Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Sales & Specials or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Big & Daring Volume Mascara

Go bold! Sweep on from root to tip for 24-hour explosive volume. Water-resistant. .338 fl. oz. Blackest Black Black Brown Black
Overall rating:
3.461 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yuck
By jojoco
on November 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By jojoco
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This went on thick and gloppy. Very hard to remove. Tossed it. Much prefer Avons Waterproof mascara to this."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a favorite
By pjsbabybj
on November 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By pjsbabybj
Location:Alabama
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I purchased this when my regular favorite "supershock" was not available. I prefer the supershock brush, not this curved one. I also found it hard to remove."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice, but hard to remove
By Chrissy27
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Chrissy27
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I received this in one of my monthly Ipsy bags. I needed a new mascara so I decided to give this a try since I had it on hand.
It goes on nice and lasts all day. No flakes, but man is it hard to take off.
I didn't try baby oil or olive oil but my usual trusty make up remover had a hard time removing. I had to use that and then scrub my eyes with soap and water to get it off. Then this morning I found clumps still stuck to my lashes and my lashes came off in an effort to remove the mascara.
Sorry, Avon, but I'm throwing my tube away. It's just too hard to take off and I would rather keep my lashes."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rather disappointing!
By BeagleLoverGal
on November 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By BeagleLoverGal
Location:North Carolina, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This mascara does indeed go on, the trouble is getting it off!
What a pain, forget using the eye remover product, that is only marginal. Took only 3 days of this mascara before I said "forget it". The hassle of removing it every day is a HUGE burden, trust me!! Would not recommend you try this unless you have countless time to waste removing it and oh yeah, some of your eyelashes come out no matter how careful you seem to be. Ugh!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointing!!
By GoldenLocks
on November 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By GoldenLocks
Location:FL
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I bought this mascara when I ran out of the Mega Effects. Although it's easier and faster to apply, removing it is a pain. I don't usually have anything bad to say about makeup but this is the first time I have ever had a problem. The mascara makes my lashes stick together, and pull them, My lashes end up feeling very heavy. When taking it off, My lashes come out. I have NEVER had that problem before! I use gentle eye-makeup remover on my eyes all the time. It is very hard to wash it all off completely. I will not be buying this again."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not a favorite :(
By gr8family
on November 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By gr8family
Location:Saint Paul, MN, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"i have very small lashes and was trying to find a mascara with volume. I found this to be too much brush...The applicator is too "bulky" cannot even use on lower lashes."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!!!
By lovey512
on November 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By lovey512
Location:Warrington, PA 18976, USA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Love this mascara. stay on! Length, volume, & curl all in one."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It smears
By Nina559
on October 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Nina559
Location:CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"If you value your precious morning prep time and don't want to waste time by wiping off all the smears from all around your eye area from this mascara, you'll want to pass on this mascara. It's just too messy. I will stick to my trusted Super Shock Max mascara. I have long eyelashes, compounding the problem."
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!!!
By Barbie57
on October 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Barbie57
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Big & Daring Mascara has the best formula I have used . I especially love that it does not smear and wears beautifully. The only complaint I have is that the brush section is too big around which makes it difficult to apply, but is still worth using."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fair mascara but difficult to remove
By Me59
on October 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By Me59
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"There are 3 qualities I look for in a mascara. No smudging, no clumping and easy to remove. This mascara hits the mark on 1-1/2. The mascara is difficult to remove and after a few weeks of use, the mascara clumped easily. If it was easy to remove, I would have given it a 5 star review."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not very impressed.
By AngelJS
on October 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By AngelJS
Location:Waubun, MN, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is my first review writing for make-up ever. I am very picky about mascara. I have sensitive eyes and this mascara (worn alone) didn't bother while wearing, but my eyes felt scratchy the next day (without any makeup). The brush is HUGE, but I could deal with it. The clumping was minimal, but I am very careful, so it may be a problem for those that rush. Water resistant? How about WATER AND NOTHING ELSE removes this mascara quickly or GENTLY! I really like the way it makes my eyelashes look, but after using three times, I can't take the punishment of getting it off. I have a large variety of eye makeup removers and NOTHING works! I soaked cotton balls and even laid them on my eyes for a couple minutes hoping something would break through the mascara. Didn't work. Removing takes at least 5 minutes and even then I lost lashes. :("
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mascara For The 50+ Year Old Woman
By TeddysMom
on October 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By TeddysMom
Location:Boston, MA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I'm 56 years old and have rather thin, fine eyelashes. I read the other reviews and thought I'd give this mascara a try. WOW! It works great. I got length and volume that lasts all day! I'm hooked!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value
By mckinnona
on October 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By mckinnona
Location:Washington, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"With other mascaras, usually I have to use two or three coats just to see a difference on my lashes. This mascara did it in one coat, and the wire brush gets all the lashes in one swipe. It didn't smudge or flake all day although it did take a little time to get it off with my usual face wash. I'll be switching to the Avon cream wash soon anyway. I'm going to stock up on this one."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but clumps and hard to take off
By Kendallv
on October 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By Kendallv
Location:Seattle, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've been using this mascara for about a month now. I absolutely LOVE how long and full it makes my lashes, and I've gotten several compliments since wearing this mascara. However, it's incredibly difficult to take off because it's waterproof, even with really good eye makeup remover. It also can get incredibly clumpy. There have been several times I've had to take it off and reapply because of the clumps. Overall I'd give it a 3.5."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
By pickyaboutmymascara
on October 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By pickyaboutmymascara
Location:Gaylord, MI 49735, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+5points
6OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
"This is the BEST mascara I have ever used! I am very picky about my mascara. It has to lengthen and volumize and this does BOTH. It goes on clean and smooth, no clumps and washes off easily with makeup remover. I use the Avon Care Soothing Cream to take it off with. It's also water resistant so no runs or smudges even when I sweat or am out in the rain. LOVE IT!!!!"
+5points
6OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love this look BUT.....
By BethInDenver
on October 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By BethInDenver
Location:Colorado, USA
0points
2OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I love the way this mascara looked on. It looked great and felt great at first. Once it dried it made my eyes SO itchy that there is no way I could wear it all day withot rubbing it all off. As far as I know I am not allergic to anything so I'm not sure what is doing it. I'm sad to have to retire this mascara after 2 uses because I did love the curved brush and blackest black color."
0points
2OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wish it were waterproof
By PJIllinois
on October 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By PJIllinois
Location:Illinois, USA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I really do like this mascara! I've read other reviews and I wish I knew which mascara they were talking about that was so difficult to remove - The Big & Daring is water 'resistant' which means it very easily washes off with water - no soap needed! I need a waterproof mascara. Other than that I love it! Goes on quick and lasts all day and night!"
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wanted to like this
By coloradomama
on October 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By coloradomama
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
"The Big and Daring Volume mascara lives up to your description, BUT I find it very difficult to remove. I have used the Avon product for removing eye make-up and another in my arsenal with little success. The number of eyelashes that I lose, and the number of wrinkles I create by the rough treatment of the eye area are not worth continuing to use this product."
+9points
9OUT OF 9people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Flakes like dandruff on the eyes
By la1717
on October 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By la1717
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"flakes like crazy! Every time I use it, I have black specks in my eyes. Don't sleep in it over your eye balls will be polka dot.
It does give good length and volume, but I don't like the trade off."
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST MASCARA SINCE DIAL-A-LASH
By PRTYBLC
on October 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By PRTYBLC
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I used dial-a-lash by Maybelline years ago and have yet to find a mascara as good as that since then...Until now!! I love this mascara. It is thick, but I like thick!!"
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>