Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Eyeshadow or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades

Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 939 reviews
5 Stars
645
4 Stars
164
3 Stars
47
2 Stars
33
1 Star
50
830 of 939(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Review 1 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nutsaboutmakeup
Location:Foley, AL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best Eyeshadow Available Anywhere!!!!!
Date:July 18, 2012
"I love these eyeshadow quads!!! The colors are very intense (but not too dark, where it is overpowering) but very richly pigmented. The colors stay put all day, even through sweating and rubbing the eyes. The case is very expensive looking and the large mirror is awesome so you can see to apply the shadows with ease. I actually use the eyeshadow brush to apply them instead of the applicator they come with. I buy at least two of these every time they go on sale, since the ones at the store make my eyes itch. I can wear these shadows all day and no burning or itching like the
ones at the store.
My favorite quads are (and the ones I cannot be without are):
1) Blushing Raisins-a very nice set of nude browns
2) Mocha Latte- a lighter set of browns (I wear brown eyeshadows a lot since they are neutral)
3) Purple Haze- a quad of purples (when I wear these with my brown eyes I get TONS of compliments)
4) Smokey Eyes -Very pretty set of pink, white and blue (these make an awesome smokey eye)
5) Romantic Mauves- a quad of mauve colored shadows
6) Fresh Cut Greens- a quad of greens (haven't tried these yet since I just ordered them tonight)
The next set I will probably get is the Blue
So if you want a good eyeshadow without spending a lot, get these."
Review 2 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikki79
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Love it!!
Date:July 8, 2010
"Earth tones is not a color I'd normally pick - neutral browns are more my thing - but I decided to give it a shot. Can I just say it looks so good, I don't want to take it off! And I'm not even an expert at this, since I rarely wear eye-shadow. The colors can be as light or dark as you wish, blends so easily, smooth texture....I might just become a eye-shadow person now!
I got the Romantic Mauves too and really, even though my past experience has taught me otherwise, I WILL insist on following the so-called experts that recommend purples/mauves for brown eyes. It does not work. Atleast not with medium tanned skin. You can barely see it. I applied the mauve on one eye and the Earth tones on the other, and the earth tones made that eye look big and my eye color pop. I'll probably give the RM away to my mom or something.
On the other hand, it gives me an excuse to try more of the quads! And I won't be afraid to try different colors either. Another winner, Avon!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tergress
Location:Maryland
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Sheer Shadows
Date:October 3, 2010
"I purchased this in Blushing Raisins a little less than a year ago...the colors of the product were quite true to those in the catalog, however, when I applied them, it looked like I wasn't wearing any make up at all. I figured It was the shades I had purchased, that they were too neutral, so I recently gave this product another try in Island Breeze. The lighter shades are prominent when worn, but the darker shades still barely show up, and they were in fact lighter than advertised online. The same product, two different shades, at two different times, its unlikely that this is a batch defect, and that these shadows are actually designed to be barely there. I wish I could say I'd try this one last time, "third time's a charm", because the color combinations seem to go so well together, however, I can't bring myself to re-purchase a product that has proven itself twice to give me the result I wasn't hoping for."
Review 4 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ellilosne
Location:Wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Amazing!
Date:July 6, 2010
"I recieved this product in the Smokey Eyes Quad, and I did not intend to buy it. A customer of mine fell through in paying up so I decided to try this product for myself. I have not tried the "Smokey Eyes" look with this product yet, but I have however used color 1 for a brow highlighter, color 2 as my base, and color 3 for the outer corners of my eyes. Then I used the last and darkest color (4) with a flat eyeliner brush with a hint of visine to create a liquid eyeliner. I was skeptical about using this product at first because I love Mark's products, and those are all I usually use. But I am amazed. These eyeshadows are brilliant, long lasting, and they have just a slight amount of shimmer, but they look like Mattes when they go on. The gray shadows are a MUST HAVE for anyone, I definately would recommend these to anyone! (I have medium brown eyes by the way, with a medium skin tone)"
Review 5 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LaChanteuse
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Beautiful vibrant color!
Date:September 5, 2011
"I've purchased this product before they re-invented it, and wasn't wowed by it. Once AVON introduced this new design, I was instantly impressed! Purple Haze and Romantic Mauve are my go to palette's for any occasion; the vibrant colors make my brown eyes pop! Smokey Eye Quad was a bit of a let down-the pigments look VERY dull on my pale skin, but I've mixed it with other eye shadows to make it work. The Earth Tones Quad came as a set with an eye shadow brush, eyeliner, and SuperFULL mascara. I've had a hard time with green shades battling with my skin tone, so I tend to stay away from them. The hunter green shade in the Earth Tones Quad wasn't horrible, but not something I would suggest to someone with pale, pink toned skin if you want to look flawless. Now I know which colors work best for me, and will continue to purchase this product for years to come! Thanks AVON!"
Review 6 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deedledoo
Location:Kansas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Beautiful Colors. Watch out for view of colors tho
Date:March 1, 2010
"I just received and I purchased Earth Tones and Mocha Latte. Mocha Latte is absolutely gorgeous!!! I would highly recommend these colors for anyone. Too bad I already did my makeup today, or I would be wearing them. All colors are matt except the coppery color, its shimmer. Lightest color is a very light peachy/cream. then light tanish taupe thats matt, then deep chocolate brown matte and coppery shimmery color.
The Earth Tones set is nice, but not as excited about the colors as Mocha Latte. You get lightest color is a pale cream/yello, khakish green with hint of shimmer, a raiseny brown with hint of shimmer and...pale orangy shimmer. Its pretty but will have to play with that color more for ideas.
I have brown eyes, so think they will all go well. Im 44, so I dont want to be too vibrant, so the orangy shimmer is a shock for me, but think I can work with it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Novemberwind
Location:Gresham
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
smooth, beautiful colors
Date:August 29, 2009
"I love make-up and I buy a ton of eye products, I've been wary of Avon but recently purchased the quad eye shadows in purple haze and fresh cut grass. Avon has blown me away. These eye shadows are very nice. The purples are very sheer but packed with pigment. The lightest colors are very light, and the darker (number 3) I actually used as a eye liner because it was so deep and rich in color. The last color is black, and I used that very sparingly. The purples made my eyes look like they were done by professionals. I just tried the greens today and I was disappointed that there wasn't a kelly green. However, I used the darkest green on my lid and the other colors as highlighters and achieved the look I wanted. Very pretty, smooth, not too powdery (I didn't end up with a ton of eye shadow on my cheeks when done), and certainly worth buying."
Review 8 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
avonlover81
Location:Kansas
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
It stays perfect all day long
Date:December 12, 2009
"I recently purchsed Avon's True color eye shadow quad in the Romantic Mauves and I am completely hooked!! I can apply my eye shadow at 8am and it still looks fresh and bright twelve hours later-with no touch ups!! It's so nice to not have to carry it in my purse and worry about re-appying through out the day. It also doesn't crease, which is a huge bonus for me because it seems alot of previous eye shadow brands would begin to crease as the day went on. The Romantic Mauves quad is very flattering and I even received a compliment from a stranger at the store wanting to know what I used. I just received the Purple Haze quad in the mail today and am looking forward to trying it out. Am now thinking about the Moca and the Island Breeze quads to add to my collection!! This eye shadow is worth every penny and you will not be disappointed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2Brendas
Location:Miramar, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Perfect travel item!
Date:July 17, 2011
"As I hated to travel with my "HE" items for fear of breakage, or losing or leaving them behind, I decided to try these out for trips.Not having huge expectations I originally just bought the Mocha quad to try....LOVE. Used it nearly everyday. These turned out to be my go to colors. These are perfect to keep for days when you need to turn your day MU into an evening look. They're very handy and practically foolproof. Since, I have purchased a few others; fresh cut greens, earth tones, and smokey eye, and I can't tell you how much I use these....even when home. They're smooth, not chalky, a great variation of colors, minimal fallout, decent payoff (you can build), and they're just beautiful colors. I play with them and do them in all sorts of combinations...some work better than others, so don't stick to the arranged look."
Review 10 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SnakeGrrl
Location:New Mexico
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
really like the two I bought
Date:November 18, 2009
"I bought this in Romantic Mauves and Tahitian Turquoise. Some of the shades are better on me than others, but I still really like them. You can tell which ones are my faves because they're half gone by now. I would like to try several other shades too.
I'm young enough that I can pull off a shimmery eyeshadow without it making me look older (bet most of you mature ladies didn't know that shimmery eyeshadows make eyes look older if there's any wrinkling going on in that area), so I usually go for the shimmery ones because I can pull them off. Like the deepest shade in the Romantic Mauves--that's one of my favorites. And the bronze shade from the Tahitian Turquoise quad, that's another fave.
It's a pity that Tahitian Turquoise was just a special offer last summer, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kulta
Location:Conway, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Romantic Mauves
Date:May 20, 2012
"I purchased this quad in "Romantic Mauves" because I'm into purples right now, and I have blue eyes, and purples can go REALLY well with blue eyes if applied correctly. I tried it out shortly after I got it, and was unhappy with how it applies. The colors are beautiful but when I apply them, it just looks like they all blend into the same color, no matter how I apply it. It doesn't work well for me dry, so I like to use my eyeshadow brush, use a makeup remover wipe (of all things) and wipe the bristles of the brush to make it moist. I then get the color I want, and it applies SO much better this way. So, if you choose this quad, apply it wet for it to be noticeable, other wise you'll look sickly. Overall, it's a great quad. The colors are perfect, just wish there was more pigmentation to them."
Review 12 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blackberry
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love the Purple Haze
Date:December 31, 2011
"I have worn the Purple Haze set since 2007. I don't wear it everyday since I like to have variety in looks, but I am just now re-ordering the set and am thrilled it is still available. I have green eyes, and these colors are perfect. I like it as much if not better than more expensive eye shadows I have.
I like the purple haze because while it has purples/violets which make my green eyes pop, it also has a charcoal/gray color which is awesome for lining. I wear the lavendar shade brushed over it. WOW.
Since it is on sale, I am venturing out and ordering another color set, also.
It is such a great deal for high quality eye shadows, and the colors coordinate perfectly. There is no need for me to buy the boutique or department store eye shadows because Avon's are just as good if not better.
"
Review 13 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ARepMolly
Location:Harrisburg,PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Great Shadow for Price
Date:August 19, 2011
"I bought the Mocha Latte and I am in LOVE with it because it's such a neutral pallet and yet you can add onto it as well. The colors are creamy and velvety, the only one i'd say isn't as creamy is the white, but it's workable. You can always add some water to it, but the price is a steal. Because the leading drug/department stores sell ONE eyeshadow for the price of the quad I think you're winning no matter what!! I have many other quads, but the SANDY CORALS I really have a difficult time with because the colors can bring out a lot of pink undertones in my skin so I really need to be careful I don't overdo the coral shade too much on my eyes. The blushing raisin quads aren't at pigmented as the greens, but like I said you can add a little water and it does help!!!!"
Review 14 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
guacaMolly
Location:Oklahoma
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great for Eyeshadow Noobs!
Date:July 31, 2011
"I am very fair skinned with dark eyes and hair. I tend to go natural with my makeup, it is so easy for me to look overdone or like a raccoon, and I also have a hard time finding the right shades. I have the island breeze and the blush raisin, and this quad has me wearing eye shadow every day. I use the ivory and the brown from the island breeze, and they are the perfect highlighter and lid color for me. Then I will switch it up between the deep purple and the deep green for crease accent and liner, and, really, it looks like a million bucks, doesn't crease and lasts all day. I have gotten so many compliments on this it is unreal. I plan on getting more colors, thank you Avon for making it possible for noobs like me to have amazing eye makeup!"
Review 15 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
KindleLuv
Location:Atlanta, GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Color-Great; Compact-Terrible; No longer Offered!
Date:January 31, 2011
"I got the Mocha Latte palette and I loved it but the compact was extremely difficult to open. I'm a very strong person but the plastic 'hinge' is not flexible at all and I broke three nails within a week.
The last time I tried to open it, the compact flew out of my hands, and broke 3 out of 4 of the eyeshadows! What a huge mess! And now I come to find this wonderful quad of colors is no longer offered.
I loved it while it lasted, but it was fleeting. It's a shame the compact is such a cheap case. The only other quad of colors I would have considered is also no longer offered so this easily dropped my overall rating down since I am unable to use it again!
Color -5 stars
Compact Case -1 star
Repeat Customer of this product? - 0 stars now!
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Devastator
Location:NYS
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Very nice set
Date:June 3, 2009
"I got this in violet and earth tones. The violet tones are kind of dramatic, the earth tones are REALLY pretty with my brown/greenish eyes. I use the earth tones more.
I dont have TOO much to say about them, i am more of a loose eye shadow person these days, but they are very nice, a good pressed eye shadow. Bold colors, stay on well.
the box is very hard to open, so that is a little annoying. NICE that it has a mirror tho!! Comes with a basic foam applicator, but i am not sure i like to use my avon shadow brush for them, the foam works fine. The bristle brush doesnt deliver enough bold color i think.
Overall a very nice eye shadow,-- smooth, bold colors, not gritty at all, and they didnt make my sensitive skin irritated."
Review 17 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fairydustpink89
Location:Los Angeles, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love it!!
Date:August 1, 2012
"I purchased the "Mocha Latte" and am shocked at how great it is! I usually only use 2 colors (a light color on my lid and sometimes on my brow bone and a medium brownish color in my crease).
I use the lightest color (matte)in this palette all over my eye from lashline to brow bone. the 2nd lightest (a matte, light taupey) I use as a brow powder. The 3rd color is a shimmery brown, which I use in my crease. The darkest color is a matte espresso, which I use on top of eyeliner to set it.
I really hope Avon doesn't discontinue this shade. If you're nervous about color or like neutral/natural colors, this is your palette! This is literally the only eyeshadow I use! I put it on in the morning and it's still there late at night!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyelephant
Location:WV
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Beautiful Eyes All Day!!
Date:November 30, 2011
"I love the Avon eyeshadow quads! I have tried most of the shades, but my favorite are the earthtones!! They are perfect for my Blue Eyes! I love to create beautiful effects with the variety of colors and this palette makes it so easy!!! I have bought this over and over again. I love the new circle design too! I know it is a small detail, but it makes a a difference and makes your eye-shadow stretch farther!!! This is one eyeshadow that will NOT fade away as the day goes on! It simply stays in place and you do not find that very often! I just want to give these out cause they are so awesome! I love when these go on sale too! Great product that I would recommend to anyone who wants some vibrant eye makeup!"
Review 19 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
omrebelgirl
Location:Frisco, TX
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
BEST COLORS!
Date:February 24, 2012
"I'm an Avon rep and i've purchased the quads Mocha Latte, Caribbean Sunset, and Earth Tones. I have to say that Earth tones is my favorite. It has the most gorgeous shade of purple. For women with hazel eyes, purple is the best color to bring out the green in your eyes. This purple in this quad is so gorgeous! It looks really purple in the quad; however, on the eyes, it's lighter, but so gorgeous! I wish this color purple came in a single eye shadow. I wear this purple shade with a champagne pearl and it's just beautiful. This is my go to everyday. The most important thing is these colors last and last. Please apply an eye shadow primer before though; this makes all the difference in the world."
Review 20 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Quad in Sale Shades
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cherrylips8
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Lasts and goes on smooth!!
Date:October 8, 2009
"Well let me say first that I normally spend alot of money on department store makeup. Due to the economy I have looked for ways to be more frugal. I found Avon and decided to give it a try. I have this quad in Smokey Eyes. I have fair skin with pink undertones. At first I followed how it said to put it on and I did not like it. The pink is alot lighter in person than on the monitor. But then I mixed the light grey with the dark grey and put it all on my lid. I really like it. I used the black glimmersticks eyeliner and it is a really nice look. It is like a really pretty blue/grey which goes good with my blue/green eyes. I will be trying this in the nocturnal next. I hope this helps."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.