Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop Nail Experts or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat

Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
39 of 46(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Review 21 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goldenpig
Location:PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Loved It!
Date:November 4, 2011
"I've used different brands of base coat, this one is the best so far. It makes much easier to put my second coat on! I will keep buying it!"
Review 22 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FavoriteAunt
Location:Helena, MT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Really makes the color last!
Date:October 19, 2011
"I've always been skeptical of products like this, but I can say with absolute certainty that this product is an amazing addition to any home manicure set. I've noticed a HUGE difference in how long my manicure lasts when I use this product vs. when I don't. I've found that my manicure will last at least 5 days longer than if I don't. I love it!"
Review 23 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie123
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Base Coat
Date:September 28, 2011
"Love this base coat! Helps your polish last and also prevents your nails from staining. Totally worth the price!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraRed
Location:Minneapolis, mN
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best item to make polish last
Date:March 28, 2011
"I've been a devotee of the at-home manicure for years, and nothing makes nail color last like this product. I love this base coat."
Review 25 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SnowCone
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best base coat ever
Date:February 27, 2011
"This is the best base coat I have ever owned. I probably have gone through 3 bottles by now, and I plan to buy another in my next order.
I buff my nails so they are already smooth, but when i used other base coats to protect agents stains it wouldn't stick to my nails.
This stuff sticks, makes it super smooth, protects agents stains, I LOVE IT! <3"
Review 26 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveAvon999
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best Base Coat
Date:November 5, 2010
"This is by far the best base coat I have ever used. It helps to make the nail color go on super smooth and look fabulous!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colleen324
Location:Midlothian, VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Best Thing Ever
Date:September 17, 2010
"I am in love with this product. My nail coloring skills are definitely not up to par but this makes it so easy. The color goes on smooth and I just cannot believe how good my nails look. I will recommend this product to everyone I know."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzie2
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Date:August 23, 2010
"I've used all of this product, and have ordered it again. It's great. Polish applies evenly and smoothly. It also dries fast."
Review 29 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dafk
Location:Kentucky
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Base Coat
Date:August 10, 2010
"This is a great base coat. It works especially well to use alone for a natural manicured look. I am very pleased and will purchase again!"
Review 30 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
myasmommy
Location:joliet, il
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best Home Manicures!
Date:August 9, 2010
"I use this everytime I paint my nails and love it! It makes the nail polish go on very smooth. I use with both Avon and other brands and it always looks great!"
Review 31 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cocoamarie
Location:Missouri
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
manicure helper
Date:April 16, 2010
"this base coat made all of my at-home manicures last 4 times longer:)"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeninGA
Location:Southeastern US
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
THE product for easy, gorgeous natural nails!
Date:April 10, 2010
"This is definitely one of my "can't live without" products... but not necessarily as a "base" coat. I really like the look of well-groomed, natural nails (and they're way lower maintenance) - so once a week I
1 - trim and file my nails;
2 - wipe them with nail polish remover, then alcohol (btw, I added the alcohol step because I had the same experience as amyo in SC, CA - where the polish all came off in one piece. I think it was because I didn't remove hand lotion from my nails before I started painting, so it couldn't adhere well. Anyway, the alcohol seems to do the trick);
3 - apply a coat of Smooth Beginnings and
4 - use a bit of Avon's Nurtura Replenishing Cream as hand lotion (after the base coat is dry, of course).
I can't tell you how many people ask me where I get my nails done because they look so good but still so natural (even though I have one that is irreparably damaged from too many acrylics). Thanks Avon, for making great-looking hands easy!
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enviromom
Location:Rushville, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Wow
Date:January 30, 2010
"I used department store base coat before but never again for me! This base coat is amazing. My nails feel stronger with just the one coat. I'm surprised at how my nail polish doesn't chip off. It's truly an amazing product."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bettyful
Location:FL
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
really smooth nails
Date:January 15, 2010
"For some reason my nails flake even if I use moisturizer. To have a smooth look I always need to use a buffer over the nail's surface but this product helps a lot. I have noticed an improvement with regular use and I don't need to buffer every time I paint my nails just as long as I use this base."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amyo
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
No thanks!
Date:January 12, 2010
"I normally put on two coats of Avon nailwear and then a top coat, and my polish doesn't start chipping for at least 5 days.
After reading the reviews of this product, I purchased it and put it on before my normal routine. It felt like a ton of stuff was on my nails and looked plasticy. After two days, it started to chip and the polish came off in one piece off of every nail (like a layer of plastic). If I use this again at all it'll be just as a clear polish.
"
Review 36 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KJ2000
Location:Houston, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Product
Date:November 24, 2009
"I use the Smooth Beginnings Base coat with the top coat and my nails look like I got them done professionally. My toenail polish stayed on for over 2 weeks without chipping. I love this product."
Review 37 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NLee
Date:October 31, 2009
"This makes nails look beautiful...very smooth and polished."
Review 38 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MakeupMonster
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Excellent base coat!
Date:September 5, 2009
"Excellent product, smooths out nails perfectly, gives such a nice polished look to your nails! I've had several compliments already! Btw, I usually can't keep my nails looking nice & they tend to break easily... not so with this product. My nails have really withstood the beatings that cleaning house, taking care of kids, pets and gardens etc. can dish out since I started using this product.. .and they still look great!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherAvonWithYou
Location:Kent, Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Well worth the pruchase.
Date:July 2, 2009
"I used this along with Avon Nail experts top coat, and polish. Everyone asked me where I got my nails and toes done. I'm truly not that good at painting, but with this product, it made my nail beds look smooth. Love it!"
Review 40 for NAIL EXPERTS Smooth Beginnings Base Coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pammo
Location:Ventura, CA.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Smooth beginnings base coat
Date:May 21, 2009
"My favorite base coat. It does even out my nails, and makes them feel nice and evened-out before applying nail enamel. There are no ridges, bumps or rough spots either. I would definitely recomment this product to anyone."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.