Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel

Overall rating:
3.787 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
9
33 of 47(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
patches1
Location:Minnesota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Great product
Date:June 19, 2014
"I've used numerous tube gels in the past, which I've liked, but decided to try this spray gel. It is just as good as other reviews have said. It has a light, pleasant scent, and leaves my hair so soft and volumized. I ordered more of this, as well as the matching shampoo and conditioner. No more tube gels for me!"
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orangeblossom99
Location:North Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Amazing
Date:November 1, 2013
"I adore this stuff. It makes my thin hair fuller and also soft. It is just wonderful!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Betty99
Location:Hartford Connecticut
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
fantastic stuff
Date:August 30, 2013
"The smell is wonderful and it lasts. It seems to keep the oil reduced. It does puff up my hair. This is a new must have for me. I wish I found it when I was younger and working."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lotus1955
Location:Tunkhannock PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best spray gel!!
Date:July 13, 2013
"I bought this as a trial, made my hair go BOOM!! I got at least 5 compliments this week concerning my hair.
I've tried everything. If you like to wash, blow dry and then set with a gel using a curling iron, this is the gel for you. The consistency of the set is perfect, not too stiff, yet holds the set. I'm ordering 4 more bottles today.
Only gripe, Avon, produce this in bigger bottles...
5 star product"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
conniejane
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin type:Normal
great gel
Date:June 1, 2013
"I have had a problem finding the correct gel for my very fine hair that will give it enough volume but will not weigh it down. This has worked very well for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
glowy
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
GIVES MY HAIR BODY
Date:March 3, 2013
"I HAVE USED THIS BEFORE. I SPRAY IT ON WET HAIR. PUT IN ROLLERS, DRY, AND BRUSH THROUGH IT. VOILE."
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samantha202561
Location:Deerfield, Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love it!
Date:January 30, 2013
"I use this spray everytime I get out of the shower! Doesn't make my hair stiff, smell could be better but product works good."
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
LouiseDi
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Overpriced and Not Great
Date:January 25, 2013
"My hair is rather thin; hence my purchase of this product. I don't believe that I see any difference in the volume at all; therefore, I wouldn't be buying this again."
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GmaJojo
Location:Washington
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Greatest spray gel
Date:January 24, 2013
"This is the best spray gel. Cannot find anything like this in the store. Not too heavy for my fine hair but keeps the frizz down."
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
susanbr
Location:nj
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
not so stiff
Date:October 10, 2012
"It works without leaving my hair too stiff."
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bunnet
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
great product
Date:October 1, 2012
"Advance techniques volumizing spray gel is agreat product for people with fine hair. It really gives body.I love it."
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DeebC
Location:Woodbury, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Ruined my hair
Date:September 13, 2012
"I has such hope for my fine hair with this product. But, it's basically spray starch for your hair.After spraying it on damp hair, it's hard to get a wide tooth comb through it. It gave me split ends and ruined my hair! The day after using it, when I showered and got my hair wet, it felt like dry spaghetti and took 3 washings to get the stuff out. I've had to use Argon Oil treatments daily to try to get the softness and shine back in my hair. Horrible product. Horrible stuff which I will be returning."
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kclady
Location:kansas city
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Amazing
Date:September 1, 2012
"I been looking for a leave in for volumizing outside of shampoos. This does make your hair feel thicker and full with no build up feeling. Your hair feels natural you can not even tell you have product in your hair. I can now enjoy my favorite non-volumizing shampoos and get the fuller feeling. For reference I have elbow length baby fine hair. BUT it seems the more I brush my hair the flatter it gets. I do not know if its my imagination or not?"
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location:Rochester, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
GREATEST PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date:June 18, 2012
"I was skeptical ordering this spray gel since I never used gel before on my baby fine hair, but lately nothing seems to be giving me any body. I find that as I age my hair even seems thinner than it ever did and really did not hold much hope for this product. WAS I SURPRISED?? I wash my hair and towel dry it and flip my head forward and just spray the underside of my hair and it has given me so much volume most days I don't even put in the velcro rollers and blow drying it is enough. LOVE THIS PRODUCT and am about to order more just in case they stop making it. I have spent far more $$$ on salon products and this has worked the very best. I usually go with mousses and root lifters, but this product works even better. TRY IT -- you won't be disappointed and especially at this price!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
seattlelibby
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Not sure
Date:May 14, 2012
"I have very fine, very thin hair. This product might be helping if I use a lot, but then my hair seems sticky."
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HolE
Location:Denver, CO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Pretty Good Root Boost
Date:April 6, 2012
"This works better than most products that I have bought to volumize my roots. It could have a little more volume hold, but I like that it does not make your hair sticky or crunchy."
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AmyFP
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Advanced Techniques Volumizing Spray Gel
Date:January 6, 2012
"I have tried all of the stylers in the Volumizing line, and this is the only one that I really enjoy using. I can see a real difference in my hair when I use this product vs. when I don't. I have very fine hair and wear it long. It can be very flat, but has actual body when I use this spray before drying it. I always make sure to use it all over at the roots and also 2-3 pumps on the ends. I use maybe 8-10 pumps in all. I usually prefer a volumizing foam, but at this price I have been convinced to switch!"
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
srmedd
Location:McClellanville, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
GREAT product!
Date:January 3, 2012
"My sister just happened to forget this product at my house when she was here on vacation and i picked it up and tried it and haven't put it down since!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! Want to try the shampoo next, think it is out of stock, though...HAPPY NEW YEAR!!"
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AnnLD
Location:Westchester, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Ineffective
Date:December 13, 2011
"I used Avon's Advanced Techniques Styling Gel in the past with good results. Since it is no longer made, I decided to try this. I have fine hair that is very difficult to hold in place and lacks body. This sounded like the solution. It was not much better than using nothing at all."
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cautiouscathy
Location:Port Richey FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
This one was a waste of money!
Date:November 26, 2011
"I have very fine hair and it actually did what it said, it did make my hair appear thicker. However, it also made my hair dull and split my ends, dried it out and ruined it until it grew out again to look shiny and healthy like it had in the first place. The way it makes your hair thicker is to split every shaft in two so it sticks out in all directions. If you like that look, then go ahead and buy it."