Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat

Protein and keratin-infused formula creates a hard, shiny finish. Provides a sheer, natural and healthy look to nails. .4 fl. oz.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
25 of 27(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Review 1 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Product
By: Jordan3
on March 31, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Jordan3
Location:Kansas City, MO, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
2OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I had high hopes for this product after I read the other reviews, but this product did not perform well for me. I used this base coat to do my toenails. By the next day, one toe was completely blank! I assumed that one of the jobs of a base coat was to adhere to the nail and provide a smooth surface for the polish. Apparently this base coat didn't adhere to my toenail, that's why the base coat, polish and top coat came off in one piece.
Definitely would not buy this product again.
"
0points
2OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wouldn't use again
By: annie0
on March 17, 2015
About the reviewer
By: annie0
Location:Kansas
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" This gel base coat peels off in a day or two; I won't use it since it doesn't last long enough to be effective. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nail Experts gel Strength Base Coat
By: NewYorkGal
on March 12, 2015
About the reviewer
By: NewYorkGal
Location:New York
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" After using this product ,my nails are much stronger and no longer chip. I would highly recommend it. I even purchased this product for my daughter, who loves it. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strong Base Coat
By: 1987
on March 10, 2015
About the reviewer
By: 1987
Location:PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I love this base coat. It goes on sale often so is a good value. It makes nails smooth and shiny to use alone, or helps polish adhere well used as a base coat. It also protects nails from staining from cheap nail polish and makes removal easier, as well. It doesn't make my nails (which peel) perfectly smooth. Bumps can be seen even after nail color is applied, but UV Gloss Guard top coat smooths it all over perfectly. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FAB!
By: mindenmama
on March 6, 2015
About the reviewer
By: mindenmama
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" Love this!!! REally stays on and strengthens my nails!! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strong
By: Chicaloca
on January 29, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Chicaloca
Location:Baldwin park, ca
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" Stays on for a while, nails are not that strong but Are peotected "
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
By: shelby1
on December 31, 2014
About the reviewer
By: shelby1
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+7points
8OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
" This base coat does exactly what you want. it protects nails from colors and helps strengthen them "
+7points
8OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best base coat
By: Sheba611
on October 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Sheba611
Location:Lancaster, CA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+29points
29OUT OF 29people found this review helpful
" I always stock up on this base coat when on sale. It is the best! My nail polish lasts all week with no chipping. My nails are far from perfect: lots of ridges and tendency to peal. Not the best condition for lasting manicures. My nail polish usually starts to peal and chip after a couple of days. Not since I started to use this base coat. Lasts 7 days now! Might even last longer but I like to change the color after a week. I have tried all kinds of base coats: drugstore brands to highend brands and nothing compares to this. Even the regular price is cheaper than most of the name brands. Get this base coat! "
+29points
29OUT OF 29people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!
By: MHB123
on August 2, 2014
About the reviewer
By: MHB123
Location:California
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+16points
16OUT OF 16people found this review helpful
" I am amazed at how strong this base coat has made my nails. They kept breaking before I used it, and now they don't! "
+16points
16OUT OF 16people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE!
By: WriteAboutIt
on June 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By: WriteAboutIt
Location:Odenton, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+17points
18OUT OF 19people found this review helpful
" This base coat is seriously made with magic. Every Avon Customer should have consistent and permanent access to this product without fear of its discontinuance. In my opinion, it is worth even the full purchase price, though, I often do take advantage when it goes on sale. I don't understand how or why but this stuff leaves my nails looking buffed and shiny even after I take it off...like seriously, they look and even FEEL better after taking this off! They are usually pretty dry and dull looking but this has done some magical sealing and smoothing. I usually do two coats of this under my two to three coats of polish and then a coat of fast drying top coat and my polish stays pretty much put until I decide to remove it. I have and will continue to recommend this product to any woman who cares about the health of their nails! "
+17points
18OUT OF 19people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORKS AS TOPCOAT TOO
By: Barb0202
on April 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Barb0202
Location:ATL GA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+12points
12OUT OF 12people found this review helpful
" Fortunately I've always had strong natural nails. I use this as a topcoat (apply thick and work fast for best looking results). WIth this as a topcoat I get a 10 day MINIMUM before ANY sort of wear or chip to my polish. It is Tough! "
+12points
12OUT OF 12people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why is this in the outlet??? Best basecoat ever!!!
By: Neptune
on April 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Neptune
Location:Long Island, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
" Outlet means close out, which is quite distressing. This is the only base coat I have ever used that actually preserves my manicure and prevents my nails from peeling, which is a long-standing problem for me. I have tried everything - expensive products, too - and nothing works like this. Avon, why do you always discontinue products that I love? "
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salon quality
By: Spikewv
on February 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Spikewv
Location:WV
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I am a rep. I have been using avon's nail experts for years. This is a professional quality basecoat, when used with Nailwear and UV gloss guard topcoat you have a salon quality manicure. Please Avon keep these products in the nail experts collection. It looks and wears like a gel manicure, without the soaking and nail damage that causes. Products at many times the price can't beat them. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product!
By: MountainGrammie
on February 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By: MountainGrammie
Location:Wyoming
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have wimpy nails that split and crack easily. As I've aged, they also get ridges in them. I wanted a product to help, and WOW did this do the trick. So easy to put on too. I put on one coat, and it's dry as soon as i'm done with my second hand. I immediately put on a second coat and let it dry for only 5 minutes, and it's good to go. Nice shiny finish, ridges gone, and very strong nails. It stays nice on my nails for several days. I will recommend this to everyone! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shiny!
By: Brooke1
on February 15, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Brooke1
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" This is the first clear nail polish I have ever used that actually makes my nails look shiny when it's dry! Just a very nice, well-manicured, clean look, which I like sometimes instead of any color. I just got it so I am not sure how much it will strengthen my nails, but regardless, I am keeping it. :) "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended!!!!
By: PaulaAC
on January 31, 2014
About the reviewer
By: PaulaAC
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I don't know of anything else that makes nails so strong and protected.... I just keep applying this every couple of days to keep my nails coated. This is one of the best products out there, so if you are having trouble with peeling, splitting or breaking, I would highly recommend this product. Another first class item from Avon!!! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proffessional Style Product
By: grandmaduckie
on January 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By: grandmaduckie
Location:Baltimore, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" This gel strength base coat is perfect for brittle nails. It helps protect them, adds a nice smooth base coat for your polish and goes on nicely. I use is many times without polish just to protect my nails and give them a nice shine. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works!
By: leep
on November 5, 2013
About the reviewer
By: leep
Location:MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I have struggled with splitting, breaking nails for years, &
have spent hundreds of dollars on "nail treatments". Nothing has worked. This is the 1st product that has actually let me
have long nails.
"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Nails
By: MaWags
on September 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By: MaWags
Location:Michigan
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" Very happy with this product. This product does not cause yellowing and has strengthened my nails. "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must buy
By: CAviews1
on August 28, 2013
About the reviewer
By: CAviews1
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" After using this product my nails have become stronger and beautiful! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>