Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat

Protein and keratin-infused formula creates a hard, shiny finish. Provides a sheer, natural and healthy look to nails. .4 fl. oz.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 of 27(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Review 1 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MHB123
Location:California
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Great Product!
Date:August 2, 2014
"I am amazed at how strong this base coat has made my nails. They kept breaking before I used it, and now they don't!"
Review 2 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WriteAboutIt
Location:Odenton, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE!
Date:June 28, 2014
"This base coat is seriously made with magic. Every Avon Customer should have consistent and permanent access to this product without fear of its discontinuance. In my opinion, it is worth even the full purchase price, though, I often do take advantage when it goes on sale. I don't understand how or why but this stuff leaves my nails looking buffed and shiny even after I take it off...like seriously, they look and even FEEL better after taking this off! They are usually pretty dry and dull looking but this has done some magical sealing and smoothing. I usually do two coats of this under my two to three coats of polish and then a coat of fast drying top coat and my polish stays pretty much put until I decide to remove it. I have and will continue to recommend this product to any woman who cares about the health of their nails!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barb0202
Location:ATL GA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
WORKS AS TOPCOAT TOO
Date:April 30, 2014
"Fortunately I've always had strong natural nails. I use this as a topcoat (apply thick and work fast for best looking results). WIth this as a topcoat I get a 10 day MINIMUM before ANY sort of wear or chip to my polish. It is Tough!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neptune
Location:Long Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Why is this in the outlet??? Best basecoat ever!!!
Date:April 1, 2014
"Outlet means close out, which is quite distressing. This is the only base coat I have ever used that actually preserves my manicure and prevents my nails from peeling, which is a long-standing problem for me. I have tried everything - expensive products, too - and nothing works like this. Avon, why do you always discontinue products that I love?"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spikewv
Location:WV
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Salon quality
Date:February 26, 2014
"I am a rep. I have been using avon's nail experts for years. This is a professional quality basecoat, when used with Nailwear and UV gloss guard topcoat you have a salon quality manicure. Please Avon keep these products in the nail experts collection. It looks and wears like a gel manicure, without the soaking and nail damage that causes. Products at many times the price can't beat them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MountainGrammie
Location:Wyoming
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Excellent Product!
Date:February 16, 2014
"I have wimpy nails that split and crack easily. As I've aged, they also get ridges in them. I wanted a product to help, and WOW did this do the trick. So easy to put on too. I put on one coat, and it's dry as soon as i'm done with my second hand. I immediately put on a second coat and let it dry for only 5 minutes, and it's good to go. Nice shiny finish, ridges gone, and very strong nails. It stays nice on my nails for several days. I will recommend this to everyone!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brooke1
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Shiny!
Date:February 15, 2014
"This is the first clear nail polish I have ever used that actually makes my nails look shiny when it's dry! Just a very nice, well-manicured, clean look, which I like sometimes instead of any color. I just got it so I am not sure how much it will strengthen my nails, but regardless, I am keeping it. :)"
Review 8 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulaAC
Location:Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Highly Recommended!!!!
Date:January 31, 2014
"I don't know of anything else that makes nails so strong and protected.... I just keep applying this every couple of days to keep my nails coated. This is one of the best products out there, so if you are having trouble with peeling, splitting or breaking, I would highly recommend this product. Another first class item from Avon!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grandmaduckie
Location:Baltimore, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Proffessional Style Product
Date:January 21, 2014
"This gel strength base coat is perfect for brittle nails. It helps protect them, adds a nice smooth base coat for your polish and goes on nicely. I use is many times without polish just to protect my nails and give them a nice shine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leep
Location:MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
It works!
Date:November 5, 2013
"I have struggled with splitting, breaking nails for years, &
have spent hundreds of dollars on "nail treatments". Nothing has worked. This is the 1st product that has actually let me
have long nails.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MaWags
Location:Michigan
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best Nails
Date:September 17, 2013
"Very happy with this product. This product does not cause yellowing and has strengthened my nails."
Review 12 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CAviews1
Location:The Woodlands, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Must buy
Date:August 28, 2013
"After using this product my nails have become stronger and beautiful!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sheb
Location:Indiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Fabulous product
Date:June 20, 2013
"I have never been able to grow nails. They get to a certain length and they start splitting and peeling. I started using this product and my nails are so long and hard. It is amazing! I put on a base coat, then polish and then another coat on top. You must let each coat dry completely or it will peel. I wait a day in between just to make sure they dry. I don't have to do anything to my nails for 2 to 3 weeks. It truly is an amazing product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
olmary
Location:hatboro, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
great product!
Date:June 15, 2013
"nails felt stronger, no chipping, love the tint of pink"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Savannah0601
Location:Douglasville, ga
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great base coat
Date:June 2, 2013
"My nails were always chipping, really badly. And after I started using this as my base coat, I found that my nails were chipping less frequently and not in the huge big flakes as they were before. I would definitely recommend this product to someone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shiree
Great Purchase
Date:May 14, 2013
"I just went from Gel Nails to my natural nails and this Gel Strength Base Coat is almost like having Salon Gel on my nails. My nails have become much stronger since I've purchased this product."
Review 17 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cmr34
Age:35-44
Skin type:Combination
its ok
Date:May 6, 2013
"Its okay the shine is amazing but when i apply it over the polish it always makes the polish peel off"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newbie98
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
The best
Date:April 26, 2013
"Love this item. Makes a huge difference when removing the colored polish. My nails are no longer stained. The base coat gel has helped taking off the polish so much easier!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
midsis2
What I Have Been Waiting For
Date:April 9, 2013
"I recently had a gel manicure and found it kept my nails from splitting and cracking. Tried this product and found it worked as well. Two coats and all the ridges are filled in and nails look wonderful."
Review 20 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marie888
Location:Pikesville, MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
Date:April 8, 2013
"I like this product it helps the nail polish apply smoother."