Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Overall rating:
3.519 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 310 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
38
1 Star
64
188 of 310(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 41 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Micah5five
Location:Missoula, MT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date:February 22, 2014
"There is a bit of a learning curve to this product, because it is a liquid I managed to get mascara all over my eyelids. But nothing a little more eye shadow couldn't rub away. I have Multiple sclerosis and I tend to always poke my eye balls with the bristles of regular mascara's and I always get some mascara on my nose from the wand because I don't have as much control. This is the first time I haven't poked my eye with the bristles. The design is PERFECT for me. I will learn how not to get it on my eyelids :) I only layered this product 2xs and I had volume and length. Never will I buy another product. Thanks Avon!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
freddie01
Location:Kansas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Not good for Me.
Date:February 21, 2014
"Because I threw away the return information, I just pitched this as it wouldn't be good to pass on to someone.
It was way too difficult to open and control. I do have fibro so perhaps a product not great to someone with arthritic or OPENING issues. When I finally did get it open and followed all directions it was nothing special and so much work! It went into the trash.
"
Review 43 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
glb1965
Location:Orange Park, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
WOW!
Date:February 10, 2014
"After going through chemo, my eyelashes are very thin. I have tried many products and this one actually makes me look like I finally have eyelashes."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hffn
Location:stl mo
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
wears and cleans up well
Date:February 2, 2014
"I have fair fine curly lashes. This brush separates and straightened even the tiniest ones, the more that happens the longer and thicker my lashes can look, or clump at the ends and become flaky and smears. I don't have smears or clumps or flakes with this. I did use just the original amount on the brush on both eyes and then brush brush brush til dry, cause that's just what I do:) what I really liked about it is that I use Vaseline and qtips to remove, 1 qtips, 1 end for each eye only dipped once each in the Vaseline and they were completely clean, no raccoon eyes in the morning either. That is brand new for me!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scholar
Location:Glendale, AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love this!
Date:February 1, 2014
"I absolutely LOVE this mascara!!! I've been asked many times if I'm wearing false lashes, lol! This mascara coats each and every lash, even the tiny ones and brings the most beautiful bold of your lashes to life. The cosmetic industry is going to have a difficult time trying to top this. The other perk; it does sweat off and you can still use skin care cleansing sheets or soap and water to remove it. It doesn't get better than that!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cucamacara
Dissappointed!
Date:January 30, 2014
"I tried using this mascara several times and each time it
goes on too much and it clumps up on the lashes and gets all over my eyes. Looking at the reviews people love this mascara but maybe I just got a case of bad luck and
got a lemon!
"
Review 47 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ACHoofman
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Would NOT purchase again!
Date:January 29, 2014
"Did not like this new Mega Effects Mascara at all! Clumpy, messy... The new "style" looked like it would work great but it was not worth the trouble. I wouldn't purchase it again and would not recommend it."
Review 48 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
zmemom
Location:Whitesburg, Ga
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love/Hate
Date:January 28, 2014
"I only wear Avon mascaras, so I know the quality of their products. This is not one of their best products. The lid will not stay on, the mascara dries out, and there isn't enough mascara for the price. I love the brush though... it is actually easy to use, if the product was working right. Please fix the lid and flaking issues!!!"
Review 49 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Queeney
Location:New Orleans, LA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Been Using for 6 Months
Date:January 25, 2014
"I have used this mascara since it first came out. It took a little practice to get use to the design, but it's as easy to apply as with any other type brush. I find I have to tilt my head back more when applying to avoid getting it on my lid.
OVERALL, the mascara itself is average but it does stays on all day & I haven't had a problem with smudging or running. WATERPROOF would be great though!!!
The applicator is comfortable, easy & fast to apply once you get use to it. No different than any other mascara applicator.
I ordered 1 black & 1 brown/black on Aug., 6, 2013 & I am still using both of them in Jan., 2014. The black is still very moist. I am just replacing the brown/black. So I don't know why others are drying up so fast. YES, I use it everyday.
"
Review 50 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stacey2344
Location:Adrian, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
No other mascara compares
Date:January 24, 2014
"No other mascara compares to the Mega Effects mascara. It goes on great, stays on and I was even asked if I was wearing false eyelashes!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
flyer
Location:FL
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Difficult, At Best!
Date:January 23, 2014
"I found this difficult to use at best! Had mascara all over the place; everywhere but on my lashes. This didn't lengthen my lashes and am seriously thinking of exchanging it for another line here."
Review 52 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
EME5353
Location:NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Mascara
Date:January 23, 2014
"No big deal. I don't find it worth the time it takes to figure out the right angle. Works best on lower lashes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMD1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
LOVE THIS MASCARA!
Date:January 22, 2014
"This is the best mascara I have ever used. It takes one coat and stays on all day with no flaking. I love that it comes off in the shower too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RocknPinkSunshine
Location:Utah
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
dried out fast. hard to use. crummy formula
Date:January 18, 2014
"2 stars because I liked the flexibility of the wand's bristles, how soft they are and very easily separates my lashes and didn't pull my lashes like some wands tend to do.
-3 stars because the formula is everything. It didn't last very long. I had to coat my lashes 4-5 times with loose powder in between coats to amplify the volume before they looked as good as SuperShocked with two coats.
I found that it took quite a bit of time before I could use the wand right and still I got mascara all over my lids and under my eyes. I was constantly using make-up remover and/or adding foundation to remove and/or cover up mistakes.
It was irritating the most when I had to remove the mascara from under my eye because I don't apply any to my lower lashes ever. I love the cat eye look. I had to completely change my eye make-up routine.
"
Review 55 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ragnell
Location:Garland, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love this stuff!
Date:January 18, 2014
"This stuff is wonderful. I love the volume it gives my lashes. It makes my eyes pop. It is easier for my sister who has RA to use because she can adjust the applicator. She gets all the volume she needs with one application."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrEx
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
perfect
Date:January 17, 2014
"i love this product , works great on lashes and it totally makes your lashes dark , and very long!!!! by far I rate this product 4 1/2 stars !!!! very good easy to use!! I love this product! I think everyone should use it
:)
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KimGavin85
Location:Bellflower, CA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
I love this product!
Date:January 17, 2014
"I have used every mascara from very expensive to drugstore brands, and i MUST say this is the best one i have used. i love how you can bend the brush to get all the little hairs on the inner corners and outer corners of the eye. I cant live without this! and it last me all day long. i have watery eyes and this one is awesome. This is a MUST try!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NYBev
Location:Central New York State
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Can't Believe I Have Lashes!
Date:January 16, 2014
"Received this mascara today and just had to try it. Cannot believe the difference! Have been using a mascara from another company and had to really work to get my lashes to show. With this, once I got used to the brush, my lashes popped! And, I didn't have to stand in front of the mirror for half an hour to get any coverage. Love it! Would recommend this product to anyone who has thin, short lashes."
Review 59 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisc717
Location:Youngstown, OH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
MUST HAVE!
Date:January 16, 2014
"I've been using this masacara for about two months. Not long, but it is one of my MUST HAVE products! I have long, fine lashes so I am always looking for volumizing mascara. After one week using this one, I threw all the others away! It goes on nice & easy in two coats (especially if you use Avon's Lash Conditioner & Primer first). No Clumps! It lasts all day and washes off easy! I LOVE THIS MASCARA! It is not hard to adapt to the applicator; it is easier than traditional wands once you get used to it."
Review 60 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KRcalifornia
Location:Alameda CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
great mascara
Date:January 9, 2014
"I had no problem adjusting to the applicator and it goes on smoothly with ZERO clumps. Doesn't flake or smear throughout the day. Try it, you'll like it!"