Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Avon Color or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single

Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
51 of 60(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Review 1 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glides on like velvet - Wonderful!
By apsalmist
on March 8, 2011
About the reviewer
By apsalmist
Location:Willmar, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"These shadows glide on & the colors have great staying power with many to choose from. Affordable, too!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
poor packaging
By dragongirl
on March 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By dragongirl
Location:Seattle, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The makeup formula and colors are very good. They are bright and last all day, without moving around too much or fading out. However, the packaging is a problem for me. They only come with one color per compact and the cover is black. So if you have multiple colors in your collection, as I do, you can't tell what color you have picked up without peering closely at the back/bottom of the compact to read the name or opening the compact itself. I personally, have a very small bathroom and don't have room to open up all my eyeshadows in the hopes of finding the right one. Also, the applicators fell apart rather quickly. I replaced them, but nothing from the drug store fits the compact quite right...."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love this color!
By flyer
on February 21, 2011
About the reviewer
By flyer
Location:FL
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought the Warm Black color to use as an accent/smokey eye look. I love this color! I thought it might be too dark but if you use it as an accent color to create a smokey eye look, it is very flattering! It really brings out my blue eyes and I get so many compliments. At this price, it's definitely worth a try if you desire a deep, eggplant-coal color."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Primer is a must
By TheRealMakeupMaven
on December 23, 2010
About the reviewer
By TheRealMakeupMaven
Location:Holland, MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have the Iced Silver shade which is very light and very "loose" and powdery. It does take quite a bit of product to achieve a color close to what it looks like in the pan. Priming your eyelids is a must in order for this eyeshadow to stick and stay in place. I use an eyeshadow primer, but liquid foundation or tinted moisturizer would work, too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not to happy
By siwa
on December 19, 2010
About the reviewer
By siwa
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I ordered minty hoping it will be nice soft color. This is very hard eyeshadow so it is not very easy to get it on the brush. Also it is very light barely visible color. Dint like it at all"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Michelle526
on September 24, 2010
About the reviewer
By Michelle526
Location:St Paul, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this eyeshadow. I used to use a multi-pack from a different company, but would only use the one color (espresso) so when this came out and I only had to buy the color I wanted and was going to use I was thrilled. Now I find out that it is no longer being made...I am really sad. I definaltly think that you should bring the color espresso back....it is great!!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
By Hippychick
on September 5, 2010
About the reviewer
By Hippychick
Location:Cookeville, TN
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have bought so many of these singles, I don't know where to start. The colors are fantastic. You can mix and match with other singles or use with one of the quads. There is no stopping what you can do with the singles. The colors go on easily, make them as light or as dark as you want. There is no limit to what you can do with them. They actually stay put. I've used them with and without primer and have had seen little difference even with my oily eye area. So whether you want a hint of color, subtle contrast and highlights, or bold, here I am color, you can not go wrong with these singles."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does not last
By sueski
on August 21, 2010
About the reviewer
By sueski
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love the colors and it goes on nicely, however it doesn't last. I put it on and maybe 2-3 hours later it looks like I never put any on. If they could make it last longer, then I would give it a higher rating. . ."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Darci
on July 24, 2010
About the reviewer
By Darci
Location:Rapid City SD
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have this product in Golden Peach and Chestnut. I was a bit put off by the fact that they are called "shimmers", but I took a chance, and am very pleased. These are not at all glittery, but give just the lightest sparkle. I usually use these over the top of a cream base, to increase their staying power. If used on their own, they do tend to fade after only a couple of hours, but over a cream base, they last for an entire evening."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 10 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Colors
By NGT10
on July 6, 2010
About the reviewer
By NGT10
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I purchased this in "warm black" and am pleased with the product. It's an unusual shade. Most of Avon's eyeshadows are too light for me. I am dark skinned and appreciate the deeper pigment. I use this to create the smokey eye look without going too dark."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 11 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Impressed
By WizHat
on May 27, 2010
About the reviewer
By WizHat
Location:Columbus, OH
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I purchased the Privately Pink and I have to say I'm not impressed at all. It says it's in the "shimmer" category but it should be in the invisible category. No matter how thick you try to put it on there is no color and no shimmer. Maybe the other colors are better but I certainly am not going to chance it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful!
By emerlee
on May 22, 2010
About the reviewer
By emerlee
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am a red head with green eyes and I got this eyeshadow in chestnut, and I absolutely love it! It's subtle, but brings out my eyes. :) The color is goreous as well, and goes on quite smoothly. I highly reccomend. :))"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Suzie2
on May 21, 2010
About the reviewer
By Suzie2
Location:Naples, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have several shades and really love them all. Blendable, and lasts all day. Feels very comfortable too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shadow!
By Leilap0904
on May 15, 2010
About the reviewer
By Leilap0904
Location:New Hampshire
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have TONS of eye shadow but, this is my most favorite eye shadow yet! It last all day, the color is beautiful. It's easy to put on and you don't need a whole lot of it to look fabulous!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than other Avon eyeshadows.
By Raven
on May 13, 2010
About the reviewer
By Raven
Location:MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"After a series of Avon duds, I finally hit pay dirt with the "warm black" color. It feels silky, is pigment rich and gives me that smokey eye look without looking like I have a black eye. Not an easy feat on dark skin. I just wish the color range was larger."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
By Anonymous
on April 16, 2010
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:Buffalo, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have this in White Pearl. I use it right under my eyebrows, in between my nose and tear ducts and at the top of my cheekbones. It really opens up the eye. It lasts all night as well. Terrific!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a little disappointed
By homeMom
on April 1, 2010
About the reviewer
By homeMom
Location:MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought the pink eyeshadow, and was a little disappointed. The color is so light I feel like I have to really pile it on!! And even then, it is still very light. I am going to try the hint that another reviewer suggested, wetting the eyeshadow to get a darker color."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By TrueAvonAddict
on March 24, 2010
About the reviewer
By TrueAvonAddict
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"The last time I bought the single eyeshadow was when they were in the oval compacts. The quality of the oval compacts were pretty good, so I thought the quality of these newer square ones would be just as good.. Wrong. The newer square compacts are a bit on the cheap side. Same great quality of eyeshadow, but the top of the three little compacts wouldn't even stay on when they were opened. I'm a little disappointed. I hope they fix the cheap compact problem soon. The product is great and I think the case it comes in should reflect that."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why pay more?
By karenavonaddict
on March 22, 2010
About the reviewer
By karenavonaddict
Location:Kirkland, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have used these shadows forever in the quads and the singles - I use a good quality (Avon) eyeshadow brush and use all the shadows wet - they stay on all day and the color is more intense when applied with water. I use the darker shades as eyeliner - again, wet a slim eyeliner brush (not the ones Avon sells) and you get an easy application that stays on all day"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 20 for TRUE COLOR Eyeshadow Single
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shadow
By hsmom
on March 17, 2010
About the reviewer
By hsmom
Location:Sacramento, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been using this product from the start and have always loved how it looks on me. I have no problem with it staying on all day. I get a lot of compliments on my eye makeup. I do agree that I wish they would bring shell back. The new pink just doesn't look the same. I also loved subtle brown but they pulled that one also.
I have had a few problems with the case breaking at the hinge but I guess with them priced so low I can't expect everything.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 next>>