Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat

Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
63 of 73(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Review 1 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NMNolf
Location:Blairsville, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Highly Recommend
Date:November 25, 2013
"I've been using this base coat for YEARS and I love it! It dries super quick. So even if I'm in a hurry and didn't get to do my nails, I put a coat of this on real quick to give my nails a nice shine. I think it contributes to my nail polish staying on so long, despite doing dishes regularly, etc. In fact, my friends are always saying "I can't believe it, you did your nails last week and they still look good." I say, "I think it's that base coat I use.""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ang9
Location:VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best base coat I've ever used.
Date:November 23, 2013
"I love this base coat. Goes on smooth, dries quick, prevents the nail laquer/enamel from discoloring my fingernails. With dabbing my clean, dry nails with some acetone, and then putting this base coat on before color, my manicure stays perfect for nearly a week. No joke."
Review 3 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Writer04
Location:Loudon, TN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Base Coat
Date:November 20, 2013
"I enjoy using this base coat. It goes on well and dries very fast. It's the best one that I've ever used. Thank you, Avon, for another great product! My nail polish looks and feels much better when I apply this on my nails before my nail polish. My nail polish also stays on much longer than if I didn't use this. I will continue buying this."
Review 4 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KangiRoo
Location:FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Best ridge filler out there
Date:September 2, 2013
"I have used this product for many many years now, always with excellent results. One of the best things about it is that it doesn't get gooped up and unusable when you're only halfway through the bottle. It provides a nice glazed surface for your topcoats, so any imperfections in your nails won't show even under that unforgiving red polish! I pair this with Avon Nail Experts Strong Results length and strength complex (which I swear by for good strong nails!) in my weekly home manicure. I never buy anything but Avon for my nails because it works."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
olmary
Location:hatboro, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
love the nail products
Date:June 15, 2013
"great beginning for polishing your nails."
Review 6 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
gypsyspoon
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
not happy
Date:June 10, 2013
"I bought this base coat for the ridge filling aspect but also expected it to keep the polish on my nails longer than one day. The first time I did dishes it peeled off and I can usually go a week with my usual brand of base coat but it is out of production so I've been searching for a replacement. This isn't it."
Review 7 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoroLass
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Base Coat - Top of the Class
Date:June 6, 2013
"Unconditionally recommend this base coat.
Beautiful finish.
Stays and stays.
Prepares your nails for polish or just go with this base.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginab
Love ths!
Date:March 9, 2013
"Makes a great base and dries smooth and fast!"
Review 9 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mr2713
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Much Better Options Out There...
Date:October 2, 2012
"I have ridges in my nails, so I was excited to see that there's a base coat to even out ridges. I ordered it (at a discounted price, thank goodness) and tried it out as soon as I got it. After it dried, I could still see and feel every ridge in my nails and after one day of wearing it, it started peeling off. All I had to do was pull and the whole bit I had painted on each nail just came apart. Either my nails have serious issues OR this stuff is just not worth it...I'm leaning towards the second option."
Review 10 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
grandmamona
Location:Trenton, MO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Looking for substitute
Date:October 1, 2012
"I only bought this hoping it might be a substitute for the Strong Results product that was discontinued. If you are coming out with a product that is packaged differently but does the same as Strong Results, I would certainly like to know when that happens."
Review 11 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
indygal
Location:Bonita Springs, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best Base Coat Ever!
Date:September 27, 2012
"I have tried others but this works best. I never manicure my nails without it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShelbyBsw
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best base coat
Date:August 7, 2012
"Dries quick , and makes your polish last on your nails."
Review 13 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lis1
Location:Columbus, Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Awful! Makes your nails brittle and peel.
Date:July 19, 2012
"After using this product twice, I have noticed that my nails are super thin and peeling. I can't tell you how many times I have bent them back doing normal things. I don't recommend this product whatsoever."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
maligo
Location:NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
makes putting on nail color easier.
Date:July 13, 2012
"This has made it possible for me to put on nail polish myself and not having to go to the nail salon."
Review 15 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grazka
Location:CT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Deal
Date:June 30, 2012
"Price was really good, I love Avon nail polish."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PitBullMama
Location:Yasawa, Fiji
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Fair
Date:May 23, 2012
"I do my own french pedicures at home. Since wearing nail polish all spring & summer long makes my toenails yellow I thought that this would help. I use stickers as guides for my white tips & the stickers just pull the base coat off."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SBarbow
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
LOVE IT!!!!
Date:May 12, 2012
"A manicure is incomplete without it!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
justmelisa
Location:Iowa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Must Have
Date:March 25, 2012
"I absolutely love this base coat. Makes your nails look healthy, no stains left on the nail n it smoothes out ridges and so much more...This is a must have for all your nail care needs!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Janfz
Location:La Mirada, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Dream Basecoat
Date:March 13, 2012
"This basecoat smoothes the rough ridges in your nails and makes the color coat last. It is as good, if not better, than some of the more expensive varieties. My nails are long by today's standards and this allows them to look perfect with color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BunnyMomma27
Location:Jeffersonville, Indiana
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Same ongoing issue for avon
Date:November 22, 2011
"They should really stick to makeup and not polishes.
No matter what I do, silk wrap, minerals, smooth beginnings, none of them STAY on my nails. They consistently chip off. Not wasting my money anymore on nail products from Avon.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.