Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop foundation or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Average Customer Rating:
4.303 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (512 reviews)
5 stars
311
4 stars
114
3 stars
40
2 stars
25
1 star
22
455 of 512(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MotherOf1
Location:Minneapolis, MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
PLEASE bring back the old packaging....PLEASE!!!
Date:March 30, 2014
"I have used this product for YEARS! I love it, but absolutely HATE the packaging. This product used to be such a great value, but now, you can't get the powder out of the container. PLEASE, Avon, PLEASE bring back the old packaging. If you don't, I will switch to another brand. Sorry."
Review 2 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Apdallas
Location:Dallas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Like the powder
Date:March 30, 2014
"I think the powder is very nice, however, I can't get it out to use it!"
Review 3 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jibb2424
Location:Florida
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING
Date:March 18, 2014
"This is a great product except for the packaging. When you get close to the end it is very FRUSTRATING trying to get the rest out. I've tried to pull the top off with a plier...doesn't work!!! I LOVE the product, but you waste part of the product because you can't get the rest out when you get close to the end. AVON NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING ON THIS."
Review 4 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChristinaC
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Better than expensive brands!
Date:March 7, 2014
"I've used Smooth Minerals for a few years, and recently decided to try out the more expensive "as seen on tv" brand of mineral powder makeup. Well Im glad i got that out of my system, b/c i didnt see anything special about the expensive brand....other than the cost!!!! I would even go as far as saying Avon Smooth Minerals is BETTER than the brand i tried. I almost cant wait to run out of it so i can go back to Smooth Minerals again. Highly Recommend!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
noturavggurlygurl
Location:mobile al
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
I like, but....
Date:February 25, 2014
"I have been wearing this powder for five years now and I ALWAYS received compliments on my skin tone wearing the soft ivory shade. Since crossing the 30 marker I am noticing this powder will settle in fine lines actually highlighting them. I love the powder when first applied, but the settling in makes me very self conscious now."
Review 6 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cantina
Location:Wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love This!
Date:February 19, 2014
"I have always been a Cover Girl pressed powder user. I saw this in the brochure and decided to give it a try. It covers amazingly, is light weight on my skin and it does not give me the "overly made up look". I would recommened this and will definately purchase again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HarleyMama
Location:Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love It!!!
Date:February 12, 2014
"I was skeptical about using this because of others I've used. I didn't want a powdery look like others leave. I will NOT run out of this & would definitely recommend. The small amount it gives in the container IS the perfect amount. I didn't think it would be but it is."
Review 8 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chococat
Age:16-24
Skin type:Combination
Great as a facial highlighter!!
Date:February 10, 2014
"I have a round face shape so I contour instead of covering up with foundation and i decided to use this as a highlighter/luminizer for its luminous effect.
I have a light skin tone and i use the Light Beige shade
So on top of the moisturizer and primer and after i contour with bronzer.. I apply Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation on my cheeks, forehead and chin except for my eyes (doesnt cover up my dark circles very well instead i use a concealer).
- although it is very lightweight the coverage is not bad and it last long barely need to reapply.
- free of oil and talc yet it does a good job on controlling oil buildup
- sensitive skin friendly; non irritant oh yeah
the price rocks but the quality is not cheap in my opinion. great for anyone who prefers a natural but luminous glow
i would absolutely recommend this!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ama1012
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
A Great Powder Foundation
Date:February 5, 2014
"When it comes to wearing makeup, I want something that is going to enhance my features greatly, but also look very natural. I feel like this foundation does just that. It goes on very light, but also gives you flexibility on how much coverage you wish to build. I love that it illuminates my features and gives me a very pretty and healthy glow. Not to mention it's good for my skin. Paired with the Smooth Minerals Blush, it is very pretty. I love the product, but do not love the container it comes in. It dispenses the application amount for you, which is actually a little more than I would normally use. I wish it did not come with this feature so that I could choose for myself how much I wish to dispense."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CherB
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love the product, not the package
Date:February 4, 2014
"I've been using this makeup for years and love it! What I really, really don't like is the container its in. When the makeup is almost gone its like that little plastic party favor where you try to get the ball in the hole. You can never get all the product out. And the cover is glued on so you can't unscrew it. Poor product design. The cap with the little holes like a shaker is much better. Or at least allow us to unscrew the cover in order to use all the makeup!
Thank you Avon for taking this into consideration."
Review 11 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AvonFanOver50
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love It
Date:January 25, 2014
"I love Avon's Smooth Minerals. It covers better than the "high"end" product. I have tried the matte formula by the other "high end" company, but it doesn't illuminate and provide that nice glow. I agree with the other person who has oily skin. I have extremely oily skin at the age of 52, which isn't necessarily a bad thing as I don't have any wrinkles. What I have found is by using a primer prior to applying the Smooth Minerals, and I use the Illumination Primer by Avon, that it helps keep the oil under control, and minimizes reapplying during the day. I will never use anything else. I always stock up when it is on sale."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aloya
Location:Houston, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Not good for oily skin
Date:January 9, 2014
"I love this makeup. It covers so much better than the "prestige" brand of mineral makeup I use. Only problem is I have super oily skin and the high end brand comes in a matte version and this one does not so my face is oily before an hour after putting it on. PLEASE start making a matte version of this makeup!!"
Review 13 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
britdaw
Location:Fort Campbell, KY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Amazing product for a GREAT price!
Date:December 25, 2013
"I wanted to try a new mineral foundation, so I decided to try Avon's after reading reviews online. I'm so glad I did! I've found a new foundation that makes my skin look great without breaking my bank account! I have trouble skin, but I have not had any issues with breakouts since starting Smooth Minerals 2 months ago. It doesn't reflect the light as well as other brands I've tried, but you can easily use a highlighter along with this foundation to achieve that look. Great product! I've found a winner!"
Review 14 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saj1117
Location:Lower Alabama
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
I love this product!
Date:November 22, 2013
"I love this powder makeup. It's easy to apply without getting all over your fingers and fingernails. When I ran out I tried several things and spent way too much money tryig to replace it but couldn't find anything I even liked a little. I was very glad to see I could order it online. I won't run out again! Not as long as they are making it anyway."
Review 15 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LHJones
Location:Sparks, NV
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Excellent Light Powder
Date:November 20, 2013
"I use this to lightly buff a layer over one of Avon's cream-to-powder foundations and I love it. Sometimes buffing powders on skin create an added dryness, but not with this. It does it's job of creating a flawless look and also manages to stay on all day and night."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jany2012
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Wish it would have come with a brush
Date:November 20, 2013
"I like the product and the color is good"
Review 17 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mocha1
Location:Baltimore, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Smooth Minerals Powder
Date:November 14, 2013
"No other mineral powder compares to this product. Goes on very smooth and leaves your skin looking natural. No powdery residue or uneven skin tone. I absolutely love this product! Won't use any other mineral powders out there."
Review 18 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel2010
Location:Boise, Idaho
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Best Foundation I Have Ever Found
Date:November 14, 2013
"I don't really wear makeup. The most I wear usually is foundation. It was always hard to find a foundation that I liked until I ordered Smooth Minerals a few weeks before I graduated high school. Well, this is my 4th year of college and I still use Smooth Minerals because it is so great! And I've only had to reorder about 3 times over those years because of running out. It perfectly matches my skin tone always (somehow) and covers up all my blemishes. The powder is great because I hate the feel of liquid foundation. Great product. I hope they don't stop making it."
Review 19 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VJACOBSON
Location:Nashville.TN
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
I use this as my finishing powder
Date:November 11, 2013
"I have issues with powder not covering well or caking up on top of my foundation. this is much better at setting my make up and keeping in set for hours."
Review 20 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AllieFallie
Location:Philadelphia
Too light for my pale skin
Date:November 1, 2013
"This mineral powder is cakey and the color was far too light even for my pale skin. I would have sent this right back, but I tossed the packaging and return label before trying it out first. Silly me."