Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop hair care specials or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds

Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
7
25 of 36(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Review 1 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4DGZ1CT
Please Bring this Product Back
Date:April 13, 2014
"This is by far the best hair color--surpasses professional color. I hope Avon will listen to their customers and bring this product back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PatMoore1234
Location:Ocala, Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Discontinuing products
Date:March 29, 2014
"Once again ! Another product I love and would continue using for many years discontinued. This is what I don't like about Avon. If you love it, you can't keep it !!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 3 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uhura
Location:Zionsville, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best hair color ever
Date:February 18, 2014
"I hate that you will no longer be selling your hair colors. I buy it & take it to my cousin to put it on my hair. She is a hair dresser & said it was the best hair color she had ever used. Love this color in particular, but also liked the reddish brown. It covers my gray & lasts a long time,"
Review 4 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tatwoman
Location:MI.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best Buy Yet For Hair Color!!!!
Date:September 22, 2013
"I love this hair color, It didn't dry my hair out or leave it looking like straw. I will buy this all the time now! Oh and it is priced great to!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcanuck
Location:nashville tn
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
natural red
Date:September 18, 2013
"I was pleasantly surprised that the hair color works so well It covers the grey very well. I have colored my hair for 40 yrs and I have tried many products. I really like the red. It isnt pink or purple. It is just a natural red. I get a lot of compliments about the color. My only negative is the product is very thick and the bottle is also thick not very squeezable. I will continue to use this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ljandjt
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Does not work.
Date:August 17, 2013
"I ordered this a couple of weeks ago. I used it a couple days ago and it did not do anything. This is the second attempt with Avon hair color. Will never buy again."
Review 7 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReneeC
Location:Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Unimpressed
Date:July 16, 2013
"I bought this in True Red and I loved it for the first few days. The color was great and my hair felt really soft. Every time I would wash my hair, I would lose a ton of color. It faded out so fast that I found myself coloring my hair again after only a few weeks. I will never buy this product again!"
Review 8 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tree75
Location:Newark, OH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Excellent hair color
Date:May 11, 2013
"This is a terrific product.Color is as expected. Better then the hair color i used to buy. I will continue to use as long as you carry it."
Review 9 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JujuMojo
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Medium Mahogany Brown
Date:April 17, 2013
"I started using this color as soon as Avon came out with it. The pre-treatment is easy to apply. Love the smell of the product. It doesn't have the overpowering amonia smell like other brands and there is an adequate amount in one application for someone with short hair. If you have medium length hair order 2 boxes. After coloring my hair feels very soft. Other products I have used often leave my hair feeling dry. I've noticed that there is less hair fallout after using the Advance Techniques compared to other brands. The color doesn't seem to last as long as I'd like it to, but all red colors tend to fade faster than other shades. Overall I am satisfied with this product."
Review 10 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
latinchic1
Location:Connecticut
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
True red!!
Date:March 5, 2013
"Loves everything about advance techniques color hair line system my hair feels smooth soft and silky after each color treating it keep getting better and better my hair feel so sexy and great best of all it my hair doesnt get mistreated after color uses im very lucky to find this wonderful hair color system it works great for me!!! 5+ plus thanks AVON!!"
Review 11 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shefoos
Location:grand haven, mi
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Coverage
Date:January 31, 2013
"This hair dye is amazing. Since I had my youngest son, my hair has been funky when I colored it. The pretreatment prevented that from happening, which was amazing. Then the color is perfect. I have been looking for a vibrant red for years. One that was bright and fun, but didn't look like a crayola crayon, or bozo the clown and looked a little more natural. This hit the nail on the head. LOVE LOVE LOVE it and I will never switch. Please never discontinue!!!"
Review 12 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dottyj
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
worst color ever!!!!!
Date:January 30, 2013
"I dont even want to give this a star !I loved the color the first day I used it !I even bought 2 more boxes the color was great dark burgany ...until I washed it ,,everytime I was it it bleeds onto the towel ! I colored on jan 9 today is the 30 and it has washed out so much I have to recolor it.I will never use this product again.I am throwing out the other 2 boxes."
Review 13 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cypadgett
Great product
Date:December 29, 2012
"I love this product and this color. I will continue to buy it as long as it is available."
Review 14 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hdl49
Location:Corona, CA
Excellent Product
Date:December 18, 2012
"This is the best hair color product I have ever used. It is the true color on the hair as it is on the box, I don't have skin or scalp staining and it does not burn."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kittycuddles
Location:California
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Hair color
Date:November 22, 2012
"Like the color and the way it lasts."
Review 16 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Macki
Location:Milwaukee, WI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Resulting Color NOT Dark Reddish Blonde
Date:October 24, 2012
"I have been coloring my hair red for years. I heard good things about Avon color, so I bought this particular color since it was as similar as I could find to my usual brand. My usual brand is also a 7R. While I found this product easy to use and high quality, the color is WAY OFF. I would categorize this as a medium auburn, at best. It is much too dark for my liking. I should have gone by the picture on the box, and not the 7.4 rating. I could not believe how it dark it is. Unfortunately Avon does not offer anything in a lighter red. I will definitely not buy this again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SingingAmazon
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
VERY DISAPPOINTING!
Date:October 2, 2012
"I used this product as soon as it came out, and it is the worst by far. Because of my shoulder-length hair, it took two kits, and color faded rapidly after a week and almost completely after three. Went back to my off-the-shelf hair color immediately and it lasted six weeks. I won't bother with Avon hair colors again."
Review 18 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakeaspen
Location:East Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Soft pretty red
Date:September 17, 2012
"I am 43 year old natural redhead. For the past 2 years I have had white hair by my temples and throughout my thick red hair. Saddened by turning white at an early age (it seems early!) I decided to try for the first time coloring my hair with the 7.4 Avon Advance Techniques coloring system. It was easy to use and the finishing conditioner~wow~made my hair so soft and shiny. It has covered my white hairs that I had and made my base red hair color vibrant like it was a few years ago. It turned back my clock a few years and I am so happy. I plan on using Avon coloring products again first before trying anything else. The color on my hair now matched the box and what more can I say? I had a great experience with this. For any true redheads out there turning white this worked for me! I might next time try the luscious browns they have. So pretty! Goodbye White Hairs!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tabie
Location:AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
I Love it & So does everyone else
Date:September 13, 2012
"The True Red color is Great! The Quality is Awesome! I get so many compliments on this color. Everyone thinks I got my hair professionally done and some think it is my natural color."
Review 20 for ADVANCE TECHNIQUES Professional Hair Color - Ravishing Reds
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
parismema
Color misleading
Date:August 22, 2012
"Tried the dark burgundy and the color was no where near that..A dark brown shade is all that I received. No depth and not a hint of burgundy. Never again will I purchase this product"