Avon Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. Blue color shows where applied, then disappears onto skin. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
3.696 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 115 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
18
1 Star
11
71 of 115(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Review 21 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dovecote
Great for kids
Date:August 5, 2013
"Kids like to apply this so they can see the blue disappear. Removes the hassle that can go with getting protection on the kids."
Review 22 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SkinSoSoftCSeay
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Skin So Soft Bug Guard - Not exactly what I wanted
Date:July 29, 2013
"I wanted the regular Skin So Soft oil lotion I use to get. I wasn't able to find that. I don't like putting any kind of insect repellant on. If I could have found the same product I was use too and it happen to repel insects, that would have been perfect!"
Review 23 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashli
Location:Mulberry, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
It Really Works!
Date:July 25, 2013
"This product is very effective! I live in Florida and this year the mosquitoes are very bad. I decided that it was definitely time I restock on this wonderful lotion.
Unfortunately, when I ordered it, I hadn't realized that it had a new scent and also that it now has a disappearing color. The color does not completely disappear (the palms of my hands were pretty blue after application), so I recommend using a paper towel to apply, but children will love it. And as long as it continues to keep the bugs away, I will love it too!!!
"
Review 24 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nbrody
Location:Belleair Bluffs, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Hope you like the color blue
Date:July 24, 2013
"It was hard to tell effectiveness since it rained the entire day during our tube floating down the Ichnetucknee River. The blue is a bit much and while it dissolved, I wouldn't say it disappears. There is a bluish tint remaining. But it smelled WAY better than alot of sunscreens and DEFINITELY better than typical bug spray which was the whole point of the purchase. For that reason alone, I LOVED it!"
Review 25 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rocmom
Location:Rochester NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
not just for kids
Date:July 9, 2013
"this goes on light blue and then soaks in without color and smells a bit like watermelon -- a nice light weight lotion that doesn't overwhelm. We had a very wet spring/summer here so the bugs are horrible, but this stuff works.."
Review 26 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DMmom0318
Location:NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Stuff
Date:July 9, 2013
"This works really well. It has been wonderful for my daughter who can not walk out side with out getting bit. The added sunblock is defiantly a plus. The only thing is you have to make sure you get in well or the blue makes my daughter have a light blue tent to her skin. Defiantly still worth it though."
Review 27 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Geevee
Location:Seattle,WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Its ok but not all that great as repellant
Date:July 8, 2013
"I bought this more for the insect repellant qualities but found that it was not that effective against bug bites. I was planning to take this to our Africa trip but now I am thinking of getting another insect repellant as a backup. i"
Review 28 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shonnie
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus
Date:July 8, 2013
"Great product but the blue color is off putting."
Review 29 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tweetssy
Terrific Product!!
Date:July 7, 2013
"This product works great! Where I live the bugs are terrible but as long as we have on Bug Guard Plus we do not have to worry. I tried other products before my daughter-in-law suggested this one and now it is all I will use. I highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lmk66
Location:NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great all purpose lotion
Date:July 6, 2013
"This is a great all purpose lotion- great on sun protection and bug guard. I stock up on this and the spray every year when it is 1/2 off, since i have 3 kids going to 3 different day camps. I have to laugh at the reviews that complain about the color however. That is 1/2 the point of this product- the blue ensures that you are completely covering the skin. Otherwise, you should buy
SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Gentle Breeze Lotion which is the white/clear version of the same lotion.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bcheysmom
Location:Hot Springs Village, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Only one problem
Date:July 5, 2013
"The product works well for its intended purpose of keeping bugs away but the blue coloring absorbs on the skin eventually but not on your hands that apply it????? My husband dislikes this feature immensely and hesitates to use the product when he should..
Is there some good reason for the blue dye? COuld it be eliminated?"
Review 32 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
nicktown
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
tinted
Date:July 1, 2013
"This product left a greenish tint on our skin. I love Avon sun products. We have used them for proably more than 20 years. But this one is a no."
Review 33 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
female50
Rash
Date:June 29, 2013
"Well, it keeps the mosquitoes off, but the rash was terrible. I applied it on my arms (from elbows down) and legs (below the knee) and that is exactly where I broke out! It was/is painful. I can't use this product."
Review 34 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jana123
Location:dearborn, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
skinsaver
Date:June 29, 2013
"wonderful product, my son loves the blue color. protects against mosquitoes and the sun."
Review 35 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
karga
Location:Dallas, Texas
Turned my skin blue
Date:June 27, 2013
"I was disappointed with this product. I tested it on myself before using on my kids and noticed my skin had a blue tint after application."
Review 36 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJohnston
Location:Arkadelphia, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love this stuff
Date:June 12, 2013
"I love using skin so soft. It works great and it smells WAY better than normal insect repellent."
Review 37 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JerseyShoreMom
Location:New Jersey
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Effective product - Not digging the color aspect
Date:June 7, 2013
"My baby was basically being eaten alive early last summer and had bug bites the size of hives- I got the SSS gentle breeze lotion and LOVED it. My baby was a baby again - not a swollen bug bite. This year I thought the color change product would be cool and daddy proof (for the spots he misses) To my surprise - I had slightly blue hands after washing them off a few times after applying, my baby had a blue tinge for some time and kind of looked dirty. I also questioned if it would come out of clothes.
In the end - I returned it and went back to the gentle breeze. While it was still as effective as the gentle breeze - the color tinge on me and baby and the consistency of it was not to my liking. It did wash off baby and I and out of the clothes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tigerstripes
Location:Alabama
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Good product
Date:June 3, 2013
"Every year I get eaten alive by bugs while working in my yard. This year, I have slathered on Skin So Soft before grabbing my garden gloves and - guess what? No bites (at least not yet!). And the really good part is, no rash, like I would get from "deet-containing" products. Just softer skin. So this is a must-have for me in summer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoneyMom
Location:San Antonio, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Wonderful product!
Date:May 18, 2013
"I love this product! The blue color helps ensure you have covered the entire area. It disappears quickly as you rub it onto the skin and does not leave a greasy residue. I have been a loyal user of Avon's Bug Guard products for years. It is the only product line that I trust for my family."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GG68
Location:CT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Works Great
Date:April 5, 2013
"I have tried multiple sunscreens, and this one not only works well, but it doesn't give me a rash. The bug repellant is a big plus, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.