Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
face or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder

Overall rating:
4.507 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
70 of 75(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Review 21 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yourmarkrep
Good, BUT...
Date:December 14, 2009
"The formula is great, not too cake-y or anything. I wanted to use it to help finish off my makeup look so my liquid makeup won't smear off right away. Unfortunately the shade I got was too dark.Made me look slightly tan and slightly orange.I might try the lightest shade next time. Overall, pretty good, but I was a little disappointed in the shade selections."
Review 22 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renae
Location:MT
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Awesome Powder
Date:December 7, 2010
"Does exactly what the name says! I normally need to use blotting sheets every single hour, but I don't need to touch up as often when I use this powder. It doesn't go on cakey, blends into the skin super well, and the buff/natural looks great on my fair but slightly tan skin. Keeps you matte while still looking natural- something I could never find both of!"
Review 23 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pollygore
Location:Ohio
mark purchase frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
I'm hooked and so is my friend
Date:August 25, 2008
"I love this Pressed powder I use the Sponge that it comes with it's sooo soft I wish it came with another one but whatever this is so great for shine cause it's not cakey what so ever it's smoothe and really gets rid of shine for hours I keep this in my pure with me since it's summmer never evver stop making this love it,it's really cute too
great job Mark.
"
Review 24 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arianne
Location:West Virginia
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Great Product!!
Date:July 3, 2009
"I just received this from my representative and couldn't wait to try it. OMG, I love it!! It is so lightweight and goes on very smooth. I ordered this in natural buff and face xpert in buff along with bronze pro powder. I put on all three and think it's the perfect match, not heavy at all. It feels like i don't even have makeup on!! Perfect for summer!!"
Review 25 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
youngmommy
Location:NC
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Wonderful!
Date:May 21, 2008
"Around my nose area ive always had a issue with shine, and oil blotting sheets never worked too good. But this product is heaven sent! I wear my normal face x pert mark foundation but I use this throughout the day to retouch my makeup and it looks great! Awesome purchase for those hot days where you dont want to wear too much makeup because of the heat."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RiniBee
Location:Springfield, OH
mark purchase frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
great powder!
Date:April 26, 2010
"I am fair skinned and first ordered this powder in natural buff. It is PERFECT for my summer make-up! And it definitely aided my efforts in looking great after spring break ;P I have an oily t-zone, so make sure you blot your face before putting this on or you'll get a browner t-zone than the rest of your face. I love this powder though and it lasts!"
Review 27 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dianakat
Location:Chicago, IL
I love it.
Date:July 13, 2009
"So I have oily skin, so I was happy with this product. I have used this with both a liquid and powder foundation, and it works real well to hid the shine and the oily look. It is real light and it is a must have! I got this in golden honey for my medium-dark tan skin. Will buy again.
I, however, use a kabuki or blush brush when I apply this."
Review 28 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chinkiibabi
Location:Boston, MA
Very Mattifying
Date:September 29, 2010
"This matte powder foundation is "Matte-nificent"! Not only that is made my skin less oily looking, but it also evened out my skin tone making my skin look super natural. Be careful not to drop it! I dropped it really hard on the floor and the foundation broke in half so I only have half of the side left. Otherwise, it's a great foundation!"
Review 29 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KMS0719
Location:Baltimore MD
mark purchase frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Skeptic but really like it
Date:June 30, 2008
"So I was skeptical about this when I first got the product, I thought that it was too dark for my skin. I am bi-racial and I have tried a ton of pressed powders. I love this for touch ups in the summer and also wear it on the weekends alone for a light fine coverage. I can't wait to try the foundation underneath this as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mamiita
Location:New Jersey
i chose the wrong shade
Date:August 28, 2009
"i picked a lighter shade since i use to use a different brand before and i always used to get a lighter shade to make it look more natural since the next shade made me looked tanned just on my face. thinking this was going to happen to me, i picked a lighter shade. :( BUT THEN AGAIN IT WAS THE PRODUCT'S FAULT BUT MINE"
Review 31 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skullie
mark purchase frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
This is fabulous powder!!!
Date:August 7, 2008
"I love this powder! It goes on very even, especially when you use a large powder brush. Doesn't look fake or cakey, and gets rid of the shine on my face.
I ordered Natural Buff, it's a tad too dark for me (I'm pale as a ghost!). Next time, I think I'll get the nude ivory. A great choice, and I am so glad I tried it!!!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flightattendant3
Location:nj
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
this is a nice powder...
Date:September 3, 2008
"i like this powder, i have light skin, not fair and i ordered the ivory... omg! it is almost white! only order ivory if you are extremely pale... light skin or light to medium should use the natural buff color... the color swatches shown are not accurate! other than that, it is a nice powder, i would buy it again!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
regan
Location:jax fl
Knocks out shine
Date:July 23, 2008
"I adore this stuff. It does just what it's supposed to-- knocks out the shine, without adding an opaque layer of chalky junk. I use Powder Buff powder foundation when I get ready to start my day, but for touch-ups throughout the day, I don't need to add more color-- so Mattenificent is my constant purse companion."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kristel
Location:Madison/Oregon, WI
Yep!
Date:November 2, 2010
"Love it! I combine this with the powder buff natural skin foundation. I apply each with the puffs included, and then smooth off any excess powder with a powder brush. I have a few pimples on my forehead lately, and they just disappear by the time I'm done...and that isn't using any concealer or cover up!"
Review 35 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location:Falls Church, Virginia
Love this translucent powder.
Date:April 11, 2009
"I have dry skin and was afraid of purchasing this product since it claims to " absorb oil", but it works great to set my foundation. It lightweight and I only have to use very little product to get the job done. I use a big fluffy powder brush, not the powder puff ,to prevent getting too much product on."
Review 36 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
missKL
Location:NY
great for sensitive skin
Date:January 14, 2009
"I only used this for a couple of times because I hate wearing any face makeup and powders especially aren't for me. However, my mother who has very sensitive skin took this from me and loves it. She's tried dozens of powders over the years and this is the only one that hasn't given her any breakouts."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hily
Location:the sunny CA
love it!
Date:September 7, 2008
"This powder is great! applied with a brush you get that flawless look. My skin is really oily so it did help control it some. I still have to do a few touch ups during the day, but this helps a lot. It doesn't appear cakey at all! I would definitely buy this product again! The price is great too! :)"
Review 38 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location:North Hollywood, CA
mark purchase frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great for people with oily skin or who sweat!
Date:October 26, 2009
"I have oily skin and this powder sure makes it seem otherwise! It blends in quite well with my skin tone and leaves my face feeling smooth and not chalky for several hours. I sometimes have to reapply on hot days, but for the most part I apply once and it leaves a very nice natural look!"
Review 39 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
smjohnson0524
Location:Suffolk, VA
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Buy a shade lighter!!!
Date:October 19, 2008
"While I do feel like it controls my oily skin pretty well, trying to judge the color is difficult. I actually needed a shade lighter than what I bought. I don't want it to go to waste, so I typically mix 2 different powders. I bought a lighter shade this time to see how it does."
Review 40 for mark Matte-nificent Oil-Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Teppie
Location:Lochbuie, CO
Too powdery
Date:March 13, 2009
"I did not have good luck with this product. It didn't cover like my old powder does. I had to use my other brand over this one to accheive the results I wanted. I love mark but was let down by this product. I already ordered the other powder and am hoping to like it better."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.