Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop shampoo & conditioner or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo

Formulated with Body Build Technology, this advanced shampoo helps to maximize volume and add body. Cleanses effectively, removing buildup and residue. 11.8 fl. oz. TO USE: Wet hair and lather. Rinse. Repeat if desired. Follow with Advance Techniques Volume Conditioner.
Average Customer Rating:
3.932 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
34 of 44(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Review 21 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cautiouscathy
Location:Port Richey FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Please do njot change your excellent shampoos
Date:November 26, 2011
"I have been using your volumizing shampoos and conditioners for many years and people hardly even notice any more how fine and stringy my hair is naturally. My thin straight hair is hardly a problem since began using your shampoos. I change between the color treatment, 2-in-1 and volumizing and like them all. My hair is always shiny and healthy looking no matter which I use. Before that I was trying every new shampoo that came on the market and my hair frequently had broken split ends and looked dull and lifeless from dying and curling irons, rollers, etc."
Review 22 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
reckabeck
Location:Pittsburgh
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Better than any Salon Shampoo
Date:November 25, 2011
"As a customer with thin hair, this gives me so much body and lift without adding additional hair products."
Review 23 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bingqueen
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gets me clean, Gets me volume
Date:November 25, 2011
"When I first looked at the product I asked my self is this really going to get me clean. Well. It did. It also added volume its a great product for anyone wanting clean and healthy voluminous hair."
Review 24 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coffeehound
Location:Kansas City
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
fine limp hair
Date:November 24, 2011
"At 57 years old, I've tried a LOT of different shampoos to get some volume in my unpermed, straight hair that is fine and limp. ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo is the first shampoo that has made a noticeable difference. I will continue to use this shampoo. Combined with the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES conditioner, I will continue to keep my hair straight and not break down to get a perm in order to get some body! Thank you Avon!"
Review 25 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nailhappy99
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Not Worth The Money
Date:October 10, 2011
"I absolutely love Avon, but this product just didn't really meet up to working like I thought it would. I saw no improvement in the volume or thickness of my hair."
Review 26 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
avonandme
Location:East Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Date:August 5, 2011
"I bought this and use it for volume, but not enjoying it as I did AT Professional Hair Care, Age Retreat Foaming Shampoo.
Please bring it back.
"
Review 27 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzyQ156
Location:IL.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
LOVE IT
Date:July 21, 2011
"I have tried many expensive shampoos and none work as well as this on my very fine hair, gives me lots of fullness."
Review 28 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mommykins
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Like water
Date:July 7, 2011
"I have no major complaints on the results of the shampoo, just the consistency. I've never in my life used a shamppo that runs out like water before! My mom purchased the exact same kind and says hers is not like that. I'm hoping I just got a bad bottle or something, but I rarely use it because it's such a pain to apply. It literally runs out of my hand quicker than I can get it in my hair. I always have to do it twice."
Review 29 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calimltymf3
Location:Fresno
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love It!
Date:June 6, 2011
"I have really thin fine hair that has no volume. This product has really help me grow out my hair. I really suggest try this if you have thin hair like me and try the volume spray afterwards."
Review 30 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ashsike
Location:Utah
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
OK for the price
Date:March 11, 2011
"You have to use A LOT to get a good lather, But it does what it says, cleanses hair well and keeps hair volumized. I ran out of the shampoo before conditioner..... I have long hair, so this probably would be better for short hair. Smells nice!"
Review 31 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kittymama
Location:Virginia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Yuck - not good at all
Date:February 4, 2011
"I bought this after LOVING the daily shine 2n1 product. My hair is a bit oily so volume shampoos usually work best for me since they don't weigh hair down. Not sure how one product could manage to leave my hair greasy and feeling like straw at the same time but this did. The conditioner was just as bad. I also noticed my hair falling out in handfuls when I used this but it stopped as soon as I switched back to the 2n1 or my other brands of volume shampoo. I think my hair was actually breaking off using this and I have thick hair that never breaks or splits."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
truthbetold1
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Please bring back the old formula!
Date:February 1, 2011
"This new formulation seems to be very drying with my hair. I loved the old formula and wanted to like the new one - but honestly, it's a very different product. My hair almost seems stripped after using it and very unmanageable. I have a bottle of the older formula, which I use sparingly, and the difference is very noticeable. Please bring back the old version!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScoobyD74
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Very good product!
Date:December 27, 2010
"This shampoo is much better than the old one. It gives much more volume and thickness to my hair and leaves less dryness. However I am disappointed that Avon discontinued the Age Retreat Shampoo and Conditioner since I have breakage problems with my hair. Why get rid of such a good product? Still this is a decent substitute."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LoveAvon999
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Feels like it strips the hair
Date:December 27, 2010
"This is very drying shampoo, and it doesn't help add volume either. I really wantd to like this though, as I love Avon products."
Review 35 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fatesdecide
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Volume Shampoo
Date:December 25, 2010
"I have to say I like all of the Advance Technique Shampoos and conditioners. This Volume Shampoo is Awesome My hair is light and has a lot of volume and smells wonderful. I was kinda surprised at how well it works since my hair is thick and long."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
avonandme
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Date:December 12, 2010
"I am so disappointed you discontinued the Age Retreat Hair care products. I had finally found products I really liked and was very effective for my problem of hair breaking and coming out. My hair was light, shiny and kept its style well. I prefer a shampoo which helps hair volume so I bought AT Volume Shampoo. I began to have the breakage problem again. I had to stop using it. Thank goodness, I did buy an extra supply of Age Retreat Products when I saw they would be discontinued. The AT shampoo is probably okay for others, but not what I am looking for. I do like to use the AT Spray Gel."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nalynn
Location:Corbin, Ky
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
at least it smells nice
Date:November 10, 2010
"I bought this along with the conditioner to try and add volume to my hair. after a while of useing this it made my hair feel more stringy, i got tangles often and my hair felt oily not long after it was dry. not to mention it did not add any volume at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitkat1234rabbitluver
Location:Washington
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
best ever
Date:October 8, 2010
"love this it works well and makes my hair soft
also got the conditioner
"
Review 39 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lcsm
They changed more than the packaging
Date:October 5, 2010
"I have used this shampoo for years because it always made my hair so thick and my style seemed to hold so well, but when they changed the packaging, they also changed the formulation. The new formula made my hair flat and lifeless and dull looking. I will not buy this shampoo again unless they go back to the old formula."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KimberlyS
Location:Tennessee
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
The formula has changed
Date:August 19, 2010
"They didn't just change the packaging...The consistency and fragrance is different too. My hair doesn't have as much volume as before. It's ok but was a lot better before the change. Now it's no better than cheap shampoo in my opinion."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Shampoo
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 4
21-40 of 40