Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Powder or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder

Secure your fragrance wardrobe with one final layer. Shimmering, glimmering talc keeps skin dry and comfortable. Skin-pampering talc scented with orange flowers and precious amber, enhances the matching fragrance for a more enduring impression. 1.4 oz. net wt.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
22 of 25(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Review 1 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I expected
By raj2
on October 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By raj2
Location:VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Overall this powder had really good reviews. I was surprised that, upon smelling it, it smelled like something for a much, much older woman. I immediately thought of my grandma. I cannot complain much, as I bought it on super-sale, and sometimes after the shower at night time I throw it on just because it does make my skin feel nice and soft, but the scent is just not for me--- I would never wear it out in public."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Say bye to sticky summer skin!
By BlueEyedLady
on April 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By BlueEyedLady
Location:Orlando, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have sensitive skin, meaning my own sweat tends to make me itch. We all sweat in Florida! This talc-free powder helps my skin not stick to itself. I used to suffer from breakouts on my body, but when I started using this product about 7 yrs ago, my skin calmed right down! It's made a huge difference for me. I highly recommend this product in your favorite scent!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tooooo.....Something ? ? ?
By Overcomer98
on October 26, 2013
About the reviewer
By Overcomer98
Location:Norfolk, Virginia
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is one of those rare times I don't have anything good to say about a scent. Perhaps Rare Gold just doesn't mix well with my body chemistry. I can't seem to find the right word to describe it, except the scent is too strong!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my favorite scents!!
By Anonymous
on September 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love Rare Gold scent the body powder and lotion. The scent lasts all day. This is truly one of my favorite scents."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good body powder
By Fran125
on September 12, 2013
About the reviewer
By Fran125
Location:North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Rare Gold is a good daily powder to give a little touch of "specialness" to ordinary days!!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous scent and great product
By MarleneW
on June 7, 2013
About the reviewer
By MarleneW
Location:Santa Teresa, NM
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Rare Gold is one of my favorite Avon fragrances in recent years and since I've been using Avon body powder for years after my showers, it was natural that I would gravitate toward the Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powders are great
By CAMPER4EVER
on February 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By CAMPER4EVER
Location:ELizabethtown
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I buy many of the scents in Avon's body powders. I really like them."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Anonymous
on December 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have been purchasing Rare Gold Shimmering Powder for many years. I particularly like that it does not contain talc and makes my skin feel satiny."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Fav!
By Sharklegg
on November 26, 2012
About the reviewer
By Sharklegg
Location:Upstate, NY
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"By far my favorite scent of the "Rare" products from Avon. It's also an excellent powder, especially for those with sensitive skin."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
By 1Faery4me
on June 8, 2012
About the reviewer
By 1Faery4me
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Love it! great way to accent a healthy glowing tan day or night...buy it once and you'll be hooked too. Less floral and a hint more sultry spice but I love that too! Soft velvety feel and is great with or without the matching perfume."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
product quality
By sawp
on December 18, 2011
About the reviewer
By sawp
Location:newark nj
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"i like the smell of this product and it is long lasting"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Miniature
By AvonShpr
on December 12, 2011
About the reviewer
By AvonShpr
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I remember these powders being so much bigger and with more content. The size of this was sad. Product itself was as expected."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever
By CobraCommander
on May 10, 2011
About the reviewer
By CobraCommander
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I use this powder all the time, my skin shimmers in the low illumination of the moon. Many of my friends think it is a little weird that a man likes this scent, but I feel confident enough to wear it everyday. I share with others around me and there reactions are quite exciting. I believe the most common phrase used is "Oh my god!!!!" I take that as a rave review!! I would recommend this product to anyone, especially if you want to freshen the cabin of what might be the greatest aircraft in the world, the CH-47. Although beware when using in flight, the airflow plays a big part in sharing the experience with others."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st experience with the Avon powders
By avonrules
on September 30, 2010
About the reviewer
By avonrules
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I got this in a gift set and really liked it! It was light and smelled just like the perfume. It rubbed right it, didn't leave me feeling "dry" and the shimmer is very subtle (so you aren't all sparkly). I plan on trying the Rare Pearls powder next....."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
By EbonieJoie
on September 9, 2010
About the reviewer
By EbonieJoie
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love powder and this one is perfect! It smells exactly like rare gold and it does keep me dry and smelling great."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Product
By Jinjer
on December 18, 2009
About the reviewer
By Jinjer
Location:New Orleans, LA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I absolutely LOVE the body powders, and Rare Gold is such a wonderful scent. Sometimes you just a hint of scent, and the Shimmering Powders are it!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long time user
By Teresa525600
on November 12, 2009
About the reviewer
By Teresa525600
Location:Alabama
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"My mom has used this product forever. Its a scent that I will always associate with my mom. I am hooked on it too. I sprinkle it on my sheets everytime I change them and it makes the bed smell fantastic and makes me smell great when i get up in the morning. With always use this product."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect
By corena
on January 28, 2009
About the reviewer
By corena
Location:Oklahoma
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I love the perfume but sometimes it's alittle over powering so I use this powder instead and its just perfect!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great item
By texasgranny2
on July 6, 2008
About the reviewer
By texasgranny2
Location:Rotan, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I loved the powder. Silky, smooth, and the smell was great"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Rare Gold Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful scent
By KristinPeabody
on February 3, 2008
About the reviewer
By KristinPeabody
Location:Michigan
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I tried this powder fragrance after smelling the scented page in the avon book and I loved it! It's a warm and romantic scent but not too old either. I'm 19 and I can wear it whether I'm going on a date or just out with friends. I also love the light shimmer it leaves on skin without making your hands oily or slippery. My mom bought me three of them for Christmas! :)"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>