Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes

Overall rating:
4.173 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
11
1 Star
11
108 of 139(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Review 21 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowgirl
Location:Martinsville, VA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Excellent product
Date:September 26, 2013
"This is the greatest hair color ever. I get so many compliments! I recently used the medium golden brown and everyone says it is my best color ever, so I went to order more and see it is no longer available. Please bring it back!!! I will Need more soon!!!"
Review 22 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhondainmd
Location:Baltimore, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Best Haircolor I have ever used
Date:September 26, 2013
"I have been coloring my have for 30 years ahd I have to say that this is the best haircolor I have every used. The color is shiny and never dull. It is easy to apply and covers my gray 100% and does not fade when shampooing. Please make more colors or even a highlight kit with the hair color and matching highlights. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this product"
Review 23 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Debs1
Location:Eugene Oregon
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
More Red
Date:September 24, 2013
"I had medium/light brown hair with some gray at the roots, I bought the medium reddish brown and my hair turned a lot more red than brown all over. (more at the roots of course) I would call it "medium red brownish" instead. If you want more brown with just a little red, I would pass on this shade. Also, if you have any kind of problem squeezing (arthritis or other) or lifting your arms, the bottle is hard to squeeze after awhile, and I had to really work to squeeze out the last of the dye cause the bottle is thicker plastic than the ones you buy in the store making it difficult to apply. The texture of my hair after application was soft and had some shine and there was enough in the bottle to cover all my hair easily. (shoulder length)"
Review 24 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Misty1958
Location:Arizona
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Best hair color
Date:September 23, 2013
"Of all the different store brand hair color I have used, Avon hair color is the absolute BEST! I like the pre treatment. It gets your hair ready to take the color. Then you apply the color, it has no smell And it doesn't drip! My hair takes this dye excellently, I rinse out after 25 minutes. Then you put on the conditioner. My hair feels and looks beautiful and natural. The color lasts and does not fade or rinse out. I will be buying this hair color as long as Avon continues to sell it. Thank you for such a great product! :-)"
Review 25 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
tr1234
avoid
Date:September 22, 2013
"The worst color ever. I bought light brown, followed all directions and the color turned by hair black. OMG how ugly and harsh it is. Now I have to bleach some of the color out, which damages my hair. I hate this product, will never use again and would never recommend it. Buyer beware!!"
Review 26 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carolyn4
Location:iowa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
great stuff
Date:September 9, 2013
"I have had to dye my hair for decades and this stuff looks good and holds on for a long time."
Review 27 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
capricorn55
Location:Dallas,TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great product
Date:August 15, 2013
"This is the best hair coloring product compare to all the other brands . It leaves your hair soft and looking healthy. I would highly recommend this product."
Review 28 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muffy817
Location:Wayne, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Great Product!
Date:August 14, 2013
"Been so impressed with Avon hair color products. Easy to use and my hair feels so soft when I'm done. Long lasting color! I use with Avon shampoo/conditioner for color treated hair. Great price, too. I stock-pile when it's on sale."
Review 29 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puglover42
Location:San Lorenzo, Ca
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Advance Techniques
Date:July 15, 2013
"For awhile now, I've wanted to review this haircolor, but have hesitated because I don't want Avon raising the price on it, but here goes....AND for this review, I think I should receive a free haircolor. LOL
In all of the years that I have been coloring my hair, I have NEVER used a product that I have liked as much as Advance Techniques. It leave my hair with a beautiful shade and the hair is so soft, it's hard to believe it was just colored. Now, if you do raise your prices, you will never get another review from me....
Sincerely,
Lettuce Leaf"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
again
Location:Indianapolis
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Love. But upset they are clearing it out!
Date:July 12, 2013
"I love this haircolor and the only reason it isn't selling well is because it is rarely in the catalogs! When it is, I buy 2 or 3 boxes at a time because I don't know when it will be in the catalog again. I don't shop online, I shop with a rep that I've had for probably 15 years! Every time Avon has a great product, they change it or discontinue it. I'm very disappointed it is being discontinued!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
netzp
Location:wisconsin
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
not for stubborn grey
Date:July 8, 2013
"would be 5 stars if I just wanted color change, but for grey coverage, it is average, not great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucyfive
Location:Celina ,Ohio
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love Love Love this hair color.
Date:May 14, 2013
"I recommend this product. I followed the directions, put the pretreatment on first , color and post treatment. The color was true to the example. I was impressed and thankful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maryjoe
Location:Irvine CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
True Color
Date:April 25, 2013
"I read about Avon hair color in a magazine as "best buy" so I decided to give it a try. Usually after coloring and rinsing off my hair some color will come off my towel, but there was NO color on my towel after I used this product. Does it mean all the color stay in my hair? The color is very nice too. Not harsh. I am very pleased. I am waiting to see how long this color will last."
Review 34 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Susmr
Location:San Diego, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love this hair color
Date:April 23, 2013
"Based on the reviews of this I decided to try it out myself. I have tried many hair colors and I think this is my new favorite. I really like the consistency of the color. It is just thick enough as to not drip but thin enough to spread evenly. I also really like the pre and post treatment process. No other hair color that I have tried has a pre-treatment process. The post treatment conditioner is great. It left my hair soft but not weighed down. The color turned out great! I will continue to buy Avon's color and forget about the other brands out there. Plus the price is so much better than other major brands. I am hooked."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SweetPIowa
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great Hair Color
Date:April 18, 2013
"I tried Avon's hair color based on the reviews and they are right on. The pretreatment cream has a wonderful smell. I used the medium brown and it is true to color. This hair color is not brassy and colored greys very well. I will buy again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snoozer
Impressed!
Date:April 18, 2013
"I was really impressed with this product. It is a high quality color with high quality gloves. Highly recommend!
I would love to see a "root touch up" product to go along with it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KarenInVentura
Location:Ventura CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great Color Kit ! ! ! !
Date:March 21, 2013
"I LOVE THIS PRODUCT - and also hope AVON WILL KEEP SELLING IT!!!!! It colors my grey REALLY well, it makes my hair soft & Shiny and lasts & lasts. Seems to last even longer when I faithfully used the ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Color Protection Anti-Fade UV Spray after each washing. I'm a dark brunette and I've used the True Red (which was really fun if you want to be a little bolder---even got a couple compliments from strangers--and I never get that!!!), also I used Medium Mahagony Brown (if you are in the mood to go towards the purple spectrum this was really gorgeous), and I tried Dark Reddish Blonde. You can't go wrong with this product - SO TRY IT !! !! !!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
mirthh
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Wouldn't purchase again
Date:March 7, 2013
"Covered grey as promised but the "light golden brown" turned my hair red. Not what I was looking for."
Review 39 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AMK2013
Location:Cincinnati, OH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Like most others
Date:February 28, 2013
"I read a review in Real Simple Magazine that this product was the best at covering gray hair. I followed instructions and left it on even longer. My roots were not covered as I had hoped. Looked more like a tint of color on the gray roots, I could definitely still see them. I'm convinced that the only way to keep the grays away is going to salons and spending a major amount of money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Beautiful Brunettes
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StoneCoop
Location:Montgomery, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
My Avon Hair Color experience
Date:February 22, 2013
"It is currently 02:00pm on 02/22/13 and I have just finished coloring my hair with Avon's Advance Techniques 5.3 Medium Golden Brown. The pre-treatment was very nice and moisturizing. Definitely read all instructions before applying. Then I applied the hair color treatment. After reading some of the negative reviews of this color treatment about skin being dyed, while I was waiting the 30 minutes for the hair color sit in my hair, I made sure to get an old towel and damp it and lightly scrub any areas of my skin that appeared to have hair dye on it. The color came off my skin fairly easy. Some parts I had to scrub a bit harder than others but as long as you do this before the 30 minutes is up, you should not have a problem of your skin being dyed. Then I rinsed out the hair color and put in the post treatment and let that sit for the 2 minutes required. I loved the texture of the post treatment and then after rinsing it off, my hair felt amazing! I have extremely dry and brittle hair that is also sensitive so for my hair to feel like this is amazing! I am currently waiting for my hair to dry now to see how the color looks and will update this comment while I wait. I have applied Avon's Advanced Techniques 360 Nourish while my hair air-dries so we will see how it looks.
******************************************
It is now 02:45pm and my hair is dry. It colored my hair very well! My hair's texture feels slightly softer than before. The color is almost identical to the color on the box but just slightly darker. I topped it off with Avon's Advanced Techniques Daily Shine capsule (not too sure about the capsules yet but that's for another review) and it looks great! Love the color!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.