Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Foundation or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation

Get the perfect amount every time! No more mess, no more spills. Our innovative design dispenses a single application…with no waste. Medium coverage. Natural luminous finish. Now includes mirror. Made with pure mineral pigments for luminous color. Free of talc, oil and fragrance so it’s great for sensitive skin. .2 oz. net wt.* TO USE: 1. Flip open lid and remove the adhesive seal 2. Close lid and turn container upside down 3. Gently shake container back and forth to load powder 4. Turn container right side up and open lid 5. Swirl a brush on the dispensing surface to pick-up powder, apply in a circular motion 6. Repeat as necessary to get your desired look *Transparent Glow and Bronze are .12 oz net wt. Same amount of application as other shades.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 827 reviews
5 Stars
486
4 Stars
191
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
44
1 Star
38
730 of 827(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DomesticDeeva
Location:Seattle, WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Excellent Product, Especially for Sensitive Skin
Date:June 12, 2011
"I have very sensitive, very oily skin, and am olive/light in skin tone. I love mineral foundations as for me, they give the most natural finish. However, my skin is super sensitive and acne-prone and every mineral powder foundation I've tried makes my face itch and tends to settle in unwanted lines around my nose and lips after a few hours. Not the case with Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation from Avon. My favorite colors are Nude and Sand Beige as I can adjust the application/amount of these two colors to match my skin as it changes with the seasons. The coverage is moderate to start and you can build more coverage as necessary. This product is easy to apply and wonderful to wear as I don't feel it, it doesn't make my skin itch at all, and I have zero break outs from this make up. After wearing it for about an hour, my skin looks super natural and luminescent, especially when combined with the Avon Renew Rejuvenate regimen which also doesn't make my skin break out - another big plus. I am not a rep for Avon and I rarely write reviews as I rarely find products that truly deliver what they promise. I'm a tough customer to please as I have tough skin to deal with and I feel obligated to share positive feedback with others when I find something that makes me feel beautiful. I still need to use spot concealer for darker acne scars of which, the best I've found thus far is from Judith August cosmetics - it's called EraseZip Antiseptic Concealer. And although this product does not eliminate shine/oiliness, my skin tends to last longer with no shine when using this mineral foundation in comparison to all others I've tried (Bare Minerals, Bare Escentuals, L'oreal, etc.) I use Avon Ideal Shade Pressed Powder to combat shine, which works well enough, but still seeking something better."
Review 2 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimbercakes
Location:San Diego, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
I won't use anything else!
Date:April 12, 2012
"I have tried a lot of mineral powder foundations, from the big infomercial brands to mainstream cosmetic brands I've picked up at the drugstore in a pinch. Nothing, and I mean nothing, has compared to Avon Smooth Minerals. I've been using it faithfully from the time Avon first introduced it! Recently I ran out with no back-up (poor planning on my part), so I defaulted to using some old competitor brand of a cream-to-powder that I still had lying around. To my dismay it left a sticky film residue all over my cell phone after using it! YUCK! So I ran to the nearest drugstore and picked up another brand - a new one I hadn't tried before since I had yet to find a good drugstore brand. I found that this one, like all the others, barely offered any coverage at all. And then to add to my frustration, my face broke out!!!! That pretty much NEVER happens to me. I realized I was able to scrounge a little Avon powder left out of the bottom of my container and the difference was like night and day - it leaves my skin fully covered and still feels light and airy, not caked on. I cannot wait to receive my next Avon order and I'm stocking up this time, to avoid this dilemma in the future!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TiaF
Location:Glasgow, KY
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Best Foundation Ever
Date:February 7, 2012
"I have combination skin that is prone to breakouts, and even supposed "non-comodegenic" makeup can send my face into a breakout party. Avon's Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation is the first and only foundation I have ever used that doesn't upset my sensitive skin. I can even sleep in it and have no new breakouts when I wake up- previously unheard of for me! It took me a little bit of practice to perfect the application and blending method of this type of foundation, but now that I have the routine down, it might take me a total of 10 minutes to apply my foundation, blush, eyeshadow, and mascara! It's just that easy to use, once you figure out the blending technique. The price of this foundation can't be beat, and the quality is superb. It always looks natural, and brightens my pale/fair complexion. The coverage level is medium, so I can cover those places I don't want noticed pretty well, without looking fake. Even if I need to put on 3 or 4 layers, it never appears "caked-on". Usually one or 2 layers is sufficient coverage for me. It gives my face a healthy, radiant glow, and just makes me look fresh and lively all day."
Review 4 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neicag
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great makeup, not so great new container
Date:March 5, 2011
"I absolutely love your product!! It is inexpensive and does the job of the higher priced products on the market. I have a red scar above my eye and this makeup covers the best of all the makeup I have tried. However, I DO NOT like your new containers. I have to mix 2 shades to achieve the exact shade I need for my skin tone. Previously, I could take the sifter off, pour both shades in a small bowl, mix the powder with a small wire whisk and put it back in the jars and pop the sifter back on and walla, I had my perfect shade. With this new packaging, I about tore the lid up trying to get it off. When I finally got it to pop off, powder went everywhere. If you could create a lid that still had the same concept of the new packaging but screwed off instead of having to fight with it in order to get it open, that would be perfect for customers like me. That way it can be two fold, the right amount for those who don't want a lot of powder on the brush and for those who use a little more than usual or for ones who like myself have to mix the shades."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chip07
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Fantastic make-up. Poor packaging.
Date:October 12, 2012
"I love the Avon Mineral Powders make-up, they are soft, smooth and have great coverage. However, I wish that Avon would give us, the consumer, an added option to the packaging. A screw off lid as well as the dispensing unit that is built in. Why not have both in one package as I have read that some people love the dispensing as is. I am not one of those people. I spend more time shaking out what I need, and now that I am almost at the end of the make-up it is even harder still to dispense. This is what I have had to do: Take a small flathead screwdriver, put the container on its side then gently hit the screwdriver with a hammer around the edge where the container and the lid meet. Do this a few times around the edge, then you can pry the lid off, break off the silver dispensing mechanism, then pop the lid back on. Works wonders. I never had spills with my loose powder so why does Avon think their packaging is a solution to "no more spills, no more waste"?
This may sound troublesome to most, but I love the product enough to have to do this.
"
Review 6 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gavannah
Location:Wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
MUST HAVE product!!
Date:June 25, 2011
"This foundation is the best powder foundation I have ever found for less than $40!! It's equal to any department store foundation (even better than some!) but less than half the price! I used to use the colored foundation in Nude, but when winter came it gave me a sort of cake-y effect on my skin, probably just because I have SEVERELY dry skin in the winter...But I didn't want to stop using it, so I purchased the "clear" foundation in Transparent Glow, and it's THE BEST setting powder I have ever used! It's better than the Makeup Forever HD translucent powder!! It completely blends into any skin tone, even though it looks really light, it works for anyone and everyone! There's no color, so it really doesn't COVER, but it sets my concealer and tinted moisturizer really nicely and gives me a dewy look that's SOO natural! I used it all winter, and I don't think I'll ever purchase the colored foundation again! I'm just going to get the Transparent Glow forever!! :D Plus, it eliminates the need to match the shade to your skin! :)))"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lindy2468
Location:Michigan
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Best coverage, best makeup i ever used!
Date:February 28, 2012
"I tried loreal mineral powder makeup initially and the coverage was just 'ok', was too dry and flaked after a few hours. I decided to try Avons mineral makeup when it was on sale and I LOVE IT! The coverage is incredible, i have rosacea and it is nearly impossible to get good coverage over the reddish, purplish tones of my cheeks, nose and chin. I was so self concious and have always hated liquid and creme foundations, it always felt like i had a mask on my face that always ended up looking like a cheap fake tan 'orange'. I have never been happier than i am with this foundation. Its coverage is incredible and after i buff it in it gives my dry skin a wonderful 'dewey' appearance instead of the usual dry flaky look i get from other foundatons. I hope you never stop selling it and wish you would add more shades. I have fair skin and light hair and i used to use ivory but i switched to light beige and it gives me a nice sun kissed glow for summer, but i need a slightly pinker tone for winter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EffGee
Location:Los Angeles, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Awesome product, terrible packaging.
Date:August 8, 2013
"I've been using this foundation for years and I think it's great. I have oily skin and this works the best for me through out the year. It has great build-able coverage so you can go from sheer to full easily.
I'm glad that I'm not the only one that hates this packaging! When I first starting using this, the packaging had a screw off lid and the actual container had a guard to control how much product you wanted. I buy two shades to blend to the right color and this new packaging makes it a nightmare. It has this "mechanism" that's supposed to let out the right amount but it definitely does not. I fortunately still have a few of the old containers so I have to figure out a way to crack open these new containers and transfer the product. This packaging is so bad I almost don't want to buy it again, but you win Avon, the product is worth it.
I hope they change the packaging to the previous kind (The blush still comes in the old packaging!) but productwise alone, I do recommend it.
"
Review 9 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrissChick03
Location:Ohio
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Favorite Foundation =)
Date:May 6, 2011
"I just love smooth minerals foundation i use it all the time when i go out. I put on primer on my face first then i put on this foundation and it makes my skin looks so smooth and perfect. Everyone always saying wow your face looks flawless which really this foundation just covers up any type of flaw and makes your skin look so smooth and perfect. I love this foundation and expect to use this for a very long time.. The only thing i suggest is that you make sure you use moisturizer everyday or this foundation will make your skin look dry.. What i do is use moisturizer everyday and right before i use this foundation i wash my face and then put primer on my face and then put this foundation on and it stays like that all day.. I never really have to touch up my foundation because the primer helps out alot but either way i always keep a back-up foundation in my purse. I always have plenty of this foundation stocked up to use so i never run out and have to wait to order it again =)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wapdeedoo
Location:Colstrip, MT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love love love this makeup
Date:April 20, 2011
"I have been using this makeup for quite some time now, and LOVE it. I used to use bare minerals, but the price got to be too much, and it was way too "luminous" for my liking. I think that this makeup is absolutely perfect.
It's very easy to have sheer, light coverage, and just as easy to do a second sweep and have medium coverage without looking cakey. I do find that if I'm using a color that is a little too light for my skin, it will look cakey then. That's when I mix in some of a darker shade to get a custom color, which I cannot do with the new container :(
I have people compliment my SKIN and not my makeup. I also feel like it has evened out my skin tone...even after I take off the powder, my face looks so smooth and even!
LOVE the makeup, probably the best that I've used. The new container is great if you want to be carrying the powder around (but I use the pressed compact for my purse), otherwise the old container is so much better. Still, wouldn't pass up this makeup!
"
Review 11 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WarriorPrincess
Location:Somewhere in the Buckeye State
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best Mineral Makeup Ever, But...
Date:February 20, 2013
"I hate the packaging. I've been using Avon's Smooth Minerals for years. I tried a couple of others and wasn't really happy with either one. Then my friend and Avon rep told me (years ago) that Avon makes a mineral makeup too. As usual, I could return it if I didn't like it. Well, I fell in love and have been using it ever since.
When the packaging was changed, I was really annoyed, because I mix two different shades. After reading some of the reviews from customers who have the same problem, I wanted to share my solution.
I remove the lids/covers from both shades. Then I take both and mix them in one of the old containers that I still had when the packaging changed. If you don't have an old container, any empty one with a lid will do. You have to dip your kabuki brush into the minerals, but you're going to tap it off anyway, since layering is the key to good coverage.
Hope this helps and keep using the best mineral makeup in the fashion world! Thanks, Avon."
Review 12 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mari357
Location:Virginia
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Worth Ten Stars
Date:June 12, 2014
"This is one of the best foundations I have ever used, and at my age, I have used many of them. I tried the famous name brand more than ten years ago, and my face erupted in protest. It was a bad experience, and it took so long for my face to clear up, especially the area around my nose, that I stopped using anything on my face, except blush. I decided to try this one because Avon's products are excellent and despite having sensitive skin, Avon products have never given my skin any problems. I ordered Transparent Glow and it blends in well with my pale skin. It gives me a very fresh look and I don't look like I am wearing foundation. I just look like I have naturally smooth pretty skin. I don't leave the house without Magix Skin Perfector and Smooth Minerals on my face. This stuff is just amazing. You get great coverage at a great price, and you don't look anything but perfectly natural. I am totally sold on this, and it will always be on my makeup shelf."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrissChick03
Location:Ohio
Age:16-24
Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Date:June 15, 2011
"I already wrote a review on this product (So if you look it up you see all the tips i give you to have this product work perfect for you.)
Well what i forgot to put on my review is if your in a hot area and cant get near anything to cool you down like a/c or a fan. This product will seriously feel like its melting off your face. lol it is not a good thing. So when i wear this makeup im always making sure its going to be a cool day or making sure im near a a/c lol. When you sweat (from a hot day or whatever) this just melts off your face and then you have a messy job to clean it up with haha so i usually will grab a tissue and keep it with me in case of a emergency and i need to pat my face down.
But i do recommend this product though no matter what (just like my other review says) It covers up all types of flaws and makes your skin look so smooth and perfect. I dont see me using any other foundation for a long time besides this one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dontlikethecold
Location:Olathe, KS
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Thought the Packaging Would Have Changed By NOW
Date:August 10, 2013
"Wow, Avon, disappointed. I found this makeup about five years ago and fell in LOVE. I would mix up the light and sand beiges to make a perfect combo and sometimes use a little of the translucent powder to even it out. I got so many compliments on my "perfect" skin, but what I loved most is how easy it was to apply the product, even if it was a bit messy. I haven't used it since the container/dispenser changed. It is nearly impossible to get anything out at all, and in the morning the last thing I wish to do is be frustrated by my makeup container. Reading all the reviews on here about great product bad package, I would have thought you'd HEAR us. I am going to the Caribbean in October and thought this makeup would be PERFECT for the hot and humid conditions there. Now that I see you have not changed the dispenser, I will be buying mineral makeup elsewhere. Disappointed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kultamintlo
Location:Conway, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best powder ever!
Date:August 24, 2012
"I saw all the great reviews for this and I am a fan of the Smooth Minerals Blush, and felt I couldn't go wrong with a powder foundation. I actually got this only to try it out and see if i would like it. really didn't need to buy any foundation, but I tried it out and I love it!! The packaging is terrible, though. You can't twist off the top (or at least I can't) and you cant get any powder out, so what I do is I took the rubber piece that's on the lid (where the mirror is) took it off, and let the stick piece keep the container open for powder to come out as the compact is closed, shook it really good, and opened it back up and got my powder out that way. They should have thought of a better way to get powder out cause this is just ridiculous. Other than that, this is the best foundation you'll ever use. Very light-weight and gives you almost an airbrush finish."
Review 16 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chococat
Age:16-24
Skin type:Combination
Great as a facial highlighter!!
Date:February 10, 2014
"I have a round face shape so I contour instead of covering up with foundation and i decided to use this as a highlighter/luminizer for its luminous effect.
I have a light skin tone and i use the Light Beige shade
So on top of the moisturizer and primer and after i contour with bronzer.. I apply Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation on my cheeks, forehead and chin except for my eyes (doesnt cover up my dark circles very well instead i use a concealer).
- although it is very lightweight the coverage is not bad and it last long barely need to reapply.
- free of oil and talc yet it does a good job on controlling oil buildup
- sensitive skin friendly; non irritant oh yeah
the price rocks but the quality is not cheap in my opinion. great for anyone who prefers a natural but luminous glow
i would absolutely recommend this!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
norahs
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love the makeup, Love the case
Date:September 13, 2012
"I previously used BM and switched to save money and wanted to be able to order when I wanted instead of automatically having it shipped to me. I am so happy I switched!! Love the makeup and the coverage. I was hesitant because of the negativity to the new case, I never used the old case but love the new one. When I need more powder I hold the lid closed without snapping it shut, flip it once and when I open it the perfect amount is dispensed. Yes the mirror gets some powder on it but if I am ever in a situation that I need to use the tinny mirror I will brush it off with my makeup brush and be glad it is there. I could see how when the powder is low it may be difficult to dispense it but I was able to easily twist the top off so when that time comes I will add the rest of the powered to a new case."
Review 18 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MNMom3
Location:Minnesota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Date:May 11, 2013
"I love mineral foundation. I have dry skin and liquid foundations leave little flakes on my skin. Mineral foundations give great coverage over red areas and don't leave flakes or creases. Both of my teenage daughters also wear it daily and they get great coverage over any acne problems that occur. I have fair skin and I start with light beige to cover any redness and then top it off with nude to keep my lighter tone. The only thing I don't like is the packaging. It was a great idea in theory, but the dispenser doesn't allow you to completely use up the product. I would rather see a container with a removable lid (so I can use it to tap my brush in) and an insert that slides open and shut so you shake out the amount you want, but you can also close it and it won't spill when traveling."
Review 19 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginjerrr
Location:Colorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best foundation I've used
Date:October 25, 2013
"I've tried many different foundations, liquid and powder, often using both. However, this product is my absolute favorite, it covers wonderfully for a flawless matte finish. It works so well to cover my blemishes that I often don't need liquid or concealer underneath. It's the only foundation I've found that really matches my skin tone almost perfectly. Using it has made my skin softer and healthier, but I sometimes get oily skin and have to reapply to reduce shine.
My only problem is with the packaging. The product doesn't always come through the tiny hole very much, or falls back in the container. I also wish the lid screwed off easily to get the remaining product when you almost run out. (I usually have to force it open with different tools to get the last bits out."
Review 20 for Smooth Minerals Powder Foundation
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TheLadySkye
Great Coverage, Too Much Shine
Date:July 8, 2014
"I love the buildable coverage and ease of use of this product. It's great to work with. However, I have dry skin, and this product is so shiny, it makes my skin look oily. It's a shame because I really like it. The pressed powder doesn't seem to have the same issue, so I mostly end up using that. But I like the application of this powder better and the coverage is better. Please dial back the shine in this one so I can use it more often.
Also, while the names might be the same, the shades of the loose powder vs. the pressed powder are NOT the same. The loose powder runs about two or three shades darker than the pressed, so I am always trying to find the right match. It can be quite frustrating. Better color matching would be awesome!"