Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat

Protect your mani! Long-wearing shiny top coat instantly creates a protective barrier to help shield nails. .4 fl. oz.
Overall rating:
1.556 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
1 of 9(11%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Review 1 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buyer Beware!
By KitschyCatLady
on July 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By KitschyCatLady
Location:Southern California
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Sorry Avon, I love your nail polishes, but I absolutely HATE the Color Shield Top Coat. Several hours after applying this product, my nails were still not dry. I've never experienced this with any other top coat, Avon or otherwise. The old UV Gloss Guard, and the current clear SpeedDry are much better, last longer, and actually dry to a protective finish."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not recommend it
By SoniafromNJ
on June 27, 2014
About the reviewer
By SoniafromNJ
Location:New Jersey
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am in love with Nailpro products from Avon. One of the best priced products and shades out there.
I tried the base coat, its fine. But this product is clearly bad. The only reason I even got it is also by mistake. It's very low quality and just does not dry.
Strongly suggest that Avon discontinues this one.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing
By MelTro
on April 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By MelTro
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I orderd this and thought I was getting the UV Shield. My nails were tacky and had smudges. Not sure why Avon would replace the UV Shield. The UV Shield dried quickly, left an incredible shine and lasted. It made my nails look like I had a gel manicure.""
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AWFUL!
By DianeMB1963
on February 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By DianeMB1963
Location:Calverton, NY
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I ordered top coat, thinking I was getting the UV Shield that I have raved about for years. This new formula is watered down, doesn't dry! My nails are still tacky 2 days later, that is where they haven't already peeled. I will be returning this and hope you go back to the UV Shield before I find another brand I like as much as that one. The UV Shield dried quickly, left an incredible shine and lasted. It made my nails look like I had a gel manicure."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color Shield Top Coat doesn't work well
By LittleDEE
on February 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By LittleDEE
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I purchased 2 bottles of the Nail Experts Color Shield Top coat and I was so... disappointed. I've always used Avon's UV top coat because it was the best product hands down from any other that I've tried. Please bring back the prior UV Top Coat. I have a brand new bottle of this Color Shield Top Coat in the box and will never use it!! Not worth the time or money."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shine but not durable
By Barb0202
on January 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By Barb0202
Location:ATL GA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This topcoat gives a super top shine, but I get zero tip wear out of it. It wears off the nail tips leaving no polish protection much, much faster than my usual drugstore brand topcoat. Poor product."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible
By Auntiegeanie
on January 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By Auntiegeanie
Location:San Diego
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This is the worst top coat ever! I'm not sure why AVON would discontinue the best top coat on the market UV top coat for this horrible product. It took over 5 hours for nails to completely dry even with AVON nail polish. Don't buy!!!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for shielding nails from water
By NCGal
on December 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By NCGal
Location:Holly Sprlng, NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I use this over another brand of real nail polish strips. I swam for over a week every day. It shielded my nails and kept them from chipping. Great product. I bought an extra to keep on hand."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Nail Experts Color Shield Top Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thin and slow dry time
By Spikewv
on December 5, 2013
About the reviewer
By Spikewv
Location:WV
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"Avon bring back uv gloss guard. This product replaces it and it takes too long to dry and doesn't give a nice hard finish like gloss guard. Leave it to corporate to discontinue a great product and replace it with a poor imitation. Plus gloss guard kept light colors from yellowing."
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful