Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 319 reviews
5 Stars
155
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
38
1 Star
65
196 of 319(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 21 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tyia
Location:PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Eureka! I'm Raccoon Free
Date:May 27, 2014
"I have been searching for 40 years to find a mascara that doesn't clump and doesn't leave me looking like a raccoon. I believe I have found it. It doesn't take much to make your lashes appear fuller and longer. It usually takes me one swipe and if I miss the corner lashes I touch them lightly with the tip of the brush. The brush is great and the design, in my opinion, prevents clumping. The best part is that I actually wore this mascara for 18 hours and had absolutely no smudging under my eyes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bobbi
Location:East Coast of Florida
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Doesn't stay on well
Date:May 26, 2014
"This goes on really well but it doesn't stay on!! You have to reapply this several times a day to keep the look."
Review 23 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tallyn
The best for thick lashes and volume
Date:May 23, 2014
"It took me awhile to get the hang of use this mascara but once I did, it work better than anything I've tried. I have short thin lashes and it makes such a big difference, it's worth the effort. I gave it a 5 is but if I wear it all day it takes a bit of maintenance, it'll end up under my eyes, but who cares? The effect is so dramatic it's worth the trouble."
Review 24 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TurahShaver
Location:Weatherford, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good at First
Date:May 23, 2014
"I LOVED this product when it first came out. I bought like 6 to keep in various places. After a month or so I noticed the wands kept popping back open. I made very sure both sides "clicked" but when I would go back it would not be secure. It happened to ALL of them and they all got dry and clumpy. Loved the product at first but I think the packaging needs some work."
Review 25 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AngieL
What a mess
Date:May 10, 2014
"This is the worst mascara I have ever attempted using. Trying to get the 'wand' out, I grabbed a hold of the part that holds that mascara, so it was accidentally squeezed all over the place when I was finally able to get it out. And then applying the mascara is a joke. The "angle" of the brush part is ridiculous. It makes you apply way more mascara to the out parts of your eyes, and it skips the middle part of your eye. What a horrible design. I'm going back to the older style wand."
Review 26 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Momoften
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Waste of Money
Date:May 8, 2014
"I usually love everything I buy from Avon. Purchased 2 of these and both have dried out in less than a month. The main problem is the lid will not stay on. You have to tape the lid on to keep it on."
Review 27 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cjzrowdylady66
Location:Missouri
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
FINALLY!
Date:May 5, 2014
"I have searched for years for a mascara that stands true to it's word! Thank you and please keep this product offered!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cosmobindi2
Location:Oviedo, Fl
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Mega Effects Mascara
Date:May 1, 2014
"Recently purchased this mascara and I really love this product. Once you get used to applying this mascara, its really fast and looks great!"
Review 29 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
booknavigator
Location:Boise, ID
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Best Product Ever
Date:April 28, 2014
"Please do not stop making this! I am a 'senior' and my eyelashes are so blond you cannot see them. I have tried several 'normal' mascara's and have found them difficult to use and they do not seem to cover my eyelashes with very much product. I can make just 2 swipes (very easy to use) with this style of mascara and my lashes pop out! Wonderful!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
onejap
Location:Minneapolis,MN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Do not waste your money
Date:April 17, 2014
"I usually LOVE AVON products,but this mascara was a HUGE disappointment. It is terribly difficult to apply because of the brush and the container is hard to open. Every time I pull it apart I wind up with flecks of black mascara all over the place, including my clothes. I have found the mascara itself to be 'dry' in application. Maybe this was a good idea on the boardroom table, it should have stayed there."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Daktarii
Location:Illinois
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Major Disappointment
Date:April 15, 2014
"Had high hopes for the new applicator. Found it difficult to use. Truly though, the big issue here is how clumpy this product makes your lashes. They look like a child's first attempt at applying makeup. Gobs of mascara is some areas, next to none in others. Clumps! Ugh. Used it once and in the trash it went. An expensive failed experiment."
Review 32 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GGail
Location:Yacolt, Washington
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Great item..I love it
Date:April 10, 2014
"I bought this on a whim just to see what it was about and I am so glad I did. It is easy to use in that it covers all my lashes in just a couple strokes. Takes a little getting used to as far as using it but I will never go back to a regular mascara wand. I love it and recommend to anyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoJoKitty
Location:West Coast
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
The BEST mascara!
Date:March 31, 2014
"As I have aged, my eyelashes have gotten shorter and thinner. Not only that, they are blonde and barely visible. This mascara actually makes it look like I not only have eyelashes, but long ones! There is no clumping and once you get used to the applicator, you can apply the mascara very quickly. Definitely worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mynisa
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not as great as it looks
Date:March 31, 2014
"Although it looks like it will be compact, easy to apply, and have great coverage, I saw no additional length or volume, its awkward to hold and maneuver and doesnt dry fast so it leaves lash marks on your eyelids."
Review 35 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
jmc1
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Clumpy and unuseable
Date:March 28, 2014
"This product was very disappointing. The mascara was so sloppy and clumpy that it wasn't useable. I would not recommend this product to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeatleBette
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Awesome Mascara!
Date:March 25, 2014
"I love the new Mega Effects Mascara. I love the mascara itself, and the way it goes on to cover and enhance my lashes. I love the shape of the applicator, and the way I can bend it for easy handling. I find I don't even need to apply eye liner anymore! This mascara does it all. ♥"
Review 37 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MsCandlstick
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Mega Product
Date:March 21, 2014
"Love the product. Idea is great and easy to apply. Hardly any smear to remove from skin around the eye after application. Only one negative point I can see. You can't swirl the brush inside the container to get more mascara on the brush like you can with the conventional applicators. I guess the best way to know you are getting the most out of it is to store it upside down so the mascara stays at top with the brush. How can you improve it? Offer a "waterproof" formula!"
Review 38 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lyna0929
It's alright
Date:March 19, 2014
"It seemed cool, but it doesn't provide as dramatic effect as I thought."
Review 39 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mcooke
Location:Southern Missouri
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
LOVE it
Date:March 11, 2014
"I absolutely love this mascara. The brush took some getting used to, because it is so different than anything I've ever used. But I don't think I'll ever go back. This brush is easy to use, doesn't clump up your lashes And I swear it gets every single lash. I also like that it's not waterproof, I just hate waterproof mascara it's so hard to remove. Don't hesitate this purchase. You won't regret buying this."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KitsMom
Location:Army Wife, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Really Lengthens
Date:March 10, 2014
"I bought this because it was on sale. The con, it is very "liquidy." The BIG PRO is that it does have MEGA effects, at least for me. I have very short eyelashes, so I need help lengthening them. I use another Avon mascara as a base and use the MEGA effects on my tips and they look AMAZING. I am so happy I tried this stuff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.