Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Shake, swirl & blend. Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.285 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 611 reviews
5 Stars
359
4 Stars
148
3 Stars
49
2 Stars
29
1 Star
26
535 of 599(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
By Ricansistah
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Ricansistah
Location:Lugoff, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Love the product but hate the packaging. Need to go back to the old packaging. I have to fight to get powder out. Might have to break the container so I can get to the powder. Hope the problem be fixed soon. That's why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 stars."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Aharris
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Aharris
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have tried other loose powder foundations and, while they do their job, I have never tried anything as great as this product. It covers, it doesn't make my skin break out, it never looks cakey or heavy, and you absolutely cannot beat the price. I have recommended this to lots of people and they all love it. I'm never going back to the expensive powders!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really hope they never stop making this!
By greenmachinestl
on November 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By greenmachinestl
Location:St. Louis, MO, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I absolutely love this foundation. I combine colors during different times of the year for a simple perfect match to my skin color. My skin always looks even with smooth minerals powder foundation, and it feels soft to the touch. I love that I can't feel that I'm wearing anything when I have it on. It doesn't sweat off easily or cake up. You can even use concentrated dabs of the foundation as a cover up for blemishes. It's the best makeup find of my life! No exaggeration! Oh, and the more recent cap design really minimizes the mess of using a powder foundation because it only gives you small amounts at a time."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By OKmulerider
on November 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By OKmulerider
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
"While I love the product and have used it for several years, I HATE THE CONTAINER. Nearly impossible to shake enough makeup into the dispenser for usage. When it is nearly empty, I have mutilated the inside so I can use all the product. I know I am not the only person having this problem."
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE it
By emilyyyyyyyy
on October 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By emilyyyyyyyy
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
"the only makeup thAt doesn't break out my skin. also the coverage is awesome and it doesn't have the heavy feeling that liquid makeup does."
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it
By kjdyka
on October 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By kjdyka
Location:Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I love the new container so much easier to use love the product."
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this make-up
By dbeck7
on October 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By dbeck7
Location:North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I have been wearing this make-up since July of this year, and I have received so many compliments on how good my make-up looks. Doesn't break out my face and it covers the imperfections flawlessly. Will continue to wear this and won't consider anything else. It's a great product!"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love product, hate new container
By MNcustomer
on October 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By MNcustomer
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+22points
22OUT OF 22people found this review helpful
"I used to buy this all the time, but can't stand new package. Can't take top off to get all product out and don't feel it dispenses enough with one shake. Mirror is worthless, I bet if women who use this were polled, you would find 80 to 90% do NOT use that mirror. I hope you change the packaging so I can use it again."
+22points
22OUT OF 22people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the high priced mineral foundations
By mrsk524
on September 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By mrsk524
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
"This mineral foundation is AMAZING! It gives great coverage without looking cakey & completely covers the redness on my face. It doesn't irritate my skin or break me out like Bare Minerals did, and it's only a fraction of the price. I've even gotten compliments on my complexion when wearing this. It's so quick and easy to apply...I use the avon kabuki brush and it goes on beautifully."
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hate the package
By auntfe
on September 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By auntfe
Location:Morgantown, WV, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+25points
25OUT OF 25people found this review helpful
"I love the product itself, but I HATE the package. Unable to get all of the make-up out of the container. Bring back the old package. PLEASE!!!!!!"
+25points
25OUT OF 25people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it but packaging needs to be better
By klong
on September 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By klong
Location:North Stonington, CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+24points
24OUT OF 24people found this review helpful
"Love the coverage! The only problem with this item is the container it comes in. I need to blend two different colors to get the shade best for me. Being unable to open the top and simply get the amount I need to mix is very time consuming when the top will not unscrew off.
Please, please, please fix the container so we can unscrew the top and not have to shake it umpteen million times to get a decent amount to mix together."
+24points
24OUT OF 24people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Melasma, dark spots, age spots, coverage
By Sapodilla
on August 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Sapodilla
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"Absolutely the best coverage for Melasma or if you have dark spotson your face. I use sand beige to cover the spots first (the lighter shade) then pure beige over it and then buff lightly over the entire face with the darker shade (pure beige). I have olive /caramel skin tone complexion and it is the best make I have ever used. It stays well with moisturizer and sunblock and lasts all day. Play with the different types of brushes. I dab and then buff lightly. I sometimes spray some water or setting spray. I have been using this for 5.
years
"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the product
By mnmng
on August 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By mnmng
Location:Lewisville, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I really like the Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation. I do have problems with the dispenser - find it doesn't always work. Will continue using."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good product, terrible packaging
By ErniesGroveSue
on August 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By ErniesGroveSue
Location:Duvall, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+9points
10OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
"I used to love this mineral powder but the new packaging is terrible. At first I thought I could just take off the lid and transfer the powder to my old container but no, that lid just will not come off! Please Avon, bring back the old packaging! I will not purchase this until you do, and I really feel like I've wasted my money on product I can't use."
+9points
10OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best foundation
By BAkles
on August 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By BAkles
Location:Birmingham, AL
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I love this product. It gives me the right coverage and I love that. I don't care to look made up and this product is the best by far. Thanks for making such a wonderful product"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it but the container -- UGH!!
By mchele
on August 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By mchele
Location:shoreacres, tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I love this makeup for light weight and great coverage. My only problem is with the container. The old container was so much better. This design - you can't get the top off to access the makeup that doesn't get shifted out the little opening when the makeup gets very low. I end up having to break the top open to get to the remaining makeup. I think the old design with little holes worked much better. Unless you can make the container with removable top/lid."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the colors, don't like the "shimmer"
By Ardenmare
on July 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Ardenmare
Location:Elkton, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I tried this product, and liked the coverage, the packaging and the colors. I didn't like the fact that it has kind of a "shimmer" to it, and makes my face look kind of shiny. I like powder to give me a more matte finish, not add to the "shine." Wish there was a version without the "shimmer." I went back to using my old loose powder and gave away the smooth minerals."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural looking foundation
By CathieL
on July 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By CathieL
Location:East Hanover, NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this for the summer because it is so light weight on your skin. You get great coverage too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Coverage, Too Much Shine
By TheLadySkye
on July 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By TheLadySkye
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I love the buildable coverage and ease of use of this product. It's great to work with. However, I have dry skin, and this product is so shiny, it makes my skin look oily. It's a shame because I really like it. The pressed powder doesn't seem to have the same issue, so I mostly end up using that. But I like the application of this powder better and the coverage is better. Please dial back the shine in this one so I can use it more often.
Also, while the names might be the same, the shades of the loose powder vs. the pressed powder are NOT the same. The loose powder runs about two or three shades darker than the pressed, so I am always trying to find the right match. It can be quite frustrating. Better color matching would be awesome!"
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts all day
By Nubbin
on July 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By Nubbin
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I applied Avon elements spf 20 moisturizer and the smooth minerals foundation on top with some bronzer and Avon wash off waterproof mascara. Then I spent 8 hrs. in the rain with a Boyscout troop at a day camp. At the end of the day my make-up had not come off or run at all! Excellent products! I only put Avon on my face."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>