Avon Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver

Featuring Avon's own skin brightener as well as a botanical brightening blend and Vitamin E. It is a nourishing nighttime cream that gradually evens skin tone and helps to reduce the appearance of unwanted dark spots and discolorations. 2.5 fl. oz. TO USE: Every morning and evening, gently smooth over cleansed face.
Overall rating:
3.668 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 422 reviews
5 Stars
213
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
28
1 Star
90
294 of 414(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Review 1 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helps with embarrassing blemishes well
By: Marjory
on January 7, 2010
About the reviewer
By: Marjory
Location:Milford, NH
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+81points
81OUT OF 81people found this review helpful
" My teenage acne and young adult acne unfortunately left me unfortunate scarring and some discoloration in my face. I tried several over the counter scar treatments and each one was either sadly ineffective or was way out of my budget after a time. I gave this Banishing Cream a try and I was very pleased to find that first of all it was light and non-greasy feeling, it moisturized my face as well as I had hoped, and in just a few uses I began to see a significant change as the redness and appearance of the scarring began to fade! I'm very happy with my purcahse! "
+81points
81OUT OF 81people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please sell this forever. My favorite moisturizer.
By: mk242
on January 22, 2015
About the reviewer
By: mk242
Location:New Mexico
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I have pretty oily skin with tiny dry patches. I THINK this helps with discoloration, maybe? But it's the best moisturizer ever and I wear it every night all over my face. I have no idea why something with such heavy-looking ingredients doesn't feel heavy or make my oily skin break out, but I buy it every time it's on sale. I love it. I do use something lighter with SPF for daytime, though. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good moisturizer
By: blnchsr57
on January 19, 2015
About the reviewer
By: blnchsr57
Location:Jackson MS
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Great everyday, under makeup moisturizer. Helps alleviate red discolorations. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gramacarol
By: gramacarol
on January 6, 2015
About the reviewer
By: gramacarol
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I love this cream it's not greasy and seems to even out my skin even tho I am older. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best multi- purpose moisturizer ever!
By: PamD
on January 2, 2015
About the reviewer
By: PamD
Location:tn
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
" I have finally found a wonderful multi-purpose moisturizer for my dry sensitive skin which is prone to the occasional breakout. I have tried so many moisturizers that have either broken my skin out or made it actually feel and look more dry. Some were pore clogging, others felt too heavy, or just plain did not make any difference on my skin. But...This cream really works! I did initially buy it for the mild to medium discoloration I had on a few areas of my face and some dark spots from previous blemishes. And while it did start to work on that after about 3 weeks, the initial response my skin had to this cream was within a couple of days-- my skin felt balanced in moisture, it felt comfortable, nourished, smooth and best of all-- no dryness or irritation. I cannot believe after all the creams I have tried, and some were very expensive, I have found the one that gives results. And when you can find this on sale, it is a steal! I always stock up, and now I use it on my chest and the tops of my arms to help with some sun damage. I am so pleased with this- please Avon do not discontinue, do not change the formula! I will continue to purchase as long as I can get this wonder cream. "
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Product
By: LindaRH
on November 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By: LindaRH
Location:PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+10points
11OUT OF 12people found this review helpful
" I had edema from a medication I have been taking and my ankles swelled. When the swelling would go down the I was left with dark ugly patches all over my lower legs and feet. I bought the cream hoping to fade the dark areas so I could get my clear skin back. I bought 2 jars and apply it twice a day (morning and night). I have been doing this for a month now. To my delight the discoloration is fading and the areas are lighter. I came back onsite today to order2 more jars! "
+10points
11OUT OF 12people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Useless
By: LauraPia
on November 14, 2014
About the reviewer
By: LauraPia
Location:MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Using this for months with no improvements at all, you get what you pay for...... "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wasted money
By: kaleko
on November 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By: kaleko
Location:california
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I bought this and another products, this made my face swollen so can not use it anymore. "
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
By: Winnie90
on October 15, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Winnie90
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" This is a wonderful product. It is inexpensive, significantly reduces my scars and moisturizes my skin. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well for redness!
By: Blissgirl
on August 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Blissgirl
Location:GU
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" I wanted an inexpensive cream that got rid of ruddy skin and redness from past high school acne scars. I have been using this banishing cream for a couple of weeks, and it works really well to keep my skin from getting excessively red (and I hope it continues to lighten this redness as I continue to use it). I originally started off with the night cream from Avon's Elements Revitalize product line (that works REALLY well to make my skin glowy and even-toned), but wanted to try a less expensive alternative after my nighttime cream ran out. This has more bang for the buck and works nearly as well as the other cream. In the morning, I use a combination of Avon's Elements Revitalize day sunscreen and Moisture Boost sunscreen, which helps to prevent further sun damage. "
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Well
By: Brooke1
on June 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Brooke1
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
" Recently I was admiring my 16 year old cousin's flawless complexion. At 31, I can't say my skin looks quite the same. That night I put the banishing cream all over my chest where I tend to look red/splotchy and have various sun spot looking marks. The next morning I saw a huge difference. Using it regularly now. "
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does nothing
By: LindaBoies
on March 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By: LindaBoies
Location:Glenelg MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" I have been using this for over a month and have seen no difference at all. I only have two spots that I am trying to fade, but they have not faded at all. I would not recommend. "
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More appealing to the guys!
By: Treyb
on February 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Treyb
Location:brooklyn, ny
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
" I've been using this product for a few days. It does not have a greasy feel..it moisturizes, creamy, and makes my skin soft. It's evening my skin tone and brightening my complexion. I'm very satisfied with this product. I'm black, brown complexion, sensitive skin...this is now a staple for my face routine. I am also using the firming cream and I love that also "
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not work
By: Blueyze2
on February 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Blueyze2
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I bought two of these after reading the positive reviews and am very disappointed. I used it daily for over 3 months and saw NO change in the small brown area under my eye. I believe it's from sun damage or just an age spot but it has not lightened at all. I continue to use it a few times a week but do not expect positive results, just another regular moisturizer, not my favorite though because it's a bit greasy feeling on the skin. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed
By: antonsgg
on February 14, 2014
About the reviewer
By: antonsgg
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" This is not lighting my dark spots as fast as I hoped, guess I have to just have more patience that being said I do love how it goes on smoothly. I"am 69 and have had dark spots for years, I wish I had started using this cream years ago! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says
By: RosaC
on January 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By: RosaC
Location:New Jersey
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" Used only for one week and could already tell a difference from using the product. My face looks more even toned. My dark spots has gotten clearer, which is more than what I hoped for. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this!
By: Susiewho
on December 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By: Susiewho
Location:Dallas, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" Though it takes time this has really diminished the dark spots on my face. Since I can't go back in time and tell myself to use more sunblock this is the next best thing! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SO FAR SO GOOD
By: RubySapphire
on November 29, 2013
About the reviewer
By: RubySapphire
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I bought this cream, as a solution for a few dark spots on my face. This cream was an accidental discovery, when was scouring the Avon website. I decided to try it, upon reading the reviews.
I have been using it for exactly one month, and have noticed that my dark spots have lightened. The spots are less noticeable now, but they are still there. I am hoping that another 2-3 months of usage will make them disappear Inshallah.
On another note, the texture of the cream is light and non-greasy, but it still works great for my dry skin. There is however, the smell of bleach as you open the jar, which initially prevented me from using the cream. Some reviews stated it's devoid of hydroquinine, which sold me on the product.
It's winter now, and my regular cream make my dry skin glow, but not this one. I am using it for the spots for now. This one is not going to be my HG cream. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fade cream ever
By: Romancegirl
on November 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By: Romancegirl
Location:Bowling green ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I have been using this product for 20 years and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to fade spots or just lighten up your skin.
Works wonderfully !! "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works well and the price is good.
By: nonya
on November 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By: nonya
Location:sw missouri
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" at 68, i'm starting to get dark spots. this works as well as higher priced products I've tried. give it a try yourself. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>