Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop Ideal Flawless or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
10
78 of 92(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Review 1 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
professeur
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Ideal Shade is ideal
Date:April 12, 2012
"I like this product very much. I used it (in another shade) a few years ago and was very pleased with it. I couldn't remember the shade I used so I guessed between two shades. One of them is perfect for spring and summer, but a little dark for winter. The product goes on smoothly and blends in well."
Review 2 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sjsp
Location:piqua, ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
LIKE ALL AVON FOUNDATIONS
Date:April 2, 2012
"I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED THESE FOUNDATIONS - HAVE TRIED MANY DIFFERENT AVON FOUNDATIONS AND NEVER FOUND ANY I DID NOT LIKE BUT THESE GIVE YOU A NATURAL LOOK ARE ARE EASY TO APPLY AND LAST ALL DAY"
Review 3 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ayh07
Location:MA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
It's alright at first....
Date:September 30, 2011
"When I first apply this makeup, it's okay. It has a good enough amount of coverage, and it blends alright, but after about an hour, it feels like you just smeared butter all over your face. I have combination skin and it's just terrible, it's even greasy where my skin is normally dry. I bought this product before it was in outlet, and I am glad to see that they are getting rid of it. My first tip off should have been that when you look at the bottle, there is a layer of oil floating at the top. Maybe good if you have especially dry skin ALL OVER your face. Maybe. And it melts off so easily it's not even funny. Oh, and I had to send back the original foundation because it is way darker than it looks in the picture."
Review 4 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LadyBeeks
Location:Wrightstown, WI
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Surprise find
Date:July 15, 2011
"I was a little hesitant to try this, but I'm glad I did. It goes on smooth with decent coverage. I have oily skin and it keeps my skin looking matte all day. Definitely will buy again!"
Review 5 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mosey
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Good Foundation
Date:June 26, 2011
"The creamy natural shade I chose really was ideal for my skin coloring, so that is a big positive. This makeup is light, not feeling heavy, cakey or pore clogging. Even while I have fairly dry skin, I at first thought this product would be too oily, although when it dried completely, it was as though I had just applied powder to my face, no oily feeling at all. For unblemished skin, the coverage works well, finding that I still need the addition of a concealer for any blemish that shows up. I did not notice a particulary strong scent."
Review 6 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LadyBeeks09
Location:Wrightstown, WI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Great foundation!
Date:June 25, 2011
"After reading the reviews on this foundation I decided to try it when it was on sale. I have oily and acne prone skin and this has decent coverage and oil control. It's a medium coverage with buildable full coverage. I had a breakout attack last week and you couldn't even tell. I was amazed!!! It seems to last all day and goes on nice and smooth. I would recommend shaking it up really well before the first time you use it or you'll get the watery party from it settling."
Review 7 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tateyj
Location:Indianapolis, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
On the fence.
Date:May 26, 2011
"I have fair skin (freckles, some light tanning after a lot of time in the sun) and I bought the light beige. It seems to be light enough without making me look like a China doll. It does not seem to be full coverage (I like full coverage) but it blends easily. I may use a touch of a darker shade to give me a little better glow and coverage.
Someone else reviewing this said it was oily -- I've noticed that with any foundation depending on the type, and usually you just need to shake it up to get all the ingredients incorporated (just like all-natural peanut butter if it sits out a while!)"
Review 8 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChrissChick03
Location:Ohio
Age:16-24
IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Date:May 18, 2011
"I bought it once and used it about 2 times until avon came out with the smooth minerals foundation and then i became hooked on that foundation and ended up giving this foundation to a friend. It does kinda have a wierd smell to this foundation and it doesnt blend out very well when you try to blend it out on your face. so i wouldnt buy this product again."
Review 9 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
srace1582
Location:VT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
I don't usually were makeup but.....
Date:May 16, 2011
"This liquid foundation looks so natural! I have never found a foundation that really felt like it was improving my look. Most just look like masks, but with the help of the ergonomic foundation brush, this looks flawless! Great price too, because a little goes a long way. I also set with matching loose powder and brush, this step helped it last all day. The coverage is medium, but also a little buildable."
Review 10 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devin
Location:Bastrop, Tx
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
One of a Kind
Date:May 3, 2011
"This foundation is the best foundation I've ever used. I've been using foundation for about 14 years and have sensitive skin somewhat oily and most foundations make my skin feel very oily and break out.. I've tried every foundation but this one is very light and actually takes the "shine" off of my face and gives it a "matte" look instead.. It lasts a long time and really looks nice! I keep trying new foundations from the store out of sheer convenience when I run out of this one, hoping that I'll find a foundation this good, but nothing compares to this one and well worth the wait for it to be delivered!"
Review 11 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dani12
Location:Lyman, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
love it
Date:April 3, 2011
"After reading the reviews I decided to try this product and I am happy I DID!! It doesn't smell once on your face...it goes really smooth on your face and covers most EVERYTHING!!! Try it with the concealer...I love it....best product :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzie2
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Date:December 23, 2010
"It was far superior in application and stayed put most of the day. I am really excited about this fine foundation, and hope others will feel the same. It feels so soft all day and has a soft texture. In other words, it's great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
carol53948
Location:wi
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
waste of money
Date:December 13, 2010
"This stuff is terrible. It is runny and smells bad. Who wants to put something that smells on your face."
Review 14 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VSumrall
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Smooth Perfection!
Date:November 23, 2010
"I bought this in combination with the concealer stick and pressed powder after using the Virtual Makeover. I am so pleased with the results. Even though the liquid is a little more runny than I expected it doesnt change the quality at all. To me, the slight "runnyness" makes it to where I dont over use the product. It also has a FANTASTIC smell unlike some other products I have used in the past that were department store brands. LOVE LOVE LOVE my new makeup!"
Review 15 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazy1
Location:WA
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
LOVE THIS!
Date:October 2, 2010
"I bought this in light beige. It works wodnerufl. It absorbs the oil from my skin and lasts for 8 hours plus. Blends easily with skintone. Would definately recommend. My mom started to wear this as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15THAvenue
Location:DFW TX area
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Perfect foundation for me!
Date:September 18, 2010
"I ordered this in the Creamy Natural. I love how this foundation doesn't feel heavy or make my face itch the way that some with sunscreens can. It also has a lovely, low key velvety finish, and isn't sparkly or shiny. It looks natural and stays on during my whole day at work. I used to have to mix moisturizer with any foundation I wore, but I have it all in one bottle now. The color is also perfect, thank you!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NANaah
Location:oCEanside CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
WOWWWWW!!! i Love it..
Date:September 3, 2010
"The shade blended perfectly with my skin tone. It's great coverage and doesn't feel heavy which was a big problem for me in the past. I will definately be using this product for a very long time!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
feisty
Location:New York State
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
I really like this makeup
Date:August 20, 2010
"I have very hard to match skin and when buying "status" makeups was never satisfied with them; Ideal Shade not only makes my skin look very, very nice, but isn't cakey or pasty or oily looking; in short, it is just what I wanted. I use it in 'Creamy Natural'...I am pale rather than fair and it give me the color depth I need. Your representatives BTW are very courteous and helpful."
Review 19 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KissAndMakeup
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Fab Foundation!
Date:May 20, 2010
"I often switch from mineral to liquid foundation depending on how much coverage I want so when I wanted a liquid I tried this and I am so happy I did. It is so smooth and creamy like a moisturizer that it feels as if it melts into your skin when you use it. Yes, the SPF is great as is the price but the best part is that I have not broken out once from this foundation nor does it feel heavy or cakey. This is the first liquid foundation that does not make my combination skin look greasy and the coverage is just right. You still look like you just with perfect skin ; )I bought Med. Beige and the color was perfect for my medium tan skin with olive undertones. There are no pink or orange undertones to this particular color and with a lot of liquid foundations that is hard to find. I've recommended it to others and once they tried it they were hooked, just like me."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
akt51
Location:New Windsor, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Like it a lot
Date:May 1, 2010
"Avon is one of the few lines that caters to fair skin. I can't tell you how many other brands of foundations I've returned because of a no-match. I love the shade, the ease of application (I apply with a brush), and the feel of Ideal Shade. It also looks natural, never cakey, even when I build up coverge. My only complaint is it rubs off on clothes, so it's not something I can wear in winter when my coat and scarf brush my face a lot. But it doesn't claim to transfer proof, so I still give it 5 stars. The silky feel and the beautiful finished look make it a keeper."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.