Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat

Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
43 of 50(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Review 21 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved It!
By goldenpig
on November 4, 2011
About the reviewer
By goldenpig
Location:PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've used different brands of base coat, this one is the best so far. It makes much easier to put my second coat on! I will keep buying it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 22 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really makes the color last!
By FavoriteAunt
on October 19, 2011
About the reviewer
By FavoriteAunt
Location:Helena, MT
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've always been skeptical of products like this, but I can say with absolute certainty that this product is an amazing addition to any home manicure set. I've noticed a HUGE difference in how long my manicure lasts when I use this product vs. when I don't. I've found that my manicure will last at least 5 days longer than if I don't. I love it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 23 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Base Coat
By Maggie123
on September 28, 2011
About the reviewer
By Maggie123
Location:Illinois
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Love this base coat! Helps your polish last and also prevents your nails from staining. Totally worth the price!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 24 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best item to make polish last
By LauraRed
on March 28, 2011
About the reviewer
By LauraRed
Location:Minneapolis, mN
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've been a devotee of the at-home manicure for years, and nothing makes nail color last like this product. I love this base coat."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 25 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best base coat ever
By SnowCone
on February 27, 2011
About the reviewer
By SnowCone
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the best base coat I have ever owned. I probably have gone through 3 bottles by now, and I plan to buy another in my next order.
I buff my nails so they are already smooth, but when i used other base coats to protect agents stains it wouldn't stick to my nails.
This stuff sticks, makes it super smooth, protects agents stains, I LOVE IT! <3"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 26 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Base Coat
By LoveAvon999
on November 5, 2010
About the reviewer
By LoveAvon999
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This is by far the best base coat I have ever used. It helps to make the nail color go on super smooth and look fabulous!!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 27 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Thing Ever
By colleen324
on September 17, 2010
About the reviewer
By colleen324
Location:Midlothian, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I am in love with this product. My nail coloring skills are definitely not up to par but this makes it so easy. The color goes on smooth and I just cannot believe how good my nails look. I will recommend this product to everyone I know."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 28 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Suzie2
on August 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By Suzie2
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've used all of this product, and have ordered it again. It's great. Polish applies evenly and smoothly. It also dries fast."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 29 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Base Coat
By dafk
on August 10, 2010
About the reviewer
By dafk
Location:Kentucky
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is a great base coat. It works especially well to use alone for a natural manicured look. I am very pleased and will purchase again!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 30 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Home Manicures!
By myasmommy
on August 9, 2010
About the reviewer
By myasmommy
Location:joliet, il
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use this everytime I paint my nails and love it! It makes the nail polish go on very smooth. I use with both Avon and other brands and it always looks great!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 31 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
manicure helper
By cocoamarie
on April 16, 2010
About the reviewer
By cocoamarie
Location:Missouri
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"this base coat made all of my at-home manicures last 4 times longer:)"
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 32 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE product for easy, gorgeous natural nails!
By JeninGA
on April 10, 2010
About the reviewer
By JeninGA
Location:Southeastern US
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"This is definitely one of my "can't live without" products... but not necessarily as a "base" coat. I really like the look of well-groomed, natural nails (and they're way lower maintenance) - so once a week I
1 - trim and file my nails;
2 - wipe them with nail polish remover, then alcohol (btw, I added the alcohol step because I had the same experience as amyo in SC, CA - where the polish all came off in one piece. I think it was because I didn't remove hand lotion from my nails before I started painting, so it couldn't adhere well. Anyway, the alcohol seems to do the trick);
3 - apply a coat of Smooth Beginnings and
4 - use a bit of Avon's Nurtura Replenishing Cream as hand lotion (after the base coat is dry, of course).
I can't tell you how many people ask me where I get my nails done because they look so good but still so natural (even though I have one that is irreparably damaged from too many acrylics). Thanks Avon, for making great-looking hands easy!
"
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 33 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow
By enviromom
on January 30, 2010
About the reviewer
By enviromom
Location:Rushville, IL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I used department store base coat before but never again for me! This base coat is amazing. My nails feel stronger with just the one coat. I'm surprised at how my nail polish doesn't chip off. It's truly an amazing product."
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 34 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really smooth nails
By bettyful
on January 15, 2010
About the reviewer
By bettyful
Location:FL
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"For some reason my nails flake even if I use moisturizer. To have a smooth look I always need to use a buffer over the nail's surface but this product helps a lot. I have noticed an improvement with regular use and I don't need to buffer every time I paint my nails just as long as I use this base."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 35 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No thanks!
By amyo
on January 12, 2010
About the reviewer
By amyo
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I normally put on two coats of Avon nailwear and then a top coat, and my polish doesn't start chipping for at least 5 days.
After reading the reviews of this product, I purchased it and put it on before my normal routine. It felt like a ton of stuff was on my nails and looked plasticy. After two days, it started to chip and the polish came off in one piece off of every nail (like a layer of plastic). If I use this again at all it'll be just as a clear polish.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 36 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
By KJ2000
on November 24, 2009
About the reviewer
By KJ2000
Location:Houston, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use the Smooth Beginnings Base coat with the top coat and my nails look like I got them done professionally. My toenail polish stayed on for over 2 weeks without chipping. I love this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 37 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By NLee
on October 31, 2009
About the reviewer
By NLee
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This makes nails look beautiful...very smooth and polished."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 38 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent base coat!
By MakeupMonster
on September 5, 2009
About the reviewer
By MakeupMonster
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"Excellent product, smooths out nails perfectly, gives such a nice polished look to your nails! I've had several compliments already! Btw, I usually can't keep my nails looking nice & they tend to break easily... not so with this product. My nails have really withstood the beatings that cleaning house, taking care of kids, pets and gardens etc. can dish out since I started using this product.. .and they still look great!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 39 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the pruchase.
By SherAvonWithYou
on July 2, 2009
About the reviewer
By SherAvonWithYou
Location:Kent, Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used this along with Avon Nail experts top coat, and polish. Everyone asked me where I got my nails and toes done. I'm truly not that good at painting, but with this product, it made my nail beds look smooth. Love it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 40 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth beginnings base coat
By Pammo
on May 21, 2009
About the reviewer
By Pammo
Location:Ventura, CA.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"My favorite base coat. It does even out my nails, and makes them feel nice and evened-out before applying nail enamel. There are no ridges, bumps or rough spots either. I would definitely recomment this product to anyone."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>