Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop stylers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray

This medium-hold pump hair spray keeps your hair looking flawless, even in high humidity. Leaves hair feeling soft and touchable, not stiff or sticky. 6.7 fl. oz. TO USE: Hold spray 6 to 8 inches (15 to 20 cm) from hair. Spray evenly.
Average Customer Rating:
2.655 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
15
14 of 29(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CorollaNana
Location:Nashville, TN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great Hold All Day Long
Date:February 16, 2014
"This is a super hair spray with a long lasting hold. It does not build up on your hair nor does it make your hair feel sticky in rainy weather. My only problem is with the spray mechanism. It continually gets stopped up resulting in poor spraying ability. However, I found that rubbing alcohol cleans the spray hole very nicely."
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donrow
Location:St. Louis County, MO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love It
Date:February 3, 2014
"I have buying this hair spray for many years, was a rep at one time and continue to buy it. I like how it keeps my hair in shape, and doesn't have that sticky, stiff feel or look. I have fine hair with no body, so after blow drying my hair I lightly spray it before using the curling iron, then after my comb out I use it again and it lasts for hours. Very happy with it and have tried other brands but always come back to Avon."
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
angelscout
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
stay but not sticky
Date:October 25, 2013
"I love this hairspray because it hold my hair without leaving a sticky residue and making it seem stiff"
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CeeCee1
Location:Blaine, Wa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love this product! Poor ratings?
Date:May 31, 2013
"This product works great for my hair- which is fine but course. It holds my hair without extreme stickiness like others I've tried. I especially like how I don't get glue flakes from ingredients. I use it along with the mirror shine spray and they work beautifully together for me."
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lynnd13
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Reliable hair spray!
Date:April 16, 2013
"I have now been using this hair spray for a year and haven't even thought about trying another spray since I began using it. A very light spray on my hair after styling is all I need for an all day hold, yet I can comb thru it with no problem. I'm about to finish my third bottle of spray and have had no problems with clogging. The light scent is barely noticeable and doesn't compete with my perfume. I wouldn't want to pay the full price for it so am glad it's often on sale. This is a basic spray that does what a medium hold spray is supposed to do."
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKG10
Location:St. Louis, MO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Advance Techniques hair spray
Date:January 31, 2013
"I've tried a lot of different hair sprays and Avon Advance Techniques Medium Hold is the best yet. Doesn't make my hair stiff but holds just the same. Great value and works great, what else do you need?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CarrieR
Location:chicago
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
This is a great light hold hair spray
Date:July 17, 2012
"I bought this without reading the poor ratings. I actually like it for what it is, a light hold and natural hairspray. I wanted something to spray lightly on my long hair to keep it untangled and from having fly aways. I hate the feeling of crunchy and heavy hair. I am a naturalist."
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AvonRepAvonUser
Location:Vero, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Not bad!
Date:July 13, 2012
"It's put to the test since I live in Florida. It's not to hard on the hair unless you spray a lot on it. It keeps a nice hold for many hours of the day. I'm happy with the product and my mom really likes it too."
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Manga
Location:South Dakota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Great stuff
Date:March 20, 2012
"I have used this product for many years. Love it and the price. I always wait for the sale and stock up. Very comparable to professional products!"
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AJ09
Location:Chattanooga, TN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Date:January 24, 2012
"Perfect for touchable, flexible hold. My hair stays in place without looking stiff"
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgieGirl
Location:Woburn,MA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
I love this product!
Date:December 26, 2011
"If you looking for a hair spray that holds and still does
not feel like wallpaper paste, this is it.
With other hair sprays I bought from various stores, it would leave my hair feeling like goo, especially the next morning.
NOT THIS ONE!!
"
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meudt
Terrible Product
Date:July 22, 2011
"Hair spray sprays out of bottle in a stream even when used every day the nozzle clogs. After two weeks I threw it away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nettie24
Location:Chicago
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Please Bring Back The Old One!!
Date:May 19, 2011
"It has been a while since I purchased this Advanced Technique medium hold hairspray. I thought is was just awful! It clogged just like everyone else said and left my hair very sticky. I wish Avon will bring back the old one! I had finally, I mean finally found a hairspray that held my hair. I wasn't even able to use it for very long and they went and discontinued it on me! I haven't been able to find a hairspray that I like. PLEASE BRING THE OLD ONE BACK!!!!!!"
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KathyC
Location:Memphis, TN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Bring BACK. Flexible Hold spray
Date:May 19, 2011
"This product AT Medium Hold Hair Spray is a deal breaker. I used Flexible Hold Spray for years and recommended to other friends. Its a joke when you say medium hold - how about no hold. It leaves RESIDUE and BUILD UP on my hair. Who approved this product to replace the FLEXIBLE HOLD SPRAY that worked Great! I have to gone back to a Salon hair spray. People who have sensitive skin will not be able to use this product. AVON PLEASE BRING Flexible Hold spray back to the market."
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
teatime
Location:Delwasre
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Avon needs to bring back the prior hair spray
Date:March 9, 2011
"I had been using Avon hair spray for years and loved it. I bought the Advanced Technigues spray and as other customers stated I noticed the hole would get clogged and white particles in my hair. I am going to have to buy spray at the store now....unnless Avon changes this product."
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ottermom
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
PLEASE bring back the old hair spray!!!
Date:March 7, 2011
"I agree with the others. I LOVED the old hair spray and would buy it 6 at a time! I always received compliments on my hair and everyone asked what I used. I am so disappointed with the new product. I have started the dreaded search for a new replacement. :("
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cabin
Location:Colorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love this Hair Spray
Date:February 25, 2011
"I love this Hair Spray!! I have not had any problems with clogging the sprayer or my hair! It has just the right amount of hold & I love the smell!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ScatterKindness
Location:Calif
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Clogs sprayer-Leaves Residue & Build up on Hair
Date:February 15, 2011
"AVON PLEASE Bring BACK: Flexible Hold spray
____
This product ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray CLOGS the sprayer - must soak in hot water to clear. Leave RESIDUE and BUILD UP on the hair. Who approved this product to replace the FLEXIBLE HOLD SPRAY that worked Great! It is better than 3rd party products that I stopped using when I found AVONS FLEXIBLE HOLD SPRAY. Now I have to buy non-AVON hair spray to get a product that does not leave build up on my hair or clog the spray. AVON PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE Bring BACK: Flexible Hold spray. Feel free to update the bottle to make it more attractive, but leave the contents as they are. Thank You!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HopeInHim
Location:Wake Forest, NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
In a word - AWFUL!
Date:February 1, 2011
"I thought I had finally found a nice hairspray after searching like crazy in the stores. Seems all they are carrying these days is extra hold hairsprays...and they smell horid! I purchased the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray during a buy one get one offer. I now have two bottles in my trash! For the positive, I really like the smell, and the hold wasn't bad either. It left my hair movable yet held my style. The awful part is the buildup it left on my hair. I first noticed that the sprayer would become caked with white. I had to constantly run it under hot water. Then I noticed it wasn't just the sprayer...my hair had white caked buildup in it too! I read on these reviews that there was a flexible hold hairspray in the past. Maybe that was a good product, but do not waste your time or money on this one!"
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kt10
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Bring Back the Flexible Hold!
Date:January 29, 2011
"Why Avon would elect to discontinue the highly-rated Flexible Hold spray and replace it with this inferior product is beyond my comprehension. I have to wash my hair more often due to the sticky hold and build-up, and the pump clogs frequently. I'm done with Avon hair products until they come to their senses and bring the former highly-regarded styling products back."