Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

SuperShock Mascara in Black

Get yourself some extreme volume! Thickening base coat and volumizing mascara in one. Up to 12X more volume. .35 oz. net wt. All AVON mascaras are hypoallergenic and ophthalmologist-tested.
Overall rating:
4.173 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,138 reviews
5 Stars
743
4 Stars
150
3 Stars
69
2 Stars
51
1 Star
125
921 of 1,138(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Review 41 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
deb9654
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Disappointed
Date:February 13, 2013
"I bought this mascara based on the other positive reviews and I am so disappointed. It flakes, clumps and is some of the worst mascara I've ever used. I also find the applicator so thick that it's very difficult to apply to the bottom lashes. I'll be returning it for sure."
Review 42 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lc225
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Horrible
Date:February 13, 2013
"I decided to try this mascara since the one I use has been discontinued. It is HORRIBLE! If I could have given it zero stars, I would have.
First of all, the tube and the brush are made for giants. Who can possibly apply mascara to lashes with a brush that large??? Secondly, the formula is flaky. Finally, the brush isn't actually a brush. It doesn't even hold onto the mascara very well. I gave it three tries thinking maybe I just needed to get used to it. Wrong. It's an epic failure of a mascara!! Unfortunately, when I purchased, it was cheaper to buy two tubes than one. Never again."
Review 43 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LasVegasLady
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Date:February 12, 2013
"This mascara is WONDERFUL! It thickens and lengthens my pitifully short, thin lashes. Does not flake off or smear, yet washes off easily. I am more than impressed with this product. Please don't discontinue it!"
Review 44 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
juga
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Mascara
Date:February 8, 2013
"I love this mascara: it is easy to apply and doesn't clump. It makes me look like I have more lashes. The only thing I wish is that it also came in BROWN!!! Black is a bit extreme for my coloring. I definitely recommend it, though."
Review 45 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DottieBoo
Location:Montgomery, AL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
FABULASH!
Date:February 5, 2013
"Super Shock Mascara is the best! It makes my lashes longer aned thicker and it stays on."
Review 46 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Micaiah
Location:Philadelphia, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
ok
Date:February 5, 2013
"I didn't get much effect, you have to use about 12 coats to see a difference, but then you also have clumps."
Review 47 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IdahoMarie
Location:Idaho
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best ever!
Date:January 25, 2013
"This does amazing things to my thinning eyelashes. I have used it for years and still love it!"
Review 48 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
jsav
Location:New Jersey
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
does not do what it says it does
Date:January 22, 2013
"I've tried this mascara twice and my firend also tried it. It's LOUSY! It does nothing for my eyelashes. Washoff waterproof mascara is better."
Review 49 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluejeans
Location:Hanover Park
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great Mascara
Date:January 13, 2013
"I really like this product along with Super Drama Mascara. Both are excellent choices. Really helps with thin eyelashes. Brings them out a lot more."
Review 50 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lajensen85
Location:Iowa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
LOVE THIS PRODUCT - CAUION BIG BRUSH
Date:January 5, 2013
"This is a great product but it has a big brush - - - if you do not like big brushes you will not like this one! I would say about 50% of the people I have let try it loved it and 50% hated the brush. After you use it for awhile a few months or so it will 'dry up' so you know it's time to change. In general I personally love this product!"
Review 51 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gotitgoingonmom
Location:Charlotte, NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Staple Product
Date:December 30, 2012
"I couldn't ask for anything else when buying mascara. If you prefer a waterproof product, Avon sells those too. I really like the brush and the product will define my lashes, not clump them together. Something to remember is to replace your mascara often and don't pump your mascara. That isn't good for the product! I really really really like and another thing to mention this product has a thickening agent so it's like two products in one. I would recommend this product!"
Review 52 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MaxMaggie
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Worse mascara ever
Date:December 12, 2012
"This mascara's applicator is like applying with a toothbrush. It is way too big, you can't even get close to your lashes. I really like the SuperMagnify mascara but of course that has been discontinued!!!"
Review 53 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
memarijo
Location:Virginia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Brush too thick..
Date:December 11, 2012
"Brush is too thick. It would be better if it were graduated down to the tip. I'm too old school for all the "shock" products; it's too artificial."
Review 54 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IsiW
Location:San Antonio, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love the product
Date:December 4, 2012
"My friend recently introduced me to this product and I just love it! It is the only mascara I have ever used that does not clot. It nicely seperates the eye lashes. It is really easy to put on. I will absolutely recommend this product!"
Review 55 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CorkyPGHPA
Location:Pittsburgh
Best mascara ever
Date:November 25, 2012
"Been using it since it came out. Only formula that doesn't clump. Stays fresh for so long. Doesn't flake off either after long 15/16 hour days. I've tried others and this is just hands down the best. The brush is great too! 2 coats and you can hit every but of your lashes perfectly!"
Review 56 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
kodiak95
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
very dry
Date:November 23, 2012
"This mascara was very dry as well just like the super extend. It was difficult to get any out of the container and seemed to be dryed up. I did not have good results with this or the super extends which was very disappointing."
Review 57 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
notreadytobeover40
Location:GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
great
Date:November 18, 2012
"i love this mascara. It doesn't come off until i want it to. Where is the brown? I use to order and miss that."
Review 58 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TACC
Location:Grove City, OH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best Mascara
Date:November 13, 2012
"This is my fav mascara for day use and I've tried many department store brands that don't even compare to this. I have short thin lashes, this mascara makes them longer and thicker. I've been using this for years and I hope Avon never discontinues it. I just wish the tube lasted longer but if you can get this on sale, just get 2 at a time."
Review 59 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lacypearl2
Location:Dallas area, Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Date:November 5, 2012
"I really like this product because it lays down a nice thick layer of mascara to accent the shape of my eyeys."
Review 60 for SuperShock Mascara in Black
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alesia
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Huge Lashes! Every lash well coated!
Date:October 30, 2012
"I absalutly adore this mascara. The huge brush makes it super easy to reach every lash, even the small, hidden lashes. It gave the lashes a long, lush, lifted look. The product was so easy to apply and did not clump. I would wiggle wand side to side to get every lash and comb lashes upwards for length and lift."