Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Treatments or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover

Gently clears clogged pores. Iron with chrome plating, 5" L. Plastic pouch.
Overall rating:
3.629 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
8
1 Star
29
102 of 143(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Review 1 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gummilissa
Location:Lakewood, CO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Lesson Learned
Date:October 6, 2011
"So I got this product today and as soon as I got it out of the box I went to town with it, not stopping to read the instructions or any reviews that would've helped me. I barely got anything out of my pores and was about to log on to the Avon site and give a scathing review. Then I found the directions and read them and felt like a total dork. First of all, you should use this after a shower or washing your face so that your pores are opened up a bit. Of course I didn't do that the first time and that's why barely anything came out. Secondly, using too much pressure with the tool will cause bruising. I have a lovely one on the tip of my nose because I pushed way too hard with it. Here are the the things that worked for me: Washing my face, putting a warm washcloth on my face, using the blackhead "cup", not pushing down super hard but rocking the tool back and forth gently, and cleaning it with q-tips and rubbing alcohol. After I did all that, the gunk practically came flying out of my face. The reason I gave this product four stars instead of five were because the hole in the blackhead "cup" is a bit hard to clean out, the other reason is because it's hard to aim, if you will. This ability may come with practice, but it was a little hard to see if I was getting the hole over the blackhead. Lastly, I don't think it's meant for super deep blackheads, I have a few around my nose and I got a little bit of stuff out but not enough to say I cleaned out the pore completely. All in all, a good product that if used properly, does work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BlondeGurrl
Location:PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great tool!
Date:April 14, 2011
"I purchased this for my teen age boys.. They dread it when I notice they have blackheads and make them sit so I can squeeze them out and it's easier to clean and sterilize this than it is to sterilize your own hands . This tool makes it so much easier than sitting there squeezing the same one for 20 minutes... or trying to grip a blackhead in an awkward spot, like the side of your nose.
It didn't work on all their blackheads and some I really needed to press down hard, to where it left red marks.. but it got the job done for the most part and didn't leave any permanent redness or anything. Sometimes you have to switch ends.. if it doesn't work with one end, try the other end.. I have better luck with the white head loop.
I gave it 3 stars instead of 5 because it's pretty cheaply made... It's only a matter of time before I snap it in half because you REALLY have to press down hard to get some of them out."
Review 3 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Holy Grail !!
Date:December 2, 2010
"I was skeptical before purchasing this product because there are so many things that claim to unclog pores and we all know how that turns out in the end............they lied !! I saw this was on sale and thought why not give it a try, especially since this would be more likely to remove gunk than just a cleanser, and I am SOOOO glad I took the chance. This tool has become my holy grail, and I truly believe every person with clogged pores that is sick of nothing working, NEEDS this tool. Extraction is the best way to unclog blackheads and this makes it so much easier than any other approach, not to mention saving you a hefty amount from having to go to a professional. I highly, highly recommend this product, it really does work. takes some getting use to, but once you figure it out you will be AMAZED with the results. I cant say enough good things about this, you just got to see for yourself !!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tardisblue
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
be careful
Date:December 11, 2011
"I have sensitive skin, acne prone skin even at almost 25. I got this more than a year ago (I think almost 2?) and have used it fairly regularly. It is especially helpful with getting out the annoying blackheads on the side of your nose and clearing out the really cystic white heads (it's almost gross how well it pops them!).
However, you need to be very, very careful if you have skin that is prone to scarring at the drop of a hat like mine. Even with light to mild pressure, I get scars from using it. My skin tends to discolor and keloid, which causes some pitting, when I use this. I don't think this is a problem for everyone, just those with very sensitive skin.
Just be very, very gentle and follow the included directions to a T and you should be okay.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SpaMama
Location:Germany
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Must Use Properly!
Date:March 29, 2011
"I am a medical esthetician and must warn you to use this tool properly or you can create bigger problems! Always cleanse your face thoroughly before and after use. Do not drag it over the skin! Do not "grind" it into an area trying to dislodge! please use it gently... Too much pressure will cause damage and scarring. Always clean it with alcohol before you move to another area. Always disinfect it after use and store in a sealed bag away from potential contaminants. Once you have removed the debris and cleansed, apply the clearing solution to facilitate clearing bacteria from the pore."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Benny
Location:Milwaukee, WI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
It works with the right pimple
Date:December 11, 2010
"I got this to help with my need to always pop my pimples. I don't get that many, but when I do, I tend to use my fingers which can leave scars. This product works best when placing the little opened ended circle on top of a raised white head. The black heads are harder to get out with the closed circle, but it works. It ia definitly painful but I would say its almost as effective as your fingers. If worse comes to worse, use two cotton swabs, one on each side of the pimple and push tworads the head. Its cheap, doesn't leave scars and works."
Review 7 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KishaM
Location:Hackensack, NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
Simply Amazing
Date:January 17, 2011
"For a long time, I had this cluster of whiteheads on my cheek and I just could not remove them. I finally bought this and used it for the first time today.
WOW.
The amount of gunk that was removed was amazing, and disgusting at the same time. This tool is great! Now, I'm feeling that same spot on my cheek, and it's smooth as butter, not slightly bumpy like it has been for months.
My face hurts a little and my cheek is a bit red, but that's okay. I'm so glad I bought this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LauraRed
Location:Minneapolis, mN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Can't give this tool enough stars
Date:August 30, 2010
"After eyeing this remover with a lot of skepticism, I was stunned by how efficiently it works on my occasionally stubborn, cystic acne that develops into a whitehead. Although all attempts to remove/drain a whitehead will come with some amount of pain, this was almost painless in comparison to fingers/tweezers (I've done just about everything you're told not to do) and worked very quickly. I wish I had had this tool for years, and I plan on keeping it around."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
KatieFromColorado
Location:Dallas, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
How does this thing work??
Date:November 4, 2010
"I read the review that said the person couldn't figure out how to use this thing and I'm right there with them. There were no instructions. I tried this thing on me (I only have blackheads on my nose) and it did nothing. Since it didn't work for me, I gave it to my boyfriend because his pores are much larger than mine and he gets both whiteheads and blackheads. Still, neither one of us could figure out how to use this thing. I am kind of disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ashlie
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Doesn't always work for me
Date:July 26, 2012
"I've used this product several times with mixed results. It works very well on whiteheads, but the blackhead cup doesn't work so well. It is better than using your fingernails (I'm very bad about that, which is why I purchased the tool), and even if it leaves a little red mark it quickly clears up. Sometimes I was able to get a blackhead out with the whitehead tip. It's well made, not flimsy at all, but I still resort to my fingernails (bad, I know!)"
Review 11 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SweetAnemic
Location:New York, NY
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Does the job...
Date:January 26, 2011
"This is a great little tool. However the blackhead end didn't remove any of my blackheads, but a friend of mine said I could use the whitehead loop to remove the blackheads as well.
Using the whitehead loop for blackheads is a little painful, but it leaves your skin clear and smooth.
Removing whiteheads isn't too painful, at least on my face it wasn't. I get whitehead on my arms and it stung a bit to use the tool on my arms, but it did the trick."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cassiee
Location:chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Amazing!!!!!
Date:November 24, 2010
"I absolutely love this! I bought one similar to this in the store and it didn't work, this one is amazing it got EVERYTHING out of my face!!!!! I have annoying blackheads on my nose and chin and now they are finally gone I LOVE IT! I don't know why people are confused on how to use it because it comes with instructions the end that has a loop is for whiteheads and the bowl with the hole in it is for blackheads. Definitely would recommend this!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vee85
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
Good extractor
Date:June 8, 2014
"This extractor is phenomenal for the price! However there is a lot of prep that goes into extractions of any kind. I prep my skin like they would at the spa including exfoliating first. That's the only way to truly get the benefits of the extraction. After a couple of days and an oil free non cosmegenic moisturizer your skin will glow w/o all of the irritation that comes along with using your hands to burst the pimple."
Review 14 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AvonAlly1026
Location:Connecticut
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not the best tool!
Date:June 12, 2012
"This is not the best tool I've ever used to remove black or white heads. You are better off to go pay and get a facial or use the pore strips. You have to press really hard until you are blue in the face...litterally. Then you end up with imprints of the tool all over your face and most of the time, with little or no results. This may work for people with larger poors, but not for someone who has smaller pores."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RaeMaleeW
Location:Tampa, Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
My son and all the teenagers in we know love it!
Date:May 19, 2010
"I got this for my son a couple of years ago. I am so excited to see it is back. I got him one and all my friends got one for their kids. It was Christmas and we laughed about how we all used them as stocking stuffers. The kids loved them. Especially great for getting blackheads in the ears. As for the other comment, everything hurts but this is better then them using dirty fingernails."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
KishaM
Location:Hackensack, NJ
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
Be careful if you have sensitive skin!
Date:January 25, 2011
"I recently reviewed this product and gave it 5 stars. It did it's job of clearing away the whiteheads. However about 2 days later, the areas where I used this product became discolored, and now I have dark brown spots on my cheek. If you have sensitive skin, or skin that is prone to discoloration be careful using this product. Unfortunately, I won't be using it again because of it:("
Review 17 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kristen1984
Location:Scranton, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Incredible
Date:August 11, 2010
"There isn't a single blackhead removal tool on the market that compares to this one. Believe me, I've tried them all. The results are incredible, ladies, incredible! I know it sounds a bit gross but you are actually able to bear witness to all of the gunk being pushed out of your pores when using this. I went from a mass of blackheads to blackhead free in the matter of minutes!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wdhpwyst
Location:San Francisco, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love it.
Date:July 28, 2011
"I love this thing. It took a few days to get the hang of it, but it makes clearing blackheads and the occasional pimple so much easier. I'm a bit of a picker when it comes to my skin, and using my nails always seemed to lead to irritation and blemishes that would hang around and take forever to heal. It's a lot easier to keep everything clean and sanitized with this tool"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
howdyTM
Location:Colorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Finally!
Date:November 17, 2010
"When I was a child my Mom had something similar to this and I used it when ever I had a problem, but then my Mom passed away and I have no idea where the tool went and I really missed it, but not near as much as here, anyway, my sister suprised me with this for my birthday. I was stunned, yeah! Now I don't scar my face by trying to pop them incorrectly. Thank you Avon."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clearskin® Dual Ended Blackhead Remover
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlljed09
Location:pa
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
best pimple popper/blackhead remover EVER
Date:November 5, 2010
"i cant tell you how much i love this. ive had acne and blackhead problems since i was 12 or so. once i got this though, that all changed. i looove it. i cant believe how it gets down into the blackhead and gets out what you nail cant. ive tried so many facial creams and other promising products to remove blackheads, but this by far is the best darn thing ive found yet."