Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop eyeshadow or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Big Color Eye Pencil

The chubby little pencil that packs a punch! Shadow and liner in one. Glide-on color lasts for hours. Waterproof. .056 oz. net wt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.117 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (120 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
15
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
8
90 of 120(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Color Eye Pencil
Review 1 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ConsultantK
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
BEST EVER, use Avon-brand pencil sharpener!
Date:April 6, 2014
"THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!! (I have at least TEN of these in various colors.) Perfect for your purse and travel. Contrary to some people who gave these 1-star, they CAN BE SHARPENED, and last a loooong time. Just be sure to purchase the Avon-brand sharpener, and pull out the little circular insert to accommodate this big pencil! My Mom got me started on these. Avon, does however, need to bring back their brown shade."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Di19
Location:CT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Extremely Disappointed (not with the shadow itself
Date:February 16, 2014
"Love the concept of the eye pencil and the way it goes on & the ease of handling it,however, when it comes to sharpening it there is no way.I own the sharpener with the large opening and still can't do it. Could not figure out how to get more product out had to ask rep. she was the one who told me to sharpen it. It's not working. The product itself is wonderful they should reconfigure the case with a twist bottom like their lip crayons. If that is all the product you can use, is what you see when you open it, what is the point. Certainly is not worth the money."
Review 3 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cybergrammie
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great product
Date:February 4, 2014
"I love the Big Color Eye Pencil, and have used it for about 5 years. Please bring back the color Pebble #H801! It is my favorite, and almost gone!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bedapana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
disappointed
Date:February 1, 2014
"I have used this product for a number of years and loved it--was able to sharpen it thus using it a long time. The last ones I ordered are encased in plastic and I not able to sharpen them.Only a small portion is usable,lasting only a few weeks. I cracked my sharpener trying to sharpen it. What am I doing wrong? Or have you changed the packaging? I cannot rationalize the cost relating to the amount of product., and so will probably not purchase any more.
Can someone please respond to this?
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mtrun
Location:Long Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great Product
Date:January 13, 2014
"Love these pencils...go on smooth (no tugging), blend easily, can be used as both liner and shadow, but PLEASE Avon, bring back Celadon and Blue Smoke!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lalaatl
Location:Georgia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Not Worth It
Date:January 10, 2014
"This pencil has maybe half an inch of usable product. Once the "point" is gone, there is no way to restore it, but the pencil can be used as a shadow. Then when that wears down, it is nothing. At least Avon could make the "paper" wrapping at the top so that you can tear it off. Ridiculously excessive "packaging"."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
carson
Location:Grand Junction, Colorado
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Big Color Pencil
Date:January 8, 2014
"Love the colors!! Stays on all day and blends beautifully!
Wish that it came in a pot instead of a pencil. Pencil needs to be sharpened often to apply correctly!
"
Review 8 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lakelulady
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Big Color Eye Pencil
Date:January 8, 2014
"Waste of money as I could not get the product to turn up after I used the initial point. Nothing would turn to push up more."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twinangel
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Best Waterline Pencil
Date:November 18, 2013
"I have used this as a waterline pencil and it stays on for hours. Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alegna
Location:Rochester, New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Date:November 4, 2013
"I like the pencil a lot color is great. But how do you sharpen it Does Avon sell a sharpener for that pencil? Or, is it by suction when you remove pencil from holder cover?"
Review 11 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessiAnn
Location:Southern California
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
absolutely love it!
Date:October 8, 2013
"I just received my first big eye pencil in the color Smokey Sage & I LOVE it! It goes on so smoothly,just glides right on, very easy to blend but stays on. Most shadows either fade or slide into the crease after a while, this one hasn't done that yet and I've had it on for about 5 hours. And I didn't even put concealer or eye primer on prior to application. And I absolutely adore the color, the picture online makes it look more like a green color but its more silvery when I put it on. Nonetheless I love it. I am expecting another order containing another Big Eye pencil :D"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hyacinth
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
smooth soft eye color
Date:October 8, 2013
"I purchased smoky sage and eggplant. They look great together or individually with my brown eyes. The sage has a nice shimmer to it and was pretty as an undereye liner, kind of like a highlighter with some color. Both are very soft and easy to blend. Recommend a light powder to set if using alone as eyeliner. These are long wearing eyeliners which can double as an eyeshadow with a little fingertip blending."
Review 13 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
betty08701
Not much for the money
Date:October 6, 2013
"The tip of crayon that you see in the picture is all you get. Not much for the price."
Review 14 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linnie5
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Big Color Eye Pencil
Date:September 29, 2013
"I LOVE LOVE the Big Color Eye Pencil! It goes on so smooth & easy. Its the best eyeliner I've found! I have hazel/green eyes and use the Celadon shade. I get alot of compliments on my eyes. I was so disappointed the last time I ordered though, they did not have the Celadon shade. PLEASE do not discontinue this shade!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Queennothing
Location:Newark Valley, N.Y.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Date:September 22, 2013
"Color holds all day, especially when covered with powder of the same color to seal it."
Review 16 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parii
quick question
Date:September 17, 2013
"this product was amazing and lasted all day long. I have a quick question though. Is this product self sharpened ?"
Review 17 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Monica99
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
nice, but not enough
Date:September 11, 2013
"I didn't realize when I purchased several of these that the amount of product shown in the picture is all there is to this eye pencil. (By the size of the pencil, one might guess there's more product in the pencil, but not so.)
What little there is goes on nicely, though, but I can't imagine buying more in future.
"
Review 18 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rovena
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Big Color Eye Pencil
Date:September 11, 2013
"For a number of years, I was a daily user of the Bluesmoke shade of Avon's Big Color Eye Pencil. I found the product perfect in every way. I recently tried to reorder, but Avon has eliminated the Bluesmoke shade. So, I ordered the Aqua and Eggplant shades hoping to find a suitable alternative to my favorite Bluesmoke. To make a long story short, both shades make my eyes burn. I thought, initially, it must be something else so I would go a day or two with nothing on my eyes. Then try again. My eyes would burn again. Then I would use what I have left of my Bluesmoke shade and my eyes were fine. I did this several times and each time the new shades burned my eyes all day long. I have concluded Avon has changed the chemical content along with eliminating my favorite shade."
Review 19 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
avnadct
Location:Phoenix, AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Definitely High End Quality
Date:August 31, 2013
"This pencil glided on and was so subtle but enough definition. It was not heavy as some other eyeliners I have purchased. It was silky and lasted as well. The color was beautiful too. I used this in conjunction with the new Kohl eyeliner which gave a nice effect. Will be buying more colors. My first one was Eggplant which is a soft muted purple. Really nice!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Color Eye Pencil
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mrskt
Location:Los Angeles, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not a wearable color
Date:August 22, 2013
"The peach color is way too frosty. Will not be wearing it."