Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Nail Experts or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat

Smoothes out bumps & ridges! Creates an ultra-smooth surface and provides the perfect canvas for nail enamel. .4 fl. Oz.
Overall rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
3 of 4(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Review 1 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
By: KYCoco
on April 6, 2015
About the reviewer
By: KYCoco
Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" This product is great for smoothing out nails with any flaws, ridges, dents, etc. Have used for years. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wonderful product
By: TheEmpresstigress
on April 1, 2015
About the reviewer
By: TheEmpresstigress
Location:Chicago Illinois
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" This product was great. I used it on my nails and it filled in all of the ridges wonderfully along with being a great base coat. On my trip to Hawaii with my brother. I gave him a manicure and used it on his nails because it just has small clear color to it(still very masculine). The nails looked wonderful and they gave his nails a great shine now he's hooked on it!! So it's great for men and women. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product
By: Jomusthave
on March 31, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Jomusthave
Location:Uxbridge, MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" Do to certain medications I have developed ridges in my nails. So I decided to purchase the ridge filling base coat, and it works! When I apply it you can't tell I have ridges. No need for me to wear nail polish. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Requires two thick coats for severely ridged nails
By: WyoSnoopyGirl
on March 19, 2015
About the reviewer
By: WyoSnoopyGirl
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" My nails are severely, deeply ridged, so - after trial and error - I ended up having to apply two thick coats. Great product, though! Polish goes on top of it nicely. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever Ridge Filler
By: MaggieRA
on March 14, 2015
About the reviewer
By: MaggieRA
Location:Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I've used Avon's ridge filler for years. They keep making changes to it that make it even better! I'll keep using Avon's ridge filler for many years to come. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fair
By: mindenmama
on March 6, 2015
About the reviewer
By: mindenmama
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Not really very ridge filling. It takes two or more coats of this to smooth out my nail ridges. Nail Experts Gel Strength Base Coat actually does a better job of filling the ridges and stays on your nails much bette! I recommend IT instead of the ridge filler. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
By: LGbakes4U
on March 4, 2015
About the reviewer
By: LGbakes4U
Location:TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
2OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" This not only smooths out ridges but also chips. Dries fast and leaves a wonderful finish. Can wear as plain nails or as a base for nail wraps or polish. "
0points
2OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ridge Filling Base Coat
By: smoggy66
on February 25, 2015
About the reviewer
By: smoggy66
Location:Northern California
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" This is a fantastic product. I didn't believe that it would work, but was so surprised. It filled in the ridges on my nails and they looked smooth. Used as base, applied polish and used this as a top-coat, and wow did my nails look good, and lasted 4 days even after doing dishes those 4 days 2x's a day with no gloves. Lasting Power!! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I was expecting
By: BunnyMomma27
on January 18, 2015
About the reviewer
By: BunnyMomma27
Location:Jeffersonville, Indiana
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+5points
6OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
" Sometimes Avon polishes are hit and miss on the quality but I am pleasantly surprised at this. I had recently had my nails pro done for gel tips for the first and last time, once they were removed my nailbed was destroyed. It will take months to grow out but the ridge filler has given some strength back to my nails. I like it. "
+5points
6OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever
By: nina57
on December 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By: nina57
Location:Austin, TX, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
" I had not purchased a ridge filler in a few years because the first time I had purchased it did nothing was not pleased. Loved this ridge filler. Worked great! Hope Avon keeps this filler on their since it lives up to its name. "
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Base Coat
By: bbqueen76
on December 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By: bbqueen76
Location:Colorado Springs
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
" This is the best base coat I have ever used. It provides excellent staying power to regular polish, and polish goes on smoothly over nails. On it's own, it provides a healthy look to nails. "
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By: Acct
on October 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Acct
Location:KY
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" Love this stuff - my nail polish lasts a lot longer and doesn't chip. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I hate it!
By: bbqueen76
on October 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By: bbqueen76
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
4OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" I really don't understand why everyone likes this product. For me, it was the worst base coat I have ever used. It did not fill my ridges, leave a smooth canvas or anything. I could rub the nail polish right off. This stuff is just horrid! "
+2points
4OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This does work
By: spaniel
on September 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By: spaniel
Location:Minnesota, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
" I have very deep ridges from many years of abuse from working outside. Nothing has worked till this. I lightly buff my nails with a finishing file then paint two coats of the ridge filling base coat. I even just paint a clear top coat then and my nails look wonderful. This nail treatment is all I will ever need now. Thank you, Avon. "
+8points
9OUT OF 10people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic basecoat
By: socalbanana
on June 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By: socalbanana
Location:Orange County, California
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" This is the best basecoat. I now can wear nail polish without it chipping, for days. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product bonds to polish
By: socalbanana
on May 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By: socalbanana
Location:Orange County, California
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" Works wonderful, keeps the polish from chipping. Usually nail polish chips in one day because my hands are in water all day long. Not when I use one coat of this then two coats of polish. Please don't stop making this product "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nail product
By: gabbiebaby
on April 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By: gabbiebaby
Location:Texas
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have used this ridge filler for years from Avon and it is the ONLY product that ever made my rough nails smooth and also made them strong so that they grow. I have tried ridge fillers from other companies and they don't work like this Avon product. "
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could be better!
By: Babiejo
on March 14, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Babiejo
Location:Las Vegas, Nv
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I am in my fifties and hate wearing polish because of ridges in my nails. I was hoping that this product would alleviate that problem, but it didn't. I even applied two coats, still ridges. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Ratings-only reviews for Nail Experts Ridge Filling Base Coat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5