Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes

Overall rating:
4.173 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
11
1 Star
11
108 of 139(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Review 21 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
By Snowgirl
on September 26, 2013
About the reviewer
By Snowgirl
Location:Martinsville, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the greatest hair color ever. I get so many compliments! I recently used the medium golden brown and everyone says it is my best color ever, so I went to order more and see it is no longer available. Please bring it back!!! I will Need more soon!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 22 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Haircolor I have ever used
By Rhondainmd
on September 26, 2013
About the reviewer
By Rhondainmd
Location:Baltimore, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have been coloring my have for 30 years ahd I have to say that this is the best haircolor I have every used. The color is shiny and never dull. It is easy to apply and covers my gray 100% and does not fade when shampooing. Please make more colors or even a highlight kit with the hair color and matching highlights. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this product"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 23 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
More Red
By Debs1
on September 24, 2013
About the reviewer
By Debs1
Location:Eugene Oregon
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I had medium/light brown hair with some gray at the roots, I bought the medium reddish brown and my hair turned a lot more red than brown all over. (more at the roots of course) I would call it "medium red brownish" instead. If you want more brown with just a little red, I would pass on this shade. Also, if you have any kind of problem squeezing (arthritis or other) or lifting your arms, the bottle is hard to squeeze after awhile, and I had to really work to squeeze out the last of the dye cause the bottle is thicker plastic than the ones you buy in the store making it difficult to apply. The texture of my hair after application was soft and had some shine and there was enough in the bottle to cover all my hair easily. (shoulder length)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 24 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hair color
By Misty1958
on September 23, 2013
About the reviewer
By Misty1958
Location:Arizona
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Of all the different store brand hair color I have used, Avon hair color is the absolute BEST! I like the pre treatment. It gets your hair ready to take the color. Then you apply the color, it has no smell And it doesn't drip! My hair takes this dye excellently, I rinse out after 25 minutes. Then you put on the conditioner. My hair feels and looks beautiful and natural. The color lasts and does not fade or rinse out. I will be buying this hair color as long as Avon continues to sell it. Thank you for such a great product! :-)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 25 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
avoid
By tr1234
on September 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By tr1234
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The worst color ever. I bought light brown, followed all directions and the color turned by hair black. OMG how ugly and harsh it is. Now I have to bleach some of the color out, which damages my hair. I hate this product, will never use again and would never recommend it. Buyer beware!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 26 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great stuff
By Carolyn4
on September 9, 2013
About the reviewer
By Carolyn4
Location:iowa
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have had to dye my hair for decades and this stuff looks good and holds on for a long time."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 27 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
By capricorn55
on August 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By capricorn55
Location:Dallas,TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the best hair coloring product compare to all the other brands . It leaves your hair soft and looking healthy. I would highly recommend this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 28 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!
By Muffy817
on August 14, 2013
About the reviewer
By Muffy817
Location:Wayne, MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Been so impressed with Avon hair color products. Easy to use and my hair feels so soft when I'm done. Long lasting color! I use with Avon shampoo/conditioner for color treated hair. Great price, too. I stock-pile when it's on sale."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 29 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Advance Techniques
By Puglover42
on July 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By Puglover42
Location:San Lorenzo, Ca
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"For awhile now, I've wanted to review this haircolor, but have hesitated because I don't want Avon raising the price on it, but here goes....AND for this review, I think I should receive a free haircolor. LOL
In all of the years that I have been coloring my hair, I have NEVER used a product that I have liked as much as Advance Techniques. It leave my hair with a beautiful shade and the hair is so soft, it's hard to believe it was just colored. Now, if you do raise your prices, you will never get another review from me....
Sincerely,
Lettuce Leaf"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 30 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love. But upset they are clearing it out!
By again
on July 12, 2013
About the reviewer
By again
Location:Indianapolis
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love this haircolor and the only reason it isn't selling well is because it is rarely in the catalogs! When it is, I buy 2 or 3 boxes at a time because I don't know when it will be in the catalog again. I don't shop online, I shop with a rep that I've had for probably 15 years! Every time Avon has a great product, they change it or discontinue it. I'm very disappointed it is being discontinued!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 31 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not for stubborn grey
By netzp
on July 8, 2013
About the reviewer
By netzp
Location:wisconsin
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"would be 5 stars if I just wanted color change, but for grey coverage, it is average, not great."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 32 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Love Love this hair color.
By Lucyfive
on May 14, 2013
About the reviewer
By Lucyfive
Location:Celina ,Ohio
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I recommend this product. I followed the directions, put the pretreatment on first , color and post treatment. The color was true to the example. I was impressed and thankful."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 33 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True Color
By Maryjoe
on April 25, 2013
About the reviewer
By Maryjoe
Location:Irvine CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I read about Avon hair color in a magazine as "best buy" so I decided to give it a try. Usually after coloring and rinsing off my hair some color will come off my towel, but there was NO color on my towel after I used this product. Does it mean all the color stay in my hair? The color is very nice too. Not harsh. I am very pleased. I am waiting to see how long this color will last."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 34 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this hair color
By Susmr
on April 23, 2013
About the reviewer
By Susmr
Location:San Diego, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"Based on the reviews of this I decided to try it out myself. I have tried many hair colors and I think this is my new favorite. I really like the consistency of the color. It is just thick enough as to not drip but thin enough to spread evenly. I also really like the pre and post treatment process. No other hair color that I have tried has a pre-treatment process. The post treatment conditioner is great. It left my hair soft but not weighed down. The color turned out great! I will continue to buy Avon's color and forget about the other brands out there. Plus the price is so much better than other major brands. I am hooked."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 35 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hair Color
By SweetPIowa
on April 18, 2013
About the reviewer
By SweetPIowa
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I tried Avon's hair color based on the reviews and they are right on. The pretreatment cream has a wonderful smell. I used the medium brown and it is true to color. This hair color is not brassy and colored greys very well. I will buy again."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 36 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressed!
By Snoozer
on April 18, 2013
About the reviewer
By Snoozer
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I was really impressed with this product. It is a high quality color with high quality gloves. Highly recommend!
I would love to see a "root touch up" product to go along with it."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 37 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Color Kit ! ! ! !
By KarenInVentura
on March 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By KarenInVentura
Location:Ventura CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I LOVE THIS PRODUCT - and also hope AVON WILL KEEP SELLING IT!!!!! It colors my grey REALLY well, it makes my hair soft & Shiny and lasts & lasts. Seems to last even longer when I faithfully used the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Anti-Fade UV Spray after each washing. I'm a dark brunette and I've used the True Red (which was really fun if you want to be a little bolder---even got a couple compliments from strangers--and I never get that!!!), also I used Medium Mahagony Brown (if you are in the mood to go towards the purple spectrum this was really gorgeous), and I tried Dark Reddish Blonde. You can't go wrong with this product - SO TRY IT !! !! !!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 38 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wouldn't purchase again
By mirthh
on March 7, 2013
About the reviewer
By mirthh
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Covered grey as promised but the "light golden brown" turned my hair red. Not what I was looking for."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 39 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like most others
By AMK2013
on February 28, 2013
About the reviewer
By AMK2013
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I read a review in Real Simple Magazine that this product was the best at covering gray hair. I followed instructions and left it on even longer. My roots were not covered as I had hoped. Looked more like a tint of color on the gray roots, I could definitely still see them. I'm convinced that the only way to keep the grays away is going to salons and spending a major amount of money."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 40 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Avon Hair Color experience
By StoneCoop
on February 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By StoneCoop
Location:Montgomery, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"It is currently 02:00pm on 02/22/13 and I have just finished coloring my hair with Avon's Advance Techniques 5.3 Medium Golden Brown. The pre-treatment was very nice and moisturizing. Definitely read all instructions before applying. Then I applied the hair color treatment. After reading some of the negative reviews of this color treatment about skin being dyed, while I was waiting the 30 minutes for the hair color sit in my hair, I made sure to get an old towel and damp it and lightly scrub any areas of my skin that appeared to have hair dye on it. The color came off my skin fairly easy. Some parts I had to scrub a bit harder than others but as long as you do this before the 30 minutes is up, you should not have a problem of your skin being dyed. Then I rinsed out the hair color and put in the post treatment and let that sit for the 2 minutes required. I loved the texture of the post treatment and then after rinsing it off, my hair felt amazing! I have extremely dry and brittle hair that is also sensitive so for my hair to feel like this is amazing! I am currently waiting for my hair to dry now to see how the color looks and will update this comment while I wait. I have applied Avon's Advanced Techniques 360 Nourish while my hair air-dries so we will see how it looks.
******************************************
It is now 02:45pm and my hair is dry. It colored my hair very well! My hair's texture feels slightly softer than before. The color is almost identical to the color on the box but just slightly darker. I topped it off with Avon's Advanced Techniques Daily Shine capsule (not too sure about the capsules yet but that's for another review) and it looks great! Love the color!
"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>