Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop stylers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel

Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
11 of 20(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamalerrata
Location:mesa, az
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Another GREAT Product Axed by Avon :(
Date:July 20, 2013
"This is the all-time BEST hair gel for curly hair...it is the perfect tool for the "Curly-girl" method. WHY oh WHY does Avon discontinue products that are life-savers. It is a mystery. I even got my Curly-girl friends to use it. Now we are using second-rate products. AVON - BRING IT BACK!!!!!"
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiss
Location:Wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Please, please bring it back!
Date:July 19, 2013
"Oh my! What will I use now! The ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel was wonderful for my hair.
It's long, very fine and curly, and I've not found another product with the same light weight anti frizz control. Even when blow drying!!! I love this product and have another friend who does as well!!! Please bring it back!!
"
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fiddler
Location:Huntington, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
I can't believe this is no longer available!
Date:July 17, 2013
"I have found this to be the best product for defining and maintaining my curls without the frizz, and I came online to order it and find it's no longer available! Please, please! Bring it back!"
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Angie5681
Location:Indianapolis, in
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Get better packaging
Date:July 2, 2013
"I love the product, but it needs to be in a pump. I even went so far as to call the customer service line and mention that about a year ago, but no change. It is a great product, but always spills on the counter because it is so thin."
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ezmajrelda
Location:Orlando
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
frizz bomb
Date:January 3, 2013
"So dissapointed that they no longer carry what worked wonderfully, I tried the foam, meh, and now the gel. It is so thin it oozes out of the container when you put in down. And it just does not work. My hair was already getting frizzy when it was half dried and I had lotus shield on. Its like it made my hair worse both times I tried it."
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aliprobaby
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Finally something I like for my natural curls!
Date:September 23, 2012
"I love this product. Other ones left my hair too stiff. This can be stiff if you use too much. When that has happened, I was easily able to thin it out with a little water. I have natural curls and this brings out the best in them. If my hair starts looking a little tired throughtout the day, I just put a little water on my hair, scrunch and this product gets rehydrated and my hair gets fixed."
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
aesmith
Location:Rhode Island
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Too runny
Date:August 21, 2012
"While the product does keep frizz at bay and gives my waves some definition, the gel is super runny. I end up with it all over the counter before I can get the cover back on. I miss the Advanced Technique curl defining lotion. It worked as well, but was a better texture."
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BekahR
Location:WV
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not great, but good
Date:July 30, 2012
"I like this product and would recommend it; however, I would suggest that Avon change the type of bottle it comes in. The product is very thin and runny (which isn't necessarily bad) but because of this it is VERY easy for the product to run out of the bottle all over the place. I would suggest that they put it either in a pump bottle or have a flip-top cap. Now that I've voiced my complaint I will say that I absolutely LOVE the smell of this product. It reminds me of high-end hair care products. Also, I really like that it does not make my hair crunchy or stiff."
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fernanda2013
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Gooey, sticky and messy.
Date:July 13, 2012
"Its really watery, leaves horrible residue, and leaves my hair sticky and weighed. 2 stars cause I love the smell."
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CurlyHairGirl
HOW TO USE THIS PRODUCT
Date:July 2, 2012
"Ok girls..This product is GREAT!!!!!. You must however know how to use it correctly. Apply a quarter size amount in your palm and rub your hands together.Rub it throughout your hair. Do this many times to different sections of your hair. You must spread the gel throughout all areas of your hair to get maximum results. Let your hair dry. Once your hair is dry you must apply a little bit again. Then to tame the frizz just wet your hands a little bit and run them through your hair. This product holds great,creates beautiful curls, and does not allow your hair to frizz after a long day. If you do get any frizz later in the day just wet your hands and run them through you hair again or apply a little more. This product does not create any residue on your hair. It is better then Goldwell Curl Kick, KMC California,or the CurlySexy line products and is half the cost.The only thing Avon needs to do is create a different type of bottle for it. It is runny and that makes it hard to use the tube, but you would rather have it runny then thick.Thick cream products leave residue and Mousse creates volume.I have tried EVERY curl product out there. This Rocks!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsCatieM
Location:pierpont, ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
keeps the frizz away and leaves hair soft & bouncy
Date:February 26, 2012
"I do agree that it is a bit runny, so because of that I pour it in my palm and spread it evenly throughout my hair (like leave in conditioner) other than that, I LOVE it. I have natural never colored culry red hair and it can be flat out unruly. This (I also use the anti frizz conditioner, shampoo, treatment, and hair spray) leaves my hair very soft and my wavy curls look awesome. I will order again for sure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
curlygoldy
Location:TT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
bring the mousse back
Date:January 12, 2012
"the Advance Techniques Curl Control Curl Shaping Mousse worked much better and all my curly haired clients are asking for it and i have to disappoint them. Bring the Mousse back!!"
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
amani
Location:uniondale, ny
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
did not work for me
Date:January 6, 2012
"my hair has a wave to it. it curls and straight perfectly...gel was very watery, did not hold my curls at all...it weighs my hair down..."
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kitty86
Location:Southeast
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
soft
Date:January 6, 2012
"I have naturally curly hair and usually end up just frizzy, or have to use mousse or the thicker gel that dries hard. While i was not in love with this stuff at first, it is just enough to keep the frizz at bay and my hair is still soft to the touch and i can still mess with it enough afterwards to pull part of it back, etc. if i still want to afterwards.
Word to the wise - i don't think this is a product that is meant to withstand heat instruments. Who puts gel in their hair and then uses a curling iron, flat iron, etc?
Also, as this is a bit runnier than normal gel (which i think is why it is still soft), my main gripe is that it would be better packaged in a pump container than in a tube. I usually end up spilling some trying to cap the tube after putting some in my hands to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dmc763
Location:Michigan
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Like glue
Date:December 28, 2011
"I do not like this product at all. It's very runny and not easy to distribute through hair evenly. Once a curling iron hits it, it turns to glue in your hair. It also made my hair very dry and difficult to style."
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PeacenLove786
Location:Chicago, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Too wet...not enough hold.
Date:December 12, 2011
"This gel had to go back. It is too watery and there isn't enough hold. I have thick, curly, frizzy hair and this did absolutely NOTHING for me."
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shaleigh17
Location:Mukwonago WI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Ultra curl
Date:October 4, 2011
"I have naturally curly hair and have tried many different products over the years looking for the right balance between curl definition and anti-frizz. This product is it!! Even in very humid weather, this gel keeps my hair frizz free and still have bouncy curls. I would recommend this product for anyone with naturally curly hair."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jeannette
Location:Gillette, WY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
too thin
Date:August 28, 2011
"This product works but it is too thin and runs off your fingertips. It would be easier to apply if it were a cream."
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SCS20
Location:Washington
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Eh
Date:August 19, 2011
"I bought this so I could use it to get the scrunchy hair look but this product is not for that. Its very watery and doesn't hold very well for me. It gave me more of a messy beach look which was still pretty but not what I expected."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Curl Defining Gel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maricela
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
LOVE IT
Date:August 3, 2011
"i have really puffy curl unmanageble hair,combine this with the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Anti-Humidity Firm Hold Hair Spray and it does a miracle.after i shower i apply this all over my hair,and then spray some of the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Frizz Control Anti-Humidity Firm Hold Hair Spray and walah.sexy looking curls.wished avon would have come out with these products sooner!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.