Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Shake, swirl & blend. Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.285 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 642 reviews
5 Stars
373
4 Stars
161
3 Stars
52
2 Stars
30
1 Star
26
535 of 599(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 21 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Blending
By: Butterfly1532
on December 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Butterfly1532
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I really like this product because it blends very nicely. The coverage is great and goes on nicely. I find the product lasts for quite a long time, so I definitely feel like I'm getting my money's worth.
I do not like the container and it is the only reason I keep considering using another product. Unlike the description that you get the perfect amount every time, it is difficult to get the powder out of that silly opening and I literally have to turn it upside down and bang it on the counter. For that reason, there's always powder all over the mirror. Maybe I'm dispensing it incorrectly and, if that's the case, perhaps they should include better instructions on how to dispense the powder "one application at a time". "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better coverage than expected
By: Kendallv
on December 24, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Kendallv
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
" I bought this as a replacement for a more expensive mineral powder foundation from a competing company - my purchase was the 'transparent glow'.
I have been very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product, particularly for a transparent 'color'. I wear this over my liquid foundation because of my oily skin, and I feel like it does a really good job of keeping my skin a nice matte look.
The only thing I don't like is the actual container. It releases the powder awkwardly from this little hole, and it doesn't really spread throughout the compact like I would like so I could get an even coat on my brush. It also gets all over the mirror, making it useless. Maybe I'm using it wrong? If that's the case, it's not very obvious how it should be used.
However, I can definitely look over that issue because I think the quality is pretty good for the price I paid and compared to other similar products I've used. "
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful! (needs better container!)
By: LilBee
on December 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By: LilBee
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
" I first tried the big name mineral powder foundation years ago but it was expensive and the mixing of 2 shades was a pain. I tried another demonstrator makeup company's and although it had the perfect shade with no mixing needed.. it seemed to melt off my face in the summer. I found Avon's mineral powder and I haven't tried any other since! Not only do I pay a fraction of the price, but I get all the pros of the other companies without the cons. It covers very well, does not break out my sensitive skin, and Although the shade isn't 100% perfect it doesn't require a ton of blending to not have that makeup "line". I can easily put on foundation and blush and be ready to go in 5 minutes. I do occasionally need to touch up midway through the day just to have the coverage I like - but even then I still can tell its covering blemishes and redness.
The ONLY thing I would change is the container... I prefer the older style better... I often have to shake this one upside down before opening to get it to come out when I open it. It is nice that if it gets tossed around in your purse or a drawer that you don't have all this powder sitting there when you open it like others, but I find it more of a pain than anything. I feel like I waste more product with this style, and it does make it very difficult to mix shades without mixing in another container. I wish you could at least twist the entire lid off.. there's always some powder left in there! "
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost!
By: yetilive
on December 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By: yetilive
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have used the Transparent Glow for several years as a finishing powder. I've never found any better but I hate the delivery system. The powder sticks to the depressor pin and makes a mess. I will keep using it but can't give 5 stars unless they go back to the traditional delivery system. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Mineral Foundation
By: ShayShay8208
on December 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By: ShayShay8208
Location:Spartanburg , SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" This is the best foundation I have ever used. Have used several different name brands w/o being pleased with any of them, until I tried this one. This foundation goes on very easy and smooth. It does not leave your face darker in certain areas. Every application is constantly. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mineral makeup ever.
By: Nanangelo
on December 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Nanangelo
Location:San Angelo, TX, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I was using an expensive name brand and decided to try this. It was the first time I ever used the loose powder type. I found the coverage much better and lasts all day. I am a believer in this product. Only con I have is if you are strictly going by internet, it is very difficult to tell which shade to order as they all look so much alike on the chart. I also ordered the pressed type and use it for "freshening" or a quick application when time is very limited. Love both products. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only 1 complaint
By: KEA120
on December 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By: KEA120
Location:Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I love this mineral base makeup. However, I never buy just one. I would love to buy it in a larger size. It doesn't last very long. Otherwise, it stays on, is easy to touch up if needed and covers well but does not look caked on.. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good coverage
By: irod
on December 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By: irod
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" I like this foundation, but there is one thing I don't like - the product is hard to get out of the container. I have to smack it upside down on the table many, many times in order to get enough up in the top to use on my face. I think the packaging needs to be redesigned for easier use. "
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
By: FeliciaTP
on November 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By: FeliciaTP
Location:DFW, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I ordered this in 2 colors, one beige the other in a more pink tone. I find that I like mixing the two for the perfect color for my skin. It covers very well and looks great. The last time I had a facial since I've been using it my facialist said I had no clogged pores! This product is excellent. I am very satisfied. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product - hate the dispenser
By: RDA72
on November 24, 2014
About the reviewer
By: RDA72
Location:Midwest USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
" Great product - I've bought it many times - but the packaging is awful. A shaker lid would be 100x better than the weird dispenser contraption that is currently available. I've even thought about breaking the jar and pouring the product into an old (competitor's) container for ease of use. "
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Powder
By: Janie1947
on November 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Janie1947
Location:Dayton, OH, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" I love this powder. I'm happy it has no talc. The coverage is fabulous. It makes my skin look so much better/prettier than it really is. I highly recommend this ! "
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
By: Ricansistah
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Ricansistah
Location:Lugoff, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
" Love the product but hate the packaging. Need to go back to the old packaging. I have to fight to get powder out. Might have to break the container so I can get to the powder. Hope the problem be fixed soon. That's why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 stars. "
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By: Aharris
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Aharris
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I have tried other loose powder foundations and, while they do their job, I have never tried anything as great as this product. It covers, it doesn't make my skin break out, it never looks cakey or heavy, and you absolutely cannot beat the price. I have recommended this to lots of people and they all love it. I'm never going back to the expensive powders! "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really hope they never stop making this!
By: greenmachinestl
on November 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By: greenmachinestl
Location:St. Louis, MO, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I absolutely love this foundation. I combine colors during different times of the year for a simple perfect match to my skin color. My skin always looks even with smooth minerals powder foundation, and it feels soft to the touch. I love that I can't feel that I'm wearing anything when I have it on. It doesn't sweat off easily or cake up. You can even use concentrated dabs of the foundation as a cover up for blemishes. It's the best makeup find of my life! No exaggeration! Oh, and the more recent cap design really minimizes the mess of using a powder foundation because it only gives you small amounts at a time. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By: OKmulerider
on November 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By: OKmulerider
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
" While I love the product and have used it for several years, I HATE THE CONTAINER. Nearly impossible to shake enough makeup into the dispenser for usage. When it is nearly empty, I have mutilated the inside so I can use all the product. I know I am not the only person having this problem. "
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE it
By: emilyyyyyyyy
on October 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By: emilyyyyyyyy
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
" the only makeup thAt doesn't break out my skin. also the coverage is awesome and it doesn't have the heavy feeling that liquid makeup does. "
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it
By: kjdyka
on October 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By: kjdyka
Location:Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I love the new container so much easier to use love the product. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this make-up
By: dbeck7
on October 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By: dbeck7
Location:North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have been wearing this make-up since July of this year, and I have received so many compliments on how good my make-up looks. Doesn't break out my face and it covers the imperfections flawlessly. Will continue to wear this and won't consider anything else. It's a great product! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love product, hate new container
By: MNcustomer
on October 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By: MNcustomer
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+27points
27OUT OF 27people found this review helpful
" I used to buy this all the time, but can't stand new package. Can't take top off to get all product out and don't feel it dispenses enough with one shake. Mirror is worthless, I bet if women who use this were polled, you would find 80 to 90% do NOT use that mirror. I hope you change the packaging so I can use it again. "
+27points
27OUT OF 27people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the high priced mineral foundations
By: mrsk524
on September 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By: mrsk524
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+12points
12OUT OF 12people found this review helpful
" This mineral foundation is AMAZING! It gives great coverage without looking cakey & completely covers the redness on my face. It doesn't irritate my skin or break me out like Bare Minerals did, and it's only a fraction of the price. I've even gotten compliments on my complexion when wearing this. It's so quick and easy to apply...I use the avon kabuki brush and it goes on beautifully. "
+12points
12OUT OF 12people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>