Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 606 reviews
5 Stars
357
4 Stars
146
3 Stars
48
2 Stars
29
1 Star
26
535 of 599(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE it
By emilyyyyyyyy
on October 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By emilyyyyyyyy
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"the only makeup thAt doesn't break out my skin. also the coverage is awesome and it doesn't have the heavy feeling that liquid makeup does."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it
By kjdyka
on October 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By kjdyka
Location:Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love the new container so much easier to use love the product."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this make-up
By dbeck7
on October 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By dbeck7
Location:North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have been wearing this make-up since July of this year, and I have received so many compliments on how good my make-up looks. Doesn't break out my face and it covers the imperfections flawlessly. Will continue to wear this and won't consider anything else. It's a great product!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love product, hate new container
By MNcustomer
on October 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By MNcustomer
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+17points
17OUT OF 17people found this review helpful
"I used to buy this all the time, but can't stand new package. Can't take top off to get all product out and don't feel it dispenses enough with one shake. Mirror is worthless, I bet if women who use this were polled, you would find 80 to 90% do NOT use that mirror. I hope you change the packaging so I can use it again."
+17points
17OUT OF 17people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the high priced mineral foundations
By mrsk524
on September 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By mrsk524
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
"This mineral foundation is AMAZING! It gives great coverage without looking cakey & completely covers the redness on my face. It doesn't irritate my skin or break me out like Bare Minerals did, and it's only a fraction of the price. I've even gotten compliments on my complexion when wearing this. It's so quick and easy to apply...I use the avon kabuki brush and it goes on beautifully."
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hate the package
By auntfe
on September 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By auntfe
Location:Morgantown, WV, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+19points
19OUT OF 19people found this review helpful
"I love the product itself, but I HATE the package. Unable to get all of the make-up out of the container. Bring back the old package. PLEASE!!!!!!"
+19points
19OUT OF 19people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it but packaging needs to be better
By klong
on September 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By klong
Location:North Stonington, CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+19points
19OUT OF 19people found this review helpful
"Love the coverage! The only problem with this item is the container it comes in. I need to blend two different colors to get the shade best for me. Being unable to open the top and simply get the amount I need to mix is very time consuming when the top will not unscrew off.
Please, please, please fix the container so we can unscrew the top and not have to shake it umpteen million times to get a decent amount to mix together."
+19points
19OUT OF 19people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Melasma, dark spots, age spots, coverage
By Sapodilla
on August 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Sapodilla
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Absolutely the best coverage for Melasma or if you have dark spotson your face. I use sand beige to cover the spots first (the lighter shade) then pure beige over it and then buff lightly over the entire face with the darker shade (pure beige). I have olive /caramel skin tone complexion and it is the best make I have ever used. It stays well with moisturizer and sunblock and lasts all day. Play with the different types of brushes. I dab and then buff lightly. I sometimes spray some water or setting spray. I have been using this for 5.
years
"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the product
By mnmng
on August 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By mnmng
Location:Lewisville, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I really like the Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation. I do have problems with the dispenser - find it doesn't always work. Will continue using."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good product, terrible packaging
By ErniesGroveSue
on August 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By ErniesGroveSue
Location:Duvall, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I used to love this mineral powder but the new packaging is terrible. At first I thought I could just take off the lid and transfer the powder to my old container but no, that lid just will not come off! Please Avon, bring back the old packaging! I will not purchase this until you do, and I really feel like I've wasted my money on product I can't use."
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best foundation
By BAkles
on August 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By BAkles
Location:Birmingham, AL
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this product. It gives me the right coverage and I love that. I don't care to look made up and this product is the best by far. Thanks for making such a wonderful product"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it but the container -- UGH!!
By mchele
on August 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By mchele
Location:shoreacres, tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I love this makeup for light weight and great coverage. My only problem is with the container. The old container was so much better. This design - you can't get the top off to access the makeup that doesn't get shifted out the little opening when the makeup gets very low. I end up having to break the top open to get to the remaining makeup. I think the old design with little holes worked much better. Unless you can make the container with removable top/lid."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the colors, don't like the "shimmer"
By Ardenmare
on July 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Ardenmare
Location:Elkton, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I tried this product, and liked the coverage, the packaging and the colors. I didn't like the fact that it has kind of a "shimmer" to it, and makes my face look kind of shiny. I like powder to give me a more matte finish, not add to the "shine." Wish there was a version without the "shimmer." I went back to using my old loose powder and gave away the smooth minerals."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural looking foundation
By CathieL
on July 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By CathieL
Location:East Hanover, NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this for the summer because it is so light weight on your skin. You get great coverage too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Coverage, Too Much Shine
By TheLadySkye
on July 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By TheLadySkye
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I love the buildable coverage and ease of use of this product. It's great to work with. However, I have dry skin, and this product is so shiny, it makes my skin look oily. It's a shame because I really like it. The pressed powder doesn't seem to have the same issue, so I mostly end up using that. But I like the application of this powder better and the coverage is better. Please dial back the shine in this one so I can use it more often.
Also, while the names might be the same, the shades of the loose powder vs. the pressed powder are NOT the same. The loose powder runs about two or three shades darker than the pressed, so I am always trying to find the right match. It can be quite frustrating. Better color matching would be awesome!"
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts all day
By Nubbin
on July 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By Nubbin
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I applied Avon elements spf 20 moisturizer and the smooth minerals foundation on top with some bronzer and Avon wash off waterproof mascara. Then I spent 8 hrs. in the rain with a Boyscout troop at a day camp. At the end of the day my make-up had not come off or run at all! Excellent products! I only put Avon on my face."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Smooth Minerals!
By shellk512
on June 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By shellk512
Location:NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have been using Smooth Minerals for several years now and I love it. Works just as well as the more expensive brands. I've seen several complaints about the packaging but I love this packaging! I always felt like I was wasting so much product with the old packaging but with this I get just the right amount for my face. If I don't just a quick close of the cap, flip it over a couple of quick bangs on the side and I'm set with more. It's also very helpful when traveling and I find that I don't end up with makeup explosion. I used to hate that with the old packaging."
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this product
By Lisa1231
on June 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By Lisa1231
Location:Hanover, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Decided to try this powder. I like the fact that it provides good coverage but still looks natural on my face. I can work over 8 hours and still look morning fresh. My only critical feedback regards the packaging while it works great when it is new, I found it difficult when the jar was near empty. However I like the product so I will buy again. I would suggest Avon reconsider the packaging."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love this stuff ,but hate the container.
By SFNPTK
on June 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By SFNPTK
Location:MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this stuff it makes my skin look magical. I just cannot get past the fact that I hate hate hate the container it comes in. The little silver thing that prevents you from wasting just drives me crazy. I feel like I have to shake this constantly to get any powder out. I have bought this three times thinking I got a bad container and its the same every time."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Ten Stars
By Mari357
on June 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By Mari357
Location:Virginia
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This is one of the best foundations I have ever used, and at my age, I have used many of them. I tried the famous name brand more than ten years ago, and my face erupted in protest. It was a bad experience, and it took so long for my face to clear up, especially the area around my nose, that I stopped using anything on my face, except blush. I decided to try this one because Avon's products are excellent and despite having sensitive skin, Avon products have never given my skin any problems. I ordered Transparent Glow and it blends in well with my pale skin. It gives me a very fresh look and I don't look like I am wearing foundation. I just look like I have naturally smooth pretty skin. I don't leave the house without Magix Skin Perfector and Smooth Minerals on my face. This stuff is just amazing. You get great coverage at a great price, and you don't look anything but perfectly natural. I am totally sold on this, and it will always be on my makeup shelf."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>