Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat

Protein and keratin-infused formula creates a hard, shiny finish. Provides a sheer, natural and healthy look to nails. .4 fl. oz.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 of 27(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Review 1 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!
By MHB123
on August 2, 2014
About the reviewer
By MHB123
Location:California
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I am amazed at how strong this base coat has made my nails. They kept breaking before I used it, and now they don't!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE!
By WriteAboutIt
on June 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By WriteAboutIt
Location:Odenton, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This base coat is seriously made with magic. Every Avon Customer should have consistent and permanent access to this product without fear of its discontinuance. In my opinion, it is worth even the full purchase price, though, I often do take advantage when it goes on sale. I don't understand how or why but this stuff leaves my nails looking buffed and shiny even after I take it off...like seriously, they look and even FEEL better after taking this off! They are usually pretty dry and dull looking but this has done some magical sealing and smoothing. I usually do two coats of this under my two to three coats of polish and then a coat of fast drying top coat and my polish stays pretty much put until I decide to remove it. I have and will continue to recommend this product to any woman who cares about the health of their nails!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORKS AS TOPCOAT TOO
By Barb0202
on April 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By Barb0202
Location:ATL GA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"Fortunately I've always had strong natural nails. I use this as a topcoat (apply thick and work fast for best looking results). WIth this as a topcoat I get a 10 day MINIMUM before ANY sort of wear or chip to my polish. It is Tough!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why is this in the outlet??? Best basecoat ever!!!
By Neptune
on April 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By Neptune
Location:Long Island, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
"Outlet means close out, which is quite distressing. This is the only base coat I have ever used that actually preserves my manicure and prevents my nails from peeling, which is a long-standing problem for me. I have tried everything - expensive products, too - and nothing works like this. Avon, why do you always discontinue products that I love?"
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salon quality
By Spikewv
on February 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By Spikewv
Location:WV
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I am a rep. I have been using avon's nail experts for years. This is a professional quality basecoat, when used with Nailwear and UV gloss guard topcoat you have a salon quality manicure. Please Avon keep these products in the nail experts collection. It looks and wears like a gel manicure, without the soaking and nail damage that causes. Products at many times the price can't beat them."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product!
By MountainGrammie
on February 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By MountainGrammie
Location:Wyoming
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have wimpy nails that split and crack easily. As I've aged, they also get ridges in them. I wanted a product to help, and WOW did this do the trick. So easy to put on too. I put on one coat, and it's dry as soon as i'm done with my second hand. I immediately put on a second coat and let it dry for only 5 minutes, and it's good to go. Nice shiny finish, ridges gone, and very strong nails. It stays nice on my nails for several days. I will recommend this to everyone!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shiny!
By Brooke1
on February 15, 2014
About the reviewer
By Brooke1
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the first clear nail polish I have ever used that actually makes my nails look shiny when it's dry! Just a very nice, well-manicured, clean look, which I like sometimes instead of any color. I just got it so I am not sure how much it will strengthen my nails, but regardless, I am keeping it. :)"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended!!!!
By PaulaAC
on January 31, 2014
About the reviewer
By PaulaAC
Location:Pennsylvania
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I don't know of anything else that makes nails so strong and protected.... I just keep applying this every couple of days to keep my nails coated. This is one of the best products out there, so if you are having trouble with peeling, splitting or breaking, I would highly recommend this product. Another first class item from Avon!!!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proffessional Style Product
By grandmaduckie
on January 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By grandmaduckie
Location:Baltimore, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This gel strength base coat is perfect for brittle nails. It helps protect them, adds a nice smooth base coat for your polish and goes on nicely. I use is many times without polish just to protect my nails and give them a nice shine."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works!
By leep
on November 5, 2013
About the reviewer
By leep
Location:MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have struggled with splitting, breaking nails for years, &
have spent hundreds of dollars on "nail treatments". Nothing has worked. This is the 1st product that has actually let me
have long nails.
"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Nails
By MaWags
on September 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By MaWags
Location:Michigan
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Very happy with this product. This product does not cause yellowing and has strengthened my nails."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must buy
By CAviews1
on August 28, 2013
About the reviewer
By CAviews1
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"After using this product my nails have become stronger and beautiful!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous product
By Sheb
on June 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By Sheb
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I have never been able to grow nails. They get to a certain length and they start splitting and peeling. I started using this product and my nails are so long and hard. It is amazing! I put on a base coat, then polish and then another coat on top. You must let each coat dry completely or it will peel. I wait a day in between just to make sure they dry. I don't have to do anything to my nails for 2 to 3 weeks. It truly is an amazing product."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product!
By olmary
on June 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By olmary
Location:hatboro, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"nails felt stronger, no chipping, love the tint of pink"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great base coat
By Savannah0601
on June 2, 2013
About the reviewer
By Savannah0601
Location:Douglasville, ga
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"My nails were always chipping, really badly. And after I started using this as my base coat, I found that my nails were chipping less frequently and not in the huge big flakes as they were before. I would definitely recommend this product to someone."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase
By Shiree
on May 14, 2013
About the reviewer
By Shiree
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I just went from Gel Nails to my natural nails and this Gel Strength Base Coat is almost like having Salon Gel on my nails. My nails have become much stronger since I've purchased this product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its ok
By cmr34
on May 6, 2013
About the reviewer
By cmr34
Age:35-44
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Its okay the shine is amazing but when i apply it over the polish it always makes the polish peel off"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best
By Newbie98
on April 26, 2013
About the reviewer
By Newbie98
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Love this item. Makes a huge difference when removing the colored polish. My nails are no longer stained. The base coat gel has helped taking off the polish so much easier!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I Have Been Waiting For
By midsis2
on April 9, 2013
About the reviewer
By midsis2
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I recently had a gel manicure and found it kept my nails from splitting and cracking. Tried this product and found it worked as well. Two coats and all the ridges are filled in and nails look wonderful."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Marie888
on April 8, 2013
About the reviewer
By Marie888
Location:Pikesville, MD
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like this product it helps the nail polish apply smoother."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>