Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop insect repellents or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.747 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
7
49 of 75(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Review 1 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SWGallardo
Skin so soft bug guard is the best
Date:September 28, 2013
"I have used this product for many years it's the best"
Review 2 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MollyOR
Don't buy
Date:September 20, 2013
"Isn't so fabulous. If you don't rub in good you're left with blue streaks. Most of all the mosquitoes found it "tasty"."
Review 3 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EBFIII
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Kept the bugs away and worked as a sunscreen
Date:September 4, 2013
"We used this in the Utah National Parks, did not get sun burned or bitten by bugs. We saw plenty of other park visitors with legs covered with bug bites"
Review 4 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lepracon
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:September 3, 2013
"Why would you make this product such a disgusting blue color. If it's for kids, it should be promoted as such. The color has to be scrubbed off of hands.
If I could return them to a store I would. Too much trouble and an expense returning by mail,
I'm a golfer and always used the original one on the course as needed. Now I can't use the new colored one as I would have to play golf with a blue hand. Will never buy this again.
I bought it because it said plus so I thought it was a new improved formula."
Review 5 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
htfl
TOO BLUE
Date:August 31, 2013
"did not like the color of this product!"
Review 6 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linna
Location:New York
Skin type:Combination
Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus
Date:August 30, 2013
"My grandchildren live in Florida where there are lots of mosquitoes, and this works for them! and they love the disappearing lotion! I used it too! Thank you Avon!"
Review 7 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sugarpup
Location:Tyler Tx.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
most likely won't buy again
Date:August 29, 2013
"While rubbing on grandson would dry befor spread out good."
Review 8 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ProductRating
Works but is sticky
Date:August 29, 2013
"This Cool n Fabulous Color lotion does work. It protected from burning and repelled bugs well. Was very sticky however, which got a bit annoying when having to apply it multiple times a day (when out at the beach all day). I understand how the blue color is probably fun and appealing to kids. As an adult, I would choose a non-colored option next time. I would recommend this to people who are traveling to tropical beach areas with lots of bugs. This is very effective when looking for a two in one product, which is good for travel. You don't have to take as many liquids along in your bags."
Review 9 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KarenS42
Worked great...wish the bottle was bigger
Date:August 28, 2013
"Loved it! My husband and I bought this for our trip to Costa Rica. He loved that it smelled like watermelon. Neither of us got a single bug bite. We wore this on the beach for 9 days. We were only disappointed by the size of the bottle. We needed more than the 2 bottles we purchased."
Review 10 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kumasi
Location:Pelham, AL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
Lotion makes sense!
Date:August 8, 2013
"I was glad to find the repellent available in lotion form and I've enjoyed using it so far. I always feel like I need to wash off the spray but the lotion acts just like any other."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FEMKA
Location:LAKE CITY, CO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
GREAT STUFF!!
Date:August 6, 2013
"I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR YEARS, MAINLY IN COLORADO OVER THE SUMMER MONTHS WHERE A PERSON NEEDS SUNSCREEN AND BUG REPELLENT EVERYTIME HE/SHE GOES OUTSIDE, ESPECIALLY WHEN FISHING ON THE RIVERS."
Review 12 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dovecote
Great for kids
Date:August 5, 2013
"Kids like to apply this so they can see the blue disappear. Removes the hassle that can go with getting protection on the kids."
Review 13 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SkinSoSoftCSeay
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Skin So Soft Bug Guard - Not exactly what I wanted
Date:July 29, 2013
"I wanted the regular Skin So Soft oil lotion I use to get. I wasn't able to find that. I don't like putting any kind of insect repellant on. If I could have found the same product I was use too and it happen to repel insects, that would have been perfect!"
Review 14 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashli
Location:Mulberry, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
It Really Works!
Date:July 25, 2013
"This product is very effective! I live in Florida and this year the mosquitoes are very bad. I decided that it was definitely time I restock on this wonderful lotion.
Unfortunately, when I ordered it, I hadn't realized that it had a new scent and also that it now has a disappearing color. The color does not completely disappear (the palms of my hands were pretty blue after application), so I recommend using a paper towel to apply, but children will love it. And as long as it continues to keep the bugs away, I will love it too!!!
"
Review 15 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nbrody
Location:Belleair Bluffs, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Hope you like the color blue
Date:July 24, 2013
"It was hard to tell effectiveness since it rained the entire day during our tube floating down the Ichnetucknee River. The blue is a bit much and while it dissolved, I wouldn't say it disappears. There is a bluish tint remaining. But it smelled WAY better than alot of sunscreens and DEFINITELY better than typical bug spray which was the whole point of the purchase. For that reason alone, I LOVED it!"
Review 16 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rocmom
Location:Rochester NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
not just for kids
Date:July 9, 2013
"this goes on light blue and then soaks in without color and smells a bit like watermelon -- a nice light weight lotion that doesn't overwhelm. We had a very wet spring/summer here so the bugs are horrible, but this stuff works.."
Review 17 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DMmom0318
Location:NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Stuff
Date:July 9, 2013
"This works really well. It has been wonderful for my daughter who can not walk out side with out getting bit. The added sunblock is defiantly a plus. The only thing is you have to make sure you get in well or the blue makes my daughter have a light blue tent to her skin. Defiantly still worth it though."
Review 18 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Geevee
Location:Seattle,WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Its ok but not all that great as repellant
Date:July 8, 2013
"I bought this more for the insect repellant qualities but found that it was not that effective against bug bites. I was planning to take this to our Africa trip but now I am thinking of getting another insect repellant as a backup. i"
Review 19 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shonnie
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus
Date:July 8, 2013
"Great product but the blue color is off putting."
Review 20 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tweetssy
Terrific Product!!
Date:July 7, 2013
"This product works great! Where I live the bugs are terrible but as long as we have on Bug Guard Plus we do not have to worry. I tried other products before my daughter-in-law suggested this one and now it is all I will use. I highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.