Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Hair Care or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo

Color lasts up to 6X longer!* Exclusive Color Shield Technology helps lock in color. Nourishes, protects and helps extend the life of your hair color. Gently cleanses and helps protect color from fading. 11.8 fl. oz. *When used with ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Lock-in-Treatment vs. ordinary shampoo alone. Individual results may vary.
Overall rating:
3.237 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
16
35 of 58(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Review 21 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shampoo
By Erk007
on March 18, 2012
About the reviewer
By Erk007
Location:South Dakota
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My color seems to last longer using this shampoo. Just wished it lathered up more. Hardly any suds? strange?
I also use the conditioner & I like it.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works!!
By Avonloyal
on February 11, 2012
About the reviewer
By Avonloyal
Location:Eastern Connecticut
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I started using the Color Protection Shampoo, Conditioner and Lock-In Treatment together as a system and my box hair color has stayed strong and true from coloring to coloring.
Even my hairdresser commented on it! This it GOOD STUFF!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nothing special
By CarrieR
on January 22, 2012
About the reviewer
By CarrieR
Location:chicago
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It is ok, but nothing I would purchase again. It has a texture that is a little heavy and takes a while to produce lather. I like the frizz control much better. But, it keeps my hair healthy and protects my color"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't Like
By redhatliz
on January 17, 2012
About the reviewer
By redhatliz
Location:Allen Park, MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Disappointed in this. I was looking for a shampoo for color treated hair. It doesn't suds hardly at all."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Why change a good product?
By Valten
on January 5, 2012
About the reviewer
By Valten
Location:Tennessee
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been buying Adv. Techniques shampoo and conditioner for a long time now, but I won't buy it anymore. I loved the lingering smell and softness it left on my hair but the new formula doesn't have the smell (at all!) and it doesn't leave my hair half as soft and manegeable as before. Why does a great product need changing? It was very good before, why couldn't Avon leave it alone?
I will have to keep looking for another shampoo and conditioner to replace Advance Techniques.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Something Different About the Shampoo
By DarcyinTN
on December 1, 2011
About the reviewer
By DarcyinTN
Location:Hickman County - Tennessee
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I still buy this shampoo but it seems something has changed and not just the bottle. I have to use more of the product to get the same lather and coverage. I still like the overall color protection and the scent is wonderful but I'd rather have the old version. I could use less so it lasted longer."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed
By amcl
on September 30, 2011
About the reviewer
By amcl
Location:Gorham, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used to use this shampoo a few years ago and loved it. They must have changed the formula because it doesn't get very sudsy. Will not buy again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Woks!!!!
By Janec3
on September 23, 2011
About the reviewer
By Janec3
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I really like this product!! I color my hair red, which, if you color your hair red, you know it FADES FAST!!! Well, no longer with this product. I do use the conditioner and lock-in treatment in conjunction with this product, so not sure if one is better than the other, but, together they're amazing!!! My red is usually pretty faded by 4 wks when I usually get my hair colored...well, I've gone 8 weeks with this product!!! The only reason I had to color was because my roots were growing in grey!!!! Awesome product!""
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Might Protect Color - but Doesn't Clean!
By LeahV
on August 31, 2011
About the reviewer
By LeahV
Location:Hagerstown, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The primary function of a shampoo is to clean your hair, protecting your color is secondary. This shampoo is thin & runny, doesn't work up a lather & leaves you feeling like you need to re-wash."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product, great price
By CaitP
on August 20, 2011
About the reviewer
By CaitP
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This shampoo and conditioner are awesome! i figured i'd give it a shot since there was a good sale for it. Best choice I made... i live in Florida so the humidity and sun are intense. i love it. i recommend this product to anyone who has color treated hair and are searching for a good product to use."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Runny, No lather!
By KathyC8
on June 26, 2011
About the reviewer
By KathyC8
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have used AT Color Treated products for years. Ever since new packaging, the product is like it was watered down, less ounces in the previous bottle, increased price and you used twice as much shampoo to feel like your hair is clean! Had to change to buy elsewhere.
Avon needs to rethink this formula to continue repeat purchase from me!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My hair hasn't shined like this in years!
By MJRusnak
on April 11, 2011
About the reviewer
By MJRusnak
Location:Brunswick, OH
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"After the first wash with this shampoo followed by the Advance Techniques Color Protection Conditioner my hair shines like never before, my color has more dimension and looks much healthier since I started using this shampoo and conditioner together. It's been a full week now and I am totally sold on this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the Best!!
By Tashina
on March 25, 2011
About the reviewer
By Tashina
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been using this product since November 2010. I love it. It holds my color (only died it 1 since I started using this product) and it leaves my hair soft and shiny. I will not use any other product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the best!
By Phillippians413
on March 11, 2011
About the reviewer
By Phillippians413
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I don't understand why someone said it took alot to get a good lather. I use a quarter size and it does well. Smells good too. My color has lasted going on 8 weeks and my hair is soft and shiny!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Results
By LanaT777
on March 4, 2011
About the reviewer
By LanaT777
Location:Pittsburgh Pa
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have tried many shampoos, I have fine hair and I am over sixty and experiencing thinning hair. I decided to try this shampoo, I LOVE it, wonderful results!!
I am ordering another one today, I hope Avon keeps it in stock, a wonderful shampoo for the price, Advance Technique did alot more then expensive shampoos I have tried
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed
By SusanK
on March 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By SusanK
Location:Charlevoix, MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I loved this product before the packaging changed. Now I feel like I have to use more shampoo to get a lather and it just doesn't feel or smell the same as before. At this point, I could not recommend this product to anyone."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Stuff
By leapingfroglady
on February 23, 2011
About the reviewer
By leapingfroglady
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have used this for 3 years now. I so do enjoy the scent. It is a mild one and that's what I like about it.
It does help with hair color. I know I can extend my look for another month or so. Good Stuff
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shampoo not the Same
By NJgirl
on February 11, 2011
About the reviewer
By NJgirl
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I am so disappointed with the new formula for Advanced Techniques Shampoo for Color Treated Hair. It seems to be drying out my hair. The old formula was so nice it made my hair feel conditioned and healthy. I have used this product for 2 years but have decided not to purchase the shampoos and conditioners."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
smells terrible
By rusti1
on January 15, 2011
About the reviewer
By rusti1
Location:st louis
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"this is no where near as good as the old formula, and it stinks. the old stuff worked better and smelled 100% better. i will be switching shampoo. what a disappointment."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Advance Techniques Color Protection Shampoo
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
it obviously changed
By kclady
on January 8, 2011
About the reviewer
By kclady
Location:kansas city
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I once loved this stuff but i think its obvious the formula changed for it does not condition like it once did also the new packaging makes the product 1/3 smaller than before so basically your paying the same money for less product"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>