Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop stylers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic

Specially formulated with unique styling and holding properties to build fuller body and added thickness. Adds brilliant lift and texture where you need it most. 5 fl. oz. TO USE: Apply to damp hair. Spray directly onto roots or wherever volume is needed. Blow dry or style as desired.
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Review 21 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pyewacket
Location:Mississippi
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Excellent
Date:May 11, 2012
"I have very fine hair and because of medication, am noticing thinning--this product gives me tons of volume-I am so pleased I told my sister about it and she is ordering it. I will be using this as long as Avon keeps it on the market."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sreves
Location:Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Ego Boosting Tonic--when your hair is RIGHT!
Date:April 29, 2012
"This is a fabulous addition to my hair products. I have extremely fine hair that hugs my head. I spray this on, and my hair is easy to manage and style. It gives body that lasts until I shampoo it out. I would highly recommend this for anyone who has baby fine hair."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bpetras
Location:waldorf, md
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
best ever
Date:April 5, 2012
"i have bought alot of expensive salon volumizers but nothing beats this product and price. after you wash dry with towel spray rub in let dry patially and blow dry stays all day - great stuff"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avon510
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Very pleased
Date:January 31, 2012
"This hair product does what it is supposed to do. I am so pleased that it gives my thin hair a bit of volume. This has actually boosted my confidence. I will definitely purchase again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiSwi
Used this for YEARS
Date:January 29, 2012
"Great product..I hair never looks better-"
Review 26 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucy1964
Location:Pacific NW
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Finally, root boosting without stickiness!
Date:January 14, 2012
"I have unbelievably fine hair that will NOT hold a style or maintain any kind of volume. I have tried various root products but always made my hair stiff and sticky looking. Yuck. I am so happy to finally have found a product that leaves my hair soft and full looking......... And it lasts all day!
Considering I live in a very wet climate, that's saying a lot. It also is reasonably priced and smells heavenly. I hope Avon keeps this product around for a long time to come.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tbell
Location:Charleston, WV
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Recommend Highly
Date:December 24, 2011
"Purchased hoping to find something that worked well. It exceeded my expectations."
Review 28 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AnnLD
Location:Westchester, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Ineffective
Date:December 13, 2011
"I used Avon's Advanced Techniques Styling Gel in the past with good results. Since it is no longer made, I decided to try this. I have fine hair that is very difficult to hold in place and lacks body. This sounded like the solution. It was not much better than using nothing at all."
Review 29 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yangsha
Location:Twin Cities, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Superb Product!
Date:October 28, 2011
"This product really does what it was designed for! I was skeptical of buying this product, but after reading all the positive reviews I decided to buy it. When it first arrived, I couldn't wait to test it out. I sprayed all over and under and between my roots and blow dryed it and the result was superb! My hair was volumnized like I teased it without the crusty, bird nest harsh feel, but soft as ever with the Advance Shine Smooth serum that I also got from Avon! Unfortunately, I recently misplaced it and is going to be repurchasing it very soon now. I can't live w/out it! I highly recommend this to whoever that need their hair a major boost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hpro
Location:Lafayette, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Amazing lift
Date:October 21, 2011
"I am always skeptical about putting stuff in my hair that stays in other than hairspray because I have such oily hair and products make my hair instantly oily and sometimes the stuff stinks so your hair stinks. I can't do without this stuff! I am sooo glad I tried it! I do not have thin hair, it's fairly thick, so it just gives my hair that extra body and lift at the roots that I love! I spray it on at the roots in different sections, blow dry, the flat iron going straight up with the iron and it gives my hair beautiful body! It's doesn't smell, doesn't leave my hair sticky or oily, you'd never know I had product in. It's wonderful! I love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Megsmail
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great product!!
Date:September 12, 2011
"I love this product. I used just a few sprays on my roots. It is very light, great scent. It gives just a hint of volume to the roots of your hair, and to the body. If you have long hair, you will need more. But buy it, its necessary in any hair wardrobe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
af123
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
love this
Date:August 29, 2011
"I have the flattest limpest hair and this stuff works really well.even the next day I have much more volume in my hair"
Review 33 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ashsike
Location:Utah
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Better if you have short hair
Date:March 11, 2011
"I used this and it works well for volume at the root. BUT I have very long hair which makes for heavy hair so I have to use A LOT to make the hair stay put. I think it is a quality product but probably works better if you have shorter hair."
Review 34 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Belle5
Location:Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Fantastic product
Date:March 9, 2011
"I have fine, thin hair. I have also tried many products that only seemed to weigh down my hair.
Avon Techniques Root-Boosting Volume is the answer to my endless search! My hair looks like it has volume and is easy to manage.
Using this spray I have eliminated all gels/mousses, etc. I blow dry my hair with a round brush. I curl my hair w/ the round brush and before I blow dry that section, I spray the Advance Techniques at the roots (only at roots, not complete head of hair). I aim the blow dryer at that spot (low setting). The trick is not to brush out hair for a few minutes to let it to cool. After brushing out I use Mark's Mega Volume hair spray (does not weigh down hair/not sticky). Thank you Avon!!!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apsalmist
Location:Willmar, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Wow! Awesome product!
Date:March 8, 2011
"This product does what it says!
I have fine hair. Anyone with fine hair knows that conditioner flattens fine hair in a short time. So I used conditioner only every couple washes. With this root-boosting tonic I can use my conditioner & have beautiful 'weightless' hair with plenty of volume. I get volume better than any 'expensive salon' product!
"
Review 36 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
creativedesigns
Location:Irmo, S.C.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Excelent Product............!!!
Date:March 3, 2011
"I was skepitcal purchasing this product due to I have used so many other hair boosting products and never got good results. I highly recommend this ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
for anyone who has fine thin limp hair like I have. I live where we always get very high humidity especially in the spring, summer and fall months. My hair looks full and it also helps hold the style of my hair. I am very pleased with this product and will keep using it. Avon, please do not discontinue this product. I finally found my hair boosting product for a change after spending lots of $ on salon high pirced products. I love this product and will never use any other hair boosting product ever again or then Avon of coarse. Thank you. AAA++++++++
"
Review 37 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luv2ShopAvon
Location:Evansville, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Volumize Happy
Date:February 3, 2011
"I tried this product last week for the first time and I was a little reluctant because I have tried so many root-boosting products in the past (including high dollar salon products) and many make my hair feel stiff or coated..or weighed down. I recently tried the Mark Volume Root Booster and to my surprise I actually replaced my P.Mitchell w/ the Mark root booster and well..I decided to go ahead and try this one too and "WOW"...I love it! I use this product on my towel dried hair b4 blowdrying and curling. This product gives my hair bounce and body like nothing I've tried before. I am recommending to to anyone and everyone who wants volume! It doesn't feel ike any product is even in my hair! Love-Love-Love it!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScoobyD74
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Great product!
Date:December 27, 2010
"This is one of the new products that Avon has developed that I really like! It volumizes your hair, gives it great texture and leave it soft and manageable. I was hoping they would come up with a volumizing spray, and they did. Now if they would bring back the orginial formulas and the Age Retreat line! (I'm going to campaign for the Age Retreat line on every hair care review I write. That was the best line they ever had and they got rid of it!)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Volume Root-Boosting Tonic
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
21-38 of 38