Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 311 reviews
5 Stars
149
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
38
1 Star
64
189 of 311(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 1 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
celeste519
Location:Detroit, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin type:Oily
Best Mascara Ever
Date:July 22, 2014
"This mascara completely transforms your eyelashes. I love it!!!!"
Review 2 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShayShay8208
Location:Spartanburg , SC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Mega Effects Mascara
Date:July 16, 2014
"I LOVE THIS MASCARA. I HAVE USED ALL TYPES OF MASCARA from every company. This is the best mascara I have found. That would include the high priced ones in department store. It doesn't clump when applying. I normally wear 2-3 coats with other brands. I can get by with one coats and my eyelashes look great. I have very sensitive eyes. This mascara does not irritate my eyes or make my eyes water ; after applying.
Thank Avon for an outstanding Mascara! I will wear this forever,
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luvinavon
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best mascara ever
Date:July 10, 2014
"I have thin eyelashes and have always had problems with getting mascara to show up on my eyelashes. This puts the mascara on evenly and the first time and it is so easy to use. Love it."
Review 4 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ladybiker
Location:Rogers, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Disappointing purchase
Date:July 7, 2014
"The brush is awful! I was unable to apply the mascara to my eyelashes with any kind of precision, and wound up making a huge mess on my eyelids!! I will never buy this again! Do't waste your money on this one!"
Review 5 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sverde
Location:New Orleans
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
Love It!!
Date:June 29, 2014
"I love this mascara. I don't really care for fake eyelashes, but I do like my lashes to show. This mascara extends the lashes so much, that it almost looks like I'm wearing the fake lashes and doesn't pull any out. It's the only kind I use now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
35hmv6
Location:Jackson, NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Simply the best mascara
Date:June 27, 2014
"I have tried different mascaras , from the lowest to highest priced from almost all brands. This is, hands down, the best. No clumping, wonderful length, and easy to use. No matter which negative reviews you have read.....this is a must try. I think the results you get from this product will override any negative review."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
crystalleigh1218
Location:Denver, CO
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Not a fan.
Date:June 25, 2014
"Bought this mascara just to try since it comes with a unique brush concept. The mascara itself is very watery and splashed drops of mascara around my eye as I was applying it, and the applicator was VERY awkward for me and made it very hard to see what I was doing because my hand was in front of my eye instead of applying it from the side. Did not like at all, going to give it to a friend and see if she wants to try it. Not for me."
Review 8 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
crystalleigh1218
Location:Denver, CO
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
NOT a fan.
Date:June 25, 2014
"Bought this mascara just to try since it comes with a unique brush concept. The mascara itself is very watery and splashed drops of mascara around my eye as I was applying it, and the applicator was VERY awkward for me and made it very hard to see what I was doing because my hand was in front of my eye instead of applying it from the side. Did not like at all, going to give it to a friend and see if she wants to try it. Not for me."
Review 9 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mssvvs
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
dissappointed
Date:June 15, 2014
"Gosh, don't know what I expected but this mascara sure did not live up o the "hype. I find it difficult to use and it does nothing for my lashes."
Review 10 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarionVirginia
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Loved it, but...
Date:June 12, 2014
"Easily the best mascara I've ever had, but the applicator broke after a while. The pink handle detached from the black brush, and the brush became stuck in the well. Except for that it was amazing! Definitely going to buy this product again."
Review 11 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MMAZUR
Location:Germantown, WI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
BEST MASCARA EVER
Date:June 5, 2014
"I have tried 100's of different mascara over the years and have really never found one I buy twice till now. This is really amazing. One coat and little time and I am done. I no longer have to put on two coats to get the desired effect. Try this now - you will not regret it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
malinscholt
Location:prescott valley, az
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great new product
Date:May 30, 2014
"I do love a great mascara. This mascara is pretty great, I only wish it dried faster. But when you are headed out to a night on the town and want gorgeous lashes that last all night this is the go to mascara. Very close to falsies and is build-able so you can go as far as you want. I always get asked if my lashes are real when I wear this stuff. Yet another awesome AVON product."
Review 13 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tyia
Location:PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Eureka! I'm Raccoon Free
Date:May 27, 2014
"I have been searching for 40 years to find a mascara that doesn't clump and doesn't leave me looking like a raccoon. I believe I have found it. It doesn't take much to make your lashes appear fuller and longer. It usually takes me one swipe and if I miss the corner lashes I touch them lightly with the tip of the brush. The brush is great and the design, in my opinion, prevents clumping. The best part is that I actually wore this mascara for 18 hours and had absolutely no smudging under my eyes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bobbi
Location:East Coast of Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Doesn't stay on well
Date:May 26, 2014
"This goes on really well but it doesn't stay on!! You have to reapply this several times a day to keep the look."
Review 15 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tallyn
The best for thick lashes and volume
Date:May 23, 2014
"It took me awhile to get the hang of use this mascara but once I did, it work better than anything I've tried. I have short thin lashes and it makes such a big difference, it's worth the effort. I gave it a 5 is but if I wear it all day it takes a bit of maintenance, it'll end up under my eyes, but who cares? The effect is so dramatic it's worth the trouble."
Review 16 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TurahShaver
Location:Weatherford, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good at First
Date:May 23, 2014
"I LOVED this product when it first came out. I bought like 6 to keep in various places. After a month or so I noticed the wands kept popping back open. I made very sure both sides "clicked" but when I would go back it would not be secure. It happened to ALL of them and they all got dry and clumpy. Loved the product at first but I think the packaging needs some work."
Review 17 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AngieL
What a mess
Date:May 10, 2014
"This is the worst mascara I have ever attempted using. Trying to get the 'wand' out, I grabbed a hold of the part that holds that mascara, so it was accidentally squeezed all over the place when I was finally able to get it out. And then applying the mascara is a joke. The "angle" of the brush part is ridiculous. It makes you apply way more mascara to the out parts of your eyes, and it skips the middle part of your eye. What a horrible design. I'm going back to the older style wand."
Review 18 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Momoften
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Waste of Money
Date:May 8, 2014
"I usually love everything I buy from Avon. Purchased 2 of these and both have dried out in less than a month. The main problem is the lid will not stay on. You have to tape the lid on to keep it on."
Review 19 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cjzrowdylady66
Location:Missouri
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
FINALLY!
Date:May 5, 2014
"I have searched for years for a mascara that stands true to it's word! Thank you and please keep this product offered!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cosmobindi2
Location:Oviedo, Fl
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Mega Effects Mascara
Date:May 1, 2014
"Recently purchased this mascara and I really love this product. Once you get used to applying this mascara, its really fast and looks great!"