Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Mega Effects Mascara

Everyone's going ga-ga over Mega Effects! This breakthrough mascara provides 24-hour volume, leaving lashes darker, denser and more dramatic. Get ready for a corner to corner lash transformation with our first ever Wonderbrush. The Wonderbrush bends and adjusts to multiple angles capturing every lash, top to bottom. The unique brush fits the natural shape of lashes, coating them evenly with formula from root to tip. The extra surface area of the Wonderbrush bristles are designed to deliver 40% more mascara to the lash.* Mega Effects Mascara provides a clump-proof, sweat-proof, non-flaking and non-smudging experience. Ophthalmologist-tested. .317 oz. net wt. *compared to Avon’s traditional wire brush.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 319 reviews
5 Stars
155
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
38
1 Star
65
196 of 319(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mega Effects Mascara
Review 41 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
hallmark
Location:Michigan
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Save your money
Date:March 9, 2014
"Unless you are a makeup artist..this is not an easy to use brush. Product is thick and clumpy. Not worth the money."
Review 42 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chewy84
Location:North Dakota
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Mega Effects not so Mega
Date:March 4, 2014
"I am dedicated to Avon products and am usually happy with every purchase, but the Mega Effects Mascara is a dud....sorry Avon! It's hard to put on and not much for the price."
Review 43 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RL2014
Outstanding! Best Mascara Ever!!!
Date:March 2, 2014
"Okay for the lady who is reading the reviews and trying to ascertain if the reviews are accurate or not - this review is for you. I was just like you. I always read reviews. But the reviews for this product were too good to be true. I read the lowest rated reviews and they were horrible. I really couldn't figure out who was most accurate; the ladies who were giving this product five stars or the ladies who were giving it one star.
I decided to get youtube confirmation. Seeing is believing. After listening to the ladies on youtube I decided to take a risk and purchase the product.
Best decision I ever made! The ladies who gave this product five stars were right. I love this product. I hope this is one of Avon's forever product because I will continue to buy it.
Love it, love it, love it. If you like thick, long, black lashes this product is for you.
Signed a Real Person! :-)"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kate55
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love this mascara
Date:March 2, 2014
"I gave this mascara a try and it has become my #1 pick in mascaras. My eyelashes are short and light and this provides volume and length without clumping. I would definitely recommend giving it a try."
Review 45 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JennW
Location:glenpool, ok
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!
Date:February 28, 2014
"I was kinda confused on how to use it, but i went right in and tried it out.assoon as it hit my lashes i knew this was the macara i have been waitiing on! Its light on the lashes and leaves them looking longer and thicker! And for a wet macara it drys super fast so you dont have to sit there fanning your eyes to dry!!! LOVE IT!!!"
Review 46 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DLRN
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Good, But....
Date:February 28, 2014
"I do like the mascara and the brush design. My only gripe (and what will keep me from reordering again....) was that I had to reorder in NO time and I don't wear a lot of mascara. One bottle does not go very far at all. For the price, it should."
Review 47 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Koffeequeen
Location:Texas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Brilliant Mascara!
Date:February 27, 2014
"This is by far, one of the best mascaras I have ever used. I have spent quite a bit of money on mascara over the years including big name brands and this is a lot of bang for your buck! I will be a repeat customer on this one. Love it!"
Review 48 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BWtrekkie
Location:Virginia
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great!!!
Date:February 27, 2014
"This product gives me the best lashes ever-BUT I suggest practicing some before you use it and go out-I got it everywhere the first couple times-once you get the hang of it it's gorgeous-just take your time. It's like mascara and primer in one step!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikkibrt
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Amazing
Date:February 22, 2014
"This is my favorite mascara to wear to work. It doesn't clump up and doesn't make it look like you have fake eyelashes on. It gets into the corners of your eyes perfectly. It was a bit intimidating at first since the brush is WAY different, but after I watched the How-To video and used it a couple times I was a pro."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Micah5five
Location:Missoula, MT
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date:February 22, 2014
"There is a bit of a learning curve to this product, because it is a liquid I managed to get mascara all over my eyelids. But nothing a little more eye shadow couldn't rub away. I have Multiple sclerosis and I tend to always poke my eye balls with the bristles of regular mascara's and I always get some mascara on my nose from the wand because I don't have as much control. This is the first time I haven't poked my eye with the bristles. The design is PERFECT for me. I will learn how not to get it on my eyelids :) I only layered this product 2xs and I had volume and length. Never will I buy another product. Thanks Avon!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
freddie01
Location:Kansas
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Not good for Me.
Date:February 21, 2014
"Because I threw away the return information, I just pitched this as it wouldn't be good to pass on to someone.
It was way too difficult to open and control. I do have fibro so perhaps a product not great to someone with arthritic or OPENING issues. When I finally did get it open and followed all directions it was nothing special and so much work! It went into the trash.
"
Review 52 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
glb1965
Location:Orange Park, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
WOW!
Date:February 10, 2014
"After going through chemo, my eyelashes are very thin. I have tried many products and this one actually makes me look like I finally have eyelashes."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hffn
Location:stl mo
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
wears and cleans up well
Date:February 2, 2014
"I have fair fine curly lashes. This brush separates and straightened even the tiniest ones, the more that happens the longer and thicker my lashes can look, or clump at the ends and become flaky and smears. I don't have smears or clumps or flakes with this. I did use just the original amount on the brush on both eyes and then brush brush brush til dry, cause that's just what I do:) what I really liked about it is that I use Vaseline and qtips to remove, 1 qtips, 1 end for each eye only dipped once each in the Vaseline and they were completely clean, no raccoon eyes in the morning either. That is brand new for me!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scholar
Location:Glendale, AZ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Love this!
Date:February 1, 2014
"I absolutely LOVE this mascara!!! I've been asked many times if I'm wearing false lashes, lol! This mascara coats each and every lash, even the tiny ones and brings the most beautiful bold of your lashes to life. The cosmetic industry is going to have a difficult time trying to top this. The other perk; it does sweat off and you can still use skin care cleansing sheets or soap and water to remove it. It doesn't get better than that!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cucamacara
Dissappointed!
Date:January 30, 2014
"I tried using this mascara several times and each time it
goes on too much and it clumps up on the lashes and gets all over my eyes. Looking at the reviews people love this mascara but maybe I just got a case of bad luck and
got a lemon!
"
Review 56 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ACHoofman
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Would NOT purchase again!
Date:January 29, 2014
"Did not like this new Mega Effects Mascara at all! Clumpy, messy... The new "style" looked like it would work great but it was not worth the trouble. I wouldn't purchase it again and would not recommend it."
Review 57 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
zmemom
Location:Whitesburg, Ga
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love/Hate
Date:January 28, 2014
"I only wear Avon mascaras, so I know the quality of their products. This is not one of their best products. The lid will not stay on, the mascara dries out, and there isn't enough mascara for the price. I love the brush though... it is actually easy to use, if the product was working right. Please fix the lid and flaking issues!!!"
Review 58 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Queeney
Location:New Orleans, LA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Been Using for 6 Months
Date:January 25, 2014
"I have used this mascara since it first came out. It took a little practice to get use to the design, but it's as easy to apply as with any other type brush. I find I have to tilt my head back more when applying to avoid getting it on my lid.
OVERALL, the mascara itself is average but it does stays on all day & I haven't had a problem with smudging or running. WATERPROOF would be great though!!!
The applicator is comfortable, easy & fast to apply once you get use to it. No different than any other mascara applicator.
I ordered 1 black & 1 brown/black on Aug., 6, 2013 & I am still using both of them in Jan., 2014. The black is still very moist. I am just replacing the brown/black. So I don't know why others are drying up so fast. YES, I use it everyday.
"
Review 59 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stacey2344
Location:Adrian, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
No other mascara compares
Date:January 24, 2014
"No other mascara compares to the Mega Effects mascara. It goes on great, stays on and I was even asked if I was wearing false eyelashes!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Mega Effects Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
flyer
Location:FL
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Difficult, At Best!
Date:January 23, 2014
"I found this difficult to use at best! Had mascara all over the place; everywhere but on my lashes. This didn't lengthen my lashes and am seriously thinking of exchanging it for another line here."