Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Big & Daring Volume Mascara

Go bold! Sweep on from root to tip for 24-hour explosive volume. Water-resistant. .338 fl. oz.
Overall rating:
3.203 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
19
9 of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
completely in love
By: angieb777
on January 30, 2015
About the reviewer
By: angieb777
Location:Memphis, TN 38116, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" on the first use, it showed and added fullest, thickest, and length to my lashes. i love it !!!! "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very unhappy
By: bunnyfreckles
on January 29, 2015
About the reviewer
By: bunnyfreckles
Location:Michigan, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" This mascara was really dissappointing. When you pull the brush out, it is covered with a globby, gucky, messy ball of mascara that was hard to put on and very thick and messy. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dissatisfied
By: Tarbear
on January 28, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Tarbear
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I was excited about this product... until I used it. It does not plump my lashes in any way. It either has NO mascara on its brush or way too much. The brush itself is so large that I can't even use it, especially for detail. Very disappointed. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the Best
By: NannyB
on January 20, 2015
About the reviewer
By: NannyB
Location:Fresno, CA, USA
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" This is my new favorite mascara! It rivals anything out there. Seriously, if your pondering which one to try, buy this one. "
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for me!
By: inMI
on January 19, 2015
About the reviewer
By: inMI
Location:MI
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I am looking for a mascara that doesn't flake and get in my eyes and under my contacts. This is NOT that mascara. After one use, into the trash it went! I had to remove my contacts and flush my eyes as it flaked so much. I tried without my contacts and the formula made my eyes burn! I do not recommend this mascara to anyone, especially if you wear contacts or have sensitive eyes. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful
By: TonyaTS
on January 12, 2015
About the reviewer
By: TonyaTS
+6points
7OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
" I have used some expensive mascaras and this is the best. "
+6points
7OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mascara
By: MGCar
on January 12, 2015
About the reviewer
By: MGCar
Location:North East Oklahoma
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" At first I liked this mascara for it's full look - even no Raccoon Eyes the next morning. Only to later find out I couldn't get the stuff off my eyes. I used mascara remover, oil, cold cream, you name it. My lashes had clumps of gunk that I couldn't remove. Try wearing contacts with chunks of mascara flaking off into your eyes. Doesn't work! Don't recommend! "
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big & Fabulous!
By: JessicaBrooks
on January 10, 2015
About the reviewer
By: JessicaBrooks
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have tried many of Avon's mascaras, but this beauty is my favorite by far! The brush is a lot bigger than I was originally used to, but I adjusted after a few uses. As many of the reviews have stated, it does seem to dry fast.. but that is a plus for me, as I am pretty clumsy and often 'muck up' my eyelashes throughout the rest of my 'getting ready' routine. I simply work with one eye at a time and usually do 3-5 sweeps and move on to the next. It makes my lashes exponentially longer and fuller without them looking fake and hokey. Before using the Big&Daring, I was NEVER a fan of waterproof mascara because I could never seem to wash it off, but I do not have this problem with the Big&Daring. When I'm in the shower, I just gently rub my lashes under the water and it crumbles right off without taking any lashes with it. I also use the Avon Anew Vitale to wash my face every night and it removes ALL of my makeup with absolutely no problems. This is a mascara definitely worth trying, but as always, I recommend buying (and stocking up) when it is on sale. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible
By: msweede
on January 7, 2015
About the reviewer
By: msweede
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" This mascara is terrible. The brush is shaped funny; this shape could be really great because the brush is thick, but with the consistency of the mascara, this brush is a fail. When you take the brush out of the tube, there is way too much prodcut that comes out on the brush, so not only is it wasting a lot of mascara, the top of the tube gets crusty and dried up. The mascara itself is also flaky and cakey. Overall, this is a terrible mascara - I got this as a freebie, but I would NEVER purchase. "
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In Absolute Love!
By: Chelseaaa
on December 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Chelseaaa
Location:Orange County, CA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I've tried numerous mascaras before, but none of them top this mascara! it gives volume and length, plus a few extra coats and I've got plump eyelashes. though not waterproof, through sweat and tears I've never had an issue with it smearing or running. with my sparse and short eyelashes, this meets all of my expectations of an ideal mascara. already on my 3rd bottle and loving it more and more! thank you!!! "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good mascara
By: BAYCUTIE
on December 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By: BAYCUTIE
Location:Vacaville, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" One of my second best mascaras it really does volume and last all day but not really for the bottom lashes I hit my lower eye lid most of the time but a great mascara for the top lashes. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Messy, clumpy, and makes eyelashes fall out
By: stellag
on December 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By: stellag
Location:Whittier, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
5OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
" The mascara is VERY thick and I find it very messy to use. The brush is huge and I get it all over my lids. Using an eyelash curler is a disaster. My eyelashes were literally glued to the curler. I had to pry the curler off my eye. Lashes were all stuck together. "
+3points
5OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a good purchase
By: DorieAnne
on December 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By: DorieAnne
Location:Orange County, CA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
3OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I had a hard time putting it on because of the shape; it was very big. Once on, it flaked onto my skin all day. I would not buy again. "
+1point
3OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Extremely Hard to Remove
By: JS1105
on December 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By: JS1105
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" This mascara does indeed give you volume (length, not so much). The bad part is how hard it is to take off.
Even with high-quality eye makeup remover, it took me almost 10 minutes to get it all off. It was like having concrete stuck to my lashes. I usually like Avon mascaras but this one's a no for me.
"
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luscious mascara really delivers
By: swimteachernyc
on December 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By: swimteachernyc
Location:New York, NY, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
" This mascara really delivers smooth and beautiful lashes. What prompted this write up was when my makeup artist -whose specialty is lash extensions!- commented how great my lashes looked, not knowing what I had tried or applied. The big sized tube and wand are easy to hold, and really brush through rich color, clump free. As a swim instructor and fitness trainer, I am impressed by the staying power of this mascara. I apply, and don't worry about touchups. Just be sure to use appropriate makeup remover and take the time to wipe away residue. "
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Heavy
By: Alikatt
on December 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Alikatt
Location:CO
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I did not like this product. It was heavy on my lashes and seemed to weigh them down. Nice color and coverage, but won't buy again. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst, most damaging mascara I've ever used
By: gracklebird
on November 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By: gracklebird
Location:Indianapolis IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" 1st and only time I tried it, it was thick & clumpy. Dried so fast I couldn't separate my lashes. I put on glasses so I could clean up smudges and discovered black flecks in & around my eyes. These flecks also got all over my glasses. It took a good 20 minutes to scrub off all those flecks. Lashes felt as though they'd been stuck together with glue - and it was the same when I tried to remove the gloppy stuff. Removal took a long time, too and left me with fewer lashes. At my age I can't afford to lose lashes like that. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good product but some things to keep in mind
By: trishalynn
on November 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By: trishalynn
Location:santa rosa, ca
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" its a good mascara, i wont lie. i like the way it makes your lashes fuller and it doesnt clump them together like some do. but you gotta not much a lot on, otherwise its very messy. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best mascara Ever
By: jayteelove
on November 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By: jayteelove
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" This is the first mascara ive tried that does does not flake or smudge and holds a curl. Makes my lashes super long. I have no problem applying it or removing it. Loove it! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beauty isn't supposed to be pain
By: MichelleL
on November 24, 2014
About the reviewer
By: MichelleL
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" It's clumpy. It's messy. It's gives no volume. It's just not good. For the money you spend, you should receive a product with which you have minimal complaints. I seem to only have complaints. When I touch my lashes, they are so stiff that it hurts my eyelash beds and feels like I'm tugging on them. It's hard to get off- even with makeup remover- and gives minimal length.
Overall, Big and Daring Volume Mascara is not big, nor daring, nor does it perform the volume it promises. If you're looking for the next hit mascara, I suggest looking elsewhere. "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 next>>