Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel

Overall rating:
3.941 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
25 of 34(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
By patches1
on June 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By patches1
Location:Minnesota
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've used numerous tube gels in the past, which I've liked, but decided to try this spray gel. It is just as good as other reviews have said. It has a light, pleasant scent, and leaves my hair so soft and volumized. I ordered more of this, as well as the matching shampoo and conditioner. No more tube gels for me!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing
By Orangeblossom99
on November 1, 2013
About the reviewer
By Orangeblossom99
Location:North Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I adore this stuff. It makes my thin hair fuller and also soft. It is just wonderful!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic stuff
By Betty99
on August 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By Betty99
Location:Hartford Connecticut
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"The smell is wonderful and it lasts. It seems to keep the oil reduced. It does puff up my hair. This is a new must have for me. I wish I found it when I was younger and working."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best spray gel!!
By Lotus1955
on July 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By Lotus1955
Location:Tunkhannock PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I bought this as a trial, made my hair go BOOM!! I got at least 5 compliments this week concerning my hair.
I've tried everything. If you like to wash, blow dry and then set with a gel using a curling iron, this is the gel for you. The consistency of the set is perfect, not too stiff, yet holds the set. I'm ordering 4 more bottles today.
Only gripe, Avon, produce this in bigger bottles...
5 star product"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gel
By conniejane
on June 1, 2013
About the reviewer
By conniejane
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have had a problem finding the correct gel for my very fine hair that will give it enough volume but will not weigh it down. This has worked very well for me."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GIVES MY HAIR BODY
By glowy
on March 3, 2013
About the reviewer
By glowy
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I HAVE USED THIS BEFORE. I SPRAY IT ON WET HAIR. PUT IN ROLLERS, DRY, AND BRUSH THROUGH IT. VOILE."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
By Samantha202561
on January 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By Samantha202561
Location:Deerfield, Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use this spray everytime I get out of the shower! Doesn't make my hair stiff, smell could be better but product works good."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overpriced and Not Great
By LouiseDi
on January 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By LouiseDi
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My hair is rather thin; hence my purchase of this product. I don't believe that I see any difference in the volume at all; therefore, I wouldn't be buying this again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest spray gel
By GmaJojo
on January 24, 2013
About the reviewer
By GmaJojo
Location:Washington
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the best spray gel. Cannot find anything like this in the store. Not too heavy for my fine hair but keeps the frizz down."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not so stiff
By susanbr
on October 10, 2012
About the reviewer
By susanbr
Location:nj
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It works without leaving my hair too stiff."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
By bunnet
on October 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By bunnet
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Advance techniques volumizing spray gel is agreat product for people with fine hair. It really gives body.I love it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ruined my hair
By DeebC
on September 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By DeebC
Location:Woodbury, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I has such hope for my fine hair with this product. But, it's basically spray starch for your hair.After spraying it on damp hair, it's hard to get a wide tooth comb through it. It gave me split ends and ruined my hair! The day after using it, when I showered and got my hair wet, it felt like dry spaghetti and took 3 washings to get the stuff out. I've had to use Argon Oil treatments daily to try to get the softness and shine back in my hair. Horrible product. Horrible stuff which I will be returning."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing
By kclady
on September 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By kclady
Location:kansas city
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I been looking for a leave in for volumizing outside of shampoos. This does make your hair feel thicker and full with no build up feeling. Your hair feels natural you can not even tell you have product in your hair. I can now enjoy my favorite non-volumizing shampoos and get the fuller feeling. For reference I have elbow length baby fine hair. BUT it seems the more I brush my hair the flatter it gets. I do not know if its my imagination or not?"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREATEST PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By Anonymous
on June 18, 2012
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:Rochester, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I was skeptical ordering this spray gel since I never used gel before on my baby fine hair, but lately nothing seems to be giving me any body. I find that as I age my hair even seems thinner than it ever did and really did not hold much hope for this product. WAS I SURPRISED?? I wash my hair and towel dry it and flip my head forward and just spray the underside of my hair and it has given me so much volume most days I don't even put in the velcro rollers and blow drying it is enough. LOVE THIS PRODUCT and am about to order more just in case they stop making it. I have spent far more $$$ on salon products and this has worked the very best. I usually go with mousses and root lifters, but this product works even better. TRY IT -- you won't be disappointed and especially at this price!!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not sure
By seattlelibby
on May 14, 2012
About the reviewer
By seattlelibby
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have very fine, very thin hair. This product might be helping if I use a lot, but then my hair seems sticky."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Good Root Boost
By HolE
on April 6, 2012
About the reviewer
By HolE
Location:Denver, CO
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This works better than most products that I have bought to volumize my roots. It could have a little more volume hold, but I like that it does not make your hair sticky or crunchy."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Advanced Techniques Volumizing Spray Gel
By AmyFP
on January 6, 2012
About the reviewer
By AmyFP
Location:New York
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have tried all of the stylers in the Volumizing line, and this is the only one that I really enjoy using. I can see a real difference in my hair when I use this product vs. when I don't. I have very fine hair and wear it long. It can be very flat, but has actual body when I use this spray before drying it. I always make sure to use it all over at the roots and also 2-3 pumps on the ends. I use maybe 8-10 pumps in all. I usually prefer a volumizing foam, but at this price I have been convinced to switch!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT product!
By srmedd
on January 3, 2012
About the reviewer
By srmedd
Location:McClellanville, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My sister just happened to forget this product at my house when she was here on vacation and i picked it up and tried it and haven't put it down since!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! Want to try the shampoo next, think it is out of stock, though...HAPPY NEW YEAR!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ineffective
By AnnLD
on December 13, 2011
About the reviewer
By AnnLD
Location:Westchester, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used Avon's Advanced Techniques Styling Gel in the past with good results. Since it is no longer made, I decided to try this. I have fine hair that is very difficult to hold in place and lacks body. This sounded like the solution. It was not much better than using nothing at all."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volumizing Spray Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This one was a waste of money!
By Cautiouscathy
on November 26, 2011
About the reviewer
By Cautiouscathy
Location:Port Richey FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have very fine hair and it actually did what it said, it did make my hair appear thicker. However, it also made my hair dull and split my ends, dried it out and ruined it until it grew out again to look shiny and healthy like it had in the first place. The way it makes your hair thicker is to split every shaft in two so it sticks out in all directions. If you like that look, then go ahead and buy it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>