Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop face or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder

Average Customer Rating:
2.714 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
8 of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Review 1 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SoCalMomof2
Location:San Diego, CA
mark purchase frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
The best is now the worst
Date:July 8, 2013
"This WAS the best powder ever - had good coverage and kept me as oil-free as any I've found so far. THEN they changed the color palette and now there's not a matching color. Soooo disappointed in Avon...they always discontinue stuff, so you can never count on anything you like being there when you need it in the future."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Katia
mark purchase frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Hate the new colors.
Date:May 7, 2013
"I bought the very light color and its waaaay to orange and dark for me. I do like the fact that it helps control the oil in my skin without any acne breakouts but I hate the new colors they have. Not everyone has a orange tan face. Bring back the old colors for fair/light skin.I won''t buy it again since they don't carry the old colors anymore. Bring back the old colors!!!!
5 stars if they had my color but I gave it a 3 stars since they don't have the old colors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jasmineg
Location:District Heights, MD
mark purchase frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Dry
Nice Product
Date:April 3, 2013
"Very lightweight product that definitely absorbs oils and makes my skin feel great. I dont have to worry about looking oily or overdone with this. I plan to purchase a darker color the next time."
Review 4 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mer73
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
changed colors-hate it
Date:December 23, 2012
"I have been using the ivory/nude color. When they recently changed the colors, I tried the very light & light. They are both too dark & yellow for me. I noticed others haven't liked the change. Hopefully Avon will make the very light or light more fair toned with no yellow undertone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tracylacy
Location:Philadelphia, PA
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
Great product..need a different shade
Date:December 5, 2012
"This product really does eliminate oil! I apply this after using Mark "Got The Goods" foundation and my face it set for the entire day. No shine and no touch-ups needed. I think I will need to get a darker shade. I brought Dark, but I'm going to try Deep to see which shade is the best for my skin tone. I'm glad I decided to try these Mark products. I will be purchasing again!"
Review 6 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
karissalynne
Location:Victoria, TX
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love the protect of oil, HATE the color
Date:November 10, 2012
"I would recommend this to a friend if they could find the right color for them.
This matte-Nificent powder is the best i've found on the market. Go the entire day without having shine which is EXACTLY what I've been looking for.
Unfortunately the colors are horrible and nothing like AVON's powder shades.
Ordered Very Light and Light (hardly a difference between the two shades and they look orange!!) I wore very light the other day and my boyfriend asked me what the heck I put on my face cause it looked so bad he didn't want me using it again! :(
I'm not even a pale person that gets the lightest shade of AVON's powder usually I go to natural beige but these Mark. light shades are so ridiculously off. I don't know a single pale person that has orange tint to their face and really hope MARK see's this to make some changes cause I love the effects this product has but the results of color are not so appealing.
:(
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LMills
Location:Hartford, CT
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Great Product - But now it's gone?
Date:October 3, 2012
"This product WAS perfect for me when they offered it in Honey Golden. Unfortunately, the colors they offer now just do not work with my skin tone. This color was absolutely perfect for me, as well as many of my family members. As a representative, it is extremely frustrating to tell people that their favorite product is no longer made/offered.
This product DOES last all day, like it says. I personally recommend investing in the brush for this rather than using the applicator provided - it helps this product last much longer, as you really only need a minimum amount to cover your entire face."
Review 8 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Breezey
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
New Shades Not Helpful
Date:June 27, 2012
"I was using the buff shade for years only to discover that Avon discontinued that shade and came up with different ones. I tried the medium and was greatly disappointed as it was too dark with a red tone to it. It is very difficult to figure out which shade will work. Don't know why the decision was made but it certainly does not work for me now. I guess I will just go back to buying MAC products."
Review 9 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sanddunes16
Location:Winchester, VA
mark purchase frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
bring back old colors!
Date:June 24, 2012
"Well, this really was a good product until they changed the colors! I apply it with a brush after my foundation, and it keeps my skin looking good all day. The old color ivory is perfect for my fair skin, and the old color buff is perfect for my fair, tanned skin in the summer. The new colors are horrible!! I thought they made a mistake. Both the very light and light are so dark and very orange. I do not see how anyone can wear these shades! When I run out of my ivory and buff colors, I will be looking elsewhere for a replacement, unless they fix this. What a shame!"
Review 10 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MsDawna
Location:Fresno, CA
mark purchase frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
New Colors for PRODUCT are TERRIBLE
Date:June 5, 2012
"I am an Avon Representative and I LOVED my Matte in Ivory Nude. When ordering this last time I could not find Ivory Nude and realized the colors had changed. I read a review on this site and another customer said that the lightest of the new colors is not as lite as Ivory Nude. I ordered it just to make sure and SHE was so right. Thee NEW lightest color is TOO dark for light skinned people. It looked horrid! I have since returned the "new" color and let Avon know that it was a grave mistake. The one product I loved and now I will have to find something comparable that is oil absorbing at the drug store. If you liked Ivory Nude I would suggest writing to Avon and letting them know to bring it back. I would NOT order the lightest color as I made that mistake and should of listened to previous reviews."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jade0110
Location:Fair Oaks, California
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
New Shades
Date:May 12, 2012
"I have been using the Matte-Nificent in golden honey for 3 years and I loved it. I know Avon was trying to be helpful when offering a wide range of shades but now there isn't a golden honey shade and there isn't a comparison chart. It would be helpful if the person who decided to offer more of a variety would've thought to help older customers by using a side by side guide that says if you used this shade try this new one. Not rocket science. I ordered the new shade in medium and its really dark compared to the old golden honey. However Avon makes great products so I will just waste more time and try another shade."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Krisker103
Location:Omaha, NE
mark purchase frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Wanted to like this so bad!
Date:May 8, 2012
"I really wanted to like this! I really don't know if the formula is good because I washed it off right away. I normally order the Powder Buff in Nude and based on the recommendation of one of the recent magalogs I ordered Light. It was so orange I looked like an Oompa Loompa. Waiting for the shade 3 of Powder Buff to be back in stock to order that. Hope shade 3 really looks like the old shade Nude."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cgirl68
Location:Texas
mark purchase frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
WONDERFUL
Date:April 23, 2012
"Best powder I have tried in a long time. I have dark skin and most products have too much red. This one is perfect!! Covers well, stays on all day even with my oily skin. Avon thank for the extended colors for the darker skin women. Please do not get rid of this product."
Review 14 for mark Matte-Nificent Oil Absorbing Powder
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amblagam
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
mark purchase frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
great for oily skin!
Date:April 6, 2012
"I am 30 years old and still have very oily skin. This is the first powder that acccually doesn't require any touch up hours later! Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.