Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
face or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder

Overall rating:
2.714 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
8 of 14(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Review 1 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The best is now the worst
By SoCalMomof2
on July 8, 2013
About the reviewer
By SoCalMomof2
Location:San Diego, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This WAS the best powder ever - had good coverage and kept me as oil-free as any I've found so far. THEN they changed the color palette and now there's not a matching color. Soooo disappointed in Avon...they always discontinue stuff, so you can never count on anything you like being there when you need it in the future."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hate the new colors.
By Katia
on May 7, 2013
About the reviewer
By Katia
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I bought the very light color and its waaaay to orange and dark for me. I do like the fact that it helps control the oil in my skin without any acne breakouts but I hate the new colors they have. Not everyone has a orange tan face. Bring back the old colors for fair/light skin.I won''t buy it again since they don't carry the old colors anymore. Bring back the old colors!!!!
5 stars if they had my color but I gave it a 3 stars since they don't have the old colors."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product
By Jasmineg
on April 3, 2013
About the reviewer
By Jasmineg
Location:District Heights, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Very lightweight product that definitely absorbs oils and makes my skin feel great. I dont have to worry about looking oily or overdone with this. I plan to purchase a darker color the next time."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
changed colors-hate it
By mer73
on December 23, 2012
About the reviewer
By mer73
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have been using the ivory/nude color. When they recently changed the colors, I tried the very light & light. They are both too dark & yellow for me. I noticed others haven't liked the change. Hopefully Avon will make the very light or light more fair toned with no yellow undertone."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product..need a different shade
By tracylacy
on December 5, 2012
About the reviewer
By tracylacy
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product really does eliminate oil! I apply this after using Mark "Got The Goods" foundation and my face it set for the entire day. No shine and no touch-ups needed. I think I will need to get a darker shade. I brought Dark, but I'm going to try Deep to see which shade is the best for my skin tone. I'm glad I decided to try these Mark products. I will be purchasing again!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Love the protect of oil, HATE the color
By karissalynne
on November 10, 2012
About the reviewer
By karissalynne
Location:Victoria, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I would recommend this to a friend if they could find the right color for them.
This matte-Nificent powder is the best i've found on the market. Go the entire day without having shine which is EXACTLY what I've been looking for.
Unfortunately the colors are horrible and nothing like AVON's powder shades.
Ordered Very Light and Light (hardly a difference between the two shades and they look orange!!) I wore very light the other day and my boyfriend asked me what the heck I put on my face cause it looked so bad he didn't want me using it again! :(
I'm not even a pale person that gets the lightest shade of AVON's powder usually I go to natural beige but these Mark. light shades are so ridiculously off. I don't know a single pale person that has orange tint to their face and really hope MARK see's this to make some changes cause I love the effects this product has but the results of color are not so appealing.
:(
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 7 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Product - But now it's gone?
By LMills
on October 3, 2012
About the reviewer
By LMills
Location:Hartford, CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product WAS perfect for me when they offered it in Honey Golden. Unfortunately, the colors they offer now just do not work with my skin tone. This color was absolutely perfect for me, as well as many of my family members. As a representative, it is extremely frustrating to tell people that their favorite product is no longer made/offered.
This product DOES last all day, like it says. I personally recommend investing in the brush for this rather than using the applicator provided - it helps this product last much longer, as you really only need a minimum amount to cover your entire face."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
New Shades Not Helpful
By Breezey
on June 27, 2012
About the reviewer
By Breezey
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was using the buff shade for years only to discover that Avon discontinued that shade and came up with different ones. I tried the medium and was greatly disappointed as it was too dark with a red tone to it. It is very difficult to figure out which shade will work. Don't know why the decision was made but it certainly does not work for me now. I guess I will just go back to buying MAC products."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bring back old colors!
By sanddunes16
on June 24, 2012
About the reviewer
By sanddunes16
Location:Winchester, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Well, this really was a good product until they changed the colors! I apply it with a brush after my foundation, and it keeps my skin looking good all day. The old color ivory is perfect for my fair skin, and the old color buff is perfect for my fair, tanned skin in the summer. The new colors are horrible!! I thought they made a mistake. Both the very light and light are so dark and very orange. I do not see how anyone can wear these shades! When I run out of my ivory and buff colors, I will be looking elsewhere for a replacement, unless they fix this. What a shame!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
New Colors for PRODUCT are TERRIBLE
By MsDawna
on June 5, 2012
About the reviewer
By MsDawna
Location:Fresno, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I am an Avon Representative and I LOVED my Matte in Ivory Nude. When ordering this last time I could not find Ivory Nude and realized the colors had changed. I read a review on this site and another customer said that the lightest of the new colors is not as lite as Ivory Nude. I ordered it just to make sure and SHE was so right. Thee NEW lightest color is TOO dark for light skinned people. It looked horrid! I have since returned the "new" color and let Avon know that it was a grave mistake. The one product I loved and now I will have to find something comparable that is oil absorbing at the drug store. If you liked Ivory Nude I would suggest writing to Avon and letting them know to bring it back. I would NOT order the lightest color as I made that mistake and should of listened to previous reviews."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 11 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Shades
By Jade0110
on May 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By Jade0110
Location:Fair Oaks, California
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I have been using the Matte-Nificent in golden honey for 3 years and I loved it. I know Avon was trying to be helpful when offering a wide range of shades but now there isn't a golden honey shade and there isn't a comparison chart. It would be helpful if the person who decided to offer more of a variety would've thought to help older customers by using a side by side guide that says if you used this shade try this new one. Not rocket science. I ordered the new shade in medium and its really dark compared to the old golden honey. However Avon makes great products so I will just waste more time and try another shade."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 12 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wanted to like this so bad!
By Krisker103
on May 8, 2012
About the reviewer
By Krisker103
Location:Omaha, NE
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I really wanted to like this! I really don't know if the formula is good because I washed it off right away. I normally order the Powder Buff in Nude and based on the recommendation of one of the recent magalogs I ordered Light. It was so orange I looked like an Oompa Loompa. Waiting for the shade 3 of Powder Buff to be back in stock to order that. Hope shade 3 really looks like the old shade Nude."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WONDERFUL
By cgirl68
on April 23, 2012
About the reviewer
By cgirl68
Location:Texas
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Best powder I have tried in a long time. I have dark skin and most products have too much red. This one is perfect!! Covers well, stays on all day even with my oily skin. Avon thank for the extended colors for the darker skin women. Please do not get rid of this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for oily skin!
By amblagam
on April 6, 2012
About the reviewer
By amblagam
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I am 30 years old and still have very oily skin. This is the first powder that acccually doesn't require any touch up hours later! Love it!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful