Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 827 reviews
5 Stars
486
4 Stars
191
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
44
1 Star
38
730 of 827(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 21 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChristinaC
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Better than expensive brands!
Date:March 7, 2014
"I've used Smooth Minerals for a few years, and recently decided to try out the more expensive "as seen on tv" brand of mineral powder makeup. Well Im glad i got that out of my system, b/c i didnt see anything special about the expensive brand....other than the cost!!!! I would even go as far as saying Avon Smooth Minerals is BETTER than the brand i tried. I almost cant wait to run out of it so i can go back to Smooth Minerals again. Highly Recommend!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
noturavggurlygurl
Location:mobile al
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
I like, but....
Date:February 25, 2014
"I have been wearing this powder for five years now and I ALWAYS received compliments on my skin tone wearing the soft ivory shade. Since crossing the 30 marker I am noticing this powder will settle in fine lines actually highlighting them. I love the powder when first applied, but the settling in makes me very self conscious now."
Review 23 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cantina
Location:Wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love This!
Date:February 19, 2014
"I have always been a Cover Girl pressed powder user. I saw this in the brochure and decided to give it a try. It covers amazingly, is light weight on my skin and it does not give me the "overly made up look". I would recommened this and will definately purchase again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HarleyMama
Location:Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love It!!!
Date:February 12, 2014
"I was skeptical about using this because of others I've used. I didn't want a powdery look like others leave. I will NOT run out of this & would definitely recommend. The small amount it gives in the container IS the perfect amount. I didn't think it would be but it is."
Review 25 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chococat
Age:16-24
Skin type:Combination
Great as a facial highlighter!!
Date:February 10, 2014
"I have a round face shape so I contour instead of covering up with foundation and i decided to use this as a highlighter/luminizer for its luminous effect.
I have a light skin tone and i use the Light Beige shade
So on top of the moisturizer and primer and after i contour with bronzer.. I apply Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation on my cheeks, forehead and chin except for my eyes (doesnt cover up my dark circles very well instead i use a concealer).
- although it is very lightweight the coverage is not bad and it last long barely need to reapply.
- free of oil and talc yet it does a good job on controlling oil buildup
- sensitive skin friendly; non irritant oh yeah
the price rocks but the quality is not cheap in my opinion. great for anyone who prefers a natural but luminous glow
i would absolutely recommend this!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ama1012
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
A Great Powder Foundation
Date:February 5, 2014
"When it comes to wearing makeup, I want something that is going to enhance my features greatly, but also look very natural. I feel like this foundation does just that. It goes on very light, but also gives you flexibility on how much coverage you wish to build. I love that it illuminates my features and gives me a very pretty and healthy glow. Not to mention it's good for my skin. Paired with the Smooth Minerals Blush, it is very pretty. I love the product, but do not love the container it comes in. It dispenses the application amount for you, which is actually a little more than I would normally use. I wish it did not come with this feature so that I could choose for myself how much I wish to dispense."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CherB
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love the product, not the package
Date:February 4, 2014
"I've been using this makeup for years and love it! What I really, really don't like is the container its in. When the makeup is almost gone its like that little plastic party favor where you try to get the ball in the hole. You can never get all the product out. And the cover is glued on so you can't unscrew it. Poor product design. The cap with the little holes like a shaker is much better. Or at least allow us to unscrew the cover in order to use all the makeup!
Thank you Avon for taking this into consideration."
Review 28 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AvonFanOver50
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love It
Date:January 25, 2014
"I love Avon's Smooth Minerals. It covers better than the "high"end" product. I have tried the matte formula by the other "high end" company, but it doesn't illuminate and provide that nice glow. I agree with the other person who has oily skin. I have extremely oily skin at the age of 52, which isn't necessarily a bad thing as I don't have any wrinkles. What I have found is by using a primer prior to applying the Smooth Minerals, and I use the Illumination Primer by Avon, that it helps keep the oil under control, and minimizes reapplying during the day. I will never use anything else. I always stock up when it is on sale."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aloya
Location:Houston, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Not good for oily skin
Date:January 9, 2014
"I love this makeup. It covers so much better than the "prestige" brand of mineral makeup I use. Only problem is I have super oily skin and the high end brand comes in a matte version and this one does not so my face is oily before an hour after putting it on. PLEASE start making a matte version of this makeup!!"
Review 30 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
britdaw
Location:Fort Campbell, KY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Amazing product for a GREAT price!
Date:December 25, 2013
"I wanted to try a new mineral foundation, so I decided to try Avon's after reading reviews online. I'm so glad I did! I've found a new foundation that makes my skin look great without breaking my bank account! I have trouble skin, but I have not had any issues with breakouts since starting Smooth Minerals 2 months ago. It doesn't reflect the light as well as other brands I've tried, but you can easily use a highlighter along with this foundation to achieve that look. Great product! I've found a winner!"
Review 31 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saj1117
Location:Lower Alabama
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
I love this product!
Date:November 22, 2013
"I love this powder makeup. It's easy to apply without getting all over your fingers and fingernails. When I ran out I tried several things and spent way too much money tryig to replace it but couldn't find anything I even liked a little. I was very glad to see I could order it online. I won't run out again! Not as long as they are making it anyway."
Review 32 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LHJones
Location:Sparks, NV
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Excellent Light Powder
Date:November 20, 2013
"I use this to lightly buff a layer over one of Avon's cream-to-powder foundations and I love it. Sometimes buffing powders on skin create an added dryness, but not with this. It does it's job of creating a flawless look and also manages to stay on all day and night."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jany2012
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Wish it would have come with a brush
Date:November 20, 2013
"I like the product and the color is good"
Review 34 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mocha1
Location:Baltimore, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Smooth Minerals Powder
Date:November 14, 2013
"No other mineral powder compares to this product. Goes on very smooth and leaves your skin looking natural. No powdery residue or uneven skin tone. I absolutely love this product! Won't use any other mineral powders out there."
Review 35 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rachel2010
Location:Boise, Idaho
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Best Foundation I Have Ever Found
Date:November 14, 2013
"I don't really wear makeup. The most I wear usually is foundation. It was always hard to find a foundation that I liked until I ordered Smooth Minerals a few weeks before I graduated high school. Well, this is my 4th year of college and I still use Smooth Minerals because it is so great! And I've only had to reorder about 3 times over those years because of running out. It perfectly matches my skin tone always (somehow) and covers up all my blemishes. The powder is great because I hate the feel of liquid foundation. Great product. I hope they don't stop making it."
Review 36 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VJACOBSON
Location:Nashville.TN
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
I use this as my finishing powder
Date:November 11, 2013
"I have issues with powder not covering well or caking up on top of my foundation. this is much better at setting my make up and keeping in set for hours."
Review 37 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AllieFallie
Location:Philadelphia
Too light for my pale skin
Date:November 1, 2013
"This mineral powder is cakey and the color was far too light even for my pale skin. I would have sent this right back, but I tossed the packaging and return label before trying it out first. Silly me."
Review 38 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christia1
Location:Oregon
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great coverage!
Date:October 31, 2013
"I use this product over my foundation to achieve a lovely complexion. Great coverage without being heavy. I also love the container. With the lid clicked down tight, give it a few good shakes and you have the perfect amount. No waste. Keep up the good work Avon."
Review 39 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginjerrr
Location:Colorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best foundation I've used
Date:October 25, 2013
"I've tried many different foundations, liquid and powder, often using both. However, this product is my absolute favorite, it covers wonderfully for a flawless matte finish. It works so well to cover my blemishes that I often don't need liquid or concealer underneath. It's the only foundation I've found that really matches my skin tone almost perfectly. Using it has made my skin softer and healthier, but I sometimes get oily skin and have to reapply to reduce shine.
My only problem is with the packaging. The product doesn't always come through the tiny hole very much, or falls back in the container. I also wish the lid screwed off easily to get the remaining product when you almost run out. (I usually have to force it open with different tools to get the last bits out."
Review 40 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2RsfromTX
Location:Benton, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
long lasting great coverage
Date:October 18, 2013
"Love this foundation. I have been using it for 3 years and wouldn't think of using any thing else. I apply the Magix face perfector first then I apply Smooth Minerals. The results are great coverage that last all day."