Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic

Overall rating:
4.586 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
54 of 58(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Review 21 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
By Pyewacket
on May 11, 2012
About the reviewer
By Pyewacket
Location:Mississippi
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I have very fine hair and because of medication, am noticing thinning--this product gives me tons of volume-I am so pleased I told my sister about it and she is ordering it. I will be using this as long as Avon keeps it on the market."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 22 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ego Boosting Tonic--when your hair is RIGHT!
By sreves
on April 29, 2012
About the reviewer
By sreves
Location:Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is a fabulous addition to my hair products. I have extremely fine hair that hugs my head. I spray this on, and my hair is easy to manage and style. It gives body that lasts until I shampoo it out. I would highly recommend this for anyone who has baby fine hair."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 23 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best ever
By bpetras
on April 5, 2012
About the reviewer
By bpetras
Location:waldorf, md
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"i have bought alot of expensive salon volumizers but nothing beats this product and price. after you wash dry with towel spray rub in let dry patially and blow dry stays all day - great stuff"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 24 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
By Avon510
on January 31, 2012
About the reviewer
By Avon510
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This hair product does what it is supposed to do. I am so pleased that it gives my thin hair a bit of volume. This has actually boosted my confidence. I will definitely purchase again."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 25 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used this for YEARS
By DiSwi
on January 29, 2012
About the reviewer
By DiSwi
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Great product..I hair never looks better-"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 26 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, root boosting without stickiness!
By Lucy1964
on January 14, 2012
About the reviewer
By Lucy1964
Location:Pacific NW
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have unbelievably fine hair that will NOT hold a style or maintain any kind of volume. I have tried various root products but always made my hair stiff and sticky looking. Yuck. I am so happy to finally have found a product that leaves my hair soft and full looking......... And it lasts all day!
Considering I live in a very wet climate, that's saying a lot. It also is reasonably priced and smells heavenly. I hope Avon keeps this product around for a long time to come.
"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 27 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend Highly
By tbell
on December 24, 2011
About the reviewer
By tbell
Location:Charleston, WV
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Purchased hoping to find something that worked well. It exceeded my expectations."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 28 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ineffective
By AnnLD
on December 13, 2011
About the reviewer
By AnnLD
Location:Westchester, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used Avon's Advanced Techniques Styling Gel in the past with good results. Since it is no longer made, I decided to try this. I have fine hair that is very difficult to hold in place and lacks body. This sounded like the solution. It was not much better than using nothing at all."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 29 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Product!
By yangsha
on October 28, 2011
About the reviewer
By yangsha
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This product really does what it was designed for! I was skeptical of buying this product, but after reading all the positive reviews I decided to buy it. When it first arrived, I couldn't wait to test it out. I sprayed all over and under and between my roots and blow dryed it and the result was superb! My hair was volumnized like I teased it without the crusty, bird nest harsh feel, but soft as ever with the Advance Shine Smooth serum that I also got from Avon! Unfortunately, I recently misplaced it and is going to be repurchasing it very soon now. I can't live w/out it! I highly recommend this to whoever that need their hair a major boost."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 30 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing lift
By hpro
on October 21, 2011
About the reviewer
By hpro
Location:Lafayette, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I am always skeptical about putting stuff in my hair that stays in other than hairspray because I have such oily hair and products make my hair instantly oily and sometimes the stuff stinks so your hair stinks. I can't do without this stuff! I am sooo glad I tried it! I do not have thin hair, it's fairly thick, so it just gives my hair that extra body and lift at the roots that I love! I spray it on at the roots in different sections, blow dry, the flat iron going straight up with the iron and it gives my hair beautiful body! It's doesn't smell, doesn't leave my hair sticky or oily, you'd never know I had product in. It's wonderful! I love it!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 31 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!!
By Megsmail
on September 12, 2011
About the reviewer
By Megsmail
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this product. I used just a few sprays on my roots. It is very light, great scent. It gives just a hint of volume to the roots of your hair, and to the body. If you have long hair, you will need more. But buy it, its necessary in any hair wardrobe."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 32 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this
By af123
on August 29, 2011
About the reviewer
By af123
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have the flattest limpest hair and this stuff works really well.even the next day I have much more volume in my hair"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 33 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better if you have short hair
By Ashsike
on March 11, 2011
About the reviewer
By Ashsike
Location:Utah
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used this and it works well for volume at the root. BUT I have very long hair which makes for heavy hair so I have to use A LOT to make the hair stay put. I think it is a quality product but probably works better if you have shorter hair."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 34 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product
By Belle5
on March 9, 2011
About the reviewer
By Belle5
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I have fine, thin hair. I have also tried many products that only seemed to weigh down my hair.
Avon Techniques Root-Boosting Volume is the answer to my endless search! My hair looks like it has volume and is easy to manage.
Using this spray I have eliminated all gels/mousses, etc. I blow dry my hair with a round brush. I curl my hair w/ the round brush and before I blow dry that section, I spray the Advance Techniques at the roots (only at roots, not complete head of hair). I aim the blow dryer at that spot (low setting). The trick is not to brush out hair for a few minutes to let it to cool. After brushing out I use Mark's Mega Volume hair spray (does not weigh down hair/not sticky). Thank you Avon!!!
"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 35 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow! Awesome product!
By apsalmist
on March 8, 2011
About the reviewer
By apsalmist
Location:Willmar, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product does what it says!
I have fine hair. Anyone with fine hair knows that conditioner flattens fine hair in a short time. So I used conditioner only every couple washes. With this root-boosting tonic I can use my conditioner & have beautiful 'weightless' hair with plenty of volume. I get volume better than any 'expensive salon' product!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 36 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excelent Product............!!!
By creativedesigns
on March 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By creativedesigns
Location:Irmo, S.C.
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was skepitcal purchasing this product due to I have used so many other hair boosting products and never got good results. I highly recommend this ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
for anyone who has fine thin limp hair like I have. I live where we always get very high humidity especially in the spring, summer and fall months. My hair looks full and it also helps hold the style of my hair. I am very pleased with this product and will keep using it. Avon, please do not discontinue this product. I finally found my hair boosting product for a change after spending lots of $ on salon high pirced products. I love this product and will never use any other hair boosting product ever again or then Avon of coarse. Thank you. AAA++++++++
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 37 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Volumize Happy
By Luv2ShopAvon
on February 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By Luv2ShopAvon
Location:Evansville, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I tried this product last week for the first time and I was a little reluctant because I have tried so many root-boosting products in the past (including high dollar salon products) and many make my hair feel stiff or coated..or weighed down. I recently tried the Mark Volume Root Booster and to my surprise I actually replaced my P.Mitchell w/ the Mark root booster and well..I decided to go ahead and try this one too and "WOW"...I love it! I use this product on my towel dried hair b4 blowdrying and curling. This product gives my hair bounce and body like nothing I've tried before. I am recommending to to anyone and everyone who wants volume! It doesn't feel ike any product is even in my hair! Love-Love-Love it!!"
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 38 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!
By ScoobyD74
on December 27, 2010
About the reviewer
By ScoobyD74
Location:Chicago, IL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is one of the new products that Avon has developed that I really like! It volumizes your hair, gives it great texture and leave it soft and manageable. I was hoping they would come up with a volumizing spray, and they did. Now if they would bring back the orginial formulas and the Age Retreat line! (I'm going to campaign for the Age Retreat line on every hair care review I write. That was the best line they ever had and they got rid of it!)"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Ratings-only reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
19 out of 20 recommend this product
<<prev 1 2