Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Color or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

Mosaic Effects Top Coat

Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
50 of 70(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Review 21 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mosaic--effects
By JDALE
on November 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By JDALE
Location:Torrance, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I like the textured looks of the topcoat. Because of the effect, I can re-coat my nails even after the tips of my nailpolish has been chipped."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome nail polish
By babygirl2
on October 24, 2012
About the reviewer
By babygirl2
Location:hazard ky
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love these nail polishes. I ordered to and would buy more if I could a good deal on them. I have twin girls,they are 4 years old and they love them too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks great!
By SavvyChris
on October 24, 2012
About the reviewer
By SavvyChris
Location:Draper, UT
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have the black and put it over a red for Halloween and it looks fantastic! I love it. Yes, the crackle nail polish is very thick. You need to make sure your nails are dry from the first coat and then apply the crackle as thin as you can. Mine turned out great."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Awesome Nails!
By JenD
on October 19, 2012
About the reviewer
By JenD
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This nail polish is great if you want to stand and try something new! I've only tried the Black Mosaic Effects, which looks great with white or a lighter shade underneath. But I think silver underneath might look neat also. If you follow these steps with patience, you'll have cool edgy nails!
Step 1 - Apply basecoat, allow to dry
Step 2 - Apply two coats of color and allow to DRY COMPLETELY
Step 3 - Apply Mosaic Effects in one THIN LAYER and watch it crackle like magic!
"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun to use, great look
By janm
on October 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By janm
Location:Sparks NV
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Love these, I have two colors, red and purple. I had tried using it over various nail enamel colors, but didn't like it until I tried it over the Licorice. It just works best over black for the contrast look. I may go with the white mosaic over colors for spring, but I do like the effect. No two nails ever look alike! Fun fun. Use Gloss Guard over it when dry for a nice shiny look and protective coat. Wears pretty well, too."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fine art
By Terin33
on September 8, 2012
About the reviewer
By Terin33
Location:Rural Pa
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I used the gold glimmer over "vintage boutique," and the gold looks fab. I think there must be a fine art to applying exactly the right thickness of the mosaic, though. Some nails or even portions of nails crackled much better than others due to the amount of polish that was applied. It was hard to get a complete stroke from base of nail to tip with the desired thickness/consistency. I think with more practice I will probably end up really loving this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job, remember base coat!
By psycheskinner
on September 7, 2012
About the reviewer
By psycheskinner
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I think some fo the low review are from people who don't realize you need to apply a base coat (or two) in a contrasting color first. The one quick coat of crackle, it works perfectly."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
By mimosa
on August 20, 2012
About the reviewer
By mimosa
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This nail polish is too thick and it looks horrible.Won't buy it again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
POOR
By cocoaAA
on August 19, 2012
About the reviewer
By cocoaAA
Location:Knoxville,TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My daughter used this and it didn't work. I will not buy this again. I guess you get what u pay for."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed
By Honeycat
on August 17, 2012
About the reviewer
By Honeycat
Location:Southern California
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I so wanted to like this after seeing the models in the Avon books with their trendy crackle nails. I tried the white color and when I put it on, it looked like dried crusty white-out or worse, bird droppings! I tried it over light nail polish and darker polish and the effect was the same horrible crusty look. It did crackle but from a slight distance, it looks like you've smudged your nail polish which is awful. I sent it back. I was tempted to exchange it for the gold crackle color but I knew better than to do that. I guess this stuff just isn't for me."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Recommended
By lilljays
on August 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By lilljays
Location:Upstate, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I got the gold mosic top coat. I tried it on black polish, followed directions, and it just made a horrible mess. Mosic top coat is thick and hard to use. Won't buy again, and don't recommend it either."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it
By ramirez
on August 10, 2012
About the reviewer
By ramirez
Location:corpus christi
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"this product is awesome i love them compared to the nail glitter. i have the whole collection"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the crackle finish!
By Ashlie
on August 9, 2012
About the reviewer
By Ashlie
Location:North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I used crackle top coats in the past when they first came out with mixed results. When the fad came back I was a little leery of trying it again, but when I saw that Avon came out with glittery/shimmery colors, I had to give them a try. I got the fuchsia, purple, and silver.
The first time I applied it, I put on a thick base layer of lavender, then immediately applied a thick coat of the fuchsia. It was a mess! The crackle coat just mixed with the bottom layer and there was hardly any noticeable crackling effect. Then I read the directions! The next attempt I applied a thin base layer and LET IT DRY COMPLETELY. Then I played with the crackle coat, applying it thick and thin. I found that it works best with a somewhat thin layer, but a thick one will also crackle. You need to apply it in one or two quick strokes, don't layer it over itself or you will smudge the effect.
It can take some playing around, but follow the directions, let the base coat dry completely, and experiment with the thickness of the crackle coat. Don't give up!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality
By ABTY
on August 3, 2012
About the reviewer
By ABTY
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have used other crackle polishes and this is my favorite! It goes on well and dries with a great crackle finish. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the market right now. A great product!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't work
By KaylaY
on July 29, 2012
About the reviewer
By KaylaY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"While the color is beautiful (I got the purple), it doesn't have a crackled/mosaic effect. It just goes on like normal nail polish (if not a little more clumpy). I tried a thin layer, thick layer, on dry polish, without polish, nothing worked.
Very disappointed, I was really looking forward to this! I have the same type of nail polish through other companies, but I spent more on it and they don't offer as many colors. I hope Avon fixes, if this actually worked I would buy all the colors!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Like White Out
By Reinke3
on July 23, 2012
About the reviewer
By Reinke3
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Even when using a thin coat as suggested, the result is like white out on my nails. It is not shiny or glossy at all. And no "crackle" whatsoever! I want my money back!"
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mo-mo-mo Please!
By CheekyOne
on July 23, 2012
About the reviewer
By CheekyOne
Location:Independence, Louisiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Mosiac Effects, more please! I absolutely LOVE these crackle top coats. The possibilities are endless with a multitude of shades in Mosaic Effects! Doing my nails has become my little frame in time to be an artist.
My daughter loves me to paint her nails in rainbows. Yes, a rainbow on each nail. Add the Mosaic top coat and its an array of color. All her Friends love it too. Black was my first, but now I want them all!
Thanks Avon!
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New colors are gorgeous SHIMMERS
By NCGal
on July 14, 2012
About the reviewer
By NCGal
Location:Holly Sprlng, NC
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I bought the black and white a long time ago and like them both better than the store brands I have tried. I just got the new COLORS yesterday and was pleasantly surprised to discover they are all SHIMMER shades. LOVE."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hate It!
By Jiese
on July 1, 2012
About the reviewer
By Jiese
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"is not how you think it would look just plain sticky and not happy with this purchase. just want my money back for it"
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Mosaic Effects Top Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for price
By teach2
on June 21, 2012
About the reviewer
By teach2
Location:Central Illinois
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I purchased this for my daughter. (11 years old) She loves it!! I think it does resemble white out a little, but she has also gotten better at applying it as she uses it more often. I don't think it's something I'd use, but it really works for my daughter!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>