Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
moisturize or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion

Overall rating:
4.453 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
129 of 139(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Review 1 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dreamer1
Just Okay
Date:January 12, 2011
"I had oily skin before I started washing my face with That's Deep Purifying Gel. After I wash my face with that, I put on this moisturizer and It feels very good. However I am only giving this a 4 out of 5 because I think it dries my face out to much."
Review 2 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
aworkma6
Location:Ohio
Date:December 21, 2010
"The initial smell sort of turned me off at first, but I used it anyway. It does really smooth the skin out and take away the shine. I have only used it twice, but my skin is so soft. I would really like to continue to use it, but I just can't get past that smell! It's sorta strong, and gives me a headache. But after I put it on, it goes away."
Review 3 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DianneT
Location:New Jersey
mark purchase frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Packaging Jar is a nightmare to use.
Date:November 14, 2010
"I love this product, it doesn't burn my skin, however, the jar it's in is awful. It doesn't work half the time then whe you open it up, it falls all over because of the way it's made to open.
GREAT PRODUCT, awful packaging.
"
Review 4 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location:Vacaville,CA
great!
Date:November 2, 2010
""I'm only 14 i found this in a magazine and couldnt wait to try it. I had been wearing a lot of makeup to try and reduce shine,but my makeup was melting off! After trying this, my face was finally not shiney,or oily. I now dont even need to wear makeup..i love this!""
Review 5 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaDeRa
Location:Utah
worked for me!
Date:October 26, 2010
"I'm 29, and have a VERY oily & acne-prone face! I've also spent my whole life with HIGH body temperatures, which make me sweat a lot. I have a few samples of this stuff and read ALL the reviews, then decided to give it a go, i had nothing to lose. just to make sure i wasn't going to image a change... i took a picture before using the product, and a picture everyday after. I must say... it was wonderful. my face was soft and smooth, and not shiny. it also reduced the redness from my blemishes. after the second day, my acne scars had actually smoothed out. the results are definitely noticeable... just ask my husband, who normally notices NOTHING! BTW... i applied this on my clammy palms, and the sweat reduced... dramatically!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waterlady
Location:Alabama
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Best Ive Used Ever
Date:October 15, 2010
"I am in my 50's have Roscea (bad) - this product has helped tremendously. I have used other products that have burned/blistered my skin but this product REALLY works - I put it on morning and night after showering - let it sink in then apply my makeup - WONDERFUL"
Review 7 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exkii
Location:New York, NY
Amazing
Date:September 23, 2010
"It was my first time purchasing a moisturizer, and this product definitely exceeded all my expectations. I have very oily skin, so I am constantly blotting my face with blotting sheets. Fortunately, this moisturizer does what it promises- to control oil on your face. It smells great and leaves no residue on both your face or hands after use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Suzie64
Location:San Dimas, CA
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love the product, hate the container
Date:September 22, 2010
"The product is so worth it's value, but when you have a container that doesn't work when it's despensing can be quite annoying, especially when you drop the product (losing half) because you have to twist the top off because again it doesn't dispense correctly. But once you get to the product, it's wonderful! Not greasy at all, my skin takes it all in and it feels so good!"
Review 9 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tgovea
Location:miami, fl
Great cream!
Date:September 3, 2010
"I totally love this cream, I like that it goes on smoothly and not rough like other mattifying products. It works quickly and my cream foundation goes on nicely without the sweaty look! 4 stars just because the effect doesnt last too long. try it you will love! and smells great"
Review 10 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheOnlyBoss7
Location:CA
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Finally
Date:August 31, 2010
"My skin is extremely oily so considering the severity & how fast & oily my skin gets this moisturizer helps a huge amount for an exceptional time after I apply it in the morning, but when its effects do wear off & my skin has its usually dewey glow again & then its time for a translucent oil absorbing powder. For my individual oily skin (which gets oiler than most), I think it does a great job while it lasts & to me having oil free skin for a while is better than not having it at all! You can always ask an Avon rep for a sample so you can try before you buy ;-)"
Review 11 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nnazario
Location:Watsonville, CA
Words cannot explain
Date:August 27, 2010
"Since becoming a mark. rep I've been in the process of slowly swapping out my drug store face products with mark. I cannot believe how my face looks and feels with this on! The overall improvement of my skin tone and color has never been matched with all those pricey products out there. My skin as an adult has become oily and it's been extremely hard to find the balance between cleaners that clean the oil which tend to dry and then moisturizers that though light still make me feel oily. The combination of this and the mark. Calming Effects Comforting Milk Cleanser has been what has saved me. My skin has never looked so healthy!"
Review 12 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newcreative
Location:Indianapolis, IN
mark purchase frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
had it one day, can't live without it
Date:August 26, 2010
"I've used this product for only one day, and I can't believe the difference it has made. My skin is already very oily, and I am currently pregnant so it's become even oilier. I applied this product before my makeup yesterday and didn't have to reapply powder even once through the day. My makeup stayed on all day. This worked better than any primer I've used, and I've tried all of the expensive ones!"
Review 13 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kimmyred1227
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Not terrible but Not great
Date:August 25, 2010
"I kind of have mixed reviews about this product. I washed my face this morning and applied the moisturizer and it immediately dried out my skin. That didn't bother me so much because I have very oily skin, but later today my face was so dry that it started to hurt but only where my face doesn't get oily. So I would recommend only placing this product where you would normally get oily, like in your T-Zone. Other than that I think it works really well as an oil absorber but not as a moisturizer."
Review 14 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dmull
Location:NC
mark purchase frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Complaints about Container
Date:August 21, 2010
"Really like this product and it really does reduce shine for those of us that have really oily skin. However, I really do not like the container. It has a top that you have to push down and the lotion squirts out. It is really a pain to use. Hard to get out once it get even 1/2 empty. Wish the co. would redesign the container to something more normal."
Review 15 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArtsyOne404
Location:Covington, IN
IN LOVE. :]
Date:August 20, 2010
"I absolutely adore this moisturizer. I have combination skin in the winter and oily in the summer and this moisturizer is perfect for this. It keeps me from getting dry in those dry cold months, but is light enough and really does keep me from getting shiny.
There was a day i had to drive in my car (with no a/c) and i was sweating terribly. i thought my face was melting and i thought "oh my im going to look terrible and shiny" when i looked in the mirror though, i wasnt shiny! :] It does such an excellent job. Best moisturizer ever. ALSO it smells AMAZING! i feel sooo soft and smooth afterward.
I would reccommend it to anyone! I would also let those know who like to use the BERRY GRAND exfoliating beads, that u may need a little extra moisturizer in a few areas. But with the go with the grain i do just fine.
LOOOOVE this product!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perlina101
I'm IN LOVE
Date:August 11, 2010
"I'm in love with this products. Its a great moisturizer that goes on smooth and leaves my skin feeling refreshed!! I just ran out of my other one, so I am about to get another one! I usually never ever would spend that much on just a moisturizer, but I have to say I think that this one is quite worth it (= (= very very satisfied!"
Review 17 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EasyPeasy
Location:Middletown, Ct
mark purchase frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Amazing!
Date:August 2, 2010
"I can't believe my search is over for the perfect moisturizer, that hydrates, keeps my skin shine-free...all day! and smells great! Even with layering my sunscreen and concealer, nothing budges! Thanks Mark! for making my adult skin stop acting like a teenager!"
Review 18 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeezaP
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
mark purchase frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Hooked from the first try!
Date:July 22, 2010
"I love, love, love this stuff. I wear mineral makeup and usually end up a little shiny by the end of the day. The very first time I used this I noticed a dramatic difference. This product seems to make my pores disappear!"
Review 19 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikki79
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
delivers!
Date:July 11, 2010
"This is only the second facial moisturizer I've ever used that follows through on its claim to control shine (and I've used countless over the years) And you can't beat the price on this. Since it doesn't come with SPF, I've tried layering it on top of other creams and it still performs amazingly. I'd never have thought I could ever put two creams on my face and still be shine-free. Now I apply the goodness face and matte chance together and as long as I don't over-apply the goodness face, which can be heavy (probably due to the high SPF content) the matte chance keeps the dreaded shine at bay. Love it!
My only problem, as with the goodness face, is the smell. It takes some getting used to, but still something I can live with."
Review 20 for mark Matte Chance Mattifying Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Annie6493
Very disappointed
Date:July 7, 2010
"I was very sad with the results of this. I'm a 17 year old teenager and have oily skin. i read all the reviews for this product and the others (like the mask and the cleanser) and i got hooked and got it. when i got it, i felt a noticeable change! my face wasn't oily. but as the day went by, my face got oily still. I put this on this morning, went to work, and just now got home and my face is oily and shiny. Very disappointed in this product. It hurts me to say this because i had high hopes :("
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.