Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop insect repellents or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.747 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
7
49 of 75(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Review 21 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lmk66
Location:NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great all purpose lotion
Date:July 6, 2013
"This is a great all purpose lotion- great on sun protection and bug guard. I stock up on this and the spray every year when it is 1/2 off, since i have 3 kids going to 3 different day camps. I have to laugh at the reviews that complain about the color however. That is 1/2 the point of this product- the blue ensures that you are completely covering the skin. Otherwise, you should buy
SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Gentle Breeze Lotion which is the white/clear version of the same lotion.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bcheysmom
Location:Hot Springs Village, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Only one problem
Date:July 5, 2013
"The product works well for its intended purpose of keeping bugs away but the blue coloring absorbs on the skin eventually but not on your hands that apply it????? My husband dislikes this feature immensely and hesitates to use the product when he should..
Is there some good reason for the blue dye? COuld it be eliminated?"
Review 23 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nicktown
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
tinted
Date:July 1, 2013
"This product left a greenish tint on our skin. I love Avon sun products. We have used them for proably more than 20 years. But this one is a no."
Review 24 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
female50
Rash
Date:June 29, 2013
"Well, it keeps the mosquitoes off, but the rash was terrible. I applied it on my arms (from elbows down) and legs (below the knee) and that is exactly where I broke out! It was/is painful. I can't use this product."
Review 25 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jana123
Location:dearborn, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
skinsaver
Date:June 29, 2013
"wonderful product, my son loves the blue color. protects against mosquitoes and the sun."
Review 26 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
karga
Location:Dallas, Texas
Turned my skin blue
Date:June 27, 2013
"I was disappointed with this product. I tested it on myself before using on my kids and noticed my skin had a blue tint after application."
Review 27 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJohnston
Location:Arkadelphia, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love this stuff
Date:June 12, 2013
"I love using skin so soft. It works great and it smells WAY better than normal insect repellent."
Review 28 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JerseyShoreMom
Location:New Jersey
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Effective product - Not digging the color aspect
Date:June 7, 2013
"My baby was basically being eaten alive early last summer and had bug bites the size of hives- I got the SSS gentle breeze lotion and LOVED it. My baby was a baby again - not a swollen bug bite. This year I thought the color change product would be cool and daddy proof (for the spots he misses) To my surprise - I had slightly blue hands after washing them off a few times after applying, my baby had a blue tinge for some time and kind of looked dirty. I also questioned if it would come out of clothes.
In the end - I returned it and went back to the gentle breeze. While it was still as effective as the gentle breeze - the color tinge on me and baby and the consistency of it was not to my liking. It did wash off baby and I and out of the clothes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tigerstripes
Location:Alabama
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Good product
Date:June 3, 2013
"Every year I get eaten alive by bugs while working in my yard. This year, I have slathered on Skin So Soft before grabbing my garden gloves and - guess what? No bites (at least not yet!). And the really good part is, no rash, like I would get from "deet-containing" products. Just softer skin. So this is a must-have for me in summer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoneyMom
Location:San Antonio, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Wonderful product!
Date:May 18, 2013
"I love this product! The blue color helps ensure you have covered the entire area. It disappears quickly as you rub it onto the skin and does not leave a greasy residue. I have been a loyal user of Avon's Bug Guard products for years. It is the only product line that I trust for my family."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GG68
Location:CT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Works Great
Date:April 5, 2013
"I have tried multiple sunscreens, and this one not only works well, but it doesn't give me a rash. The bug repellant is a big plus, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charley6
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Skin So Soft Bug Guard SPF 30 Disappearing Color L
Date:December 1, 2012
"This is a great product. You get sunscreen and Bug Guard in one product. My grandchildren love the color change part"
Review 33 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AsiaUser
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Love this product, does it stain?
Date:October 31, 2012
"I love this product because I don't have to put on 2 products, but I am afraid the coloring will stain clothes."
Review 34 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
laski
Location:colorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
why is it blue?
Date:September 16, 2012
"The product works well, and once the unbecoming blue fades away it is OK on the face, but it takes awhile for that to happen.
I hadn't expected to deal with such an unbecoming color.
"
Review 35 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LBSea
Location:Seattle, WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
A most disappointing purchase
Date:August 2, 2012
"A child would like this, as the blue dye/color does NOT disappear on one's skin - at least my skin. Also, the scent is disagreeable and the oil separated. Thus, it's greasy."
Review 36 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Expensive, stains skin, but seems to work....
Date:July 17, 2012
"Ordered this because I liked the idea of sun and bug protection together in a lotion, and I thought my 2 year old would like that it's blue. Lotion goes on smoothly and smells great. My main issue with this lotion is that it stains your skin slightly blue.I was under the impression that it disappeared right away, but my son looks bluish and so do my hands after applying! Oh well, it seems to work well and the blue disappears eventually. It's also quite expensive for the amount you get, so I'm not sure this will be a regular purchase for us."
Review 37 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
critique
Age:55 yrs and older
Disappointment
Date:July 17, 2012
"I thought the Skin So Soft bug guard would smell like the skin so soft, as the previous product I had purchased did. It does not. Also, I bought the blue one for the kids thinking the color would blend in as you rubbed it on; it does not as I thought it would. Will not purchase this again."
Review 38 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLNE
Location:Mechanicsville, VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Awesome Product
Date:July 16, 2012
"I needed this because my son is allergic to mosquitos but I also needed the spf. The daycare would not allow a spray product so when I saw this combined in one as a lotion, I knew I had to try. Thank you so much! Could not have asked for anything better!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NicV
Location:Caldwell NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great product, but could do without the blue
Date:July 12, 2012
"This is great for my son at school, camp, etc. It protects him really well from the sun, and especially bug bites. He was always coming home from school/camp with bad bug bites (hes allergic and swells up). Once I used this, no problems at all ever. Only thing I dont like about it, is the blue stains your hands. So you need to be near a sink and soap after you put it on."
Review 40 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Cool 'n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SWNY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Blue lotion stains!!!
Date:July 12, 2012
"While this product works, the fact that it stains skin and clothing knocked my review way down. As soon as I realized it stained, I had to use a different product for our faces. The blue stains on clothing did not wash out. I will only get the white lotion in the future."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.