Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
moisturize or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion

Overall rating:
4.453 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
129 of 139(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Review 1 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just Okay
By dreamer1
on January 12, 2011
About the reviewer
By dreamer1
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I had oily skin before I started washing my face with That's Deep Purifying Gel. After I wash my face with that, I put on this moisturizer and It feels very good. However I am only giving this a 4 out of 5 because I think it dries my face out to much."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By aworkma6
on December 21, 2010
About the reviewer
By aworkma6
Location:Ohio
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The initial smell sort of turned me off at first, but I used it anyway. It does really smooth the skin out and take away the shine. I have only used it twice, but my skin is so soft. I would really like to continue to use it, but I just can't get past that smell! It's sorta strong, and gives me a headache. But after I put it on, it goes away."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packaging Jar is a nightmare to use.
By DianneT
on November 14, 2010
About the reviewer
By DianneT
Location:New Jersey
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this product, it doesn't burn my skin, however, the jar it's in is awful. It doesn't work half the time then whe you open it up, it falls all over because of the way it's made to open.
GREAT PRODUCT, awful packaging.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great!
By Anonymous
on November 2, 2010
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:Vacaville,CA
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
""I'm only 14 i found this in a magazine and couldnt wait to try it. I had been wearing a lot of makeup to try and reduce shine,but my makeup was melting off! After trying this, my face was finally not shiney,or oily. I now dont even need to wear makeup..i love this!""
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worked for me!
By jaDeRa
on October 26, 2010
About the reviewer
By jaDeRa
Location:Utah
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I'm 29, and have a VERY oily & acne-prone face! I've also spent my whole life with HIGH body temperatures, which make me sweat a lot. I have a few samples of this stuff and read ALL the reviews, then decided to give it a go, i had nothing to lose. just to make sure i wasn't going to image a change... i took a picture before using the product, and a picture everyday after. I must say... it was wonderful. my face was soft and smooth, and not shiny. it also reduced the redness from my blemishes. after the second day, my acne scars had actually smoothed out. the results are definitely noticeable... just ask my husband, who normally notices NOTHING! BTW... i applied this on my clammy palms, and the sweat reduced... dramatically!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 6 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ive Used Ever
By Waterlady
on October 15, 2010
About the reviewer
By Waterlady
Location:Alabama
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am in my 50's have Roscea (bad) - this product has helped tremendously. I have used other products that have burned/blistered my skin but this product REALLY works - I put it on morning and night after showering - let it sink in then apply my makeup - WONDERFUL"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing
By exkii
on September 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By exkii
Location:New York, NY
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"It was my first time purchasing a moisturizer, and this product definitely exceeded all my expectations. I have very oily skin, so I am constantly blotting my face with blotting sheets. Fortunately, this moisturizer does what it promises- to control oil on your face. It smells great and leaves no residue on both your face or hands after use."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the product, hate the container
By Suzie64
on September 22, 2010
About the reviewer
By Suzie64
Location:San Dimas, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The product is so worth it's value, but when you have a container that doesn't work when it's despensing can be quite annoying, especially when you drop the product (losing half) because you have to twist the top off because again it doesn't dispense correctly. But once you get to the product, it's wonderful! Not greasy at all, my skin takes it all in and it feels so good!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great cream!
By tgovea
on September 3, 2010
About the reviewer
By tgovea
Location:miami, fl
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I totally love this cream, I like that it goes on smoothly and not rough like other mattifying products. It works quickly and my cream foundation goes on nicely without the sweaty look! 4 stars just because the effect doesnt last too long. try it you will love! and smells great"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally
By TheOnlyBoss7
on August 31, 2010
About the reviewer
By TheOnlyBoss7
Location:CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My skin is extremely oily so considering the severity & how fast & oily my skin gets this moisturizer helps a huge amount for an exceptional time after I apply it in the morning, but when its effects do wear off & my skin has its usually dewey glow again & then its time for a translucent oil absorbing powder. For my individual oily skin (which gets oiler than most), I think it does a great job while it lasts & to me having oil free skin for a while is better than not having it at all! You can always ask an Avon rep for a sample so you can try before you buy ;-)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Words cannot explain
By nnazario
on August 27, 2010
About the reviewer
By nnazario
Location:Watsonville, CA
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Since becoming a mark. rep I've been in the process of slowly swapping out my drug store face products with mark. I cannot believe how my face looks and feels with this on! The overall improvement of my skin tone and color has never been matched with all those pricey products out there. My skin as an adult has become oily and it's been extremely hard to find the balance between cleaners that clean the oil which tend to dry and then moisturizers that though light still make me feel oily. The combination of this and the mark. Calming Effects Comforting Milk Cleanser has been what has saved me. My skin has never looked so healthy!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had it one day, can't live without it
By newcreative
on August 26, 2010
About the reviewer
By newcreative
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've used this product for only one day, and I can't believe the difference it has made. My skin is already very oily, and I am currently pregnant so it's become even oilier. I applied this product before my makeup yesterday and didn't have to reapply powder even once through the day. My makeup stayed on all day. This worked better than any primer I've used, and I've tried all of the expensive ones!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not terrible but Not great
By Kimmyred1227
on August 25, 2010
About the reviewer
By Kimmyred1227
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I kind of have mixed reviews about this product. I washed my face this morning and applied the moisturizer and it immediately dried out my skin. That didn't bother me so much because I have very oily skin, but later today my face was so dry that it started to hurt but only where my face doesn't get oily. So I would recommend only placing this product where you would normally get oily, like in your T-Zone. Other than that I think it works really well as an oil absorber but not as a moisturizer."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Complaints about Container
By Dmull
on August 21, 2010
About the reviewer
By Dmull
Location:NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Really like this product and it really does reduce shine for those of us that have really oily skin. However, I really do not like the container. It has a top that you have to push down and the lotion squirts out. It is really a pain to use. Hard to get out once it get even 1/2 empty. Wish the co. would redesign the container to something more normal."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IN LOVE. :]
By ArtsyOne404
on August 20, 2010
About the reviewer
By ArtsyOne404
Location:Covington, IN
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I absolutely adore this moisturizer. I have combination skin in the winter and oily in the summer and this moisturizer is perfect for this. It keeps me from getting dry in those dry cold months, but is light enough and really does keep me from getting shiny.
There was a day i had to drive in my car (with no a/c) and i was sweating terribly. i thought my face was melting and i thought "oh my im going to look terrible and shiny" when i looked in the mirror though, i wasnt shiny! :] It does such an excellent job. Best moisturizer ever. ALSO it smells AMAZING! i feel sooo soft and smooth afterward.
I would reccommend it to anyone! I would also let those know who like to use the BERRY GRAND exfoliating beads, that u may need a little extra moisturizer in a few areas. But with the go with the grain i do just fine.
LOOOOVE this product!
"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 16 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm IN LOVE
By perlina101
on August 11, 2010
About the reviewer
By perlina101
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I'm in love with this products. Its a great moisturizer that goes on smooth and leaves my skin feeling refreshed!! I just ran out of my other one, so I am about to get another one! I usually never ever would spend that much on just a moisturizer, but I have to say I think that this one is quite worth it (= (= very very satisfied!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!
By EasyPeasy
on August 2, 2010
About the reviewer
By EasyPeasy
Location:Middletown, Ct
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I can't believe my search is over for the perfect moisturizer, that hydrates, keeps my skin shine-free...all day! and smells great! Even with layering my sunscreen and concealer, nothing budges! Thanks Mark! for making my adult skin stop acting like a teenager!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooked from the first try!
By LeezaP
on July 22, 2010
About the reviewer
By LeezaP
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love, love, love this stuff. I wear mineral makeup and usually end up a little shiny by the end of the day. The very first time I used this I noticed a dramatic difference. This product seems to make my pores disappear!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delivers!
By nikki79
on July 11, 2010
About the reviewer
By nikki79
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is only the second facial moisturizer I've ever used that follows through on its claim to control shine (and I've used countless over the years) And you can't beat the price on this. Since it doesn't come with SPF, I've tried layering it on top of other creams and it still performs amazingly. I'd never have thought I could ever put two creams on my face and still be shine-free. Now I apply the goodness face and matte chance together and as long as I don't over-apply the goodness face, which can be heavy (probably due to the high SPF content) the matte chance keeps the dreaded shine at bay. Love it!
My only problem, as with the goodness face, is the smell. It takes some getting used to, but still something I can live with."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed
By Annie6493
on July 7, 2010
About the reviewer
By Annie6493
-2points
0OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I was very sad with the results of this. I'm a 17 year old teenager and have oily skin. i read all the reviews for this product and the others (like the mask and the cleanser) and i got hooked and got it. when i got it, i felt a noticeable change! my face wasn't oily. but as the day went by, my face got oily still. I put this on this morning, went to work, and just now got home and my face is oily and shiny. Very disappointed in this product. It hurts me to say this because i had high hopes :("
-2points
0OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>