Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Insect Repellents or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. Blue color shows where applied, then disappears onto skin. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
3.719 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
18
1 Star
10
71 of 114(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Review 1 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tngirl518
Location:Nashville, TN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Works but...
Date:July 8, 2014
"The product works well, but after rubbing in very well (not easy with a toddler) my son was still blue. Even after an hour, my son still had a blue tint. I still use it on his face, but really prefer the non-aerosol pump spray instead. I would not recommend this product and would not purchase it again, but highly recommend the rest of the line."
Review 2 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nmprice
Location:Michigan
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
skeptic turned into lover
Date:July 6, 2014
"My dad said that the s.s.s. bug guard was the best he ever used, but I honestly was not sure. I was too use to bug guards being sprays not lotions. But after just one use I have fallen in love with this product, I love that it's even got SPF of 30 and water resistant up to 80 minutes. This is my go to product for outdoor activities now. And I am recommending it to everyone, especially if they have kids. I just love the fact that I only have to use one product for outdoor fun and don't have to try and get my 2 y/o to hold still while I put two different products on him before going outside."
Review 3 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
IndianaErica
Location:Bloomington, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Sticky, greasy too.
Date:June 26, 2014
"This stuff is greasy, oily, sticky and nasty. I t never absorbed and stayed greasy and sticky on my skin so I washed it off after about an hour. I will not buy this again as I cannot stand anything greasy and sticky on my skin."
Review 4 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bkphipps
Location:Bristol, VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Buy it!
Date:June 8, 2014
"This is perfect if you plan on taking your family to a picnic, the lake, beach, or just playing in your back yard. It keeps the bugs away and protects your child's skin from the sun."
Review 5 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JSCenTex
Location:Central Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Smurfy
Date:June 5, 2014
"We LOVE Bug Guard Plus--the regular kind. But I thought the blue would be good for my children to see where they've missed. Good theory, but I ended up using it, and the blue didn't really "disappear" as it suggested. So I looked like I had Smurf legs. The all-over blue did eventually go away, but then I looked like I had really bad veins, because of the blue streaks. The product works to prevent bites, but it isn't pretty."
Review 6 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
aidedmon
Not happy at all
Date:June 2, 2014
"I've used the regular Bug Guard Plus before and thought it worked well. This time, I bought the disappearing color lotion and am not at all happy. For one, it smells terrible. Secondly, it doesn't "disappear". My child, and my hands had a blue tint for the next couple of hours. It was well rubbed in. Further, I washed my hands, and still had a blue tint. I'm not saying that it doesn't work. I'm simply saying use the regular bug guard plus. Save yourself the smell and the smurf skin. Will not buy this again!"
Review 7 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
huma780
Location:elmont ny
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
i love it
Date:May 20, 2014
"i love this product i use it every summer when i go out doors and i don't have to worry about the product getting off with the mosquito spray because sun screen and mosquito sparay is aal included in one great product"
Review 8 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
nicktown
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Smurf
Date:May 14, 2014
"My daughter took this to the beach last summer. On her return home we throw it out. She said after she used it she had a blue tint on her skin. Not the look she wanted."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWGallardo
Skin so soft bug guard is the best
Date:September 28, 2013
"I have used this product for many years it's the best"
Review 10 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MollyOR
Don't buy
Date:September 20, 2013
"Isn't so fabulous. If you don't rub in good you're left with blue streaks. Most of all the mosquitoes found it "tasty"."
Review 11 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EBFIII
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Kept the bugs away and worked as a sunscreen
Date:September 4, 2013
"We used this in the Utah National Parks, did not get sun burned or bitten by bugs. We saw plenty of other park visitors with legs covered with bug bites"
Review 12 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lepracon
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:September 3, 2013
"Why would you make this product such a disgusting blue color. If it's for kids, it should be promoted as such. The color has to be scrubbed off of hands.
If I could return them to a store I would. Too much trouble and an expense returning by mail,
I'm a golfer and always used the original one on the course as needed. Now I can't use the new colored one as I would have to play golf with a blue hand. Will never buy this again.
I bought it because it said plus so I thought it was a new improved formula."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
htfl
TOO BLUE
Date:August 31, 2013
"did not like the color of this product!"
Review 14 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linna
Location:New York
Skin type:Combination
Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus
Date:August 30, 2013
"My grandchildren live in Florida where there are lots of mosquitoes, and this works for them! and they love the disappearing lotion! I used it too! Thank you Avon!"
Review 15 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sugarpup
Location:Tyler Tx.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
most likely won't buy again
Date:August 29, 2013
"While rubbing on grandson would dry befor spread out good."
Review 16 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ProductRating
Works but is sticky
Date:August 29, 2013
"This Cool n Fabulous Color lotion does work. It protected from burning and repelled bugs well. Was very sticky however, which got a bit annoying when having to apply it multiple times a day (when out at the beach all day). I understand how the blue color is probably fun and appealing to kids. As an adult, I would choose a non-colored option next time. I would recommend this to people who are traveling to tropical beach areas with lots of bugs. This is very effective when looking for a two in one product, which is good for travel. You don't have to take as many liquids along in your bags."
Review 17 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KarenS42
Worked great...wish the bottle was bigger
Date:August 28, 2013
"Loved it! My husband and I bought this for our trip to Costa Rica. He loved that it smelled like watermelon. Neither of us got a single bug bite. We wore this on the beach for 9 days. We were only disappointed by the size of the bottle. We needed more than the 2 bottles we purchased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kumasi
Location:Pelham, AL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
Lotion makes sense!
Date:August 8, 2013
"I was glad to find the repellent available in lotion form and I've enjoyed using it so far. I always feel like I need to wash off the spray but the lotion acts just like any other."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FEMKA
Location:LAKE CITY, CO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
GREAT STUFF!!
Date:August 6, 2013
"I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR YEARS, MAINLY IN COLORADO OVER THE SUMMER MONTHS WHERE A PERSON NEEDS SUNSCREEN AND BUG REPELLENT EVERYTIME HE/SHE GOES OUTSIDE, ESPECIALLY WHEN FISHING ON THE RIVERS."
Review 20 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dovecote
Great for kids
Date:August 5, 2013
"Kids like to apply this so they can see the blue disappear. Removes the hassle that can go with getting protection on the kids."