Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat

Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
63 of 73(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Review 1 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommend
By NMNolf
on November 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By NMNolf
Location:Blairsville, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I've been using this base coat for YEARS and I love it! It dries super quick. So even if I'm in a hurry and didn't get to do my nails, I put a coat of this on real quick to give my nails a nice shine. I think it contributes to my nail polish staying on so long, despite doing dishes regularly, etc. In fact, my friends are always saying "I can't believe it, you did your nails last week and they still look good." I say, "I think it's that base coat I use.""
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 2 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best base coat I've ever used.
By Ang9
on November 23, 2013
About the reviewer
By Ang9
Location:VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this base coat. Goes on smooth, dries quick, prevents the nail laquer/enamel from discoloring my fingernails. With dabbing my clean, dry nails with some acetone, and then putting this base coat on before color, my manicure stays perfect for nearly a week. No joke."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Base Coat
By Writer04
on November 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By Writer04
Location:Loudon, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I enjoy using this base coat. It goes on well and dries very fast. It's the best one that I've ever used. Thank you, Avon, for another great product! My nail polish looks and feels much better when I apply this on my nails before my nail polish. My nail polish also stays on much longer than if I didn't use this. I will continue buying this."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ridge filler out there
By KangiRoo
on September 2, 2013
About the reviewer
By KangiRoo
Location:FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have used this product for many many years now, always with excellent results. One of the best things about it is that it doesn't get gooped up and unusable when you're only halfway through the bottle. It provides a nice glazed surface for your topcoats, so any imperfections in your nails won't show even under that unforgiving red polish! I pair this with Avon Nail Experts Strong Results length and strength complex (which I swear by for good strong nails!) in my weekly home manicure. I never buy anything but Avon for my nails because it works."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love the nail products
By olmary
on June 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By olmary
Location:hatboro, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"great beginning for polishing your nails."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not happy
By gypsyspoon
on June 10, 2013
About the reviewer
By gypsyspoon
Location:Georgia
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought this base coat for the ridge filling aspect but also expected it to keep the polish on my nails longer than one day. The first time I did dishes it peeled off and I can usually go a week with my usual brand of base coat but it is out of production so I've been searching for a replacement. This isn't it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Base Coat - Top of the Class
By MoroLass
on June 6, 2013
About the reviewer
By MoroLass
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Unconditionally recommend this base coat.
Beautiful finish.
Stays and stays.
Prepares your nails for polish or just go with this base.
"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love ths!
By Ginab
on March 9, 2013
About the reviewer
By Ginab
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Makes a great base and dries smooth and fast!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Much Better Options Out There...
By mr2713
on October 2, 2012
About the reviewer
By mr2713
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have ridges in my nails, so I was excited to see that there's a base coat to even out ridges. I ordered it (at a discounted price, thank goodness) and tried it out as soon as I got it. After it dried, I could still see and feel every ridge in my nails and after one day of wearing it, it started peeling off. All I had to do was pull and the whole bit I had painted on each nail just came apart. Either my nails have serious issues OR this stuff is just not worth it...I'm leaning towards the second option."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looking for substitute
By grandmamona
on October 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By grandmamona
Location:Trenton, MO
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I only bought this hoping it might be a substitute for the Strong Results product that was discontinued. If you are coming out with a product that is packaged differently but does the same as Strong Results, I would certainly like to know when that happens."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Base Coat Ever!
By indygal
on September 27, 2012
About the reviewer
By indygal
Location:Bonita Springs, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have tried others but this works best. I never manicure my nails without it!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best base coat
By ShelbyBsw
on August 7, 2012
About the reviewer
By ShelbyBsw
Location:Georgia
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Dries quick , and makes your polish last on your nails."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful! Makes your nails brittle and peel.
By Lis1
on July 19, 2012
About the reviewer
By Lis1
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"After using this product twice, I have noticed that my nails are super thin and peeling. I can't tell you how many times I have bent them back doing normal things. I don't recommend this product whatsoever."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 14 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makes putting on nail color easier.
By maligo
on July 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By maligo
Location:NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This has made it possible for me to put on nail polish myself and not having to go to the nail salon."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deal
By Grazka
on June 30, 2012
About the reviewer
By Grazka
Location:CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Price was really good, I love Avon nail polish."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fair
By PitBullMama
on May 23, 2012
About the reviewer
By PitBullMama
Location:Yasawa, Fiji
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I do my own french pedicures at home. Since wearing nail polish all spring & summer long makes my toenails yellow I thought that this would help. I use stickers as guides for my white tips & the stickers just pull the base coat off."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE IT!!!!
By SBarbow
on May 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By SBarbow
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"A manicure is incomplete without it!!"
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have
By justmelisa
on March 25, 2012
About the reviewer
By justmelisa
Location:Iowa
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I absolutely love this base coat. Makes your nails look healthy, no stains left on the nail n it smoothes out ridges and so much more...This is a must have for all your nail care needs!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 19 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Basecoat
By Janfz
on March 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By Janfz
Location:La Mirada, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This basecoat smoothes the rough ridges in your nails and makes the color coat last. It is as good, if not better, than some of the more expensive varieties. My nails are long by today's standards and this allows them to look perfect with color."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Same ongoing issue for avon
By BunnyMomma27
on November 22, 2011
About the reviewer
By BunnyMomma27
Location:Jeffersonville, Indiana
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"They should really stick to makeup and not polishes.
No matter what I do, silk wrap, minerals, smooth beginnings, none of them STAY on my nails. They consistently chip off. Not wasting my money anymore on nail products from Avon.
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
1 2 3 next>>