Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Moisturizers or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver

Featuring Avon's own skin brightener as well as a botanical brightening blend and Vitamin E. It is a nourishing nighttime cream that gradually evens skin tone and helps to reduce the appearance of unwanted dark spots and discolorations. 2.5 fl. oz. TO USE: Every morning and evening, gently smooth over cleansed face.
Overall rating:
3.69 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 623 reviews
5 Stars
316
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
41
2 Stars
42
1 Star
128
441 of 623(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Review 41 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Location:Roundup, MT
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Light weight
Date:February 22, 2013
"I got this to use with the Clearskin Acne Treatment System based on so many other reviews. I like that it is very light and doesn't leave a heavy sticky feeling on my skin. I've been using for a few weeks now and I haven't seen a noticeable difference. Unfortunately I've been suffering with acne for half my life and now I'm getting to the age where my skin is really starting to show the effects of acne. I'm really hoping that with time and continual use that I will see some improvements."
Review 42 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LEE524
Location:Rockland, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
I'M IN LOVE WITH THIS PRODUCT <3 <3
Date:January 31, 2013
"I had these ugly red scars allover my chest and arms. Because of a rash I had. And this Cream has Faded the marks quite nicely. I've been using it everyday twice a day. For 2 weeks. I'll Definitely be repurchasing this Product. <3 <3"
Review 43 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bassoongirl
Location:Arkansas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Does the Trick
Date:January 31, 2013
"This is not my first time of using this product. It truly does the trick on age spots. People are noticing and commenting that I 'look different', etc. I combine this with Olay CC Cream in fair/light and I'm seeing significant improvements with my skin. Smell has improved and is more pleasant; not greasy or oily. Feels soft and clean."
Review 44 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
crystalstar79
Location:Oklahoma, USA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Okay
Date:January 20, 2013
"I started using this a few days ago and it does moisturize my skin and it does even my skin tone, but it makes my skin break out. After two days of using this stuff new blemishes have appeared. I wouldn't use this if you have really acne prone skin. I didn't notice a difference with my acne marks at all, maybe I wasn't using it long enough. Anyway, I won't buy it again since it makes me break out. I only gave it three stars because it did moisturize and it evened my skin, but it immediately put me off when it caused acne to form."
Review 45 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
jane1234567
Does not work
Date:January 19, 2013
"not sure how long you are supposed to use this for - but it seems to be just a moisturizer. Not even a slight reduction in any discolorations after 3 weeks."
Review 46 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
kakak
Location:nyc
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
not great
Date:January 18, 2013
"this product could definitely be better. it doesn't have great instructions - just says to put it on. what about if you are only trying to lightened certain sections? it doesn't come in the type of container that makes it seem effective on small sections. have been using it a month and don't really see results unfortunately"
Review 47 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Chabanged
Location:Austin, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Didn't do it for me
Date:January 14, 2013
"I love Avon products and love trying all their products-- especially when it's so affordable to do so. This is one of those instances where I am glad I tried the banishing cream but unfortunately I wouldn't purchase again.
I have a lot of hyperpigmentation going on due to the sun and from acne scars so I'm always on a lookout for new skin products that address this. I think my uneven skin was just too much for the Banishing Cream.
"
Review 48 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hallally
Location:Williamsburg, VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Amazing Product
Date:January 9, 2013
"I have been using this product along with the Clearskin Solution Acne System and all I can say is What a Combination! My skin is clearer, smoother, softer, and actually glows! I have never had nice skin so the fact that I am starting to actually have that is just amazing! I use this product before bed and have just had such amazing results. The redness is greatly reduced, the splotchiness is gone.... I have actually been going out without makeup more often b/c this combo has changed my skin that much. Absolutley the biggest bang for your buck EVER! This cream is just so lovely - feels and smeels very light. It's like a tall glass of water for your skin - it really does feel that great!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lolie
Location:burbank,CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Banishing cream
Date:January 5, 2013
"I am disappointed the I have been using the cream day and night and have not results it has been a waste of money, I have not used
avon creams before but thought I would give it a try , it has not worked at all so far I will continue to use it only because I paid hard earned money for it .
Thank You"
Review 50 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AshleyC
Location:Vancouver, WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Doesn't Work.
Date:January 3, 2013
"I've used this product every morning and every night each day for over a month now. Whenever I used this product, I'd massage it in for several minutes to make sure my skin soaked it up.
I have some discoloration on my shoulders from my bra straps (I'd exercise in a normal bra that I'd clasp in the back to make it more halter-like). I also have melasma around my mouth as well as hyper-pigmentation and acne scarring that came once in a while.
I didn't expect much out of this product to fix the hyper-pigmentation and melasma around my mouth, but this product didn't even do anything for my acne scarring or the discoloration on my shoulders. I had hope that this would start working after a month since a lot of the reviews claimed to have results after 2 weeks. I'm moving onto the end of my 5th week with nothing to show that this product works even on the simplest discoloration.
I will give it this much - I wasn't in the habit of moisturizing and this product got me to moisturize daily because I was expecting some kind of results. As a normal moisturizer, this is great. My skin feels plump and stays moisturized all day.
I can't say I recommend this to anyone. I didn't get any results with evening my skin tone by using this product. I'll still use it because it's a pretty good moisturizer. However, I've found that natural remedies work best at healing the tough dark patches of skin (lemon juice + vitamin e oil pure + diet change)."
Review 51 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TMelin
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Good
Date:December 30, 2012
"I haven't used this product long enough to see a difference but it does keep my skin hydrated. I would purchase again in the future."
Review 52 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBeb
Location:Dallas, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
Best cream for night and day
Date:December 28, 2012
"I have used this stuff for years. If I attempt to use something else, my face breaks out. I rarely use make up and I've been using this cream for over 20 years."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChristineBBD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Wonderful cream - it really works!
Date:December 27, 2012
"I started using this cream in the winter. I bought it to remove the freckles on my hands and arms. I noticed a difference the very first week! Now I use it regularly. I'm a master gardener who sometimes forgets to use sunscreen in the summer, this cream helps remove the freckles."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
prettylady777
Location:Alberta Alabama
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Very Good product
Date:December 24, 2012
"Banishing cream is a very good cream and it really does what it says and I have been using it for about ten years now and I just love that way that my skin looks and feel and I also gets lots of comments from family and friends."
Review 55 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aureta
Location:Kaukauna, Wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Banishing Cream
Date:December 22, 2012
"I have used Banishing Cream for years. Freckles have been my nemesis and this cream does the trick in doing what is says, banishing those freckles."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mechie
Location:Manhattan,New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Best sale
Date:December 22, 2012
"I have tried expensive bleaching creams that take forever to work. Avon banishing cream works really fast. Its wonderful, it clears your skin and gets rid of all the unwanted spots, it evens your tone.
I just love it!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
diannah72
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Worth EVERY PENNY!
Date:December 19, 2012
"After years of being a sun worshiper, I have uneven skin color and tone. I was skeptical that this would work however boy was I wrong! This is fantastic! Not only is my skin tone more even but the dark spots from sun damage are fading. I have vitilago and certain patches of my skin are lighter or darker than others. Now they are fading and my skin tone is much more even. This is worth every penny! I use it at night after washing my face, before bed and I swear, IT WORKS!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeycool1
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
It works !
Date:December 10, 2012
"I saw a difference within 5 days, I use it on the dark spots created by wearing eye glasses. The nose pads cause discoloration on the bridge of the nose. I've also used it on a dark scar near my left eyebrow."
Review 59 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rachel32
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Aging Spot Vanished
Date:December 7, 2012
"I had a rather large "spot" or rough patch next to my nose--very noticeable. My dermatologist called it an aging spot (I'm 32 years old), and he told me nothing would remove it from my face, and that over time, I could expect it to enlarge. He said it was like a 'barnacle on the side of a ship." Gross, eh? Any time I wore make-up or used a lotion with facial tint in it, it would darken the spot horribly--so no way to cover it up with make-up to try to hide it. Make-up only made it stand out more.
I tried this banishing cream by Avon..... and this aging spot was 100% REMOVED (not improved, but REMOVED) from my face--after so many applications, the spot little by little peeled off of my face, totally painlessly and has never returned. The skin in that area is now completely smooth and clear. Not only can you not SEE it, you also cannot FEEL it. It is GONE. Before, it felt like a rough patch, bumpy. Now it's completely smooth, like baby's skin. Even more, when I wear make-up now, there is NO darkening in that area at all. It's as if the aging spot never existed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Banishing Cream Skin Discoloration Improver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ksdmomof3
A Must Have
Date:November 27, 2012
"I love this cream. It has helped to lighten some dark areas on my face and even out my complexion."