Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Moisturizers or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver

Featuring Avon's own skin brightener as well as a botanical brightening blend and Vitamin E. It is a nourishing nighttime cream that gradually evens skin tone and helps to reduce the appearance of unwanted dark spots and discolorations. 2.5 fl. oz. TO USE: Every morning and evening, gently smooth over cleansed face.
Overall rating:
3.69 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 623 reviews
5 Stars
316
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
41
2 Stars
42
1 Star
128
441 of 623(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Review 1 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marjory
Location:Milford, NH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Helps with embarrassing blemishes well
Date:January 7, 2010
"My teenage acne and young adult acne unfortunately left me unfortunate scarring and some discoloration in my face. I tried several over the counter scar treatments and each one was either sadly ineffective or was way out of my budget after a time. I gave this Banishing Cream a try and I was very pleased to find that first of all it was light and non-greasy feeling, it moisturized my face as well as I had hoped, and in just a few uses I began to see a significant change as the redness and appearance of the scarring began to fade! I'm very happy with my purcahse!"
51 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brooke1
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Works Well
Date:June 19, 2014
"Recently I was admiring my 16 year old cousin's flawless complexion. At 31, I can't say my skin looks quite the same. That night I put the banishing cream all over my chest where I tend to look red/splotchy and have various sun spot looking marks. The next morning I saw a huge difference. Using it regularly now."
Review 3 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
LindaBoies
Location:Glenelg MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Does nothing
Date:March 21, 2014
"I have been using this for over a month and have seen no difference at all. I only have two spots that I am trying to fade, but they have not faded at all. I would not recommend."
Review 4 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Treyb
Location:brooklyn, ny
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
More appealing to the guys!
Date:February 28, 2014
"I've been using this product for a few days. It does not have a greasy feel..it moisturizes, creamy, and makes my skin soft. It's evening my skin tone and brightening my complexion. I'm very satisfied with this product. I'm black, brown complexion, sensitive skin...this is now a staple for my face routine. I am also using the firming cream and I love that also"
Review 5 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Blueyze2
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Did not work
Date:February 20, 2014
"I bought two of these after reading the positive reviews and am very disappointed. I used it daily for over 3 months and saw NO change in the small brown area under my eye. I believe it's from sun damage or just an age spot but it has not lightened at all. I continue to use it a few times a week but do not expect positive results, just another regular moisturizer, not my favorite though because it's a bit greasy feeling on the skin."
Review 6 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
antonsgg
Location:Indiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Disappointed
Date:February 14, 2014
"This is not lighting my dark spots as fast as I hoped, guess I have to just have more patience that being said I do love how it goes on smoothly. I"am 69 and have had dark spots for years, I wish I had started using this cream years ago!"
Review 7 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RosaC
Location:New Jersey
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Does what it says
Date:January 26, 2014
"Used only for one week and could already tell a difference from using the product. My face looks more even toned. My dark spots has gotten clearer, which is more than what I hoped for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Susiewho
Location:Dallas, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love this!
Date:December 13, 2013
"Though it takes time this has really diminished the dark spots on my face. Since I can't go back in time and tell myself to use more sunblock this is the next best thing!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RubySapphire
SO FAR SO GOOD
Date:November 29, 2013
"I bought this cream, as a solution for a few dark spots on my face. This cream was an accidental discovery, when was scouring the Avon website. I decided to try it, upon reading the reviews.
I have been using it for exactly one month, and have noticed that my dark spots have lightened. The spots are less noticeable now, but they are still there. I am hoping that another 2-3 months of usage will make them disappear Inshallah.
On another note, the texture of the cream is light and non-greasy, but it still works great for my dry skin. There is however, the smell of bleach as you open the jar, which initially prevented me from using the cream. Some reviews stated it's devoid of hydroquinine, which sold me on the product.
It's winter now, and my regular cream make my dry skin glow, but not this one. I am using it for the spots for now. This one is not going to be my HG cream."
Review 10 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Romancegirl
Location:Bowling green ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best fade cream ever
Date:November 25, 2013
"I have been using this product for 20 years and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to fade spots or just lighten up your skin.
Works wonderfully !!"
Review 11 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nonya
Location:sw missouri
works well and the price is good.
Date:November 17, 2013
"at 68, i'm starting to get dark spots. this works as well as higher priced products I've tried. give it a try yourself."
Review 12 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
naarchie
Location:nm
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
perfact!
Date:October 26, 2013
"love, love this cream, I had a baby and I never seems to get back to my old self and a friend told me about this cream its been four years now and I've never stop using it, in fact I used it for my whole body seem its was so good for my face."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
barclay
Location:Havertownl, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Date:October 24, 2013
"I use this everyday but I still have and get the brown spots on my face..nothing has changed...and I can honestly say I have used it for 2 months straight"
Review 14 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Isawilla
It Took Me Back In the Worst Way Possible
Date:October 19, 2013
"Not only did this product fail to even my skin tone in the least, it gave me a problem that I have not had to deal with in years: Pimples. I am 40 years old and the one thing that age has blessed me with is the fact that I don't have to deal with teenage skin any more. A little over a week into the use of this product, zits started popping up on my nose and my chin.
The only that that changed in my routine was the addition of the cream, therefore there was little doubt as to the culprit. Nonetheless, I continued to use the product for a bit longer to see if the promised effect would be worth the price and I saw no improvement whatsoever in the evening of my skin tone."
Review 15 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
condolady
Location:Atlanta, GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Love This Cream
Date:October 16, 2013
"I have never written a review before but I love this cream. It has made a big difference in the age spots on my 61 year old hands. The change was gradual but very successful. I was thinking of going for an expensive laser treatment but decided to try this first. Boy am I glad I did."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cenia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Does Help!
Date:October 15, 2013
"I have been using this for years. At first I was skeptical, but after a 2 weeks I could see a big difference!"
Review 17 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wesa
Date:September 22, 2013
"Great product! It works very well on age spots."
Review 18 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location:Riverton, Utah
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
It Works!
Date:September 19, 2013
"I am very hapy to say that this product works the way it says it wil. The only thing is if you run out you will start to see dark circles within a week. So don't run out!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eliana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Try this first!
Date:August 27, 2013
"After a week of vacationing in the blazing Arizona heat, I returned home to find unsightly melasma patches around my chin area. I desperately researched skin lightening products, but I was disappointed when I looked at the price tags. I had a jar of this banishing cream in my cabinet and thought it was worth a try. Desperate for quick results, I applied it in thick layers three times per day. After one week, the dark spots had lightened significantly. Two weeks later they virtually disappeared. It did dry out my skin slightly, so I followed the application with an SPF moisturizer, and this alleviated the dryness."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vtorr11
Location:Springfield, OR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best purchase ever!
Date:August 26, 2013
"This banishing cream is by far the best thing I have ever bought, it actually works the way it's supposed to work i've already started seeing the changes in my skin and I've only been using it for about a month.. If you have any problems with acne scars or darker spots on your face this is defiantly a product that you should try:) I love it!! Never been happier with the results of this kind of cream."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.