Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Mascara or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

Big & Daring Volume Mascara

Sweep on from root to tip for 24-hour explosive volume. Water-resistant. .338 fl. oz. Blackest Black Black Brown Black
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
9 of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but clumps and hard to take off
By Kendallv
on October 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By Kendallv
Location:Seattle, WA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I've been using this mascara for about a month now. I absolutely LOVE how long and full it makes my lashes, and I've gotten several compliments since wearing this mascara. However, it's incredibly difficult to take off because it's waterproof, even with really good eye makeup remover. It also can get incredibly clumpy. There have been several times I've had to take it off and reapply because of the clumps. Overall I'd give it a 3.5."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
By pickyaboutmymascara
on October 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By pickyaboutmymascara
Location:Gaylord, MI 49735, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"This is the BEST mascara I have ever used! I am very picky about my mascara. It has to lengthen and volumize and this does BOTH. It goes on clean and smooth, no clumps and washes off easily with makeup remover. I use the Avon Care Soothing Cream to take it off with. It's also water resistant so no runs or smudges even when I sweat or am out in the rain. LOVE IT!!!!"
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love this look BUT.....
By BethInDenver
on October 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By BethInDenver
Location:Colorado, USA
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I love the way this mascara looked on. It looked great and felt great at first. Once it dried it made my eyes SO itchy that there is no way I could wear it all day withot rubbing it all off. As far as I know I am not allergic to anything so I'm not sure what is doing it. I'm sad to have to retire this mascara after 2 uses because I did love the curved brush and blackest black color."
0points
1OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wish it were waterproof
By PJIllinois
on October 17, 2014
About the reviewer
By PJIllinois
Location:Illinois, USA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I really do like this mascara! I've read other reviews and I wish I knew which mascara they were talking about that was so difficult to remove - The Big & Daring is water 'resistant' which means it very easily washes off with water - no soap needed! I need a waterproof mascara. Other than that I love it! Goes on quick and lasts all day and night!"
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wanted to like this
By coloradomama
on October 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By coloradomama
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
"The Big and Daring Volume mascara lives up to your description, BUT I find it very difficult to remove. I have used the Avon product for removing eye make-up and another in my arsenal with little success. The number of eyelashes that I lose, and the number of wrinkles I create by the rough treatment of the eye area are not worth continuing to use this product."
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Flakes like dandruff on the eyes
By la1717
on October 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By la1717
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"flakes like crazy! Every time I use it, I have black specks in my eyes. Don't sleep in it over your eye balls will be polka dot.
It does give good length and volume, but I don't like the trade off."
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST MASCARA SINCE DIAL-A-LASH
By PRTYBLC
on October 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By PRTYBLC
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I used dial-a-lash by Maybelline years ago and have yet to find a mascara as good as that since then...Until now!! I love this mascara. It is thick, but I like thick!!"
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst mascara ever
By jellybean32
on October 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By jellybean32
Location:Portland, OR, USA
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I don't usually write reviews but felt compelled after using this mascara. It is literally the worst mascara I have ever used! I thought I would love it based on the shape and fullness of the brush but the brush is so big it is almost the size of my eye making it very difficult to apply. It goes on so clumpy that I have to use a brush from an old mascara to thin out the clumps. And then there is the fact that it is extremely difficult to get off. Usually my mascara comes off in the shower with soap and water...not this one...even after using an oil based eye makeup remover, half of it still stayed on my lashes...what was left of them as I lost so many lashes trying to get it off!"
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gives you WOW lashes
By mrsk524
on September 26, 2014
About the reviewer
By mrsk524
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This mascara really does give you bold and dramatic lashes. My lashes are short, blonde and a bit sparse & this mascara makes me look like I'm wearing falsies! A couple of girls I work with loved how my lashes looked and are buying it for themselves. It doesn't smear or irritate my sensitive eyes either, and although it doesn't claim to be waterproof, this formula doesn't budge. Highly recommend if you want bold, dramatic lashes."
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's in the name
By MissChrispen
on September 20, 2014
About the reviewer
By MissChrispen
Location:Tempe, AZ, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"This product didn't really curl like I was expecting but it did add volume and impact to my lashes. Best part is that it stays soft even after a number of coats. Held up well in water though not listed as waterproof."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite!
By Chrisc717
on September 19, 2014
About the reviewer
By Chrisc717
Location:Youngstown, OH
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I absolutely LOVE this mascara! It goes on easy and stays on ALL day yet comes off easily with Avon's moisturizing make up remover. It even stands up to watery eyes. This is absolutely my all time favorite mascara! Everyone I know who has tried it loves it! Try it! You won't regret it!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good
By darlena3
on September 18, 2014
About the reviewer
By darlena3
Location:Philadelphia,PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This mascara is pretty good. I had no problems with clumping, smudging or flaking. It went on thick and dried very quickly which is a plus for me because I have curled eyelashes, so when they are stretched out they will touch my eyelids. I did not get splotches of mascara on my eyelids. If the brush was thinner I would give it a 5 but it is fat so you have to be careful and put the mascara on slowly as to not make a mess. All in all, it is a good mascara, better than many high end mascaras with out the high end price."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's about time!
By JustJenny
on September 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By JustJenny
Location:Palm Coast, FL, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"Mascara was the one item in my makeup bag that wasn't from Avon, until now. This is fabulous. I can't figure out fake lashes, nor do I want to, but this is the closest thing to them. Longer fuller lashes."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a good fit for me
By JeanGreenBean
on September 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By JeanGreenBean
Location:Carmel, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I thought I'd found a winner, but no, this isn't it. Brush is much too large, mascara flakes, so thick that it globs up on my lashes. AND, caused my eyes to burn later in the day."
+1point
2OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Clumpidy Clump for me...
By StarLady59
on September 15, 2014
About the reviewer
By StarLady59
Location:Valley Springs, CA, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I'm a decade plus user of the Avon Wash-off Waterproof mascara, and I saw this new BIG mascara that was on sale and thank the lord above I purchased only one tube. I tried it this morning and I was so disappointed. I spent more time de-clumping it than applying it, I was not impressed at all. It was as though some else had used it for a week before me. I will NOT be applying this mascara again and if I don't return it, I will throw it in the trash."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it!
By Micahsmom
on September 14, 2014
About the reviewer
By Micahsmom
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I am very picky about mascara, but this worked great. I was quite pleased and surprisingly impressed with this one. I normally do not use avon's mascara, but will be buying this from now on."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mascara Ever
By BrendaLenore
on September 7, 2014
About the reviewer
By BrendaLenore
Location:Manteno, IL, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
"Having been an Avon Customer for over 10 years (and a Rep for over 2), I have to say this is the BEST mascara I have ever used on my lashes. And my customers that have tried it agree and also one said "oh my god, this is the best one I ever used. I used to like the one in the yellow tube but I will buy this again when I need more". So Thank You Avon for getting it right. :)"
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm Hooked
By GinjaNinja
on September 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By GinjaNinja
Location:Nashville, tn
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
"I have seriously put this mascara to the test. I've slept with it on. I've cried like a two year old. I've rubbed my eyes (because I forgot I had make-up on) and I've worked like a dog with this stuff. My verdict? This goes on smooth and thick, no clumps, and won't give up. Well worth the money - I'll be a lifetime buyer. My color? Brown Black"
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love this new mascara
By turtle1
on September 5, 2014
About the reviewer
By turtle1
Location:NYC
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"Makes my lashes look great - and no clumping. great wand!"
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Big & Daring Volume Mascara
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a must have
By MamaS2
on September 4, 2014
About the reviewer
By MamaS2
Location:Valencia, PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
"This product really plumped up my lashes. Getting older finds me with less eyelashes than in my earlier years. This Big & Daring Volume Mascara has earned its name. I feel like my lashes are more noticeable. The design is also great for holding the product without slipping, Provides better application control!"
+8points
8OUT OF 8people found this review helpful
1 2 next>>