Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Eye Liner or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil

Intense gel eye liner with the ease of a pencil. Formulated with 20% liquid gel to smoothly create a flawless line every time. .04 oz. net wt.
Overall rating:
3.691 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
29 of 42(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Review 21 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PA2Girl
Location:Hermitage, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Good but not as good as Mega Impact
Date:December 28, 2013
"I'm not sure why they changed the formula (and name) but this pencil is a little softer than the old formula. I actually ordered this before I needed it and have been able to compare the two different pencils. This new formula is a bit too soft and it is almost impossible to get a fine point from a sharpener. It does have the same boldness and long lasting color. I'm just missing the ability to have a fine line using the pencil. Overall, I still like it but not as much as Mega Impact."
Review 22 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LBS816
Location:Kansas City, MO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Wonderful liner
Date:December 26, 2013
"I LOVE this eyeliner. The colors are rich. I like that I can sharpen this to get a nice precise line that goes on perfectly-not too sharp and not too heavy. It glides on without tugging and STAYS on all day. This is one of the few eyeliners that stays put and looks great. I finally have the gorgeous lined eyes I have wanted! I especially love Intense Brown."
Review 23 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
chele1990
Location:Ohio
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
too soft to sharpen
Date:November 19, 2013
"I was so excited to get this after reading the reviews. I loved it the first two times I used it but it needed sharpened right away and the liner is too soft to sharpen, it just keeps breaking off and is impossible to sharpen. The liner itself is good but I prefer a self sharpening one. I bought 4 so now I have several I wont use."
Review 24 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Texasshopper
Location:Houston, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Eyeliner
Date:November 15, 2013
"This eyeliner is pretty nice, but it's not as good as the Mega Impact eyeliner they discontinued. Mega Impact would last all day on me, as my eyes get very watery. I have to apply this one a couple of times a day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ReneeC
Location:Pennsylvania
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Super shock eyeliner
Date:November 8, 2013
"I used this eyeliner a few years ago religiously. I absolutely loved it then! Now it seems that the formulation has changed. It's so soft that it's impossible to sharpen. The black is gorgeous, but slides right off and makes me look like a raccoon after a few hours! So disappointed in this purchase and I will not use again."
Review 26 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ColdwaterCook
Location:Joliet, IL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Didn't live up to the reviews
Date:November 5, 2013
"I'll admit the color payoff of this liner was rich and highly pigmented. However, it was sort of oily and "slick" feeling when applying. If you go over the same area twice with the liner it sort of acts like an eraser! Left the purple on overnight on accident and woke up with puffy itchy and bloodshot eyes the rest of the day. Didn't happen with the black shade. The worst part was sharpening..it is so soft and crayon like that you can't sharpen it to a point without it crumbling or breaking. Wanted to like it because of the price but I am quite unimpressed. =("
Review 27 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NJCathi
Location:Penn Valley, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Good liner
Date:November 3, 2013
"I bought 4 of these based on a review in a blog I follow. They were on sale so I figured I couldn't go wrong. I was right. The black is VERY black, goes on easily and stays put. The only reason I took off a star is that I cannot get a very sharp point. Maybe if I put it in the freezer first?"
Review 28 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EmmaB
Location:Hanover, PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great Eyeliner
Date:November 3, 2013
"I love this eyeliner! I was deciding between glimmersticks and this, but since I got the super shock gel eyeliner I decided on this one. So glad I did. I like to apply to my waterline instead of lower lash line because it adds a more subtle look, but enough to make my eyes pop. It's hard to find a liner that will stay put when applied to the waterline. This one does! Will definitely be buying again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
EDSH
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Not for sensitive eyes
Date:October 29, 2013
"Started using this due to good reviews. I liked the color but the minute I applied this eyeliner my eyes started to itch and get dry and red. Hopefully Avon will make these eyeliners for sensitive eyes soon."
Review 30 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cindy3811
Like but not love
Date:October 29, 2013
"I like how dark this liner is, and how it goes on when applied but it runs to easily. Shortly after putting it on it was all around my eyes."
Review 31 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Caramal
Location:Washington, DC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
Awesome
Date:October 23, 2013
"I am a liquid eyeliner gal. This is replacing all of liquid eyeliners. I am getting this in every shade.it goes on easy and doesn't tug like a pencil and is not wet like liquid. You can put it on and not worrying of when it will dry."
Review 32 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rylangrace
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Date:October 18, 2013
"Great gel,pencil.
Can it be sharpened?
"
Review 33 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nenemoon
Location:Santa Ana, Ca
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best eyeliner Eva!
Date:October 9, 2013
"I heard so much hype about this eyeliner and decided to give it a try. It holds up to its reputation! It glides on so soft and easy,and seriously lasts all day and does not budge!! I'm talking no smearing down my eyes and I was out for 12 hrs. One of the best eyeliners ever, and will continue to buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marie1
Bring back gray slate!!!
Date:October 4, 2013
"This is the prettiest eyeliner I've ever used. Please bring back the gray slate. My favorite color every!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SusieqQ
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55 yrs and older
Not For Me!!
Date:September 27, 2013
"I purchased the SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil in the aqua pop and didn't like it at all. It was very dark & messy to put on. Also purchased the mega effects mascara, had to use a pliers to wiggle the brush out of the bottom, the first couple times I used it. Didn't care for either product. I guess that's why I don't purchase Avon products any longer."
Review 36 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beck6878
Location:Buckley, WA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Best eyeliner I have ever used
Date:September 27, 2013
"I have tried at least 20 different eyeliners over the years and this by far the best one I have ever used. It literally glides on and is very smooth, and the color is a warm chocolate brown. It doesn't smudge or run. This is the only one I will ever buy from now on, please don't discontinue it.:-)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location:Brooklyn, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Best eyeliner ever!
Date:September 14, 2013
"I love this eyeliner. I find it doesn't break as easily as Glimmersticks and it lasts all day. The only problem is Avon seems to have trouble keeping it in stock. I like to wait until there's a sale to buy my products and then stock up like crazy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JanuaryS
Location:Maine
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Brink Khaki Back
Date:September 11, 2013
"I LOVE this eyeliner. Khaki and silver were my favorite.....please, please bring them back!!!! I buy all that I can find from other people or reps that have them on hand. I don't know what I'll do when I run out! BEST STUFF EVER"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brooke1
Advice for sharpening:
Date:September 3, 2013
"Keep it in the freezer. This eyeliner is VERY soft and the sharpener will destroy it. But if you keep it in the freezer it hardens up enough to be sharpened. It's worth it because this stuff goes on sooooo smoothly and doesn't budge!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for SuperShock Gel Eye Liner Pencil
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andrean424
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Great product!
Date:August 29, 2013
"It goes on very smoothly.
Lasts all day.
Any regular eye liner sharpener will work on this, though I would advise to just sharpen it a tiny bit.
The gel part is quite soft.
I sharpened it to a longer point, like a writing pencil, and the tip ended up breaking off when I used it.
Just sharpen a tiny nub, and use that.
I love this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.