Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop shampoo & conditioner or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo

Color lasts up to 6X longer!* Exclusive Color Shield Technology helps lock in color. Nourishes, protects and helps extend the life of your hair color. Gently cleanses and helps protect color from fading. 11.8 fl. oz. *When used with ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Lock-in-Treatment vs. ordinary shampoo alone. Individual results may vary.
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
14
31 of 51(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Review 21 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CarrieR
Location:chicago
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Nothing special
Date:January 22, 2012
"It is ok, but nothing I would purchase again. It has a texture that is a little heavy and takes a while to produce lather. I like the frizz control much better. But, it keeps my hair healthy and protects my color"
Review 22 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
redhatliz
Location:Allen Park, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
Didn't Like
Date:January 17, 2012
"Disappointed in this. I was looking for a shampoo for color treated hair. It doesn't suds hardly at all."
Review 23 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Valten
Location:Tennessee
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Why change a good product?
Date:January 5, 2012
"I have been buying Adv. Techniques shampoo and conditioner for a long time now, but I won't buy it anymore. I loved the lingering smell and softness it left on my hair but the new formula doesn't have the smell (at all!) and it doesn't leave my hair half as soft and manegeable as before. Why does a great product need changing? It was very good before, why couldn't Avon leave it alone?
I will have to keep looking for another shampoo and conditioner to replace Advance Techniques.
"
Review 24 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DarcyinTN
Location:Hickman County - Tennessee
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Something Different About the Shampoo
Date:December 1, 2011
"I still buy this shampoo but it seems something has changed and not just the bottle. I have to use more of the product to get the same lather and coverage. I still like the overall color protection and the scent is wonderful but I'd rather have the old version. I could use less so it lasted longer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amcl
Location:Gorham, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
disappointed
Date:September 30, 2011
"I used to use this shampoo a few years ago and loved it. They must have changed the formula because it doesn't get very sudsy. Will not buy again."
Review 26 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janec3
Location:Phoenix, AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Really Woks!!!!
Date:September 23, 2011
"I really like this product!! I color my hair red, which, if you color your hair red, you know it FADES FAST!!! Well, no longer with this product. I do use the conditioner and lock-in treatment in conjunction with this product, so not sure if one is better than the other, but, together they're amazing!!! My red is usually pretty faded by 4 wks when I usually get my hair colored...well, I've gone 8 weeks with this product!!! The only reason I had to color was because my roots were growing in grey!!!! Awesome product!""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LeahV
Location:Hagerstown, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Might Protect Color - but Doesn't Clean!
Date:August 31, 2011
"The primary function of a shampoo is to clean your hair, protecting your color is secondary. This shampoo is thin & runny, doesn't work up a lather & leaves you feeling like you need to re-wash."
Review 28 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaitP
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Great product, great price
Date:August 20, 2011
"This shampoo and conditioner are awesome! i figured i'd give it a shot since there was a good sale for it. Best choice I made... i live in Florida so the humidity and sun are intense. i love it. i recommend this product to anyone who has color treated hair and are searching for a good product to use."
Review 29 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KathyC8
Location:Pittsburgh PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Runny, No lather!
Date:June 26, 2011
"I have used AT Color Treated products for years. Ever since new packaging, the product is like it was watered down, less ounces in the previous bottle, increased price and you used twice as much shampoo to feel like your hair is clean! Had to change to buy elsewhere.
Avon needs to rethink this formula to continue repeat purchase from me!"
Review 30 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJRusnak
Location:Brunswick, OH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
My hair hasn't shined like this in years!
Date:April 11, 2011
"After the first wash with this shampoo followed by the Advance Techniques Color Protection Conditioner my hair shines like never before, my color has more dimension and looks much healthier since I started using this shampoo and conditioner together. It's been a full week now and I am totally sold on this product."
Review 31 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tashina
Location:Phoenix, AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
This is the Best!!
Date:March 25, 2011
"I have been using this product since November 2010. I love it. It holds my color (only died it 1 since I started using this product) and it leaves my hair soft and shiny. I will not use any other product."
Review 32 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillippians413
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Better than the best!
Date:March 11, 2011
"I don't understand why someone said it took alot to get a good lather. I use a quarter size and it does well. Smells good too. My color has lasted going on 8 weeks and my hair is soft and shiny!"
Review 33 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LanaT777
Location:Pittsburgh Pa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Beautiful Results
Date:March 4, 2011
"I have tried many shampoos, I have fine hair and I am over sixty and experiencing thinning hair. I decided to try this shampoo, I LOVE it, wonderful results!!
I am ordering another one today, I hope Avon keeps it in stock, a wonderful shampoo for the price, Advance Technique did alot more then expensive shampoos I have tried
"
Review 34 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SusanK
Location:Charlevoix, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Disappointed
Date:March 3, 2011
"I loved this product before the packaging changed. Now I feel like I have to use more shampoo to get a lather and it just doesn't feel or smell the same as before. At this point, I could not recommend this product to anyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
leapingfroglady
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Good Stuff
Date:February 23, 2011
"I have used this for 3 years now. I so do enjoy the scent. It is a mild one and that's what I like about it.
It does help with hair color. I know I can extend my look for another month or so. Good Stuff
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NJgirl
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Shampoo not the Same
Date:February 11, 2011
"I am so disappointed with the new formula for Advanced Techniques Shampoo for Color Treated Hair. It seems to be drying out my hair. The old formula was so nice it made my hair feel conditioned and healthy. I have used this product for 2 years but have decided not to purchase the shampoos and conditioners."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rusti1
Location:st louis
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
smells terrible
Date:January 15, 2011
"this is no where near as good as the old formula, and it stinks. the old stuff worked better and smelled 100% better. i will be switching shampoo. what a disappointment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kclady
Location:kansas city
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
it obviously changed
Date:January 8, 2011
"I once loved this stuff but i think its obvious the formula changed for it does not condition like it once did also the new packaging makes the product 1/3 smaller than before so basically your paying the same money for less product"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pauser
Location:Lansdale, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Disappointing
Date:December 30, 2010
"This was one of the best Avon products ever and a great deal. The new formula, however, smells like Jolly Rancher Watermelon candy and gave me a headache. It not only smells differently, the texture is different. I won't buy it again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sammij69
Location:Amarillo, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
I AGREE, BRING THE OLD FORMULA BACK!!!
Date:December 21, 2010
"I agree with most of the reviews for this new formulation of AT Color Protection. I do disagree with those complaining about the scent of the new product, I like the scent of the whole new AT Color Protection line better than the old scent, even my 12 year old daughter compliments me on the smell of my hair after I shower. However, I agree with the rest of the reviews about the lather (or lack thereof) of the new shampoo. I am finding that I have to use double or triple the amount of shampoo to get the same amount of lather as in the old formula (a little went a long way with the old formula). I will continue to buy this product because I do love the smell and it does do what it intends to do...lengthens the life of your color, especially when paired with the new leave-in treatment, which smells equally as good as the smapoo and works very well. But AVON, if you are listening to these reviews, PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA!!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.