Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 829 reviews
5 Stars
487
4 Stars
192
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
44
1 Star
38
731 of 828(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 21 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Like the powder
By Apdallas
on March 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By Apdallas
Location:Dallas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I think the powder is very nice, however, I can't get it out to use it!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING
By Jibb2424
on March 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By Jibb2424
Location:Florida
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is a great product except for the packaging. When you get close to the end it is very FRUSTRATING trying to get the rest out. I've tried to pull the top off with a plier...doesn't work!!! I LOVE the product, but you waste part of the product because you can't get the rest out when you get close to the end. AVON NEEDS BETTER PACKAGING ON THIS."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expensive brands!
By ChristinaC
on March 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By ChristinaC
Location:Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've used Smooth Minerals for a few years, and recently decided to try out the more expensive "as seen on tv" brand of mineral powder makeup. Well Im glad i got that out of my system, b/c i didnt see anything special about the expensive brand....other than the cost!!!! I would even go as far as saying Avon Smooth Minerals is BETTER than the brand i tried. I almost cant wait to run out of it so i can go back to Smooth Minerals again. Highly Recommend!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like, but....
By noturavggurlygurl
on February 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By noturavggurlygurl
Location:mobile al
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have been wearing this powder for five years now and I ALWAYS received compliments on my skin tone wearing the soft ivory shade. Since crossing the 30 marker I am noticing this powder will settle in fine lines actually highlighting them. I love the powder when first applied, but the settling in makes me very self conscious now."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love This!
By Cantina
on February 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By Cantina
Location:Wisconsin
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have always been a Cover Girl pressed powder user. I saw this in the brochure and decided to give it a try. It covers amazingly, is light weight on my skin and it does not give me the "overly made up look". I would recommened this and will definately purchase again."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!!!
By HarleyMama
on February 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By HarleyMama
Location:Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was skeptical about using this because of others I've used. I didn't want a powdery look like others leave. I will NOT run out of this & would definitely recommend. The small amount it gives in the container IS the perfect amount. I didn't think it would be but it is."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great as a facial highlighter!!
By Chococat
on February 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By Chococat
Age:16-24
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have a round face shape so I contour instead of covering up with foundation and i decided to use this as a highlighter/luminizer for its luminous effect.
I have a light skin tone and i use the Light Beige shade
So on top of the moisturizer and primer and after i contour with bronzer.. I apply Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation on my cheeks, forehead and chin except for my eyes (doesnt cover up my dark circles very well instead i use a concealer).
- although it is very lightweight the coverage is not bad and it last long barely need to reapply.
- free of oil and talc yet it does a good job on controlling oil buildup
- sensitive skin friendly; non irritant oh yeah
the price rocks but the quality is not cheap in my opinion. great for anyone who prefers a natural but luminous glow
i would absolutely recommend this!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Powder Foundation
By ama1012
on February 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By ama1012
Location:Illinois
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"When it comes to wearing makeup, I want something that is going to enhance my features greatly, but also look very natural. I feel like this foundation does just that. It goes on very light, but also gives you flexibility on how much coverage you wish to build. I love that it illuminates my features and gives me a very pretty and healthy glow. Not to mention it's good for my skin. Paired with the Smooth Minerals Blush, it is very pretty. I love the product, but do not love the container it comes in. It dispenses the application amount for you, which is actually a little more than I would normally use. I wish it did not come with this feature so that I could choose for myself how much I wish to dispense."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the product, not the package
By CherB
on February 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By CherB
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've been using this makeup for years and love it! What I really, really don't like is the container its in. When the makeup is almost gone its like that little plastic party favor where you try to get the ball in the hole. You can never get all the product out. And the cover is glued on so you can't unscrew it. Poor product design. The cap with the little holes like a shaker is much better. Or at least allow us to unscrew the cover in order to use all the makeup!
Thank you Avon for taking this into consideration."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It
By AvonFanOver50
on January 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By AvonFanOver50
Location:California
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love Avon's Smooth Minerals. It covers better than the "high"end" product. I have tried the matte formula by the other "high end" company, but it doesn't illuminate and provide that nice glow. I agree with the other person who has oily skin. I have extremely oily skin at the age of 52, which isn't necessarily a bad thing as I don't have any wrinkles. What I have found is by using a primer prior to applying the Smooth Minerals, and I use the Illumination Primer by Avon, that it helps keep the oil under control, and minimizes reapplying during the day. I will never use anything else. I always stock up when it is on sale."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not good for oily skin
By Aloya
on January 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By Aloya
Location:Houston, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this makeup. It covers so much better than the "prestige" brand of mineral makeup I use. Only problem is I have super oily skin and the high end brand comes in a matte version and this one does not so my face is oily before an hour after putting it on. PLEASE start making a matte version of this makeup!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazing product for a GREAT price!
By britdaw
on December 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By britdaw
Location:Fort Campbell, KY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I wanted to try a new mineral foundation, so I decided to try Avon's after reading reviews online. I'm so glad I did! I've found a new foundation that makes my skin look great without breaking my bank account! I have trouble skin, but I have not had any issues with breakouts since starting Smooth Minerals 2 months ago. It doesn't reflect the light as well as other brands I've tried, but you can easily use a highlighter along with this foundation to achieve that look. Great product! I've found a winner!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product!
By saj1117
on November 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By saj1117
Location:Lower Alabama
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this powder makeup. It's easy to apply without getting all over your fingers and fingernails. When I ran out I tried several things and spent way too much money tryig to replace it but couldn't find anything I even liked a little. I was very glad to see I could order it online. I won't run out again! Not as long as they are making it anyway."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Light Powder
By LHJones
on November 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By LHJones
Location:Sparks, NV
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I use this to lightly buff a layer over one of Avon's cream-to-powder foundations and I love it. Sometimes buffing powders on skin create an added dryness, but not with this. It does it's job of creating a flawless look and also manages to stay on all day and night."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wish it would have come with a brush
By Jany2012
on November 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By Jany2012
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like the product and the color is good"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Minerals Powder
By mocha1
on November 14, 2013
About the reviewer
By mocha1
Location:Baltimore, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"No other mineral powder compares to this product. Goes on very smooth and leaves your skin looking natural. No powdery residue or uneven skin tone. I absolutely love this product! Won't use any other mineral powders out there."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Foundation I Have Ever Found
By Rachel2010
on November 14, 2013
About the reviewer
By Rachel2010
Location:Boise, Idaho
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I don't really wear makeup. The most I wear usually is foundation. It was always hard to find a foundation that I liked until I ordered Smooth Minerals a few weeks before I graduated high school. Well, this is my 4th year of college and I still use Smooth Minerals because it is so great! And I've only had to reorder about 3 times over those years because of running out. It perfectly matches my skin tone always (somehow) and covers up all my blemishes. The powder is great because I hate the feel of liquid foundation. Great product. I hope they don't stop making it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this as my finishing powder
By VJACOBSON
on November 11, 2013
About the reviewer
By VJACOBSON
Location:Nashville.TN
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have issues with powder not covering well or caking up on top of my foundation. this is much better at setting my make up and keeping in set for hours."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too light for my pale skin
By AllieFallie
on November 1, 2013
About the reviewer
By AllieFallie
Location:Philadelphia
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This mineral powder is cakey and the color was far too light even for my pale skin. I would have sent this right back, but I tossed the packaging and return label before trying it out first. Silly me."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coverage!
By Christia1
on October 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By Christia1
Location:Oregon
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I use this product over my foundation to achieve a lovely complexion. Great coverage without being heavy. I also love the container. With the lid clicked down tight, give it a few good shakes and you have the perfect amount. No waste. Keep up the good work Avon."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>