Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Powder or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder

Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
40 of 43(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Review 1 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!
By Snookieboo
on March 2, 2012
About the reviewer
By Snookieboo
Location:AZ
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was skeptical about this powder at first. I usually have to do a lot of experimenting and mixing in order to match my skin tone but this powder matched perfectly! It looks natural and feels light on your skin. I used a kabukie brush to blend it into my skin. It's a nice product if you like a light, natural look without looking completely naked. And it's also an excellent base if you like a more dramatic look."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does What It Says!!
By dohair6000
on July 15, 2012
About the reviewer
By dohair6000
Location:Suffolk, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am very pleased with the Ideal Shade Pressed Powders. I am a Makeup Artist and I have plenty of Avon products in my Makeup Case. I was extremely happy with these powders because they match skin tones so well. They look very natural. No ashy look. I also use it as a finishing powder to lock in liquid foundation. It goes on smooth and wears for hours. I am always a Satisified customer."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
unhappy purchase
By sultana
on July 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By sultana
Location:Colorado
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"compact powder inside was broken in pieces."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good powder for the money
By calena72
on April 4, 2012
About the reviewer
By calena72
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"i don't use foundation, as i have found this powder to do a fair job at covering the minor skin discolorations that i have. I am hispanic on the lighter tone, so if you are like me, this specific color is too dark, so don't use a lot.
I purchased before the light medium tone and that was more appropriate.
great product.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coverage
By Stick
on December 28, 2011
About the reviewer
By Stick
Location:Oklahoma city, OK
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This powder has great coverage and last all day. It's not heavy like most powders that cover this good. Love it! I will definitely keep buying this powder."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pressed powder ever
By sara4angels
on December 24, 2011
About the reviewer
By sara4angels
Location:Arkansas
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE THIS PRODUCT,ITS THE BEST PRESSED POWDER I'VE EVER USED IN MY LIFE,IT GOES ON SO SMOOTHLY,&IT MAKES MY FACE LOOK FLAWLESS.IT MAKES ME LOOK LIKE A MODEL;I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERY GIRL,ITS A GALS BESTFRIEND:)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommend!
By Jany177
on December 21, 2011
About the reviewer
By Jany177
Location:Hollywood
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I'd forgotten how a good powder can easily take the place of a foundation! Tried this in Nude on my fair-olive complexion and the texture is so smooth it's almost creamy -- covers beautifully and leaves my skin feeling light and fresh. Love this powder and recommend to anyone looking for light to medium/moderate coverage and who doesn't want the weight of a foundation. Perfect powder here!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pressed powder
By Suhana
on December 18, 2011
About the reviewer
By Suhana
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This powder stays good and suits my skin, has a silky texture, i get lot of compliments. love it. ps. don;t discontinue this product, i have a hard time looking for makeup."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looking good
By Shop
on December 8, 2011
About the reviewer
By Shop
Location:Desoto, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the first time trying this product, it does exactly what the description saids I love it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
By chigirl10
on November 8, 2011
About the reviewer
By chigirl10
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this product but wish Avon wouldn't change their shade names or discontinue colors as they're known to do. I ordered Tawny before and thought Fawn or Ginger would do the trick but both were too dark. I currently can't get to any of the Avon stores or representatives, so finding my "ideal shade" based on the info and pictures on the website is proving harder than I'd hoped. The powder itself, however, is awesome and makes my skin look great! That is, of course, if I could just find the right shade...."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great! But what happened to "Dark" shade???
By SuperSoulSistah
on August 22, 2011
About the reviewer
By SuperSoulSistah
Location:Hyattsville, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use this on my Sr. Pastor for the TV Broadcast. It works well to absorb oil, alleviate shine and give him an even skin tone. What happened to the "Dark"???"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Powder I Have Found In A Long Time!
By Shay1920
on July 18, 2011
About the reviewer
By Shay1920
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I needed a new pressed powder. A friend was selling AVON, so I went ahead and tried out this one. I am sooooo glad that I did! The powder has such a velvety feel and a natural coverage, especially when it is applied with the right powder brush! It continually keeps oil at bay on my combination skin. I was also extremely happy to finally find a color for a deeper skin tone (I have Mocha) that didn't look chalky. PULEEEEEEZE KEEP SELLING THIS!!!! Thank you! :)"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 13 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great powder!
By MiMadre
on June 22, 2011
About the reviewer
By MiMadre
Location:Ocean Springs, MS
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Awesome shades for African American skin! I chose Ginger and it is absolutely perfect!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Translucent Powder
By TrueAvonAddict
on June 9, 2011
About the reviewer
By TrueAvonAddict
Location:Wahiawa, HI
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I tried this in Translucent b/c I read some reviews about how the light shades turned some peoples faces orange. Unfortunately I had the same problem with the Translucent powder. I always use translucent if I can't find my shade. Never before have I come across a powder that sticks to all those tiny facial hairs and yes, it turned my face orange. It didn't blend well, either. I was very disappointed that it didn't work for me. It also made my face really dry, and I have combination skin."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
By has25
on May 26, 2011
About the reviewer
By has25
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this product. It goes on very smooth and perfect!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for on the go!
By HannahRH
on May 4, 2011
About the reviewer
By HannahRH
Location:Portage, WI
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I take this with me everywhere I go. Perfect for the needed touch-ups throughout the day! This goes on very smooth. I recommend this to anyone!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silky smooth product - terrible applicator pad
By BusyOne
on May 1, 2011
About the reviewer
By BusyOne
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like the shade and coverage of this product. I use it over the Ideal Shade cream to powder foundation (which was too greasy for me). This pressed powder gives a great, light coverage. However the applicator pad is like tissue paper! I expected better quality pad from Avon."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fair skin woman of color & Ideal Shade
By LDora
on April 15, 2011
About the reviewer
By LDora
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Being a fair skin woman of color, it can be difficult to find the right color face power; it's always too dark or too light. I originally ordered this product in Fawn but that turned out to be a shade too dark; I plan to use it as my skin tans during the summer. Okay so I ordered another one in Medium Deep and it is just the right color. It gives me that smooth matte look that I like; and it doesn't color so much that it causes my face to look obviously different from my neck. It's light weight and doesn't clog my pores. It allows me to have that magazine ready complexion even during the winter months when my skin begins to wash out and look pale. I am very satisfied with this purchase."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 19 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mixed up my reviews but....
By Chelley
on February 24, 2011
About the reviewer
By Chelley
Location:Franklin, TN
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this powder also. My initial review was for the cream to powder foundation(I raved about it) and the same goes for the pressed powder which I bought in Toffee and was even complimented by a girl working a cosmetic counter in a high-end department store. But, I've always been a fan of Avon's pressed powders, now they just better :)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for IDEAL SHADE Pressed Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so in love with this product
By Chelley
on February 24, 2011
About the reviewer
By Chelley
Location:Franklin, TN
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the Dark Cocoa matched my skin tone so perfectly. I've used another of Avons' beautiful bronze(the non rub off kind) which I really liked the texture of but the color never was quite right (little too much of a red undertone). But this is fabulous and I will be ordering more."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 next>>