Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop mascara or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ExtraLasting Mascara

Average Customer Rating:
2.895 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
10
2 stars
15
1 star
23
34 of 76(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ExtraLasting Mascara
Review 21 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
eab21
Location:Sacramento, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Not great at all
Date:September 2, 2012
"I could say that this is possibly one of the worst avon mascaras I have ever purchased. I have several complains about it, it smells funny almost like a sharpie pen and when you put it on it feels like it might be burning, it might not be but the smell makes you feel that way. Then it dries and it flakes. When you try to wash it off it smudges and breaks your lashes. I can't say much about the wand or the desired effect, there really isn't much effect at all. But even if it made a nice look, I don't think it would be worth dealing with all the other inconveniences."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sun2Dance
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
clumpy with lousy brush
Date:August 16, 2012
"The brush is awful. You could hardly even say it has bristles. It leaves tiny little balls of mascara on my eyelashes. I have to use my husbands mustache comb from his grooming kit. My favorite mascara is Avon's "wash off waterproof" mascara, but since they have decided to quit selling Brown, I was forced to try a different mascara. I have translucent blonde eyelashes & eyebrows. I only wear black when I'm wearing very dark clothes and eye shadow. I need brown for everyday usage."
Review 23 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blondie2516
Location:Urbana, Ia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love this product
Date:August 1, 2012
"I really like this stuff and it stays on even when you are out in the water."
Review 24 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ramsey
Location:Tacoma, WA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Lasts, lasts, lasts!
Date:July 30, 2012
"Love this mascara because it stays on all day- no smudging under my eyes and no flaking--ever! I've worn it during super long days for a full 24 hours and it was still going strong!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hatethisproduct
Racoon Eyes
Date:July 28, 2012
"This product rubs off onto your skin after only a few hours of wear and leaves you with raccoon eyes. I would not recommend it."
Review 26 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awads
Location:washington,d.c.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
as advertised!
Date:July 23, 2012
"this mascara does what it says it's going to do: stays on all day and really lengthens lashes. it's tough to wash off, but that's what being waterproof means! love it."
Review 27 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BellaDolce
Location:Mount Clemens, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good Mascara
Date:July 12, 2012
"Dark medium complexion, 49 year old female in the midwest. Ordered the brown mascara and it looks nice, wears all day even through the heatwave weeks we just had. My eyes are sensitive so I did react to the ingredients when my eyes teared up (environmental allergies cause the tearing) but no other side effects experienced. Good mascara; I like the thin formula compared with the high-end thick and clump-prone formulas. I'm able to build on the layers if desired with this formula."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
doesnt keep a curl much!
Date:June 18, 2012
"I wasnt really impressed with this product. This was waterproof and did stay on, even into the next day, but the curl factor was not there for me. its good if you dont curl your lashes and looking for staying power with this mascara."
Review 29 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kbprice376
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
not a fan
Date:June 11, 2012
"Found this mascara to do the same as most mascara's and give me raccoon eye. I thought this one would stay on. It didn't"
Review 30 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Smepper
Age:35-44
Not clump free!
Date:June 6, 2012
"This would be the perfect mascara if it didn't clump. I don't wear mascara that often because I can't seem to find one that doesn't clump. I only need it to make my lashes stand out cuz I have naturally long & full lashes. My search continues."
Review 31 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JanT56
Location:Ludington, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Doesn't go on smooth
Date:May 22, 2012
"The Extra Lasting mascara was alright, but didn't go on smooth enough for full coverage, which is what I need to cover my blonde eyelashes. I have a hard time finding mascara that doesn't clump and just goes on smooth, and doesn't give my eyes a fake look."
Review 32 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LRBrandt
Location:Fort Myers, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Worst Mascara to Date
Date:May 21, 2012
"I have tried many mascaras that claim to be "Long Lasting". This was the "Shortest Lasting" mascara I have tried, of any brand. Within an hour, there were black streaks on my upper eyelids and below my eyes. This was with a light coat.
Miffed by it being an Avon product, tried it again. Same results.....
"
Review 33 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honeycat
Location:Southern California
Date:May 11, 2012
"I bought this because it comes in brown which is a hard to find shade, usually everything is in black or brown-black. I didn't notice when I bought it that it's waterproof, which I normally don't use, but this mascara gives me long gorgeous fluttery lashes as promised. I love the brush but it seems needle sharp so I have to be careful when applying. And when they say waterproof, they mean it. It wears well but it's extremely hard to wash off."
Review 34 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FillyGirl
HELP!
Date:May 8, 2012
"Can anyone tell me how in the world you remove this mascara? I have tried Avon's own mascara remover, two expensive ones that are rated among the "top best five", and the drug store brand that says, "Best selling mascara remover in America!"
I am losing all my lashes trying to get this mascara off. Some break off midway out... NEVER had THAT before! With its being so hard to remove, it's surprising that it will still transfer to underneath the lower lashes while wearing -- creating that "raccoon look"; ugg!
I like the way it goes on, but I don't like LOSING LASHES! (Who does??) I need to know how to get this stuff off. Any help appreciated - thank you!
(P.S. Just FYI, I cannot use petroleum jelly, per Dr's orders, b/c of a specific eye problem.)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Summergril
eh...
Date:April 19, 2012
"I heard great things about this mascara, but was not impressed. I can't say that it made my lashes look fuller, but it sure make them feel HEAVY! Over all I don't like the way it feels on my lashes. I'll finish using the product but I'll try a different type next time."
Review 36 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LMVBaltimore
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Not my favorite
Date:April 15, 2012
"I have a hard time finding just the right mascara. Tried this one, but it is too waterproof! Very difficult to remove even with the eye makeup remover. I feel like it is never completely off, then she you put more on, your lashes are clumpy from the last time. Seems like I have lost more lashes than usual since I've been using it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MShellD
Location:Boston, MA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Not a good mascara
Date:April 13, 2012
"I don't know why more cosmetic companies don't make brown mascara, but as a result, we're forced to buy whatever is offered. This mascara's brush is teeny tiny and hard to manipulate, therefore making it very hard to apply the mascara. In addition, you can't sandblast this stuff off of your eyelashes - two face washings and eye makeup remover could not get this mascara off of my lashes.
If you want mascara that's hard to apply and that does not come off, this is the stuff for you! Once Avon did away with Astonishing Lengths mascara, I was forced to purchase this. It's back to the drawing board for me!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LIGirl
Location:Long Island,NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Choose another product
Date:April 7, 2012
"This mascara looks goes on clumpy and at the end of the day it is impossible to get off. Do youself a favor choose a different mascara."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NLC82
Location:Lansing, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
.
Date:April 7, 2012
"I got this mascara in the ExtraLasting four piece collection from the outlet and I love it! This will replace my waterproof SuperSHOCK mascara (which I did love), the brush size is smaller and the bristles are spread out more to separate and coat the lashes evenly without chunks. I love the fact that when I use this mascara my lashes are still flexible and not crunchy, and when dried it gave my lashes a slight curl :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for ExtraLasting Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EB1958
Just Awful
Date:April 1, 2012
"The XLasting Mascara is awful. For someone like me who hardly has any eyelashes it wanted to clump the few I have together and it was very hard to get them apart and it didn't want to come off once you had it on. The Avon eye makeup remover (small white bottle) which works wonders on other mascaras wouldn't even take off the mascara. So I just threw out the mascara so I wouldn't accidentally pick it up by mistake."