Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara

Available in Black only. Wears beautifully all day. Streak-free mascara that will weather the weepiest of movies. Washes away with soap and water. .21 oz. net wt.
Overall rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 677 reviews
5 Stars
531
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
18
1 Star
22
601 of 645(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Review 21 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed
By: Chell65
on December 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Chell65
Age:45-54
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I was so excited to try this product because of all the great reviews, but I'm sadly disappointed. While it does stay on through anything, it doesn't come off with the makeup remover I've been using for years. I have to use soap and water which dries my skin. After removing it, I end up with flakes all around my eyes. If I don't pay enough attention and get them all off, I end up with them in my eyes. The negative far outweighs the positive for me, so I won't purchase this again. "
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mascara out there
By: OceanRoses
on December 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By: OceanRoses
Location:Ma
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I have been buying this mascara for years, I don't think you can find a better one no matter what you pay. I have tried them all and this one is the best. I can be sensitive to some mascaras and this one never causes any problems at all. I don't know what I would do if Avon ever tried to stop making this mascara.It does not clump lashes together and does separate lashes nicely. It stays on as long as you want it to and then washes off easily.Wonderful product! "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love, love, love...
By: PamelaRG
on December 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By: PamelaRG
Location:PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I love this mascara and have been using it for more than 10 years. It doesn't clump or flake and stays on all day. It washes off easily at the end of the day with soap and water or simple cleansing wipes without hard rubbing. I miss it not being available in the brown-black shade but wouldn't change to a different mascara just because of that. It is by far the best on the market and at a great price. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Mascara
By: Happy03
on December 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Happy03
Location:Thiells, NY 10984, USA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" At my age, I do not need to be rubbing my eyes to remove mascara from my eyes. With this Mascara, I don't have to worry about it running and it's very easy to remove. just a little face wash and water does the trick. I highly recommend "
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mascara Ever!
By: Garlin
on November 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Garlin
Location:Macomb, MI 48042, USA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" I have been using this mascara for several years and I wouldn't use anything else. It stays on if there are tears, but washes off with facial cleaner and water. My daughter and granddaughter use it, too. We love it! "
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mascara EVER!
By: Rosie1234
on November 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Rosie1234
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I love this mascara!! It dries quickly, does not smudge, and is easily removed. I have used it for over two years and it has passed the tear test time and time again. I love it so much it is "My Favorite Thing" Christmas gift this year at Bunco!! Thanks for offering a quality product at an affordable price! "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweatproof!
By: AngInTampa
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By: AngInTampa
Location:Tampa, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I've been searching for a great waterproof/sweatproof mascara for years and I finally found it! This mascara is legit! I do HIIT (high intensity interval training), running, and crossfit workouts and this mascara hasn't failed me. Over that last 5 years, I have many mascara fails where when I finally looked in a mirror #well after my workouts), I had mascara running down my face. I was hesitant to buy this as I associated Avon with "grandma-products", but so far everything has been great and priced very reasonably. I've paid very high department store prices in search of good mascaras in the past that didn't perform as good as this one does. I should note that I also bought the waterproof glimmersticks and they are awesome as well!
No disrespect meant with the "grandma-products." I use that term because my grandmother was the only person I ever knew who ordered Avon while I was growing up. I'm fully on board now and will be testing the foundations once I receive my next order. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not as good as it once was
By: michelle1234567
on November 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By: michelle1234567
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" i've been buying this mascara for years and have loved it. but the last few tubes have been smudging. by the end of the day i have black smudges under my eyes. whatever you did to this please for the love of all women who cry change it back. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product
By: PRSD
on November 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By: PRSD
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I always keep this baby in stock. It's the best mascara out there. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best mascara I ever used
By: Metz
on November 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Metz
Location:Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" Have used wash off water proof mascara going on 15+ years. Tried so many different mascara before finding this. Never smears under the eye (no raccoon eyes). Glides on without clumping. Perfect for contact wearers or any crying event! Please Avon never stop making this mascara! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing - the best mascara for all occasions!
By: Rusty65
on October 15, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Rusty65
Location:Colorado
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+11points
11OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
" We suffered a loss and all of us women in the family started using this product. The benefits are there, no racoon eyes from crying!. On top of this it applies perfectly! Lifts and seperates and gives a beautiful naturally lovely eye. No clumping! We all get compliments.
Suggest you include it in your mascara sales more often for those of us who use it daily year around. It has not been included in the sales for the past several months.
"
+11points
11OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Mascara
By: MJBling
on October 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By: MJBling
+9points
10OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
" This is the best mascara I have ever used and I have tried them all. Lengthens, separates, lasts all day without smudging and washes off easily. Love it! "
+9points
10OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does Not Come Off - Ever!
By: oakland
on October 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By: oakland
Location:Columbus, OH, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" Based on all these other reviews it may just be me, but I had to stop using this mascara after the first week because I could not remove it at night. When my regular facial cleanser didn't work, I used the Avon make-up remover wipes. They didn't work much better, and I was now rubbing so hard that I was starting to lose eyelashes in the process, so I just had to toss it. I was really disappointed because I wear contacts and was so tired of the under-eye smudge that developed through the day, but if it won't come off at night without removing a few eyelashes as well, it's not worth it for me. I've never had this much trouble removing any other waterproof mascara. "
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Mascara!
By: CaramelCowgirl
on September 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By: CaramelCowgirl
Location:Westminster, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" Hope y'all never get rid of this one. You don't have to marinate your lashes in eye makeup remover to remove this mascara like you do with regular waterproof mascaras. Thanks Avon! "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
By: Meri7
on August 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Meri7
Location:Lexington, KY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
" This is the best mascara in the world! I have been using it since 1985 and I still get asked every month by someone what mascara I use. I always tell them it's Avon's Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara. I love this mascara and have tried a few other mascaras over the years and have never found another one that I like. Now, I just don't try other mascaras because I know that they won't live up to this one! Please don't ever discontinue it!!!!!!! "
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever Mascara!
By: Coloradogram
on August 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Coloradogram
Location:Colorado
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+11points
11OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
" I have been wearing this wash-off waterproof mascara for years and years. But I am sooo disappointed that you have dropped the brown-black shade. I am a very fair-skinned blonde and the black is just too harsh for me. PLEASE bring this product back in the brown-black shade ~ you will make
this, and many other, long-time Avon customers very happy.
"
+11points
11OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best mascara out there
By: TOVTer
on August 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By: TOVTer
Location:Vermont
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I have been using this for years, and after trying other brands I keep coming back to Avon. I do wish Avon would bring back the Brown-Black color choice, though. Sometimes I want a softer look. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mascara
By: Devoted
on August 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Devoted
Location:Seattle, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I've been using this mascara for a very long time. I try others only because this one sadly does not come in brown or brown/black any more. I'm very fair with blonde lashes and brows so black is a bit harsh for me. I wear contacts and have no issue with flaking or smudging. Great product! "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wash Off Waterproof Mascara
By: WateryEyes
on August 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By: WateryEyes
Location:Omaha, NE
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
" This is the only mascara I can wear. I'm allergic to the eye make-up removers for waterproof and I have allergy eyes that water all the time. I've worn it for years and loved it, but then about 2 years ago they stopped making it in brown/black or brown. I'm blonde and the black is too harsh for my skin tone. I've been searching for another mascara that won't make me look like a raccoon, but with minimal luck. Guess I'll have to look overdone with the black and get use to my "goth" look. Bring back the BROWN!!!! Please!!! "
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wash-Off Waterproof Mascara
By: Jonesebugcat
on August 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Jonesebugcat
Location:Baltimore, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have been using this mascara for almost 25 years. I have tried many different brands over the years but I always order several months worth of the Avon Wash-Off Waterproof, so that when the others disappoint, I have a tube of this handy! It is the bomb! The wand is wonderful, the formula too! Please bring back Brown/Black!!! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 30 next>>