Avon Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo

Color lasts up to 6X longer!* Exclusive Color Shield Technology helps lock in color. Nourishes, protects and helps extend the life of your hair color. Gently cleanses and helps protect color from fading. 11.8 fl. oz. *When used with ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Lock-in-Treatment vs. ordinary shampoo alone. Individual results may vary.
Overall rating:
3.155 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
11
1 Star
24
49 of 84(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Review 1 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Napolinonmolla
Location:North East Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Good hair conditioner
Date:August 24, 2014
"This is a helpful product. Not a Holy Grail but overall good for price. This is my opinion obviously. To each their own"
Review 2 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
LyntheReader
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Worst I ever purchased
Date:December 18, 2013
"This is the thinnest shampoo I have ever seen. It pours out of the bottle like water. I expected an Avon product to be good, but this is not. Shampoo should be thick, not so liquid it runs off of your hand and down the bottle. It also didn't suds up very well. I'll never buy it again."
Review 3 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dreamcruise
Location:SLC
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Something has changed
Date:September 11, 2013
"Not the same. Used 3 times and sent it to the guest bathroom. Avon has yet to come out with a good SULFATE free shampoo for color treated hair. I'll keep purchasing from Professional Beauty Supply Stores."
Review 4 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaFarkel
Location:Woodbury, MN.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great Way to protect your hair color!
Date:July 22, 2013
"Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo works great on my hair! I always color my hair so this product protects the color as well as it adds softness and bounce!"
Review 5 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SunnyE
Equal to High End Products
Date:June 2, 2013
"After working as a hairstylist for over 10 yrs. I can truly say this works equally as well on my hair as the more pricier salon products do, it holds my color better also."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Location:New Hampshire
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Product for my Hair
Date:May 10, 2013
"So I have read the mixed reviews and I have a positive review of the product. I have been using it for about a month now and immediately noticed a difference in the texture of my hair. Even 3 days after I started using it my stylist commented on just how soft my hair was feeling. I immediately noticed shine as well. My color is staying up since I dyed it about a month ago as well. For my hair this has been a great product and as long as the formula remains the same I won't be switching for a long time!"
Review 7 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chitown
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
disappointed
Date:February 26, 2013
"Shampoo and conditioner is not the same color protection as when it was first released by Avon. Will not reorder this product."
Review 8 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SFranklin
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Color protection shampoo
Date:February 6, 2013
"I just started using it. So far so good"
Review 9 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
aganyLI
Location:Long Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Awful, not worth even trying
Date:January 28, 2013
"Very thin consistency, almost like water. I threw it in the garbage after two uses. Conditioner isn't better either. It made my hair extremely difficult to brush."
Review 10 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
sunshine62
Location:Eastern NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Hoping for better
Date:December 10, 2012
"I purchased this item hoping it would work better for me than what I had been using. It definitely does not!!! Even after using conditoner, I could barely get the comb through my hair after washing it. Leaves my hair looking "frizzy" and very dried out. Have only used two times, but will not use it again."
Review 11 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ModelLady
Location:Tri-State Area
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Excellent Color Protection
Date:December 9, 2012
"This stuff REALLY works! It preserves the color, better than anything else that I've tried. It keeps me looking naturally beautiful between color applications."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Momazog
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Advance Techniques color Protection Shampoo
Date:September 13, 2012
"Love it! My hair is soft, manageable, and the color really does last longer when I use this shampoo. AND it is so affordable and easy to get. I don't have to go to a beauty supply house to get it. So easy to get it online!"
Review 13 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
florida63
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Works great
Date:September 12, 2012
"This shampoo works great for me. Need to remember that suds do no clean hair (more than likely what dries it out)."
Review 14 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mommah
shampoo
Date:July 25, 2012
"Like the shampoo. It kind of leaves my hair feeling a little greasy. Don't know if I'll order it again."
Review 15 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kat1957
Location:Frankfort KY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
great shampoo!
Date:July 15, 2012
"I would give it 100 on the scale love it! Will keep using it too,"
Review 16 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suzieq1953
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Advance Technique
Date:May 23, 2012
"I have tried salon products but none compare to this one. Others dry out my colored hair"
Review 17 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ritabird
Date:May 11, 2012
"Shampoo did not work for my hair, dried it out."
Review 18 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KRiley84
Location:Dundalk, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
works great AND smells great! very long lasting...
Date:May 9, 2012
"Not only does this stuff actually work but it smells good too! And I don't have to use nearly as much of it to get a good bubble going as I did with my old hair products."
Review 19 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StephanyB
Location:Boston, MA
Date:April 25, 2012
"i like it!, it keeps my hair soft even with the hot water that always get your hair like hard"
Review 20 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Erk007
Location:South Dakota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Shampoo
Date:March 18, 2012
"My color seems to last longer using this shampoo. Just wished it lathered up more. Hardly any suds? strange?
I also use the conditioner & I like it.
"