Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Ideal Flawless or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
10
78 of 92(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Review 1 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal Shade is ideal
By professeur
on April 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By professeur
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like this product very much. I used it (in another shade) a few years ago and was very pleased with it. I couldn't remember the shade I used so I guessed between two shades. One of them is perfect for spring and summer, but a little dark for winter. The product goes on smoothly and blends in well."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LIKE ALL AVON FOUNDATIONS
By sjsp
on April 2, 2012
About the reviewer
By sjsp
Location:piqua, ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED THESE FOUNDATIONS - HAVE TRIED MANY DIFFERENT AVON FOUNDATIONS AND NEVER FOUND ANY I DID NOT LIKE BUT THESE GIVE YOU A NATURAL LOOK ARE ARE EASY TO APPLY AND LAST ALL DAY"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's alright at first....
By ayh07
on September 30, 2011
About the reviewer
By ayh07
Location:MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"When I first apply this makeup, it's okay. It has a good enough amount of coverage, and it blends alright, but after about an hour, it feels like you just smeared butter all over your face. I have combination skin and it's just terrible, it's even greasy where my skin is normally dry. I bought this product before it was in outlet, and I am glad to see that they are getting rid of it. My first tip off should have been that when you look at the bottle, there is a layer of oil floating at the top. Maybe good if you have especially dry skin ALL OVER your face. Maybe. And it melts off so easily it's not even funny. Oh, and I had to send back the original foundation because it is way darker than it looks in the picture."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surprise find
By LadyBeeks
on July 15, 2011
About the reviewer
By LadyBeeks
Location:Wrightstown, WI
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was a little hesitant to try this, but I'm glad I did. It goes on smooth with decent coverage. I have oily skin and it keeps my skin looking matte all day. Definitely will buy again!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Foundation
By Mosey
on June 26, 2011
About the reviewer
By Mosey
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The creamy natural shade I chose really was ideal for my skin coloring, so that is a big positive. This makeup is light, not feeling heavy, cakey or pore clogging. Even while I have fairly dry skin, I at first thought this product would be too oily, although when it dried completely, it was as though I had just applied powder to my face, no oily feeling at all. For unblemished skin, the coverage works well, finding that I still need the addition of a concealer for any blemish that shows up. I did not notice a particulary strong scent."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great foundation!
By LadyBeeks09
on June 25, 2011
About the reviewer
By LadyBeeks09
Location:Wrightstown, WI
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"After reading the reviews on this foundation I decided to try it when it was on sale. I have oily and acne prone skin and this has decent coverage and oil control. It's a medium coverage with buildable full coverage. I had a breakout attack last week and you couldn't even tell. I was amazed!!! It seems to last all day and goes on nice and smooth. I would recommend shaking it up really well before the first time you use it or you'll get the watery party from it settling."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
On the fence.
By tateyj
on May 26, 2011
About the reviewer
By tateyj
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have fair skin (freckles, some light tanning after a lot of time in the sun) and I bought the light beige. It seems to be light enough without making me look like a China doll. It does not seem to be full coverage (I like full coverage) but it blends easily. I may use a touch of a darker shade to give me a little better glow and coverage.
Someone else reviewing this said it was oily -- I've noticed that with any foundation depending on the type, and usually you just need to shake it up to get all the ingredients incorporated (just like all-natural peanut butter if it sits out a while!)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
By ChrissChick03
on May 18, 2011
About the reviewer
By ChrissChick03
Location:Ohio
Age:16-24
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought it once and used it about 2 times until avon came out with the smooth minerals foundation and then i became hooked on that foundation and ended up giving this foundation to a friend. It does kinda have a wierd smell to this foundation and it doesnt blend out very well when you try to blend it out on your face. so i wouldnt buy this product again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't usually were makeup but.....
By srace1582
on May 16, 2011
About the reviewer
By srace1582
Location:VT
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This liquid foundation looks so natural! I have never found a foundation that really felt like it was improving my look. Most just look like masks, but with the help of the ergonomic foundation brush, this looks flawless! Great price too, because a little goes a long way. I also set with matching loose powder and brush, this step helped it last all day. The coverage is medium, but also a little buildable."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a Kind
By Devin
on May 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By Devin
Location:Bastrop, Tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This foundation is the best foundation I've ever used. I've been using foundation for about 14 years and have sensitive skin somewhat oily and most foundations make my skin feel very oily and break out.. I've tried every foundation but this one is very light and actually takes the "shine" off of my face and gives it a "matte" look instead.. It lasts a long time and really looks nice! I keep trying new foundations from the store out of sheer convenience when I run out of this one, hoping that I'll find a foundation this good, but nothing compares to this one and well worth the wait for it to be delivered!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it
By Dani12
on April 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By Dani12
Location:Lyman, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"After reading the reviews I decided to try this product and I am happy I DID!! It doesn't smell once on your face...it goes really smooth on your face and covers most EVERYTHING!!! Try it with the concealer...I love it....best product :)"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Suzie2
on December 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By Suzie2
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"It was far superior in application and stayed put most of the day. I am really excited about this fine foundation, and hope others will feel the same. It feels so soft all day and has a soft texture. In other words, it's great."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
waste of money
By carol53948
on December 13, 2010
About the reviewer
By carol53948
Location:wi
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This stuff is terrible. It is runny and smells bad. Who wants to put something that smells on your face."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Perfection!
By VSumrall
on November 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By VSumrall
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought this in combination with the concealer stick and pressed powder after using the Virtual Makeover. I am so pleased with the results. Even though the liquid is a little more runny than I expected it doesnt change the quality at all. To me, the slight "runnyness" makes it to where I dont over use the product. It also has a FANTASTIC smell unlike some other products I have used in the past that were department store brands. LOVE LOVE LOVE my new makeup!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE THIS!
By crazy1
on October 2, 2010
About the reviewer
By crazy1
Location:WA
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I bought this in light beige. It works wodnerufl. It absorbs the oil from my skin and lasts for 8 hours plus. Blends easily with skintone. Would definately recommend. My mom started to wear this as well."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect foundation for me!
By 15THAvenue
on September 18, 2010
About the reviewer
By 15THAvenue
Location:DFW TX area
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I ordered this in the Creamy Natural. I love how this foundation doesn't feel heavy or make my face itch the way that some with sunscreens can. It also has a lovely, low key velvety finish, and isn't sparkly or shiny. It looks natural and stays on during my whole day at work. I used to have to mix moisturizer with any foundation I wore, but I have it all in one bottle now. The color is also perfect, thank you!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOWWWWW!!! i Love it..
By NANaah
on September 3, 2010
About the reviewer
By NANaah
Location:oCEanside CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"The shade blended perfectly with my skin tone. It's great coverage and doesn't feel heavy which was a big problem for me in the past. I will definately be using this product for a very long time!"
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this makeup
By feisty
on August 20, 2010
About the reviewer
By feisty
Location:New York State
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have very hard to match skin and when buying "status" makeups was never satisfied with them; Ideal Shade not only makes my skin look very, very nice, but isn't cakey or pasty or oily looking; in short, it is just what I wanted. I use it in 'Creamy Natural'...I am pale rather than fair and it give me the color depth I need. Your representatives BTW are very courteous and helpful."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab Foundation!
By KissAndMakeup
on May 20, 2010
About the reviewer
By KissAndMakeup
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I often switch from mineral to liquid foundation depending on how much coverage I want so when I wanted a liquid I tried this and I am so happy I did. It is so smooth and creamy like a moisturizer that it feels as if it melts into your skin when you use it. Yes, the SPF is great as is the price but the best part is that I have not broken out once from this foundation nor does it feel heavy or cakey. This is the first liquid foundation that does not make my combination skin look greasy and the coverage is just right. You still look like you just with perfect skin ; )I bought Med. Beige and the color was perfect for my medium tan skin with olive undertones. There are no pink or orange undertones to this particular color and with a lot of liquid foundations that is hard to find. I've recommended it to others and once they tried it they were hooked, just like me."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 20 for IDEAL SHADE Liquid Foundation SPF 10
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it a lot
By akt51
on May 1, 2010
About the reviewer
By akt51
Location:New Windsor, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Avon is one of the few lines that caters to fair skin. I can't tell you how many other brands of foundations I've returned because of a no-match. I love the shade, the ease of application (I apply with a brush), and the feel of Ideal Shade. It also looks natural, never cakey, even when I build up coverge. My only complaint is it rubs off on clothes, so it's not something I can wear in winter when my coat and scarf brush my face a lot. But it doesn't claim to transfer proof, so I still give it 5 stars. The silky feel and the beautiful finished look make it a keeper."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 next>>