Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Shake, swirl & blend. Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 618 reviews
5 Stars
363
4 Stars
151
3 Stars
49
2 Stars
29
1 Star
26
535 of 599(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 21 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good product, terrible packaging
By ErniesGroveSue
on August 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By ErniesGroveSue
Location:Duvall, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+12points
13OUT OF 14people found this review helpful
"I used to love this mineral powder but the new packaging is terrible. At first I thought I could just take off the lid and transfer the powder to my old container but no, that lid just will not come off! Please Avon, bring back the old packaging! I will not purchase this until you do, and I really feel like I've wasted my money on product I can't use."
+12points
13OUT OF 14people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best foundation
By BAkles
on August 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By BAkles
Location:Birmingham, AL
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I love this product. It gives me the right coverage and I love that. I don't care to look made up and this product is the best by far. Thanks for making such a wonderful product"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it but the container -- UGH!!
By mchele
on August 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By mchele
Location:shoreacres, tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
"I love this makeup for light weight and great coverage. My only problem is with the container. The old container was so much better. This design - you can't get the top off to access the makeup that doesn't get shifted out the little opening when the makeup gets very low. I end up having to break the top open to get to the remaining makeup. I think the old design with little holes worked much better. Unless you can make the container with removable top/lid."
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the colors, don't like the "shimmer"
By Ardenmare
on July 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Ardenmare
Location:Elkton, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I tried this product, and liked the coverage, the packaging and the colors. I didn't like the fact that it has kind of a "shimmer" to it, and makes my face look kind of shiny. I like powder to give me a more matte finish, not add to the "shine." Wish there was a version without the "shimmer." I went back to using my old loose powder and gave away the smooth minerals."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural looking foundation
By CathieL
on July 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By CathieL
Location:East Hanover, NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this for the summer because it is so light weight on your skin. You get great coverage too."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Coverage, Too Much Shine
By TheLadySkye
on July 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By TheLadySkye
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I love the buildable coverage and ease of use of this product. It's great to work with. However, I have dry skin, and this product is so shiny, it makes my skin look oily. It's a shame because I really like it. The pressed powder doesn't seem to have the same issue, so I mostly end up using that. But I like the application of this powder better and the coverage is better. Please dial back the shine in this one so I can use it more often.
Also, while the names might be the same, the shades of the loose powder vs. the pressed powder are NOT the same. The loose powder runs about two or three shades darker than the pressed, so I am always trying to find the right match. It can be quite frustrating. Better color matching would be awesome!"
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts all day
By Nubbin
on July 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By Nubbin
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I applied Avon elements spf 20 moisturizer and the smooth minerals foundation on top with some bronzer and Avon wash off waterproof mascara. Then I spent 8 hrs. in the rain with a Boyscout troop at a day camp. At the end of the day my make-up had not come off or run at all! Excellent products! I only put Avon on my face."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Smooth Minerals!
By shellk512
on June 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By shellk512
Location:NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have been using Smooth Minerals for several years now and I love it. Works just as well as the more expensive brands. I've seen several complaints about the packaging but I love this packaging! I always felt like I was wasting so much product with the old packaging but with this I get just the right amount for my face. If I don't just a quick close of the cap, flip it over a couple of quick bangs on the side and I'm set with more. It's also very helpful when traveling and I find that I don't end up with makeup explosion. I used to hate that with the old packaging."
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this product
By Lisa1231
on June 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By Lisa1231
Location:Hanover, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Decided to try this powder. I like the fact that it provides good coverage but still looks natural on my face. I can work over 8 hours and still look morning fresh. My only critical feedback regards the packaging while it works great when it is new, I found it difficult when the jar was near empty. However I like the product so I will buy again. I would suggest Avon reconsider the packaging."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love this stuff ,but hate the container.
By SFNPTK
on June 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By SFNPTK
Location:MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I love this stuff it makes my skin look magical. I just cannot get past the fact that I hate hate hate the container it comes in. The little silver thing that prevents you from wasting just drives me crazy. I feel like I have to shake this constantly to get any powder out. I have bought this three times thinking I got a bad container and its the same every time."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Ten Stars
By Mari357
on June 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By Mari357
Location:Virginia
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"This is one of the best foundations I have ever used, and at my age, I have used many of them. I tried the famous name brand more than ten years ago, and my face erupted in protest. It was a bad experience, and it took so long for my face to clear up, especially the area around my nose, that I stopped using anything on my face, except blush. I decided to try this one because Avon's products are excellent and despite having sensitive skin, Avon products have never given my skin any problems. I ordered Transparent Glow and it blends in well with my pale skin. It gives me a very fresh look and I don't look like I am wearing foundation. I just look like I have naturally smooth pretty skin. I don't leave the house without Magix Skin Perfector and Smooth Minerals on my face. This stuff is just amazing. You get great coverage at a great price, and you don't look anything but perfectly natural. I am totally sold on this, and it will always be on my makeup shelf."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best powder foundation ever!!
By hollyh9992
on May 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By hollyh9992
Location:Illinois
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've used the "expensive brands" (we all know what brands I'm hinting to). For the cost, it's just as good if not BETTER than those "expensive brands"!! Plus, I don't have to worry about automatic shipments and charges to my credit card. Cost friendly and convenient...LOVE AVON! Your makeup ROCKS!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good makeup/Bad packaging/darker than pic
By Luvnumbers
on May 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By Luvnumbers
Location:Springfield, IL
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I ordered the medium beige, and it is much darker than a regular medium beige. I wear medium in bare minerals. Also the packaging only allows you to dispense a tiny amount at once and is hard to open. I now am ordering the lightest color to mix with the dark in the hopes it will make a better shade. The makeup itself is great. Leaves a flawless looking coverage that makes skin look smooth."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
By far the best.
By Lucky13
on May 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By Lucky13
Location:Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've been using this foundation for several years now and it's the best I've ever used. Unfortunately, at the age of 53 I still get blemishes and this makeup does a great job of covering them up. I too DESPISE the new packaging. I really wish AVON would go back to the old packaging. The only thing that helps me out in this regard is the fact that I still have one of the old containers - I have been reusing my old container ever since they came out with the new one. It takes a bit to break apart the new container so I don't lose any of the product but it's worth it!! I have to give this 4 stars only because of the container."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packaging
By luvurskin
on May 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By luvurskin
Location:Kentucky
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I really like this product. Would repurchase again and again but the packaging is terrible. I want to be able to choose how much I use instead of banging on the packaging for more product and in the end you can't use all the product because you can't get the top off. Had my husband in the bathroom this morning trying to pry the tops off the two 'empty' ones I have but to no avail. Just don't know if its worth the repurchase. Over all though the product is great..I just want to use every bit of the $$ I spend."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Product
By champagneblonde
on May 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By champagneblonde
Location:Grand Junction, Colorado
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I love this, I swear it takes 10 years off my face! Plus, ladies it cover the pregnancy mask marks on your face... I hope Avon never discontinues this product."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PLEASE bring back the old packaging....PLEASE!!!
By MotherOf1
on March 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By MotherOf1
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I have used this product for YEARS! I love it, but absolutely HATE the packaging. This product used to be such a great value, but now, you can't get the powder out of the container. PLEASE, Avon, PLEASE bring back the old packaging. If you don't, I will switch to another brand. Sorry."
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Like the powder
By Apdallas
on March 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By Apdallas
Location:Dallas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I think the powder is very nice, however, I can't get it out to use it!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING
By Jibb2424
on March 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By Jibb2424
Location:Florida
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is a great product except for the packaging. When you get close to the end it is very FRUSTRATING trying to get the rest out. I've tried to pull the top off with a plier...doesn't work!!! I LOVE the product, but you waste part of the product because you can't get the rest out when you get close to the end. AVON NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING ON THIS."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expensive brands!
By ChristinaC
on March 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By ChristinaC
Location:Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've used Smooth Minerals for a few years, and recently decided to try out the more expensive "as seen on tv" brand of mineral powder makeup. Well Im glad i got that out of my system, b/c i didnt see anything special about the expensive brand....other than the cost!!!! I would even go as far as saying Avon Smooth Minerals is BETTER than the brand i tried. I almost cant wait to run out of it so i can go back to Smooth Minerals again. Highly Recommend!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>