Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Big & Daring Volume Mascara

Go bold! Sweep on from root to tip for 24-hour explosive volume. Water-resistant. .338 fl. oz.
Overall rating:
3.419 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
22
9 of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not s fan
By: Debster457
on April 23, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Debster457
Location:Columbus, GA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" Was disappointed. Brush is way too big for my liking. Tends to clump. I like some if Avon's other mascara better. "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great potential but just didn't have it
By: DoryNZ
on April 22, 2015
About the reviewer
By: DoryNZ
Location:New Zealand
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" I miss the old Curlascious mascara wand that was deleted many many years ago, so I just have to keep trying to find one that is the right consistency and brush shape.
Although the brush certainly does add the volume as promised, I too found that it clumped and was not the smooth flowing product that I look for in a mascara. The shape also made painting direct onto the lower corner lashes rather awkward. It just didn't seem to want to add volume on my few lashes there!
It seems to have dried up rather quickly or maybe that is just what the texture is like.
So it's back to trying yet another new one - pity they don't last forever otherwise I'd buy a box of the perfect one when I find it! "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big Disappointment
By: DancinDani
on April 20, 2015
About the reviewer
By: DancinDani
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" This would be a great mascara if it weren't for the huge applicator! The brush is so big, it's difficult to apply. "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just Ok
By: Nicole9208
on April 19, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Nicole9208
Location:Richlands, NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" This does do as promised I believe and make your lashes longer; however, it does flake off easily. After this runs out, I believe I will be trying another type from Avon, this one just was not good at all. "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!
By: BhamSweetie
on April 6, 2015
About the reviewer
By: BhamSweetie
Location:Birmingham, AL, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" My wonderful Avon representative, Donna Conley, sent me a tube of the Big & Daring Volume Mascara to try and I have to say, it is the best mascara! It really adds volume to your lashes in one single application! I have worn other mascara and at the end of the day, most of it had flaked off all over my face. Big & Daring Volume Mascara achieves the volume I want and hardly flakes off after wearing for more than 8 hours! Thanks Donna! I will definitely buy more in the future! "
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alas, all does not end well
By: MsDTW
on March 31, 2015
About the reviewer
By: MsDTW
Location:Houston, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I was hoping that the mascara would live up to its hype. Alas, it did not, unfortunately. First, the brush is much bigger so it takes a masterful hand to maneuver my puny bottom lashes without seeming like Jackson Pollock created his next masterpiece on my face. Second, the formula dried VERY quickly once on the lashes. No matter how I wielded the wand, my hand was not quick enough to avoid clumping after the second coat. Perhaps this is a trait of all waterproof mascaras?
Did it embolden my lashes to daring heights? Yes, manga size, in fact. Did it live up to its waterproof-ness (is there such a word?) Yes, with steely strength, much to the chagrin of my 3 makeup remover wipe routine---even with baby oil.
Will I be purchasing the product again? For all that I had hope to end well; sadly, the answer is no. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not so Good!
By: Squeakers58
on March 29, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Squeakers58
Location:East Chicago, IN, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" This product was "Dry". I had to wet the brush,to get some coverage. Tiny Specks of Mascara would get in my eyes. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the look
By: StevensMomma
on March 28, 2015
About the reviewer
By: StevensMomma
Location:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Great mascara. Need about 3 coats, and looks fantastic. Very hard to remove at the end of the day. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this one!
By: 8337
on March 21, 2015
About the reviewer
By: 8337
Location:Saint Louis, MO, USA
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" This is one mascara that I am happy with. When I want my lashes to really stand out, I apply it 3 times, after each swipe has had time to dry. I wait about 5 minutes between applications. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
By: AppleSullivan
on March 19, 2015
About the reviewer
By: AppleSullivan
Location:Nashville, TN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" This one does it all - volume, length, no smudge. The best!! "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stayed on Forever
By: Alsim
on March 19, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Alsim
Location:Dubuque, IA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Seriously, never had a mascara I didn't have to touch up during the day. Looked like I had just put it on all day at work and even after a spin class. Awesome purchase! "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!apsalutly
By: cristal1217
on March 18, 2015
About the reviewer
By: cristal1217
Location:Stockton, CA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I absolutely love this mascara. it really gets every little lash you have and make it long twice as big. it really gives you that volume you need! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for a night out
By: Mamapjama
on March 13, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Mamapjama
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I got his mascara as part of a makeup bag to try. I really like it. I have long lashes to begin with and this made them longer. It does flakes and smudge as the day goes on but not too much. I may try it in the waterproof version next time. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Clumpy
By: Alamo
on March 13, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Alamo
Location:San Antonio
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" I like the darkness of the blackest black, but the brush leaves my lashes clumpy "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eh.
By: beccasworld
on March 11, 2015
About the reviewer
By: beccasworld
Location:Meridian, ID, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" So I have really short eyelashes, and I like to try this kinda mascara, to make them look bigger than they are. BUT this does nothing for that. Pretty much just looks like I wet my eyelashes, :( "
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Lashes, Beautiful Eyes
By: MavenMia
on February 26, 2015
About the reviewer
By: MavenMia
Location:Chicago, IL.
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" I used the Big and Daring mascara. It goes on well, no clumping of flaking. My lashes were big, bold and beautiful. I highly recommend. Your lashes will love it. "
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
By: Quenidalee
on February 25, 2015
About the reviewer
By: Quenidalee
Location:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I love this mascara, makes my short lashes look longer and thicker. I'm very pleased with this mascara. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big & Daring Volume Mascara
By: mllermon
on February 24, 2015
About the reviewer
By: mllermon
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Thickens eyelashes, easy application. My friend thought I was wearing false eyelashes. Did not smear, easy to remove. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my long lashes
By: LilG
on February 21, 2015
About the reviewer
By: LilG
Location:Baltimore, MD, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I'm very pleased with this mascara. It makes my lashes look super long & thick. Gonna order the waterproof one next "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointing!
By: dietzemom
on February 16, 2015
About the reviewer
By: dietzemom
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" I opened the mascara, was looking for a full dark lash. Nothing came out. VERY disappointing! "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 next>>