Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Hair Care or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic

Overall rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
38 of 41(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Review 1 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great stuff!
By cleanfreak
on February 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By cleanfreak
Location:Northeast
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I used this today for the first time. I have a "bob" cut and my hair is blonde and kind of fine. If I don't put anything in it, it would be flat! I used large velcro rollers (which I always do) and kept them in about 2 hours. After I took them out, it looked like I had a bouffant (older people will know what I mean) I had to comb it down....talk about body! I think I over did it but I like it! Next time I'll use a little less and keep the rollers in less too...great stuff!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It gets the job done!
By Julianne5990
on January 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By Julianne5990
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Going to do an easy breakdown of this product:
Good things are the fact that it does what is it supposed to do! My hair def. feels thicker throughout the day and it is easy to style (as in it's not sticky and doesn't feel like hairspray).
However, I have long hair so when I use this my hair tends to bunch up a little in the back. It also makes my hair feel a little dry. First couple days I used it my hair had some static..but after that it was fine. I usually use it along with a thickening mousse.
Overall, it's worth a try! I have yet to find another product that works better than this one. So I will likely purchase again!
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hair feels so much thicker
By socalbanana
on October 27, 2013
About the reviewer
By socalbanana
Location:Orange County, California
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This is a great product. Just spray on clean damp hair, work it into your hair. Then blow dry as usual. Towel dry hair first. My hair feels thicker and has more body, without making it feel oily."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome product!
By Stepharella
on September 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By Stepharella
Location:Hebron, Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have looked everywhere for a product that gives you volume and I found it! I just wish I could of found it sooner. It really gives you volume where you need it-in the roots! The added thickness is a plus. Thank you Avon!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm still thinking this one over
By KangiRoo
on September 2, 2013
About the reviewer
By KangiRoo
Location:FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've used this only twice so far. Normally I don't blow dry my hair because its curly and thin (and a nightmare!). So I haven't really noticed a boost even when I used a diffuser to dry it. Next time I blow dry it straight I will try it and see if I get better results."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the booster
By phahn
on August 3, 2013
About the reviewer
By phahn
Location:Stewart, Mn.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"this is the best product ever, never let it go."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Product!
By GreenPeridot
on July 24, 2013
About the reviewer
By GreenPeridot
Location:Boston, MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I actually bought the Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic from my avon rep because I have my mother's fine hair and need a lot of height at the crown. My hair is layered throughout my head and I am used to having curls as well as big hair!
I can't stand seeing myself with flat hair. I need a great deal of volume and this product seems to do the trick. It is light, has no scent and is easy to apply. I just spray it on my hair. I add the Root-Boosting Tonic to my other hair care products. Sometimes I blow my hair dry and other times, it just air dries. Once my hair dries, then I use a pick so that I can get the height, but I don't lose the curl.
It's a terrific product at a great price. I hope Avon will always have this product in their hair care lineup."
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Works!
By Shiela
on June 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By Shiela
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the best hair thickener I've found for my fine, flat, thin hair.. I LOVE it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An awesome product for fine hair~
By Lucy1964
on May 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By Lucy1964
Location:Pacific NW
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have fine and totally straight hair. It's always been frustrating getting any volume at all when I style my hair. Over the years I've tried SO many brands of stylers that are supposed to add volume.... including some expensive brands! I have always loved Avon and seeing this when it first came out, I decided to give it a try. SO glad I did! I use it daily and would be lost without it. It adds volume without being sticky at all. it also has a wonderful scent. I always have an extra back-up of root-boosting tonic on standby. I hope Avon never gets rid of this product. :("
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever
By phahn
on February 27, 2013
About the reviewer
By phahn
Location:Stewart, Mn.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"For thin fine hair this is the best ever to give hair volume."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Root Booster
By downton
on February 23, 2013
About the reviewer
By downton
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like this product. It gives my hair a boost and a shine. I like being able to just spray it on instead of messing with gels. It has a very pleasant scent."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Body..Yesss
By JeniC
on February 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By JeniC
Location:Lexington, KY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have thin, straight, blond hair. Typical blond hair. I am constantly seeking body and something that helps my hair hold style. My hair dresser uses root lifter on my hair. But her products smell. So I tried this from AVON. It does the trick. I was applying too much at first. But it works giving your style a boost and helping to maintain style. I use it on wet or dry hair. Apply it sparsely at the root and brush it through your hair. Then dry and style as normal."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works!
By dsuew
on February 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By dsuew
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It does give my hair more texture and shine but is a little pricey. I just started using it , so it will depend on how long it lasts,if I will buy it again!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good!
By zuza
on January 24, 2013
About the reviewer
By zuza
Location:Massachusetts
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"My hair is really fine and thin. This tonic gives my hair just enough body without making it all frizzy."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BEST for fine hair
By suzyt
on January 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By suzyt
Location:TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Root-boosting tonic is absolutely the best product I have ever used for my fine, thin hair. Creates volume without stiffness or stickiness. Much better than any gel. Even allows my medium-short hair to cover a life-long "cow lick"."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super healthy and bouncy!
By Kupazu
on December 20, 2012
About the reviewer
By Kupazu
Location:Danbury, CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this product! I have super fine short hair. I spray this on after I have dried my hair and massage it in. My hair looks shiny and bouncy and adds something extra to the smoothness. When I use this, friends have asked me what have I done! And when my husband hugs me, he always says, mmmm, you smell so good! It's a win, win product all around."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not even close
By greekgodess81
on December 16, 2012
About the reviewer
By greekgodess81
Location:New Jersey
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I was hoping that this product would add a little lift to the roots during a blow out to achieve some volume. Not only did it not do that but I found that it made the hair feel greasy - dirty even. I'm not sure why a product that is intended to "lift" would have castor oil in it. Furthermore, if you have allergies please read the ingredients carefully, it contains multiple wheat derived ingredients. Will not purchase again - will not recommend to friends/clients."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't bother
By gettinjiggy1962
on July 7, 2012
About the reviewer
By gettinjiggy1962
Location:Springville, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"When compared to using nothing, it made very little difference. I suggest sticking to old fashioned gels and volumizing mousses."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
memaw2
By memawsherry
on July 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By memawsherry
Location:TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This is the only product I have every used that actually gives my baby fine hair body. It doesn't seem to leave a coating of residue."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Advance Techniques Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine hair help!
By glowy
on June 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By glowy
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have fine hair...not FINE hair, hair that is not rich and fluffy. This product has helped my hair look rich and fluffy...especially after washing it. Thanks."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>