to figure out from the website which of many variations to order. It could be the product I got was a replacment tube? Call me confused and not too happy with this purchase!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Helps with mosquito bites
By Shino7
on August 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By Shino7
Location:Bend, OR
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"This product is easy to apply, and has been effective against mosquitoes."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff
By Danl
on August 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By Danl
Location:Iowa
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I like it! This stuff is awesome and it works great. I purchased both the pump and the spray. I seem to like the spray more but only because it is easier to apply to those gard to gt at places then a pump. I highly recommend and have..."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This works
By oldladywortham
on August 5, 2013
About the reviewer
By oldladywortham
Location:Dallas, Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Texas heat and bugs could carry you away. No bites with Skin so Soft. I have given it to grandchildren and great-grandchildren.
West Nile Virus is no fun."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A "staple" in our home
By Blueyze2
on July 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By Blueyze2
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray is always needed since we live in a heavily wooded area (forest). Our climate is mild and often rainy, we get lots of nuisance insects so this product is used almost daily. We have tried a lot of products but this and the deep woods version by Avon keep us from getting bit. We buy the one with sun screen when gardening. I don't use DEET products, so this is the best we found to prevent bites when outdoors."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent purchase
By DAS6
on July 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By DAS6
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"My mother recommended this product for use outside when playing games and just being outside. We used it on the grandchildren and one of them made the comment: "MM, it smells good." You know you have a good product when even the kids make comments like that."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The spray is not enough
By Eatenalivebybugs
on July 18, 2013
About the reviewer
By Eatenalivebybugs
Location:Bentonville, AR
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I thought it would be convenient to use the spray to reach my whole body surfaces where the bugs bite, but the mist makes me cough and the spray is too weak to stop the bugs. I love the lotion more. It really protects me to the point that I can spend a whole day in my garden/yard and come home without a bite!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
By bellows8084
on June 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By bellows8084
Location:Waimanalo, HI
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Now that it's summer, there is a lot of mosquitoes. This product will keep the mosquitoes away. Wonderful product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Old Beer spray
By Gtoblade
on April 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By Gtoblade
Location:FLorida
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Seems to work fine, if you can get past the smell, smells like the day after at a beer party. Old stale beer. Not the best aroma to walk around with."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It wotks!
By Nina217
on January 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By Nina217
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I recently went on a trip to the Philippines and was told this was the only bug spray that works there. I purchased this thinking that it would be greasy on my skin but I was pleasantly surprised! I came back to the US with zero mosquito bites!"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the product, hate the packaging
By SNDC
on January 29, 2013
About the reviewer
By SNDC
Location:Northern Virginia
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product smells good and keeps the bugs at bay. I actually watch mosquitos hover over my skin and decide they don't like me once they get close to this product. (Except for where I've missed applying it and then they bite me--remember those ears and hands!)
My only complaint is that the spray bottle leaks (a lot) and must remain upright at all times. I wish they'd make it more airtight so that it's easier to take places/leave in my bag. But if I really need insect repellent on-the-go, I reach for the wipes, which I also recommend."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
By rruby
on October 14, 2012
About the reviewer
By rruby
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This really works and the best part is that it doesn't feel like you have bug spray on. I just wish it didn't have a fragrance.
It's not offensive, it just smells like perfume.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic !
By BJJB
on September 16, 2012
About the reviewer
By BJJB
Location:Denver, Colorado
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This is the best product that works for me and my family. I am the mosquito magnet...but with this product, they don't even try to bite me. This is so good. It's been the best insect repellent to bring on a Belize trip as well. Now, with the West Nile virus spreading in the States...I would highly recommend this product to all who wants to be protected against insects bites. It also smells good."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best product ever!
By NeeNeeDolls
on September 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By NeeNeeDolls
Location:Northeast Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This product works really well. I am very satisfied with it.
It has a nice scent and feels great on the skin. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worked Well
By Lori1234
on September 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By Lori1234
Location:Monterey, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I used the Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin on a camping trip and had no problems with bugs or mosquitoes. It didn't seem to do anything to repel the yellowjackets but I didn't expect it to and it's not advertised to do anything for them. On our camping trip last year to the same area I was eaten alive by the mosquitoes. I gave it 4 stars because I did notice a weird taste when I sprayed it on my neck - I guess some got on my lip and I'm not a huge fan of eating bug spray...it's a necessary evil though and I'm so glad not to have mosquito bites to deal with!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best mosquito protection!
By EAGrammy
on September 11, 2012
About the reviewer
By EAGrammy
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Just bought 10 bottles for 7 people for our upcoming trip to Jamaica. Will spray down upon arrival at the airport and continue until we're back in AZ. This product will allow us to have a wonderful, bite free trip!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great alternative
By Anonymous
on September 7, 2012
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:Tampa, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"What a great alternative to chemically smelling bug sprays. Live in Florida and it is a must have!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smells good works too!
By Cleodogfan
on September 5, 2012
About the reviewer
By Cleodogfan
Location:Montclair, NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Worked very well when applied throughly, unfortunately it's no safer than OFF, but at at least it smells good."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Pump Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works!
By MzNora
on September 2, 2012
About the reviewer
By MzNora
Location:California
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"No more bug bites with this spray. We have used it all summer whenever at the park or just the backyard and garden. I like sunset walks but did not like how the bugs are out at that time. With this spray I could enjoy my early evening walks. Everyone likes that it does nor smell like the other bug repellents. I have an extra bottle in the car so it is always available."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 next>>