Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Eyeshadow or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon.

Big Color Eye Pencil

Overall rating:
4.135 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
13
1 Star
8
101 of 133(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big Color Eye Pencil
Review 1 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoukaDeb
Location:Maxton, NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Please Don't Discontinue Big Color Eye Pencil
Date:June 12, 2014
"This is the best eye liner especially for the lower lid. It simply glides on with no mess or tugging. Please don't discontinue this. My favorite is Night Glisten which is already "no longer available." It seems that you continue to discontinue items your customers love. Unfortunately, you don't replace any of those beloved items with something comparable. Why do you do that, Avon? Please listen to us. Call it a back by popular demand item, I don't care....just stop the madness!!"
Review 2 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mcherub
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Let me tell you. .
Date:June 3, 2014
"I am an Avon Representative. This product is a best seller for my customers and obviously to thousands of others. PLEASE STOP discontinuing items that customers have fallen in love with. Cost effective? I do not know anything about the reason because I am merely a rep. I cannot continue to sell Avon products to customers that are highly disgruntled about products being eliminated!! They STOP buying altogether. . You have been the #1 Beauty Company for 128 years, listen to your customers!!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PamPoochie
Location:Somerset, MA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Not worth the money!
Date:May 29, 2014
"I have bought the Big Eye pencil in the past and the material the pencil was made of (composite wood) allowed it to be sharpened. However, the new style is encased in a hard plastic - which means you cannot sharpen it. I got two maybe three application with the quarter inch of product that is only at the tip of this 4 inch pencil. Are you kidding me! Either bring back the pencil that can be sharpened or make it clear in the description that it cannot be sharpened. For the money, this is a total waste of money. It's too bad too, because the colors and texture is really great. Very disappointed!"
Review 4 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iradel
Location:Orlando, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Discontinued???
Date:May 23, 2014
"WHAT??!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Why is it the very few things that I actually like that you sell is what you ALWAYS discontinue????? I beg you not only to reconsider but to also come out with one of these in a rich chocolate brown color."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wrigley
Best Eye Shadow Around
Date:May 17, 2014
"I can't believe you are phasing this out. I have used this product for years and it is the best eye shadow out there from any cosmetics company. I especially love the Slate color. I guess I'll have to look around and try to find something like it elsewhere. This makes me sad."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whack
Location:Conway, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
great product
Date:May 7, 2014
"I love using this eye color! Long lasting and easy to apply.
PLEASE bring back PLUM BERRY! Almost out....
"
Review 7 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MC76
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love These!!!
Date:May 6, 2014
"I really love this product, but I wish you would bring back the chocolate brown. It was always my go to color, and I loved how well it stayed!!"
Review 8 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BonnieR
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Smokey Blue
Date:May 4, 2014
"Please bring back Smokey Blue -- best eye color ever...not too blue, not too black!"
Review 9 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
clam
Location:PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
too little
Date:May 2, 2014
"I was under the impression that this would be able to be twisted up for more product. After just 10 or so uses it is used up and the last application rubbed the case against my sensitive eyelids"
Review 10 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sjeff
Location:New Jersey
Age:16-24
Bring Back Colors
Date:May 1, 2014
"I love this product! For a longtime, I stopped using eye liners because I never liked the way they went on and the way they looked. A friend suggested this brand to me and I wear it every day now.
Please bring back Celadon and Smoky Blue as "mtrun" and "elsogn" mentioned. They were two of my three favorite colors. For people like me with hazel eyes the Celadon really made them pop. In addition, the Smoky Blue went really well with jeans.
"
Review 11 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PaulaB
Location:Charleston, SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Can't sharpen!
Date:April 24, 2014
"I have this in Slate and I really love the color and how smoothly it goes on. Lasts all day and is a great color. Now I've worn it down to the wood and I can't sharpen it!!
I've tried numerous eye pencil sharpeners, pencil sharpeners, and even a paring knife but I can't get any of the wood to come away so that I can use the eye shadow again.
I read another review that says you have to use Avon's sharpener. I don't remember this being mentioned in the product write up -- if the only way it can be sharpened is with a "special" sharpener, put it in the ad!!! Make it known that the sharpener must be purchased! Put the sharpener on the same page as the eye pencil!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elsogn
Location:Minnesota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Love these!
Date:April 22, 2014
"I really love these liners, but wanted to comment, in agreement with "mtrun"s 01/13/14 comments -- you need to bring back Smoky Blue!! It was my fav color....."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ConsultantK
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
BEST EVER, use Avon-brand pencil sharpener!
Date:April 6, 2014
"THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!! (I have at least TEN of these in various colors.) Perfect for your purse and travel. Contrary to some people who gave these 1-star, they CAN BE SHARPENED, and last a loooong time. Just be sure to purchase the Avon-brand sharpener, and pull out the little circular insert to accommodate this big pencil! My Mom got me started on these. Avon, does however, need to bring back their brown shade."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Di19
Location:CT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Extremely Disappointed (not with the shadow itself
Date:February 16, 2014
"Love the concept of the eye pencil and the way it goes on & the ease of handling it,however, when it comes to sharpening it there is no way.I own the sharpener with the large opening and still can't do it. Could not figure out how to get more product out had to ask rep. she was the one who told me to sharpen it. It's not working. The product itself is wonderful they should reconfigure the case with a twist bottom like their lip crayons. If that is all the product you can use, is what you see when you open it, what is the point. Certainly is not worth the money."
Review 15 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cybergrammie
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great product
Date:February 4, 2014
"I love the Big Color Eye Pencil, and have used it for about 5 years. Please bring back the color Pebble #H801! It is my favorite, and almost gone!!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bedapana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
disappointed
Date:February 1, 2014
"I have used this product for a number of years and loved it--was able to sharpen it thus using it a long time. The last ones I ordered are encased in plastic and I not able to sharpen them.Only a small portion is usable,lasting only a few weeks. I cracked my sharpener trying to sharpen it. What am I doing wrong? Or have you changed the packaging? I cannot rationalize the cost relating to the amount of product., and so will probably not purchase any more.
Can someone please respond to this?
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mtrun
Location:Long Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great Product
Date:January 13, 2014
"Love these pencils...go on smooth (no tugging), blend easily, can be used as both liner and shadow, but PLEASE Avon, bring back Celadon and Blue Smoke!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lalaatl
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Not Worth It
Date:January 10, 2014
"This pencil has maybe half an inch of usable product. Once the "point" is gone, there is no way to restore it, but the pencil can be used as a shadow. Then when that wears down, it is nothing. At least Avon could make the "paper" wrapping at the top so that you can tear it off. Ridiculously excessive "packaging"."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
carson
Location:Grand Junction, Colorado
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Big Color Pencil
Date:January 8, 2014
"Love the colors!! Stays on all day and blends beautifully!
Wish that it came in a pot instead of a pencil. Pencil needs to be sharpened often to apply correctly!
"
Review 20 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lakelulady
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Big Color Eye Pencil
Date:January 8, 2014
"Waste of money as I could not get the product to turn up after I used the initial point. Nothing would turn to push up more."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.