Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 311 reviews
5 Stars
149
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
38
1 Star
64
189 of 311(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 21 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
booknavigator
Location:Boise, ID
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Best Product Ever
Date:April 28, 2014
"Please do not stop making this! I am a 'senior' and my eyelashes are so blond you cannot see them. I have tried several 'normal' mascara's and have found them difficult to use and they do not seem to cover my eyelashes with very much product. I can make just 2 swipes (very easy to use) with this style of mascara and my lashes pop out! Wonderful!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
onejap
Location:Minneapolis,MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Do not waste your money
Date:April 17, 2014
"I usually LOVE AVON products,but this mascara was a HUGE disappointment. It is terribly difficult to apply because of the brush and the container is hard to open. Every time I pull it apart I wind up with flecks of black mascara all over the place, including my clothes. I have found the mascara itself to be 'dry' in application. Maybe this was a good idea on the boardroom table, it should have stayed there."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Daktarii
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Major Disappointment
Date:April 15, 2014
"Had high hopes for the new applicator. Found it difficult to use. Truly though, the big issue here is how clumpy this product makes your lashes. They look like a child's first attempt at applying makeup. Gobs of mascara is some areas, next to none in others. Clumps! Ugh. Used it once and in the trash it went. An expensive failed experiment."
Review 24 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GGail
Location:Yacolt, Washington
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great item..I love it
Date:April 10, 2014
"I bought this on a whim just to see what it was about and I am so glad I did. It is easy to use in that it covers all my lashes in just a couple strokes. Takes a little getting used to as far as using it but I will never go back to a regular mascara wand. I love it and recommend to anyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoJoKitty
Location:West Coast
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
The BEST mascara!
Date:March 31, 2014
"As I have aged, my eyelashes have gotten shorter and thinner. Not only that, they are blonde and barely visible. This mascara actually makes it look like I not only have eyelashes, but long ones! There is no clumping and once you get used to the applicator, you can apply the mascara very quickly. Definitely worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mynisa
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not as great as it looks
Date:March 31, 2014
"Although it looks like it will be compact, easy to apply, and have great coverage, I saw no additional length or volume, its awkward to hold and maneuver and doesnt dry fast so it leaves lash marks on your eyelids."
Review 27 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
jmc1
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Clumpy and unuseable
Date:March 28, 2014
"This product was very disappointing. The mascara was so sloppy and clumpy that it wasn't useable. I would not recommend this product to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeatleBette
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Awesome Mascara!
Date:March 25, 2014
"I love the new Mega Effects Mascara. I love the mascara itself, and the way it goes on to cover and enhance my lashes. I love the shape of the applicator, and the way I can bend it for easy handling. I find I don't even need to apply eye liner anymore! This mascara does it all. ♥"
Review 29 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MsCandlstick
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Mega Product
Date:March 21, 2014
"Love the product. Idea is great and easy to apply. Hardly any smear to remove from skin around the eye after application. Only one negative point I can see. You can't swirl the brush inside the container to get more mascara on the brush like you can with the conventional applicators. I guess the best way to know you are getting the most out of it is to store it upside down so the mascara stays at top with the brush. How can you improve it? Offer a "waterproof" formula!"
Review 30 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lyna0929
It's alright
Date:March 19, 2014
"It seemed cool, but it doesn't provide as dramatic effect as I thought."
Review 31 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mcooke
Location:Southern Missouri
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
LOVE it
Date:March 11, 2014
"I absolutely love this mascara. The brush took some getting used to, because it is so different than anything I've ever used. But I don't think I'll ever go back. This brush is easy to use, doesn't clump up your lashes And I swear it gets every single lash. I also like that it's not waterproof, I just hate waterproof mascara it's so hard to remove. Don't hesitate this purchase. You won't regret buying this."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KitsMom
Location:Army Wife, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Really Lengthens
Date:March 10, 2014
"I bought this because it was on sale. The con, it is very "liquidy." The BIG PRO is that it does have MEGA effects, at least for me. I have very short eyelashes, so I need help lengthening them. I use another Avon mascara as a base and use the MEGA effects on my tips and they look AMAZING. I am so happy I tried this stuff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
hallmark
Location:Michigan
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Save your money
Date:March 9, 2014
"Unless you are a makeup artist..this is not an easy to use brush. Product is thick and clumpy. Not worth the money."
Review 34 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chewy84
Location:North Dakota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Mega Effects not so Mega
Date:March 4, 2014
"I am dedicated to Avon products and am usually happy with every purchase, but the Mega Effects Mascara is a dud....sorry Avon! It's hard to put on and not much for the price."
Review 35 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RL2014
Outstanding! Best Mascara Ever!!!
Date:March 2, 2014
"Okay for the lady who is reading the reviews and trying to ascertain if the reviews are accurate or not - this review is for you. I was just like you. I always read reviews. But the reviews for this product were too good to be true. I read the lowest rated reviews and they were horrible. I really couldn't figure out who was most accurate; the ladies who were giving this product five stars or the ladies who were giving it one star.
I decided to get youtube confirmation. Seeing is believing. After listening to the ladies on youtube I decided to take a risk and purchase the product.
Best decision I ever made! The ladies who gave this product five stars were right. I love this product. I hope this is one of Avon's forever product because I will continue to buy it.
Love it, love it, love it. If you like thick, long, black lashes this product is for you.
Signed a Real Person! :-)"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kate55
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love this mascara
Date:March 2, 2014
"I gave this mascara a try and it has become my #1 pick in mascaras. My eyelashes are short and light and this provides volume and length without clumping. I would definitely recommend giving it a try."
Review 37 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JennW
Location:glenpool, ok
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!
Date:February 28, 2014
"I was kinda confused on how to use it, but i went right in and tried it out.assoon as it hit my lashes i knew this was the macara i have been waitiing on! Its light on the lashes and leaves them looking longer and thicker! And for a wet macara it drys super fast so you dont have to sit there fanning your eyes to dry!!! LOVE IT!!!"
Review 38 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DLRN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good, But....
Date:February 28, 2014
"I do like the mascara and the brush design. My only gripe (and what will keep me from reordering again....) was that I had to reorder in NO time and I don't wear a lot of mascara. One bottle does not go very far at all. For the price, it should."
Review 39 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Koffeequeen
Location:Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Brilliant Mascara!
Date:February 27, 2014
"This is by far, one of the best mascaras I have ever used. I have spent quite a bit of money on mascara over the years including big name brands and this is a lot of bang for your buck! I will be a repeat customer on this one. Love it!"
Review 40 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BWtrekkie
Location:Virginia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great!!!
Date:February 27, 2014
"This product gives me the best lashes ever-BUT I suggest practicing some before you use it and go out-I got it everywhere the first couple times-once you get the hang of it it's gorgeous-just take your time. It's like mascara and primer in one step!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.