Avon Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. Blue color shows where applied, then disappears onto skin. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
3.642 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
15
1 Star
11
59 of 95(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Review 1 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Blue
By oakdale
on August 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By oakdale
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product with the blue tint is TERRIBLE. The blue doesn't disappear. Use the same product without the blue it's much better. On the bright side, my product was easily exchanged."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Works but...
By Tngirl518
on July 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By Tngirl518
Location:Nashville, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"The product works well, but after rubbing in very well (not easy with a toddler) my son was still blue. Even after an hour, my son still had a blue tint. I still use it on his face, but really prefer the non-aerosol pump spray instead. I would not recommend this product and would not purchase it again, but highly recommend the rest of the line."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skeptic turned into lover
By nmprice
on July 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By nmprice
Location:Michigan
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"My dad said that the s.s.s. bug guard was the best he ever used, but I honestly was not sure. I was too use to bug guards being sprays not lotions. But after just one use I have fallen in love with this product, I love that it's even got SPF of 30 and water resistant up to 80 minutes. This is my go to product for outdoor activities now. And I am recommending it to everyone, especially if they have kids. I just love the fact that I only have to use one product for outdoor fun and don't have to try and get my 2 y/o to hold still while I put two different products on him before going outside."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sticky, greasy too.
By IndianaErica
on June 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By IndianaErica
Location:Bloomington, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This stuff is greasy, oily, sticky and nasty. I t never absorbed and stayed greasy and sticky on my skin so I washed it off after about an hour. I will not buy this again as I cannot stand anything greasy and sticky on my skin."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it!
By bkphipps
on June 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By bkphipps
Location:Bristol, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is perfect if you plan on taking your family to a picnic, the lake, beach, or just playing in your back yard. It keeps the bugs away and protects your child's skin from the sun."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smurfy
By JSCenTex
on June 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By JSCenTex
Location:Central Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"We LOVE Bug Guard Plus--the regular kind. But I thought the blue would be good for my children to see where they've missed. Good theory, but I ended up using it, and the blue didn't really "disappear" as it suggested. So I looked like I had Smurf legs. The all-over blue did eventually go away, but then I looked like I had really bad veins, because of the blue streaks. The product works to prevent bites, but it isn't pretty."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not happy at all
By aidedmon
on June 2, 2014
About the reviewer
By aidedmon
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've used the regular Bug Guard Plus before and thought it worked well. This time, I bought the disappearing color lotion and am not at all happy. For one, it smells terrible. Secondly, it doesn't "disappear". My child, and my hands had a blue tint for the next couple of hours. It was well rubbed in. Further, I washed my hands, and still had a blue tint. I'm not saying that it doesn't work. I'm simply saying use the regular bug guard plus. Save yourself the smell and the smurf skin. Will not buy this again!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love it
By huma780
on May 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By huma780
Location:elmont ny
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"i love this product i use it every summer when i go out doors and i don't have to worry about the product getting off with the mosquito spray because sun screen and mosquito sparay is aal included in one great product"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smurf
By nicktown
on May 14, 2014
About the reviewer
By nicktown
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"My daughter took this to the beach last summer. On her return home we throw it out. She said after she used it she had a blue tint on her skin. Not the look she wanted."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skin so soft bug guard is the best
By SWGallardo
on September 28, 2013
About the reviewer
By SWGallardo
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have used this product for many years it's the best"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy
By MollyOR
on September 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By MollyOR
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Isn't so fabulous. If you don't rub in good you're left with blue streaks. Most of all the mosquitoes found it "tasty"."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kept the bugs away and worked as a sunscreen
By EBFIII
on September 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By EBFIII
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"We used this in the Utah National Parks, did not get sun burned or bitten by bugs. We saw plenty of other park visitors with legs covered with bug bites"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Purchase Ever
By Lepracon
on September 3, 2013
About the reviewer
By Lepracon
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Why would you make this product such a disgusting blue color. If it's for kids, it should be promoted as such. The color has to be scrubbed off of hands.
If I could return them to a store I would. Too much trouble and an expense returning by mail,
I'm a golfer and always used the original one on the course as needed. Now I can't use the new colored one as I would have to play golf with a blue hand. Will never buy this again.
I bought it because it said plus so I thought it was a new improved formula."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TOO BLUE
By htfl
on August 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By htfl
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"did not like the color of this product!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus
By Linna
on August 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By Linna
Location:New York
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My grandchildren live in Florida where there are lots of mosquitoes, and this works for them! and they love the disappearing lotion! I used it too! Thank you Avon!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
most likely won't buy again
By Sugarpup
on August 29, 2013
About the reviewer
By Sugarpup
Location:Tyler Tx.
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"While rubbing on grandson would dry befor spread out good."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works but is sticky
By ProductRating
on August 29, 2013
About the reviewer
By ProductRating
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This Cool n Fabulous Color lotion does work. It protected from burning and repelled bugs well. Was very sticky however, which got a bit annoying when having to apply it multiple times a day (when out at the beach all day). I understand how the blue color is probably fun and appealing to kids. As an adult, I would choose a non-colored option next time. I would recommend this to people who are traveling to tropical beach areas with lots of bugs. This is very effective when looking for a two in one product, which is good for travel. You don't have to take as many liquids along in your bags."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked great...wish the bottle was bigger
By KarenS42
on August 28, 2013
About the reviewer
By KarenS42
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Loved it! My husband and I bought this for our trip to Costa Rica. He loved that it smelled like watermelon. Neither of us got a single bug bite. We wore this on the beach for 9 days. We were only disappointed by the size of the bottle. We needed more than the 2 bottles we purchased."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lotion makes sense!
By kumasi
on August 8, 2013
About the reviewer
By kumasi
Location:Pelham, AL
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I was glad to find the repellent available in lotion form and I've enjoyed using it so far. I always feel like I need to wash off the spray but the lotion acts just like any other."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT STUFF!!
By FEMKA
on August 6, 2013
About the reviewer
By FEMKA
Location:LAKE CITY, CO
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR YEARS, MAINLY IN COLORADO OVER THE SUMMER MONTHS WHERE A PERSON NEEDS SUNSCREEN AND BUG REPELLENT EVERYTIME HE/SHE GOES OUTSIDE, ESPECIALLY WHEN FISHING ON THE RIVERS."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 next>>