Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Eyeshadow or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

Big Color Eye Pencil

Overall rating:
4.142 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
13
1 Star
8
101 of 133(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big Color Eye Pencil
Review 1 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE
By freebee
on September 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By freebee
Location:California, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the best eye liner ever, and it glides on so smoothly within seconds....the one I love the most is the Night glisten, which is already discontinued.... Please bring the night glisten eye liner back. Why is it that I find something perfect, and that product discontinues, and the bad eye liner like glimmersticks are left behind....?????? :("
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Don't Discontinue Big Color Eye Pencil
By MoukaDeb
on June 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By MoukaDeb
Location:Maxton, NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"This is the best eye liner especially for the lower lid. It simply glides on with no mess or tugging. Please don't discontinue this. My favorite is Night Glisten which is already "no longer available." It seems that you continue to discontinue items your customers love. Unfortunately, you don't replace any of those beloved items with something comparable. Why do you do that, Avon? Please listen to us. Call it a back by popular demand item, I don't care....just stop the madness!!"
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me tell you. .
By Mcherub
on June 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By Mcherub
Location:Ohio
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
"I am an Avon Representative. This product is a best seller for my customers and obviously to thousands of others. PLEASE STOP discontinuing items that customers have fallen in love with. Cost effective? I do not know anything about the reason because I am merely a rep. I cannot continue to sell Avon products to customers that are highly disgruntled about products being eliminated!! They STOP buying altogether. . You have been the #1 Beauty Company for 128 years, listen to your customers!!!!"
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not worth the money!
By PamPoochie
on May 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By PamPoochie
Location:Somerset, MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have bought the Big Eye pencil in the past and the material the pencil was made of (composite wood) allowed it to be sharpened. However, the new style is encased in a hard plastic - which means you cannot sharpen it. I got two maybe three application with the quarter inch of product that is only at the tip of this 4 inch pencil. Are you kidding me! Either bring back the pencil that can be sharpened or make it clear in the description that it cannot be sharpened. For the money, this is a total waste of money. It's too bad too, because the colors and texture is really great. Very disappointed!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Discontinued???
By Iradel
on May 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By Iradel
Location:Orlando, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
"WHAT??!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Why is it the very few things that I actually like that you sell is what you ALWAYS discontinue????? I beg you not only to reconsider but to also come out with one of these in a rich chocolate brown color."
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Eye Shadow Around
By wrigley
on May 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By wrigley
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I can't believe you are phasing this out. I have used this product for years and it is the best eye shadow out there from any cosmetics company. I especially love the Slate color. I guess I'll have to look around and try to find something like it elsewhere. This makes me sad."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
By Whack
on May 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By Whack
Location:Conway, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love using this eye color! Long lasting and easy to apply.
PLEASE bring back PLUM BERRY! Almost out....
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love These!!!
By MC76
on May 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By MC76
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I really love this product, but I wish you would bring back the chocolate brown. It was always my go to color, and I loved how well it stayed!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smokey Blue
By BonnieR
on May 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By BonnieR
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Please bring back Smokey Blue -- best eye color ever...not too blue, not too black!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
too little
By clam
on May 2, 2014
About the reviewer
By clam
Location:PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was under the impression that this would be able to be twisted up for more product. After just 10 or so uses it is used up and the last application rubbed the case against my sensitive eyelids"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bring Back Colors
By sjeff
on May 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By sjeff
Location:New Jersey
Age:16-24
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love this product! For a longtime, I stopped using eye liners because I never liked the way they went on and the way they looked. A friend suggested this brand to me and I wear it every day now.
Please bring back Celadon and Smoky Blue as "mtrun" and "elsogn" mentioned. They were two of my three favorite colors. For people like me with hazel eyes the Celadon really made them pop. In addition, the Smoky Blue went really well with jeans.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Can't sharpen!
By PaulaB
on April 24, 2014
About the reviewer
By PaulaB
Location:Charleston, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have this in Slate and I really love the color and how smoothly it goes on. Lasts all day and is a great color. Now I've worn it down to the wood and I can't sharpen it!!
I've tried numerous eye pencil sharpeners, pencil sharpeners, and even a paring knife but I can't get any of the wood to come away so that I can use the eye shadow again.
I read another review that says you have to use Avon's sharpener. I don't remember this being mentioned in the product write up -- if the only way it can be sharpened is with a "special" sharpener, put it in the ad!!! Make it known that the sharpener must be purchased! Put the sharpener on the same page as the eye pencil!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!
By elsogn
on April 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By elsogn
Location:Minnesota
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I really love these liners, but wanted to comment, in agreement with "mtrun"s 01/13/14 comments -- you need to bring back Smoky Blue!! It was my fav color....."
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST EVER, use Avon-brand pencil sharpener!
By ConsultantK
on April 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By ConsultantK
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!! (I have at least TEN of these in various colors.) Perfect for your purse and travel. Contrary to some people who gave these 1-star, they CAN BE SHARPENED, and last a loooong time. Just be sure to purchase the Avon-brand sharpener, and pull out the little circular insert to accommodate this big pencil! My Mom got me started on these. Avon, does however, need to bring back their brown shade."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Extremely Disappointed (not with the shadow itself
By Di19
on February 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By Di19
Location:CT
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Love the concept of the eye pencil and the way it goes on & the ease of handling it,however, when it comes to sharpening it there is no way.I own the sharpener with the large opening and still can't do it. Could not figure out how to get more product out had to ask rep. she was the one who told me to sharpen it. It's not working. The product itself is wonderful they should reconfigure the case with a twist bottom like their lip crayons. If that is all the product you can use, is what you see when you open it, what is the point. Certainly is not worth the money."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
By cybergrammie
on February 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By cybergrammie
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I love the Big Color Eye Pencil, and have used it for about 5 years. Please bring back the color Pebble #H801! It is my favorite, and almost gone!!!"
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed
By bedapana
on February 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By bedapana
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have used this product for a number of years and loved it--was able to sharpen it thus using it a long time. The last ones I ordered are encased in plastic and I not able to sharpen them.Only a small portion is usable,lasting only a few weeks. I cracked my sharpener trying to sharpen it. What am I doing wrong? Or have you changed the packaging? I cannot rationalize the cost relating to the amount of product., and so will probably not purchase any more.
Can someone please respond to this?
"
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
By mtrun
on January 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By mtrun
Location:Long Island, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"Love these pencils...go on smooth (no tugging), blend easily, can be used as both liner and shadow, but PLEASE Avon, bring back Celadon and Blue Smoke!!"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Worth It
By lalaatl
on January 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By lalaatl
Location:Georgia
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This pencil has maybe half an inch of usable product. Once the "point" is gone, there is no way to restore it, but the pencil can be used as a shadow. Then when that wears down, it is nothing. At least Avon could make the "paper" wrapping at the top so that you can tear it off. Ridiculously excessive "packaging"."
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big Color Pencil
By carson
on January 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By carson
Location:Grand Junction, Colorado
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Love the colors!! Stays on all day and blends beautifully!
Wish that it came in a pot instead of a pencil. Pencil needs to be sharpened often to apply correctly!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>