Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Styling Products or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel

Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
11 of 20(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another GREAT Product Axed by Avon :(
By pamalerrata
on July 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By pamalerrata
Location:mesa, az
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the all-time BEST hair gel for curly hair...it is the perfect tool for the "Curly-girl" method. WHY oh WHY does Avon discontinue products that are life-savers. It is a mystery. I even got my Curly-girl friends to use it. Now we are using second-rate products. AVON - BRING IT BACK!!!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please, please bring it back!
By tiss
on July 19, 2013
About the reviewer
By tiss
Location:Wisconsin
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Oh my! What will I use now! The ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel was wonderful for my hair.
It's long, very fine and curly, and I've not found another product with the same light weight anti frizz control. Even when blow drying!!! I love this product and have another friend who does as well!!! Please bring it back!!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't believe this is no longer available!
By fiddler
on July 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By fiddler
Location:Huntington, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have found this to be the best product for defining and maintaining my curls without the frizz, and I came online to order it and find it's no longer available! Please, please! Bring it back!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Get better packaging
By Angie5681
on July 2, 2013
About the reviewer
By Angie5681
Location:Indianapolis, in
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love the product, but it needs to be in a pump. I even went so far as to call the customer service line and mention that about a year ago, but no change. It is a great product, but always spills on the counter because it is so thin."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
frizz bomb
By Ezmajrelda
on January 3, 2013
About the reviewer
By Ezmajrelda
Location:Orlando
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"So dissapointed that they no longer carry what worked wonderfully, I tried the foam, meh, and now the gel. It is so thin it oozes out of the container when you put in down. And it just does not work. My hair was already getting frizzy when it was half dried and I had lotus shield on. Its like it made my hair worse both times I tried it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally something I like for my natural curls!
By aliprobaby
on September 23, 2012
About the reviewer
By aliprobaby
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this product. Other ones left my hair too stiff. This can be stiff if you use too much. When that has happened, I was easily able to thin it out with a little water. I have natural curls and this brings out the best in them. If my hair starts looking a little tired throughtout the day, I just put a little water on my hair, scrunch and this product gets rehydrated and my hair gets fixed."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too runny
By aesmith
on August 21, 2012
About the reviewer
By aesmith
Location:Rhode Island
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"While the product does keep frizz at bay and gives my waves some definition, the gel is super runny. I end up with it all over the counter before I can get the cover back on. I miss the Advanced Technique curl defining lotion. It worked as well, but was a better texture."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not great, but good
By BekahR
on July 30, 2012
About the reviewer
By BekahR
Location:WV
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like this product and would recommend it; however, I would suggest that Avon change the type of bottle it comes in. The product is very thin and runny (which isn't necessarily bad) but because of this it is VERY easy for the product to run out of the bottle all over the place. I would suggest that they put it either in a pump bottle or have a flip-top cap. Now that I've voiced my complaint I will say that I absolutely LOVE the smell of this product. It reminds me of high-end hair care products. Also, I really like that it does not make my hair crunchy or stiff."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gooey, sticky and messy.
By Fernanda2013
on July 13, 2012
About the reviewer
By Fernanda2013
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Its really watery, leaves horrible residue, and leaves my hair sticky and weighed. 2 stars cause I love the smell."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HOW TO USE THIS PRODUCT
By CurlyHairGirl
on July 2, 2012
About the reviewer
By CurlyHairGirl
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Ok girls..This product is GREAT!!!!!. You must however know how to use it correctly. Apply a quarter size amount in your palm and rub your hands together.Rub it throughout your hair. Do this many times to different sections of your hair. You must spread the gel throughout all areas of your hair to get maximum results. Let your hair dry. Once your hair is dry you must apply a little bit again. Then to tame the frizz just wet your hands a little bit and run them through your hair. This product holds great,creates beautiful curls, and does not allow your hair to frizz after a long day. If you do get any frizz later in the day just wet your hands and run them through you hair again or apply a little more. This product does not create any residue on your hair. It is better then Goldwell Curl Kick, KMC California,or the CurlySexy line products and is half the cost.The only thing Avon needs to do is create a different type of bottle for it. It is runny and that makes it hard to use the tube, but you would rather have it runny then thick.Thick cream products leave residue and Mousse creates volume.I have tried EVERY curl product out there. This Rocks!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
keeps the frizz away and leaves hair soft & bouncy
By MrsCatieM
on February 26, 2012
About the reviewer
By MrsCatieM
Location:pierpont, ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I do agree that it is a bit runny, so because of that I pour it in my palm and spread it evenly throughout my hair (like leave in conditioner) other than that, I LOVE it. I have natural never colored culry red hair and it can be flat out unruly. This (I also use the anti frizz conditioner, shampoo, treatment, and hair spray) leaves my hair very soft and my wavy curls look awesome. I will order again for sure."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bring the mousse back
By curlygoldy
on January 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By curlygoldy
Location:TT
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"the Advance Techniques Curl Control Curl Shaping Mousse worked much better and all my curly haired clients are asking for it and i have to disappoint them. Bring the Mousse back!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
did not work for me
By amani
on January 6, 2012
About the reviewer
By amani
Location:uniondale, ny
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"my hair has a wave to it. it curls and straight perfectly...gel was very watery, did not hold my curls at all...it weighs my hair down..."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
soft
By Kitty86
on January 6, 2012
About the reviewer
By Kitty86
Location:Southeast
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have naturally curly hair and usually end up just frizzy, or have to use mousse or the thicker gel that dries hard. While i was not in love with this stuff at first, it is just enough to keep the frizz at bay and my hair is still soft to the touch and i can still mess with it enough afterwards to pull part of it back, etc. if i still want to afterwards.
Word to the wise - i don't think this is a product that is meant to withstand heat instruments. Who puts gel in their hair and then uses a curling iron, flat iron, etc?
Also, as this is a bit runnier than normal gel (which i think is why it is still soft), my main gripe is that it would be better packaged in a pump container than in a tube. I usually end up spilling some trying to cap the tube after putting some in my hands to use."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Like glue
By dmc763
on December 28, 2011
About the reviewer
By dmc763
Location:Michigan
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I do not like this product at all. It's very runny and not easy to distribute through hair evenly. Once a curling iron hits it, it turns to glue in your hair. It also made my hair very dry and difficult to style."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too wet...not enough hold.
By PeacenLove786
on December 12, 2011
About the reviewer
By PeacenLove786
Location:Chicago, IL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This gel had to go back. It is too watery and there isn't enough hold. I have thick, curly, frizzy hair and this did absolutely NOTHING for me."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra curl
By Shaleigh17
on October 4, 2011
About the reviewer
By Shaleigh17
Location:Mukwonago WI
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have naturally curly hair and have tried many different products over the years looking for the right balance between curl definition and anti-frizz. This product is it!! Even in very humid weather, this gel keeps my hair frizz free and still have bouncy curls. I would recommend this product for anyone with naturally curly hair."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too thin
By jeannette
on August 28, 2011
About the reviewer
By jeannette
Location:Gillette, WY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product works but it is too thin and runs off your fingertips. It would be easier to apply if it were a cream."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Eh
By SCS20
on August 19, 2011
About the reviewer
By SCS20
Location:Washington
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I bought this so I could use it to get the scrunchy hair look but this product is not for that. Its very watery and doesn't hold very well for me. It gave me more of a messy beach look which was still pretty but not what I expected."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE IT
By Maricela
on August 3, 2011
About the reviewer
By Maricela
Location:Illinois
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"i have really puffy curl unmanageble hair,combine this with the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Anti-Humidity Firm Hold Hair Spray and it does a miracle.after i shower i apply this all over my hair,and then spray some of the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Anti-Humidity Firm Hold Hair Spray and walah.sexy looking curls.wished avon would have come out with these products sooner!!!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful