Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Makeup or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Overall rating:
3.542 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 343 reviews
5 Stars
165
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
43
1 Star
68
201 of 326(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 1 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mascara, if used correctly!
By SamAnne
on December 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By SamAnne
Location:Kennewick, WA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"This is the BEST mascara! I see where others complain it dried out or is awkward to use. At first, it can be tricky, but after the first couple of applications it's much easier to apply! You have to remember to fully snap brush back into case & you can feel it click shut. If it doesn't click it's not snapped back in case. This is a MUST to keep it from drying out. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS & you'll be fine! Yes, it is a wetter mascara, but once dry, lashes are AMAZING!
P.S...Now that I've been using this for a while, I have a hard time going back to a basic brush!"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Didn't Like it
By Rsmith
on November 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By Rsmith
Location:San Antonio, TX.
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I purchased this mascara in August of this year and I've used it maybe twice. Just couldn't get the hang of the wand handle. Well, because the top dosn't fasten well it has already dried up. I would not recommend this mascara, sorry."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
decent product. not my favorite.
By trishalynn
on November 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By trishalynn
Location:Santa Rosa, CA, USA
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am not necessarily a fan of the way the product is shaped. it goes on very messy, and seems to dry slowly but once it dries it makes lashes look very nice, but i have had better mascaras from avon before."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Initially loved it, but now...
By pickles6232
on November 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By pickles6232
Location:Dallas, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"When I first received this mascara I was so impressed with it that I had to tell everyone about it. However, after a few weeks it's dried out and impossible to use. I opened it last night and ended up with dried mascara flakes all over my face. If it's on sale, buy it, but don't expect it to last very long."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
**BEST** Mascara I have ever used!!!
By AMYK316
on November 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By AMYK316
Location:Boise, ID, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I was hesitant to buy this mascara since it was not like the usual mascara applicators. I'm so glad I bought it. This mascara is the best I have ever used. The applicator takes a few times to get used to, but very easy, once comfortable with it. My lashes are naturally long to begin with, but this mascara really makes them stand out, especially my bottom lashes. I also noticed that it doesn't flake, even later in the day/evening. I highly recommend this product."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unsatisfied!
By PRSD
on November 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By PRSD
-1point
2OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"Leaves a big clump on long lashes. Probably works better on short ones."
-1point
2OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of the best Mascaras
By jojohn2913
on October 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By jojohn2913
Location:Cheltenham, MD 20623, USA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Dry
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"Great mascara, makes it look like you have long lashes. For best results use the lash conditioner/primer. Only con about this product is that it dries out in a few weeks."
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasantly surprised
By ReynaV
on October 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By ReynaV
Location:Washington, DC, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Dry
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
"I just love this mascara! I normally have to use multiple layers of multiple products to achieve the look this mascara gives in one application. My lashes were separated, with volume and length, fabulous!"
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value Toxic Free
By DrDorothy
on October 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By DrDorothy
Location:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
-15points
1OUT OF 17people found this review helpful
"Patricia is a highly dedicated and reliable person. If Customer Service had a name, it would be named Patricia Aufiero. She knows the product backwards and forwards and how to get the most value for your dollar. I highly recommend Patricia as your Avon Rep."
-15points
1OUT OF 17people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed
By winstonsmom
on September 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By winstonsmom
Location:Xenia, OH 45385, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+14points
14OUT OF 14people found this review helpful
"I liked this at first but then it started drying out only after about three weeks and I kept it tightly capped. Then it started glopping and sticking my eyelashes together. This was my first time trying it and I think I will try something else this time."
+14points
14OUT OF 14people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mascara for those with restricted motor skills
By SHADKIN
on September 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By SHADKIN
+20points
20OUT OF 20people found this review helpful
"I figured that this disease I had [parkinson's] meant I had seen the last of me and mascara. I knew a yard brush type applicator would be better suited to my limitations, and Avon have brought it out! It gets over all my motor skills difficulties. In actual fact, with it I can apply layer after layer of the stuff without the clogging tendencies I always got with a wand. So it looks better than it did pre-parkinson's. One reservation though, could you bring out a tear proof formula? When it gets in my eyes it stings."
+20points
20OUT OF 20people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mascara I have purchased
By TwiztidGirl
on September 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By TwiztidGirl
Location:Upstate New York
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
"I was skeptical because I have short eyelashes and they are super light blonde. I bought this in blackest black, and oh my goodness it is amazing !!!! I had to read the instructions on how to open it the first time, but it was pretty simple. The brush flips around which is awesome and its super easy to apply !! No complaints at all"
+10points
10OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adds volume and length
By Treview
on September 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By Treview
Location:Denver, CO, USA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+9points
10OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
"This mascara definitely adds volume and length to your lashes. I got used to the different handle design after a few times."
+9points
10OUT OF 11people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
flakes and difficult to apply
By Ramsey
on September 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By Ramsey
Location:Tacoma, WA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I know that AVON spent a long time developing this product, but maybe it's just too hard to teach an old dog a new trick. Not comfortable to use (I smear it on my eyelid and under my eye), but most importantly, it flakes, so in the evening, I have to wipe it off. Sorry, Avon. The Big Daring mascara is great, though!"
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Non-other like it!
By ALady2
on September 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By ALady2
Location:Southern California
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is a 5 star Mascara, non-other like it. I hope it's a keeper. Love it! It really lengthens and Separates"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this mascara!
By shill57957
on September 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By shill57957
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is the absolutely best mascara I have ever used. It truly makes it easy to get every last very quickly."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This Paint Brush is Amazing.....
By DeniseAvonChick
on September 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By DeniseAvonChick
Location:Louisville KY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"This paint brush is amazing I only wish the mascara was not so wet! AVON could you please go back into your labs and redo the formula or better yet, use the formula you have in your new Big Daring Mascara along with that Paint Brush style applicator and you will really have something special :)"
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love, love, love...
By jzgrl
on September 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By jzgrl
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I use to use 3 different mascaras to get half the results of this amazing mascara! Don't forget to also get the mascara tool it is just as amazing."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Interesting product
By babysunshine74
on August 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By babysunshine74
Location:Las Vegas
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"Not sure how I feel about this one. Its very wet so you have to very careful putting it on. The applicator brush is a neat design. I don't like that thru out the day I noticed a dark mark in my eye shadow where my lashes had been hitting all day. It was leaving stains. Not attractive at all."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just can't get it right with this one
By Devoney
on August 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By Devoney
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"So if I can get it on correctly, which isn't every time, it looks fabulous. However, if I just move the wrong way I get a huge clump of mascara and if I make the mistake of blinking, now I've got a glob of it in my eye. I can't seem to get both eyes right. I get one right, the other gets mascara in it. P.S. There are youtube videos on how to apply it. It works if you can get it right. I guess my hands are not steady enough to use."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>