Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop stylers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic

Specially formulated with unique styling and holding properties to build fuller body and added thickness. Adds brilliant lift and texture where you need it most. 5 fl. oz. TO USE: Apply to damp hair. Spray directly onto roots or wherever volume is needed. Blow dry or style as desired.
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cleanfreak
Location:Northeast
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
great stuff!
Date:February 16, 2014
"I used this today for the first time. I have a "bob" cut and my hair is blonde and kind of fine. If I don't put anything in it, it would be flat! I used large velcro rollers (which I always do) and kept them in about 2 hours. After I took them out, it looked like I had a bouffant (older people will know what I mean) I had to comb it down....talk about body! I think I over did it but I like it! Next time I'll use a little less and keep the rollers in less too...great stuff!"
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Julianne5990
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
It gets the job done!
Date:January 17, 2014
"Going to do an easy breakdown of this product:
Good things are the fact that it does what is it supposed to do! My hair def. feels thicker throughout the day and it is easy to style (as in it's not sticky and doesn't feel like hairspray).
However, I have long hair so when I use this my hair tends to bunch up a little in the back. It also makes my hair feel a little dry. First couple days I used it my hair had some static..but after that it was fine. I usually use it along with a thickening mousse.
Overall, it's worth a try! I have yet to find another product that works better than this one. So I will likely purchase again!
"
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
socalbanana
Location:Orange County, California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Hair feels so much thicker
Date:October 27, 2013
"This is a great product. Just spray on clean damp hair, work it into your hair. Then blow dry as usual. Towel dry hair first. My hair feels thicker and has more body, without making it feel oily."
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stepharella
Location:Hebron, Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Awesome product!
Date:September 17, 2013
"I have looked everywhere for a product that gives you volume and I found it! I just wish I could of found it sooner. It really gives you volume where you need it-in the roots! The added thickness is a plus. Thank you Avon!"
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KangiRoo
Location:FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
I'm still thinking this one over
Date:September 2, 2013
"I've used this only twice so far. Normally I don't blow dry my hair because its curly and thin (and a nightmare!). So I haven't really noticed a boost even when I used a diffuser to dry it. Next time I blow dry it straight I will try it and see if I get better results."
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
phahn
Location:Stewart, Mn.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
the booster
Date:August 3, 2013
"this is the best product ever, never let it go."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreenPeridot
Location:Boston, MA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Wonderful Product!
Date:July 24, 2013
"I actually bought the Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic from my avon rep because I have my mother's fine hair and need a lot of height at the crown. My hair is layered throughout my head and I am used to having curls as well as big hair!
I can't stand seeing myself with flat hair. I need a great deal of volume and this product seems to do the trick. It is light, has no scent and is easy to apply. I just spray it on my hair. I add the Root-Boosting Tonic to my other hair care products. Sometimes I blow my hair dry and other times, it just air dries. Once my hair dries, then I use a pick so that I can get the height, but I don't lose the curl.
It's a terrific product at a great price. I hope Avon will always have this product in their hair care lineup."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shiela
Really Works!
Date:June 21, 2013
"This is the best hair thickener I've found for my fine, flat, thin hair.. I LOVE it!"
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucy1964
Location:Pacific NW
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
An awesome product for fine hair~
Date:May 13, 2013
"I have fine and totally straight hair. It's always been frustrating getting any volume at all when I style my hair. Over the years I've tried SO many brands of stylers that are supposed to add volume.... including some expensive brands! I have always loved Avon and seeing this when it first came out, I decided to give it a try. SO glad I did! I use it daily and would be lost without it. It adds volume without being sticky at all. it also has a wonderful scent. I always have an extra back-up of root-boosting tonic on standby. I hope Avon never gets rid of this product. :("
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
phahn
Location:Stewart, Mn.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Best Purchase Ever
Date:February 27, 2013
"For thin fine hair this is the best ever to give hair volume."
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
downton
Root Booster
Date:February 23, 2013
"I like this product. It gives my hair a boost and a shine. I like being able to just spray it on instead of messing with gels. It has a very pleasant scent."
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeniC
Location:Lexington, KY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Body..Yesss
Date:February 20, 2013
"I have thin, straight, blond hair. Typical blond hair. I am constantly seeking body and something that helps my hair hold style. My hair dresser uses root lifter on my hair. But her products smell. So I tried this from AVON. It does the trick. I was applying too much at first. But it works giving your style a boost and helping to maintain style. I use it on wet or dry hair. Apply it sparsely at the root and brush it through your hair. Then dry and style as normal."
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dsuew
Location:Indiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
It works!
Date:February 15, 2013
"It does give my hair more texture and shine but is a little pricey. I just started using it , so it will depend on how long it lasts,if I will buy it again!"
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zuza
Location:Massachusetts
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good!
Date:January 24, 2013
"My hair is really fine and thin. This tonic gives my hair just enough body without making it all frizzy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suzyt
Location:TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
THE BEST for fine hair
Date:January 4, 2013
"Root-boosting tonic is absolutely the best product I have ever used for my fine, thin hair. Creates volume without stiffness or stickiness. Much better than any gel. Even allows my medium-short hair to cover a life-long "cow lick"."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kupazu
Location:Danbury, CT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Super healthy and bouncy!
Date:December 20, 2012
"I love this product! I have super fine short hair. I spray this on after I have dried my hair and massage it in. My hair looks shiny and bouncy and adds something extra to the smoothness. When I use this, friends have asked me what have I done! And when my husband hugs me, he always says, mmmm, you smell so good! It's a win, win product all around."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
greekgodess81
Location:New Jersey
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
not even close
Date:December 16, 2012
"I was hoping that this product would add a little lift to the roots during a blow out to achieve some volume. Not only did it not do that but I found that it made the hair feel greasy - dirty even. I'm not sure why a product that is intended to "lift" would have castor oil in it. Furthermore, if you have allergies please read the ingredients carefully, it contains multiple wheat derived ingredients. Will not purchase again - will not recommend to friends/clients."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gettinjiggy1962
Location:Springville, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Don't bother
Date:July 7, 2012
"When compared to using nothing, it made very little difference. I suggest sticking to old fashioned gels and volumizing mousses."
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
memawsherry
Location:TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
memaw2
Date:July 1, 2012
"This is the only product I have every used that actually gives my baby fine hair body. It doesn't seem to leave a coating of residue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glowy
Location:Minneapolis, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Fine hair help!
Date:June 12, 2012
"I have fine hair...not FINE hair, hair that is not rich and fluffy. This product has helped my hair look rich and fluffy...especially after washing it. Thanks."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.