Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Moisturizers or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver

Featuring Avon's own skin brightener as well as a botanical brightening blend and Vitamin E. It is a nourishing nighttime cream that gradually evens skin tone and helps to reduce the appearance of unwanted dark spots and discolorations. 2.5 fl. oz. TO USE: Every morning and evening, gently smooth over cleansed face.
Overall rating:
3.664 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 414 reviews
5 Stars
208
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
28
1 Star
88
294 of 414(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Review 1 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helps with embarrassing blemishes well
By Marjory
on January 7, 2010
About the reviewer
By Marjory
Location:Milford, NH
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+55points
55OUT OF 55people found this review helpful
"My teenage acne and young adult acne unfortunately left me unfortunate scarring and some discoloration in my face. I tried several over the counter scar treatments and each one was either sadly ineffective or was way out of my budget after a time. I gave this Banishing Cream a try and I was very pleased to find that first of all it was light and non-greasy feeling, it moisturized my face as well as I had hoped, and in just a few uses I began to see a significant change as the redness and appearance of the scarring began to fade! I'm very happy with my purcahse!"
+55points
55OUT OF 55people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well for redness!
By Blissgirl
on August 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By Blissgirl
Location:GU
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I wanted an inexpensive cream that got rid of ruddy skin and redness from past high school acne scars. I have been using this banishing cream for a couple of weeks, and it works really well to keep my skin from getting excessively red (and I hope it continues to lighten this redness as I continue to use it). I originally started off with the night cream from Avon's Elements Revitalize product line (that works REALLY well to make my skin glowy and even-toned), but wanted to try a less expensive alternative after my nighttime cream ran out. This has more bang for the buck and works nearly as well as the other cream. In the morning, I use a combination of Avon's Elements Revitalize day sunscreen and Moisture Boost sunscreen, which helps to prevent further sun damage."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Well
By Brooke1
on June 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By Brooke1
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Recently I was admiring my 16 year old cousin's flawless complexion. At 31, I can't say my skin looks quite the same. That night I put the banishing cream all over my chest where I tend to look red/splotchy and have various sun spot looking marks. The next morning I saw a huge difference. Using it regularly now."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does nothing
By LindaBoies
on March 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By LindaBoies
Location:Glenelg MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have been using this for over a month and have seen no difference at all. I only have two spots that I am trying to fade, but they have not faded at all. I would not recommend."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More appealing to the guys!
By Treyb
on February 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Treyb
Location:brooklyn, ny
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I've been using this product for a few days. It does not have a greasy feel..it moisturizes, creamy, and makes my skin soft. It's evening my skin tone and brightening my complexion. I'm very satisfied with this product. I'm black, brown complexion, sensitive skin...this is now a staple for my face routine. I am also using the firming cream and I love that also"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not work
By Blueyze2
on February 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By Blueyze2
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I bought two of these after reading the positive reviews and am very disappointed. I used it daily for over 3 months and saw NO change in the small brown area under my eye. I believe it's from sun damage or just an age spot but it has not lightened at all. I continue to use it a few times a week but do not expect positive results, just another regular moisturizer, not my favorite though because it's a bit greasy feeling on the skin."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed
By antonsgg
on February 14, 2014
About the reviewer
By antonsgg
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is not lighting my dark spots as fast as I hoped, guess I have to just have more patience that being said I do love how it goes on smoothly. I"am 69 and have had dark spots for years, I wish I had started using this cream years ago!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says
By RosaC
on January 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By RosaC
Location:New Jersey
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"Used only for one week and could already tell a difference from using the product. My face looks more even toned. My dark spots has gotten clearer, which is more than what I hoped for."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this!
By Susiewho
on December 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By Susiewho
Location:Dallas, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Though it takes time this has really diminished the dark spots on my face. Since I can't go back in time and tell myself to use more sunblock this is the next best thing!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SO FAR SO GOOD
By RubySapphire
on November 29, 2013
About the reviewer
By RubySapphire
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought this cream, as a solution for a few dark spots on my face. This cream was an accidental discovery, when was scouring the Avon website. I decided to try it, upon reading the reviews.
I have been using it for exactly one month, and have noticed that my dark spots have lightened. The spots are less noticeable now, but they are still there. I am hoping that another 2-3 months of usage will make them disappear Inshallah.
On another note, the texture of the cream is light and non-greasy, but it still works great for my dry skin. There is however, the smell of bleach as you open the jar, which initially prevented me from using the cream. Some reviews stated it's devoid of hydroquinine, which sold me on the product.
It's winter now, and my regular cream make my dry skin glow, but not this one. I am using it for the spots for now. This one is not going to be my HG cream."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fade cream ever
By Romancegirl
on November 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By Romancegirl
Location:Bowling green ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been using this product for 20 years and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to fade spots or just lighten up your skin.
Works wonderfully !!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works well and the price is good.
By nonya
on November 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By nonya
Location:sw missouri
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"at 68, i'm starting to get dark spots. this works as well as higher priced products I've tried. give it a try yourself."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfact!
By naarchie
on October 26, 2013
About the reviewer
By naarchie
Location:nm
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"love, love this cream, I had a baby and I never seems to get back to my old self and a friend told me about this cream its been four years now and I've never stop using it, in fact I used it for my whole body seem its was so good for my face."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
By barclay
on October 24, 2013
About the reviewer
By barclay
Location:Havertownl, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use this everyday but I still have and get the brown spots on my face..nothing has changed...and I can honestly say I have used it for 2 months straight"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It Took Me Back In the Worst Way Possible
By Isawilla
on October 19, 2013
About the reviewer
By Isawilla
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Not only did this product fail to even my skin tone in the least, it gave me a problem that I have not had to deal with in years: Pimples. I am 40 years old and the one thing that age has blessed me with is the fact that I don't have to deal with teenage skin any more. A little over a week into the use of this product, zits started popping up on my nose and my chin.
The only that that changed in my routine was the addition of the cream, therefore there was little doubt as to the culprit. Nonetheless, I continued to use the product for a bit longer to see if the promised effect would be worth the price and I saw no improvement whatsoever in the evening of my skin tone."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love This Cream
By condolady
on October 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By condolady
Location:Atlanta, GA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I have never written a review before but I love this cream. It has made a big difference in the age spots on my 61 year old hands. The change was gradual but very successful. I was thinking of going for an expensive laser treatment but decided to try this first. Boy am I glad I did."
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does Help!
By Cenia
on October 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By Cenia
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have been using this for years. At first I was skeptical, but after a 2 weeks I could see a big difference!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
By Wesa
on September 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By Wesa
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Great product! It works very well on age spots."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Works!
By Anonymous
on September 19, 2013
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:Riverton, Utah
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I am very hapy to say that this product works the way it says it wil. The only thing is if you run out you will start to see dark circles within a week. So don't run out!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try this first!
By Eliana
on August 27, 2013
About the reviewer
By Eliana
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"After a week of vacationing in the blazing Arizona heat, I returned home to find unsightly melasma patches around my chin area. I desperately researched skin lightening products, but I was disappointed when I looked at the price tags. I had a jar of this banishing cream in my cabinet and thought it was worth a try. Desperate for quick results, I applied it in thick layers three times per day. After one week, the dark spots had lightened significantly. Two weeks later they virtually disappeared. It did dry out my skin slightly, so I followed the application with an SPF moisturizer, and this alleviated the dryness."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>