Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
eyes or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

mark Shimmer Bars

Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
10 of 18(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for mark Shimmer Bars
Review 1 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really Adore This Product!
By E3thatsme
on October 14, 2009
About the reviewer
By E3thatsme
Location:Atlanta, GA
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"These shimmer bars are fantastic! I really adore Daylight and Glow for bronzer and blush (respectively). They add a real glow to my face, with a touch of color. Everyone noticed, and even my mother (who never wears makeup) asked me to buy her some after trying it. It really adds a healthy look, even when I'm sleep deprived. I don't like to look like I'm wearing makeup, but it's subtle enough that it isn't obvious unless I put too much on. The only problem is when I bought Glisten, it can come up too dark on my paler skin. Glow gives a great raspberry blush to my paler olive skin tone, and I overall LOVE LOVE LOVE this product!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect highlighter
By Elbow
on July 25, 2009
About the reviewer
By Elbow
Location:PDX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been using the Stardust Shimmer bar as a highlighter for brow bone, inner eye and cheek bone. It is just the right pale gold shimmer without any blue/red undertone. The glow is very natural- not "glam" or "tween". On days when I want to have a natural- yet flawless look, I will apply this as eye shadow over the entire lid. It really brightens the eyes. Simply beautiful! And it stays put!
I did have to swirl for about 30 seconds before the product yielded to the brush.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragile, but overall a good product
By BonnieFaye
on July 10, 2009
About the reviewer
By BonnieFaye
Location:LA
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I got this in Glow and Stardust. I had to send the stardust bar back because it was broken. I got these to replace the bars that came with the little bronze box because both bars broke the first time I tossed my purse into my car. I really like this product, but it's not very durable. If I hadn't wanted to take it on my honeymoon so badly I wouldn't have even had it in my purse because I had read the reviews saying how fragile they are. Also, the glow doesn't look at all how it looks in the picture. It looks good on my skin, but it's definitely pink, not the brown in looks like on the picture. I would still recommend this product, just know what to expect from it. It gives a beautiful dewy glow in any color and I just love that."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tiny little wonder
By Stuckinmyhead
on April 23, 2009
About the reviewer
By Stuckinmyhead
Location:nowhereville, NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love the colors that I got. They were a little off from the picture, but it was well worth the purchase. I thought the box would be close to the size of the flip for its, but boy was I wrong. No wonder why they call it the little block box. Not disappointed though, these bars do the trick!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You Won't Be Disappointed
By AllyMarie
on March 29, 2009
About the reviewer
By AllyMarie
Location:CO
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I've gotten every color of Mark Shimmer Bars at least once, though I have to say my favorites have to be Luster, it's great for a bronzer, Twilight, good for a sheer light pink blush, and Stardust, a good highlighter for the cheeks. The colors are great, I've looked everywhere for colors just like these and nothing has even come close. Like previous reviews, you have to scratch off the top in order to experience the full effect of the bars. I found that the end of a handle on one of my make-up brushes did just the trick."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 6 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
texture is awful
By JordanaS
on January 10, 2009
About the reviewer
By JordanaS
Location:Fairfax, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"In an attempt to make something in this neat block shape, the designers forgot about making something we can use. The bars are too hard for a brush to work well (doesn't pick up enough) and you can break them easily if you use your fingers or a cotton swab. One of mine also came in chunks. I still used the powder but wouldn't buy this again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UPDATE: Changed my mind about these!
By Charzipan
on October 23, 2008
About the reviewer
By Charzipan
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I can't seem to be able to find how to edit my reviews, so here's my Update - I LOVE this stuff now!!! I kept trying to get this stuff to work [sometimes my stubborn streak yields good things, lol], and when it did, WOW! I'm guessing that maybe the powders dried/baked all funky, causing a weird crust that had to be 'buffed' off? I dunno, but whatever it was it's gone now, YAY! I've been using them w/the Mark kabuki brush, I swirl all 3 colors together, and it makes my face just glow! I've used them as blush [mainly], and I've used them [lightly! a little goes a LONG way!] as all-over face shimmer. The shimmeriness somehow makes me look as if I'm lit by candlelight and have a LOT of filters that manage to disguise the lovely blotches all over my face, like a soft-focus pic. Hasn't broken me out, or made me itch. LOVE IT!!!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ladies read all these Great tips that are Posted"
By Trixie
on October 13, 2008
About the reviewer
By Trixie
Location:Detroit,Mich.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I got the little "Bronze Box" this summer with the "Beach Chic" tote set the only trouble i had was after putting the bars in the box the lid didn't snap close. i open it back up & pushed on the mirror then i it snap closed.i wasn't sure about the "Block Box" but after reading the reviews i tryed the trick "Yum-Yum" posted.i lightly pressed on the bars with the bottom with the brush to get my colors started & WOW NOW I'M HOOKED!! i got a set of bars & couple of sets of cubes. If the tips wasn't posted the make-up might have been sittting in the bottom of a make-up Bag L.O.L. going to try the other tip of wetting the bars & cubes" Thanks ladies for taking time out & posting these tips!! Mark you got a great product here!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 9 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved the color!
By cmililani
on September 8, 2008
About the reviewer
By cmililani
Location:Bay Area, CA
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought two little ones and one big one. LOVED the TWILIGHT color, a lot!! Was perfect for blush... The only problem is they FALL apart. I JUST got them and the black block box, and I dropped it on the counter, not even the floor and it shattered... I'll probably buy another, just because I loved the color... But def. a fragile product.... And they get kind of messy, once they get going they powder ALL over the place."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TRY THIS INSTEAD
By mellancholie
on July 5, 2008
About the reviewer
By mellancholie
Location:New Haven, CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I got this product and had no idea anything about it. So I guessed. instead of breaking through the top of the bar, I wet my eyeshadow applicator, and used it that way, I have had the most creamy beautiful eyeshadow ever since. IThe cube dries afterward, so this always works. Good luck to you all."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 11 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not the best
By zydecocat
on June 22, 2008
About the reviewer
By zydecocat
Location:Northern Virginia
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I ordered all of the colors, the "stardust" came to me three times and it was in the form of powder, not broken in pieces. Luckily it was mostly contained in it's plastic so that I was able to salvage it but it really turned me off to the product. Customer Service had their supervisor hand pick one and it still came to me in powder form. As an after thought I realized that having to buy a special holder for that shape was also not the best deal in town. I think we can give AVON an A+ for trying though, they are top notch in everything they do. I especially think they are cutting edge in skin care."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the Bars
By Mahoganyfire
on February 2, 2008
About the reviewer
By Mahoganyfire
Location:Gary, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I ordered these bars and love them. I have to say that I thought they would be bigger but. Oh well. You do have to rub them rather firmly with the kabuki brush to get them started, but when you do get through that they go on very easy and light. I am a darkskinned african american and they blend well with my skin tone so I say give them a try. Just be a little patient getting the initial application process started."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 13 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GIVE THEM A CHANCE, WITH MY LITTLE TRICK....
By YumYum
on January 29, 2008
About the reviewer
By YumYum
Location:North Carolina/Massachusetts
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I love this product. Although they are a little tough to get going they are wonderful. They stay well,go on smooth, are easy to blend and look perfect in so many combinations. They don't feather or crease either, which is HIGHLY unusual with a shimmer shadow. I have one in every color. To get them going, as you often do with new or freshly sharpened cosmetic pencils, I take the bottom of my shadow brush and lightly scrape the top of the bar or block until it starts to flake. I simply blow the flakes into the sink, rinse away and apply my awesome eye shadows. I get so many compliments on them. the stardust is my favorite. I use it to highlight my brow bone. I use it with almost any of the other shades I have and it goes wonderfully with them. It looks great with the Mark Hook Up Glow Baby Glow Lip Gloss and all of the Mark glosses at that. So please do not let the negatives stop you from trying it for yourself. Just remember my trick and remember lightly or it will break they are pretty solid like the baked eye shadows. I also find that all pressed makeup is very delicate and you need to be careful with it. But after you get through it you get very easy application. And HEY if you don't like em you can always return anything with AVON. I cant say enough to let you know how great these are once you get em going. Frankly I was very surprised to find so many negative opinions about them. I hope they don't stop making them. I will just have to stock up then."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 14 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth it!
By Trinitee112
on January 9, 2008
About the reviewer
By Trinitee112
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I recently just got my little block box and 2 shimmer cubes and 1 shimmer bar, and the reason I bought them in the first place was because i thought they were going to be like the Physicians Formula Baked collection eyeshadows. I really liked the colors I got (shimmer bar in Twilight and shimmer cubes in Twinkle and Sparkle) I agree with the previous reviews they are a very rough consistency and are very hard to apply I returned them with no problems. I do not reccomend this product."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 15 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not so good
By charziparzi
on January 3, 2008
About the reviewer
By charziparzi
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"As I stated in my review of the shimmer cubes, this stuff ain't so great. Weird, hard-crumbly texture, kinda coarse, too, but nigh on impossible to pick up with brush, sponge applicator, or fingers. But, well, one bleah product out of a gazillion great ones, and the best return policy, so don't worry if you do decide to try."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing
By Catchblonde
on January 2, 2008
About the reviewer
By Catchblonde
Location:Nowhere, Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have used many different types of Avon products and never had a problem. However, with this, my first mark purchase, I am extremely let down. When I received the bar, it was already crumbled and broken. Also, the makeup is very hard and difficult to apply. This product was a waste of money."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing
By ccg135
on January 2, 2008
About the reviewer
By ccg135
Location:Chicago
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I purchased two of the bars and the colors were pretty different than the image, particularly glisten, which was very orange.
Mine were not broken, however, I was disappointed with the colors and the consistency - very dry and chalky looking. Can't really use them for anything.
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 18 for mark Shimmer Bars
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By MNavon
on December 28, 2007
About the reviewer
By MNavon
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I really like the color and shimmer of both the bars and blocks, however, the makeup itself is very crumbly, so both my block and bars broke, leaving me with makeup crumbs that I have to use. Overall, I don't think I'd recommend this product"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful