Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 826 reviews
5 Stars
486
4 Stars
190
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
44
1 Star
38
729 of 826(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ErniesGroveSue
Location:Duvall, WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Good product, terrible packaging
Date:August 13, 2014
"I used to love this mineral powder but the new packaging is terrible. At first I thought I could just take off the lid and transfer the powder to my old container but no, that lid just will not come off! Please Avon, bring back the old packaging! I will not purchase this until you do, and I really feel like I've wasted my money on product I can't use."
Review 2 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BAkles
Location:Birmingham, AL
Best foundation
Date:August 7, 2014
"I love this product. It gives me the right coverage and I love that. I don't care to look made up and this product is the best by far. Thanks for making such a wonderful product"
Review 3 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mchele
Location:shoreacres, tx
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love it but the container -- UGH!!
Date:August 5, 2014
"I love this makeup for light weight and great coverage. My only problem is with the container. The old container was so much better. This design - you can't get the top off to access the makeup that doesn't get shifted out the little opening when the makeup gets very low. I end up having to break the top open to get to the remaining makeup. I think the old design with little holes worked much better. Unless you can make the container with removable top/lid."
Review 4 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ardenmare
Location:Elkton, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love the colors, don't like the "shimmer"
Date:July 13, 2014
"I tried this product, and liked the coverage, the packaging and the colors. I didn't like the fact that it has kind of a "shimmer" to it, and makes my face look kind of shiny. I like powder to give me a more matte finish, not add to the "shine." Wish there was a version without the "shimmer." I went back to using my old loose powder and gave away the smooth minerals."
Review 5 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CathieL
Location:East Hanover, NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Natural looking foundation
Date:July 10, 2014
"I love this for the summer because it is so light weight on your skin. You get great coverage too."
Review 6 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TheLadySkye
Great Coverage, Too Much Shine
Date:July 8, 2014
"I love the buildable coverage and ease of use of this product. It's great to work with. However, I have dry skin, and this product is so shiny, it makes my skin look oily. It's a shame because I really like it. The pressed powder doesn't seem to have the same issue, so I mostly end up using that. But I like the application of this powder better and the coverage is better. Please dial back the shine in this one so I can use it more often.
Also, while the names might be the same, the shades of the loose powder vs. the pressed powder are NOT the same. The loose powder runs about two or three shades darker than the pressed, so I am always trying to find the right match. It can be quite frustrating. Better color matching would be awesome!"
Review 7 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nubbin
Location:Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Lasts all day
Date:July 5, 2014
"I applied Avon elements spf 20 moisturizer and the smooth minerals foundation on top with some bronzer and Avon wash off waterproof mascara. Then I spent 8 hrs. in the rain with a Boyscout troop at a day camp. At the end of the day my make-up had not come off or run at all! Excellent products! I only put Avon on my face."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shellk512
Location:NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love Smooth Minerals!
Date:June 23, 2014
"I have been using Smooth Minerals for several years now and I love it. Works just as well as the more expensive brands. I've seen several complaints about the packaging but I love this packaging! I always felt like I was wasting so much product with the old packaging but with this I get just the right amount for my face. If I don't just a quick close of the cap, flip it over a couple of quick bangs on the side and I'm set with more. It's also very helpful when traveling and I find that I don't end up with makeup explosion. I used to hate that with the old packaging."
Review 9 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lisa1231
Location:Hanover, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love this product
Date:June 20, 2014
"Decided to try this powder. I like the fact that it provides good coverage but still looks natural on my face. I can work over 8 hours and still look morning fresh. My only critical feedback regards the packaging while it works great when it is new, I found it difficult when the jar was near empty. However I like the product so I will buy again. I would suggest Avon reconsider the packaging."
Review 10 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SFNPTK
Location:MINNEAPOLIS, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love this stuff ,but hate the container.
Date:June 17, 2014
"I love this stuff it makes my skin look magical. I just cannot get past the fact that I hate hate hate the container it comes in. The little silver thing that prevents you from wasting just drives me crazy. I feel like I have to shake this constantly to get any powder out. I have bought this three times thinking I got a bad container and its the same every time."
Review 11 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mari357
Location:Virginia
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Worth Ten Stars
Date:June 12, 2014
"This is one of the best foundations I have ever used, and at my age, I have used many of them. I tried the famous name brand more than ten years ago, and my face erupted in protest. It was a bad experience, and it took so long for my face to clear up, especially the area around my nose, that I stopped using anything on my face, except blush. I decided to try this one because Avon's products are excellent and despite having sensitive skin, Avon products have never given my skin any problems. I ordered Transparent Glow and it blends in well with my pale skin. It gives me a very fresh look and I don't look like I am wearing foundation. I just look like I have naturally smooth pretty skin. I don't leave the house without Magix Skin Perfector and Smooth Minerals on my face. This stuff is just amazing. You get great coverage at a great price, and you don't look anything but perfectly natural. I am totally sold on this, and it will always be on my makeup shelf."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hollyh9992
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
best powder foundation ever!!
Date:May 29, 2014
"I've used the "expensive brands" (we all know what brands I'm hinting to). For the cost, it's just as good if not BETTER than those "expensive brands"!! Plus, I don't have to worry about automatic shipments and charges to my credit card. Cost friendly and convenient...LOVE AVON! Your makeup ROCKS!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Luvnumbers
Location:Springfield, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Good makeup/Bad packaging/darker than pic
Date:May 29, 2014
"I ordered the medium beige, and it is much darker than a regular medium beige. I wear medium in bare minerals. Also the packaging only allows you to dispense a tiny amount at once and is hard to open. I now am ordering the lightest color to mix with the dark in the hopes it will make a better shade. The makeup itself is great. Leaves a flawless looking coverage that makes skin look smooth."
Review 14 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucky13
Location:Baton Rouge, Louisiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
By far the best.
Date:May 23, 2014
"I've been using this foundation for several years now and it's the best I've ever used. Unfortunately, at the age of 53 I still get blemishes and this makeup does a great job of covering them up. I too DESPISE the new packaging. I really wish AVON would go back to the old packaging. The only thing that helps me out in this regard is the fact that I still have one of the old containers - I have been reusing my old container ever since they came out with the new one. It takes a bit to break apart the new container so I don't lose any of the product but it's worth it!! I have to give this 4 stars only because of the container."
Review 15 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
luvurskin
Location:Kentucky
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Packaging
Date:May 19, 2014
"I really like this product. Would repurchase again and again but the packaging is terrible. I want to be able to choose how much I use instead of banging on the packaging for more product and in the end you can't use all the product because you can't get the top off. Had my husband in the bathroom this morning trying to pry the tops off the two 'empty' ones I have but to no avail. Just don't know if its worth the repurchase. Over all though the product is great..I just want to use every bit of the $$ I spend."
Review 16 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
champagneblonde
Location:Grand Junction, Colorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Fantastic Product
Date:May 6, 2014
"I love this, I swear it takes 10 years off my face! Plus, ladies it cover the pregnancy mask marks on your face... I hope Avon never discontinues this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MotherOf1
Location:Minneapolis, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
PLEASE bring back the old packaging....PLEASE!!!
Date:March 30, 2014
"I have used this product for YEARS! I love it, but absolutely HATE the packaging. This product used to be such a great value, but now, you can't get the powder out of the container. PLEASE, Avon, PLEASE bring back the old packaging. If you don't, I will switch to another brand. Sorry."
Review 18 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Apdallas
Location:Dallas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Like the powder
Date:March 30, 2014
"I think the powder is very nice, however, I can't get it out to use it!"
Review 19 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jibb2424
Location:Florida
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING
Date:March 18, 2014
"This is a great product except for the packaging. When you get close to the end it is very FRUSTRATING trying to get the rest out. I've tried to pull the top off with a plier...doesn't work!!! I LOVE the product, but you waste part of the product because you can't get the rest out when you get close to the end. AVON NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING ON THIS."
Review 20 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChristinaC
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Better than expensive brands!
Date:March 7, 2014
"I've used Smooth Minerals for a few years, and recently decided to try out the more expensive "as seen on tv" brand of mineral powder makeup. Well Im glad i got that out of my system, b/c i didnt see anything special about the expensive brand....other than the cost!!!! I would even go as far as saying Avon Smooth Minerals is BETTER than the brand i tried. I almost cant wait to run out of it so i can go back to Smooth Minerals again. Highly Recommend!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.