Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray

Overall rating:
2.417 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
21
15 of 35(43%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Review 1 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AWFUL....JUST AWFUL
By Grace6
on October 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By Grace6
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I bought this product & I could not get it to spray correctly. Shoots out in a stream & dries in clumps in your hair. Or it oozes out of the sprayer & does not spray at all. I had to toss it. What a waste of money!"
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hold All Day Long
By CorollaNana
on February 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By CorollaNana
Location:Nashville, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This is a super hair spray with a long lasting hold. It does not build up on your hair nor does it make your hair feel sticky in rainy weather. My only problem is with the spray mechanism. It continually gets stopped up resulting in poor spraying ability. However, I found that rubbing alcohol cleans the spray hole very nicely."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It
By donrow
on February 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By donrow
Location:St. Louis County, MO
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have buying this hair spray for many years, was a rep at one time and continue to buy it. I like how it keeps my hair in shape, and doesn't have that sticky, stiff feel or look. I have fine hair with no body, so after blow drying my hair I lightly spray it before using the curling iron, then after my comb out I use it again and it lasts for hours. Very happy with it and have tried other brands but always come back to Avon."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stay but not sticky
By angelscout
on October 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By angelscout
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this hairspray because it hold my hair without leaving a sticky residue and making it seem stiff"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product! Poor ratings?
By CeeCee1
on May 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By CeeCee1
Location:Blaine, Wa
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This product works great for my hair- which is fine but course. It holds my hair without extreme stickiness like others I've tried. I especially like how I don't get glue flakes from ingredients. I use it along with the mirror shine spray and they work beautifully together for me."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable hair spray!
By lynnd13
on April 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By lynnd13
Location:Georgia
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have now been using this hair spray for a year and haven't even thought about trying another spray since I began using it. A very light spray on my hair after styling is all I need for an all day hold, yet I can comb thru it with no problem. I'm about to finish my third bottle of spray and have had no problems with clogging. The light scent is barely noticeable and doesn't compete with my perfume. I wouldn't want to pay the full price for it so am glad it's often on sale. This is a basic spray that does what a medium hold spray is supposed to do."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Advance Techniques hair spray
By MKG10
on January 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By MKG10
Location:St. Louis, MO
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've tried a lot of different hair sprays and Avon Advance Techniques Medium Hold is the best yet. Doesn't make my hair stiff but holds just the same. Great value and works great, what else do you need?"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great light hold hair spray
By CarrieR
on July 17, 2012
About the reviewer
By CarrieR
Location:chicago
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I bought this without reading the poor ratings. I actually like it for what it is, a light hold and natural hairspray. I wanted something to spray lightly on my long hair to keep it untangled and from having fly aways. I hate the feeling of crunchy and heavy hair. I am a naturalist."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad!
By AvonRepAvonUser
on July 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By AvonRepAvonUser
Location:Vero, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It's put to the test since I live in Florida. It's not to hard on the hair unless you spray a lot on it. It keeps a nice hold for many hours of the day. I'm happy with the product and my mom really likes it too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff
By Manga
on March 20, 2012
About the reviewer
By Manga
Location:South Dakota
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have used this product for many years. Love it and the price. I always wait for the sale and stock up. Very comparable to professional products!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
By AJ09
on January 24, 2012
About the reviewer
By AJ09
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Perfect for touchable, flexible hold. My hair stays in place without looking stiff"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product!
By GeorgieGirl
on December 26, 2011
About the reviewer
By GeorgieGirl
Location:Woburn,MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"If you looking for a hair spray that holds and still does
not feel like wallpaper paste, this is it.
With other hair sprays I bought from various stores, it would leave my hair feeling like goo, especially the next morning.
NOT THIS ONE!!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible Product
By Meudt
on July 22, 2011
About the reviewer
By Meudt
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Hair spray sprays out of bottle in a stream even when used every day the nozzle clogs. After two weeks I threw it away."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Bring Back The Old One!!
By Nettie24
on May 19, 2011
About the reviewer
By Nettie24
Location:Chicago
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It has been a while since I purchased this Advanced Technique medium hold hairspray. I thought is was just awful! It clogged just like everyone else said and left my hair very sticky. I wish Avon will bring back the old one! I had finally, I mean finally found a hairspray that held my hair. I wasn't even able to use it for very long and they went and discontinued it on me! I haven't been able to find a hairspray that I like. PLEASE BRING THE OLD ONE BACK!!!!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bring BACK. Flexible Hold spray
By KathyC
on May 19, 2011
About the reviewer
By KathyC
Location:Memphis, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product AT Medium Hold Hair Spray is a deal breaker. I used Flexible Hold Spray for years and recommended to other friends. Its a joke when you say medium hold - how about no hold. It leaves RESIDUE and BUILD UP on my hair. Who approved this product to replace the FLEXIBLE HOLD SPRAY that worked Great! I have to gone back to a Salon hair spray. People who have sensitive skin will not be able to use this product. AVON PLEASE BRING Flexible Hold spray back to the market."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Avon needs to bring back the prior hair spray
By teatime
on March 9, 2011
About the reviewer
By teatime
Location:Delwasre
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I had been using Avon hair spray for years and loved it. I bought the Advanced Technigues spray and as other customers stated I noticed the hole would get clogged and white particles in my hair. I am going to have to buy spray at the store now....unnless Avon changes this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PLEASE bring back the old hair spray!!!
By ottermom
on March 7, 2011
About the reviewer
By ottermom
Location:Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I agree with the others. I LOVED the old hair spray and would buy it 6 at a time! I always received compliments on my hair and everyone asked what I used. I am so disappointed with the new product. I have started the dreaded search for a new replacement. :("
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this Hair Spray
By Cabin
on February 25, 2011
About the reviewer
By Cabin
Location:Colorado
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this Hair Spray!! I have not had any problems with clogging the sprayer or my hair! It has just the right amount of hold & I love the smell!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Clogs sprayer-Leaves Residue & Build up on Hair
By ScatterKindness
on February 15, 2011
About the reviewer
By ScatterKindness
Location:Calif
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"AVON PLEASE Bring BACK: Flexible Hold spray
____
This product ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray CLOGS the sprayer - must soak in hot water to clear. Leave RESIDUE and BUILD UP on the hair. Who approved this product to replace the FLEXIBLE HOLD SPRAY that worked Great! It is better than 3rd party products that I stopped using when I found AVONS FLEXIBLE HOLD SPRAY. Now I have to buy non-AVON hair spray to get a product that does not leave build up on my hair or clog the spray. AVON PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE Bring BACK: Flexible Hold spray. Feel free to update the bottle to make it more attractive, but leave the contents as they are. Thank You!
"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Advance Techniques Medium Hold Hair Spray
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In a word - AWFUL!
By HopeInHim
on February 1, 2011
About the reviewer
By HopeInHim
Location:Wake Forest, NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I thought I had finally found a nice hairspray after searching like crazy in the stores. Seems all they are carrying these days is extra hold hairsprays...and they smell horid! I purchased the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Medium Hold Hair Spray during a buy one get one offer. I now have two bottles in my trash! For the positive, I really like the smell, and the hold wasn't bad either. It left my hair movable yet held my style. The awful part is the buildup it left on my hair. I first noticed that the sprayer would become caked with white. I had to constantly run it under hot water. Then I noticed it wasn't just the sprayer...my hair had white caked buildup in it too! I read on these reviews that there was a flexible hold hairspray in the past. Maybe that was a good product, but do not waste your time or money on this one!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>