Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Color or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

Mosaic Effects Top Coat

Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
50 of 70(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Review 21 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JDALE
Location:Torrance, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Mosaic--effects
Date:November 1, 2012
"I like the textured looks of the topcoat. Because of the effect, I can re-coat my nails even after the tips of my nailpolish has been chipped."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
babygirl2
Location:hazard ky
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
awsome nail polish
Date:October 24, 2012
"I love these nail polishes. I ordered to and would buy more if I could a good deal on them. I have twin girls,they are 4 years old and they love them too."
Review 23 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SavvyChris
Location:Draper, UT
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Looks great!
Date:October 24, 2012
"I have the black and put it over a red for Halloween and it looks fantastic! I love it. Yes, the crackle nail polish is very thick. You need to make sure your nails are dry from the first coat and then apply the crackle as thin as you can. Mine turned out great."
Review 24 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenD
Location:Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Totally Awesome Nails!
Date:October 19, 2012
"This nail polish is great if you want to stand and try something new! I've only tried the Black Mosaic Effects, which looks great with white or a lighter shade underneath. But I think silver underneath might look neat also. If you follow these steps with patience, you'll have cool edgy nails!
Step 1 - Apply basecoat, allow to dry
Step 2 - Apply two coats of color and allow to DRY COMPLETELY
Step 3 - Apply Mosaic Effects in one THIN LAYER and watch it crackle like magic!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
janm
Location:Sparks NV
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Fun to use, great look
Date:October 1, 2012
"Love these, I have two colors, red and purple. I had tried using it over various nail enamel colors, but didn't like it until I tried it over the Licorice. It just works best over black for the contrast look. I may go with the white mosaic over colors for spring, but I do like the effect. No two nails ever look alike! Fun fun. Use Gloss Guard over it when dry for a nice shiny look and protective coat. Wears pretty well, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terin33
Location:Rural Pa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
fine art
Date:September 8, 2012
"I used the gold glimmer over "vintage boutique," and the gold looks fab. I think there must be a fine art to applying exactly the right thickness of the mosaic, though. Some nails or even portions of nails crackled much better than others due to the amount of polish that was applied. It was hard to get a complete stroke from base of nail to tip with the desired thickness/consistency. I think with more practice I will probably end up really loving this product."
Review 27 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
psycheskinner
Does the job, remember base coat!
Date:September 7, 2012
"I think some fo the low review are from people who don't realize you need to apply a base coat (or two) in a contrasting color first. The one quick coat of crackle, it works perfectly."
Review 28 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mimosa
Date:August 20, 2012
"This nail polish is too thick and it looks horrible.Won't buy it again."
Review 29 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
cocoaAA
Location:Knoxville,TN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
POOR
Date:August 19, 2012
"My daughter used this and it didn't work. I will not buy this again. I guess you get what u pay for."
Review 30 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Honeycat
Location:Southern California
Disappointed
Date:August 17, 2012
"I so wanted to like this after seeing the models in the Avon books with their trendy crackle nails. I tried the white color and when I put it on, it looked like dried crusty white-out or worse, bird droppings! I tried it over light nail polish and darker polish and the effect was the same horrible crusty look. It did crackle but from a slight distance, it looks like you've smudged your nail polish which is awful. I sent it back. I was tempted to exchange it for the gold crackle color but I knew better than to do that. I guess this stuff just isn't for me."
Review 31 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lilljays
Location:Upstate, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Not Recommended
Date:August 12, 2012
"I got the gold mosic top coat. I tried it on black polish, followed directions, and it just made a horrible mess. Mosic top coat is thick and hard to use. Won't buy again, and don't recommend it either."
Review 32 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ramirez
Location:corpus christi
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
love it
Date:August 10, 2012
"this product is awesome i love them compared to the nail glitter. i have the whole collection"
Review 33 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashlie
Location:North Carolina
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love the crackle finish!
Date:August 9, 2012
"I used crackle top coats in the past when they first came out with mixed results. When the fad came back I was a little leery of trying it again, but when I saw that Avon came out with glittery/shimmery colors, I had to give them a try. I got the fuchsia, purple, and silver.
The first time I applied it, I put on a thick base layer of lavender, then immediately applied a thick coat of the fuchsia. It was a mess! The crackle coat just mixed with the bottom layer and there was hardly any noticeable crackling effect. Then I read the directions! The next attempt I applied a thin base layer and LET IT DRY COMPLETELY. Then I played with the crackle coat, applying it thick and thin. I found that it works best with a somewhat thin layer, but a thick one will also crackle. You need to apply it in one or two quick strokes, don't layer it over itself or you will smudge the effect.
It can take some playing around, but follow the directions, let the base coat dry completely, and experiment with the thickness of the crackle coat. Don't give up!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ABTY
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Quality
Date:August 3, 2012
"I have used other crackle polishes and this is my favorite! It goes on well and dries with a great crackle finish. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the market right now. A great product!"
Review 35 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
KaylaY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Doesn't work
Date:July 29, 2012
"While the color is beautiful (I got the purple), it doesn't have a crackled/mosaic effect. It just goes on like normal nail polish (if not a little more clumpy). I tried a thin layer, thick layer, on dry polish, without polish, nothing worked.
Very disappointed, I was really looking forward to this! I have the same type of nail polish through other companies, but I spent more on it and they don't offer as many colors. I hope Avon fixes, if this actually worked I would buy all the colors!
"
Review 36 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reinke3
Like White Out
Date:July 23, 2012
"Even when using a thin coat as suggested, the result is like white out on my nails. It is not shiny or glossy at all. And no "crackle" whatsoever! I want my money back!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheekyOne
Location:Independence, Louisiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Mo-mo-mo Please!
Date:July 23, 2012
"Mosiac Effects, more please! I absolutely LOVE these crackle top coats. The possibilities are endless with a multitude of shades in Mosaic Effects! Doing my nails has become my little frame in time to be an artist.
My daughter loves me to paint her nails in rainbows. Yes, a rainbow on each nail. Add the Mosaic top coat and its an array of color. All her Friends love it too. Black was my first, but now I want them all!
Thanks Avon!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NCGal
Location:Holly Sprlng, NC
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
New colors are gorgeous SHIMMERS
Date:July 14, 2012
"I bought the black and white a long time ago and like them both better than the store brands I have tried. I just got the new COLORS yesterday and was pleasantly surprised to discover they are all SHIMMER shades. LOVE."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jiese
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Hate It!
Date:July 1, 2012
"is not how you think it would look just plain sticky and not happy with this purchase. just want my money back for it"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
teach2
Location:Central Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good product for price
Date:June 21, 2012
"I purchased this for my daughter. (11 years old) She loves it!! I think it does resemble white out a little, but she has also gotten better at applying it as she uses it more often. I don't think it's something I'd use, but it really works for my daughter!"