Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop mascara or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Average Customer Rating:
3.531 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (288 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
29
3 stars
29
2 stars
36
1 star
57
175 of 288(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 41 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlohaJoy
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
My new favorite mascara
Date:December 29, 2013
"This mascara is great! The brush really does define each lash, and it's so easy! I've tried so many other brands that boast that they define each lash only to discover that they don't and that the mascara flakes off. Not this one, it lasts all day."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyP
Location:Phila. PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love it!
Date:December 29, 2013
"This mascara is really different than the usual. The brush allows you to get that really "plumped" up look! My lashes are thin and sparse and this mascara really made a difference. I will defintely purchase this again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
denimgirl
Location:Rochester NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:December 27, 2013
"I did not like this product at all. I found it difficult to use, I got mascara on my upper lid, lower lid, and in my eye, but had difficulty getting it on the complete lash. I found it awkward and I had to apply it several times before I saw a difference. I'm going back to the 'old fashioned' mascara wand that did a much better job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBS816
Location:Kansas City, MO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love it!
Date:December 26, 2013
"I have a horrible time with mascaras. Nearly every one I have ever tried smears and gives me major raccoon eyes. This one DOES NOT SMEAR :0) I finally have lush looking lashes that last all day and look great. I love the brush and the ability to adjust vertically and horizontally as I apply. It is a very wet formula, so I do blot it just a bit on a tissue when I get it out to get rid of excess formula as needed.I find that putting it on in several coats gives me a very nice rich look. Great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melliecharm
Location:El Paso
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
fantastic and innovative!
Date:December 25, 2013
"this mascara is SO different. you will love the ease of the application!
it in my opinion is to be used for dramatic events. it goes on smoothly and separates beautifully.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Habugal
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Case Needs Improvement
Date:December 22, 2013
"Love the product. Using it took some getting used to but once I did I had no problems, no flaking or caking. It's the only mascara I need to use. With the stick mascara, in order to get the thickness I desired, I had to use two or three to achieve the results I wanted. What does disappoint me is the case. My lid will not fit tightly and keeps falling off in the drawer which means it is going to dry out. The only reason I shop on line so rarely is that I have a representative."
Review 47 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swisscheese
Location:New England
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Mixed Blessing
Date:December 21, 2013
"I love the mascara. I love the unique, single row of bristles. I hate the applicator. Avon, take the single row of bristles and mount it on a conventional mascara wand, and you'll have a winner."
Review 48 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimplyAMH
Even Application
Date:December 7, 2013
"I love this mascara. I'm not the most coordinated person in the world and I have trouble getting to the outside and inside of my lashes without putting a black dot on my skin. This applicator is SO easy. You can tilt the applicator to a position that is comfortable for your reach and get ALL your eyelashes with one sweep. Lower lashes have been a nightmare for me and they are EASY with this applicator. You have to try it. I'll be buying this from now on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
avonlady1007
Dried out quickly
Date:December 4, 2013
"I liked this at first but it dried out quickly. Not worth the money."
Review 50 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susiejwp
Location:The Midwest
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Wow!.....just Wow!!!
Date:December 2, 2013
"As someone who used to wear make up constantly, I like many women, began to taper off when my sons were born due to lack of "me" time. Soon, other than ANEW ultimate moisturizer, Smooth Minerals foundation, and MARK just pinched blush, I was good to go. Then it was pointed out to me that my pale eyes needed some "waking up"! Reluctant to start the whole eye routine again, I agreed to at least try this mascara. Wow, was I surprised! It not only is super simple to apply but the different angled brushes reach eyelashes I didn't realize I had! That and the fact that this nifty container lasts forever had me hooked! My advice...toss all those drug store mascaras with their clumsy applicators and try Mega Effects mascara. Once you try this...you'll never buy another mascara again!"
Review 51 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neener13
Location:Wentworth SD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love this but bummed.
Date:November 29, 2013
"When I first used this, I was impressed and thought I had finally found a mascara I really liked, which I do. However, I swear it was dried up or used up in a month or less. I was so bummed and now question, is it worth it to buy again for only a month's use? I could not get the outer cap to stay on either, not sure if that had something to do with it drying up faster. I think I will give it another try, but if done that quickly again, it will probably be my last try."
Review 52 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
caregiver4mom
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Great Lashes!
Date:November 26, 2013
"After reading reviews on this product, I had a hard time deciding if I should buy it or not. It seems like people either hate it or love it. I decided to give it a try. I have used it for a week now and really like it. As I have aged my eyelashes have got thinner and this product brought out the best of what I have left. It made my lashes look longer and fuller. I am happy with my purchase!"
Review 53 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skydal
Location:Hendersonville, TN
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Date:November 25, 2013
"This brush takes some getting used to. But when you do, it is easy to use. The mascara lasts a long time and does not flake like some do. I have not had any clumping when I use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ameshart
Love but...
Date:November 25, 2013
"I love the way this mascara makes my eyes look. It does everything it says it does. My lashes look thicker and longer without clumping. In fact, they have hit my glasses a few times. A down side is that it is sometimes hard to do my left eye since I am right handed and having to take my right hand in front of my face to do the left eye blocks my view. It also doesn't seem to last as long as other mascaras since the brush doesn't go down into the makeup like other mascaras."
Review 55 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wheresawee
Location:El Cajon, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Gimmick with a capitol G!
Date:November 18, 2013
"This mascara is NOTHING special. The brush is ridicules, totally unnecessary to make a brush like that. It is no better than cheap dollar store mascara."
Review 56 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ladybiker
Location:Rogers, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Very Disappointed!
Date:November 15, 2013
"The wand is extremely difficult to use and caused numerous smudges above and below my lashes--it was frustrating! Very poor performance for the price!! I think this product is just a sales-gimmick, and I predict this product will not be available for sale a few months in the future. I will not buy this again!"
Review 57 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VAnderson
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Takes Time To Get Use To
Date:November 11, 2013
"I really like this mascara. I did not like it at first and was disappointed. It took time for me to get use to the handle and the brush but once I got comfortable with it I can honestly say this is a great mascara.
The only down side is that it isn't water proof."
Review 58 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mebfuji
Location:Los Angeles, CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Too clumpy
Date:November 6, 2013
"Unfortunately the coverage comes on too thick at first application. My lashes were clumpy and I had a difficult time brushing my lashes out after applying this product. It may get less clumpy with use but I feel it should be good the first through the last usage."
Review 59 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Penpen
Location:Hagerstown MD
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Love the brush
Date:November 4, 2013
"I really love this mascara. The brush is easy to use and really gets all your lashes. I like that the mascara comes out evenly on the brush with no clump on one side. My only concern is how much is in the container. I guess we will see."
Review 60 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grammy123
Location:Tulsa, OK
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
AWESOME
Date:November 2, 2013
"I love it. I am over 60 years old and it really makes it look like I have thick lashes like when I was younger. It does not clump, just adds thickness and volume.
Great.
"