Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Makeup or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Big & Daring Volume Mascara

Go bold! Sweep on from root to tip for 24-hour explosive volume. Water-resistant. .338 fl. oz. Blackest Black Black Brown Black
Overall rating:
3.229 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
9 of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Messy, clumpy, and makes eyelashes fall out
By stellag
on December 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By stellag
Location:Whittier, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"The mascara is VERY thick and I find it very messy to use. The brush is huge and I get it all over my lids. Using an eyelash curler is a disaster. My eyelashes were literally glued to the curler. I had to pry the curler off my eye. Lashes were all stuck together."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a good purchase
By DorieAnne
on December 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By DorieAnne
Location:Orange County, CA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I had a hard time putting it on because of the shape; it was very big. Once on, it flaked onto my skin all day. I would not buy again."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Extremely Hard to Remove
By JS1105
on December 11, 2014
About the reviewer
By JS1105
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This mascara does indeed give you volume (length, not so much). The bad part is how hard it is to take off.
Even with high-quality eye makeup remover, it took me almost 10 minutes to get it all off. It was like having concrete stuck to my lashes. I usually like Avon mascaras but this one's a no for me.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luscious mascara really delivers
By swimteachernyc
on December 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By swimteachernyc
Location:New York, NY, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This mascara really delivers smooth and beautiful lashes. What prompted this write up was when my makeup artist -whose specialty is lash extensions!- commented how great my lashes looked, not knowing what I had tried or applied. The big sized tube and wand are easy to hold, and really brush through rich color, clump free. As a swim instructor and fitness trainer, I am impressed by the staying power of this mascara. I apply, and don't worry about touchups. Just be sure to use appropriate makeup remover and take the time to wipe away residue."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Heavy
By Alikatt
on December 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By Alikatt
Location:CO
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I did not like this product. It was heavy on my lashes and seemed to weigh them down. Nice color and coverage, but won't buy again."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst, most damaging mascara I've ever used
By gracklebird
on November 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By gracklebird
Location:Indianapolis IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"1st and only time I tried it, it was thick & clumpy. Dried so fast I couldn't separate my lashes. I put on glasses so I could clean up smudges and discovered black flecks in & around my eyes. These flecks also got all over my glasses. It took a good 20 minutes to scrub off all those flecks. Lashes felt as though they'd been stuck together with glue - and it was the same when I tried to remove the gloppy stuff. Removal took a long time, too and left me with fewer lashes. At my age I can't afford to lose lashes like that."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good product but some things to keep in mind
By trishalynn
on November 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By trishalynn
Location:santa rosa, ca
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"its a good mascara, i wont lie. i like the way it makes your lashes fuller and it doesnt clump them together like some do. but you gotta not much a lot on, otherwise its very messy."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best mascara Ever
By jayteelove
on November 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By jayteelove
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is the first mascara ive tried that does does not flake or smudge and holds a curl. Makes my lashes super long. I have no problem applying it or removing it. Loove it!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beauty isn't supposed to be pain
By MichelleL
on November 24, 2014
About the reviewer
By MichelleL
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It's clumpy. It's messy. It's gives no volume. It's just not good. For the money you spend, you should receive a product with which you have minimal complaints. I seem to only have complaints. When I touch my lashes, they are so stiff that it hurts my eyelash beds and feels like I'm tugging on them. It's hard to get off- even with makeup remover- and gives minimal length.
Overall, Big and Daring Volume Mascara is not big, nor daring, nor does it perform the volume it promises. If you're looking for the next hit mascara, I suggest looking elsewhere."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yuck
By jojoco
on November 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By jojoco
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This went on thick and gloppy. Very hard to remove. Tossed it. Much prefer Avons Waterproof mascara to this."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a favorite
By pjsbabybj
on November 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By pjsbabybj
Location:Alabama
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I purchased this when my regular favorite "supershock" was not available. I prefer the supershock brush, not this curved one. I also found it hard to remove."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice, but hard to remove
By Chrissy27
on November 13, 2014
About the reviewer
By Chrissy27
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I received this in one of my monthly Ipsy bags. I needed a new mascara so I decided to give this a try since I had it on hand.
It goes on nice and lasts all day. No flakes, but man is it hard to take off.
I didn't try baby oil or olive oil but my usual trusty make up remover had a hard time removing. I had to use that and then scrub my eyes with soap and water to get it off. Then this morning I found clumps still stuck to my lashes and my lashes came off in an effort to remove the mascara.
Sorry, Avon, but I'm throwing my tube away. It's just too hard to take off and I would rather keep my lashes."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rather disappointing!
By BeagleLoverGal
on November 12, 2014
About the reviewer
By BeagleLoverGal
Location:North Carolina, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This mascara does indeed go on, the trouble is getting it off!
What a pain, forget using the eye remover product, that is only marginal. Took only 3 days of this mascara before I said "forget it". The hassle of removing it every day is a HUGE burden, trust me!! Would not recommend you try this unless you have countless time to waste removing it and oh yeah, some of your eyelashes come out no matter how careful you seem to be. Ugh!
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointing!!
By GoldenLocks
on November 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By GoldenLocks
Location:FL
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I bought this mascara when I ran out of the Mega Effects. Although it's easier and faster to apply, removing it is a pain. I don't usually have anything bad to say about makeup but this is the first time I have ever had a problem. The mascara makes my lashes stick together, and pull them, My lashes end up feeling very heavy. When taking it off, My lashes come out. I have NEVER had that problem before! I use gentle eye-makeup remover on my eyes all the time. It is very hard to wash it all off completely. I will not be buying this again."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not a favorite :(
By gr8family
on November 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By gr8family
Location:Saint Paul, MN, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"i have very small lashes and was trying to find a mascara with volume. I found this to be too much brush...The applicator is too "bulky" cannot even use on lower lashes."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!!!
By lovey512
on November 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By lovey512
Location:Warrington, PA 18976, USA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"Love this mascara. stay on! Length, volume, & curl all in one."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It smears
By Nina559
on October 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Nina559
Location:CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"If you value your precious morning prep time and don't want to waste time by wiping off all the smears from all around your eye area from this mascara, you'll want to pass on this mascara. It's just too messy. I will stick to my trusted Super Shock Max mascara. I have long eyelashes, compounding the problem."
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!!!
By Barbie57
on October 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Barbie57
Location:Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Big & Daring Mascara has the best formula I have used . I especially love that it does not smear and wears beautifully. The only complaint I have is that the brush section is too big around which makes it difficult to apply, but is still worth using."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fair mascara but difficult to remove
By Me59
on October 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By Me59
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"There are 3 qualities I look for in a mascara. No smudging, no clumping and easy to remove. This mascara hits the mark on 1-1/2. The mascara is difficult to remove and after a few weeks of use, the mascara clumped easily. If it was easy to remove, I would have given it a 5 star review."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not very impressed.
By AngelJS
on October 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By AngelJS
Location:Waubun, MN, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is my first review writing for make-up ever. I am very picky about mascara. I have sensitive eyes and this mascara (worn alone) didn't bother while wearing, but my eyes felt scratchy the next day (without any makeup). The brush is HUGE, but I could deal with it. The clumping was minimal, but I am very careful, so it may be a problem for those that rush. Water resistant? How about WATER AND NOTHING ELSE removes this mascara quickly or GENTLY! I really like the way it makes my eyelashes look, but after using three times, I can't take the punishment of getting it off. I have a large variety of eye makeup removers and NOTHING works! I soaked cotton balls and even laid them on my eyes for a couple minutes hoping something would break through the mascara. Didn't work. Removing takes at least 5 minutes and even then I lost lashes. :("
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
1 2 3 next>>