Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Perfume or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray

A floral heart blooming with honey, citrus and vanilla. It's the perfect first, and a favorite to hold onto for years. 1.7 fl. oz. SCENT SENSE: this is a floral scent. Beautiful, feminine scent that evokes flowers.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 222 reviews
5 Stars
176
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
10
1 Star
6
197 of 217(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Review 1 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Scent - For any age
By Nailgirl
on December 19, 2011
About the reviewer
By Nailgirl
Location:Portland, OR
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+15points
16OUT OF 17people found this review helpful
"This was the first perfume I ever recieved. I was about three when I was given the gift set, and I still adore the scent today. Though it might have been a little premature to get me perfume at such a young age, the scent is light enough so as not to annoy a four year old on the go, yet delicious enough to ensure an obsession with it that has lasted the years. Though all scents change over time, this product will be highly reccommended by me as long as it continues to come in >1.5 oz bottles."
+15points
16OUT OF 17people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE!!!
By Shay27
on November 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Shay27
Location:New York, NY, USA
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"i have 4 of these at home...never want to run out..smells so good"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light Fragrance
By foreverme
on November 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By foreverme
Location:Tucson, AZ, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I used Sweet Honesty back in the 70s and my two young daughters loved it. One says she has fond memories of it. I recently had a customer buy it and was very unhappy because the fragrance didn't last more than several minutes. It is a very light fragrance and you just have to know how to wear it. First, you must put perfume/cologne on DAMP SKIN or it won't last. Plus, if you use body lotion of the same scent, in this case Sweet Honesty Perfumed Skin Softener applied LIGHTLY where you are going to spray a squirt of perfume, I guarantee you will be able to smell it. Also, by using the body powder and roll on deodorant you will have an aroma that will last more than a few minutes."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Honesty
By CarlaMarie
on October 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By CarlaMarie
Location:Henderson, TX, USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"Sweet Honesty is my fave perfume, even up against high$ perfumes and colognes. I have loved this fragrance since I was a small child, I'm 53 now. So it has withstood the test of time. Mother's Day or my Birthday, or even CHRISTMAS, I tell my sons, "Don't forget I love Sweet Honesty, only from Avon! " They haven't failed me yet. I'm so glad Avon has it, because I'd be lost without it. Thank You, Carla Marie Texas"
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did something change????
By Brooke1
on September 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By Brooke1
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"I used to love this scent - since my young teen years. Recently I bought it to put in my little cousin's Sweet Sixteen gift (which was made up of a ton of age appropriate Avon products like lotions and nail polishes and a note encouraging her to embrace her feminity while as a consumer choosing companies that are culturally sound, ethical, and promote success for women). I kept the other bottle for myself as a treat. I wish I had tested it before I gave it to her because this is not the Sweet Honesty I remember. It almost smells like it was sitting in the sun and soured? What happened to it???? I'm sad. **please note I have only given 4 stars because my review kept getting declined at any fewer stars**"
+4points
5OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite for over 30 years
By Chilli64
on September 28, 2014
About the reviewer
By Chilli64
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
"I've been loving and using Sweet Honesty forever. Sweet smelling yet understated scent is just perfect for me. I'm so glad AVON didn't discontinue this one. It's a true classic"
+5points
5OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Remains my all-time favorite
By kaysette
on July 6, 2014
About the reviewer
By kaysette
Location:Arkansas
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This perfume has been my best fragrance since I was young. Many scents either give me a headache or react badly with my body chemistry. Sweet Honesty doesn't react badly on me, but just gets better and better as the day wears on. I love it and hope it never goes away!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Everyday, Any Occasion Fragrance
By LYNND
on June 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By LYNND
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have owned a number of Avon perfumes, since I was gifted one as a child, and yet "Sweet Honesty" was not among those I had tried. I'm sure glad I picked this up. If you like the smell of baby powder but don't feel like you can pull it off, this is a good choice because it's powdery and fresh like baby powder but without the tale-tale baby powder scent. I absolutely adored Avon's Comfort Scents, which I wish the company would relaunch, but until something akin to the Comfort Scents fragrances make a comeback, Sweet Honesty is the next best thing."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for every day
By walby
on May 22, 2014
About the reviewer
By walby
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"This is one of my all time favorites. Smells fresh and clean and is never over powering. Great for every day use."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
By jwallace
on March 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By jwallace
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I've been wearing this perfume for the last couple of weeks and I love it.
Once I first started buying my own cosmetics and perfumes around the age of 15-16, I asked my mom about products she'd recommend. She enthusiastically told me that Sweet Honesty from Avon was one of her favorite scents as a teenager. Her adolescence was spent in the 1970's and 80's, so I knew it was some oldschool ish. Nonetheless, I had always been curious about it. It would be years after my mom told me about the perfume that I'd buy it.
I'm in my twenties now, and when I was shopping for more perfumes to add to my collection, I remember what my mother said and bought it online.
When I first spray it, it smells very strong...like that kinda musky old lady smell.
After it settles though, it smells GREAT. It makes me feel very relaxed, and it reminds me of my childhood. It makes me feel as if I am literally revisiting the past, when I was more carefree and things were more simple. I get nostalgic. I know the scent's from the 70's but the smell itself reminds me of the 90's (my childhood decade). Even the packaging. I find that very pleasant, and it is a mood booster for me.
No other fragrance has had that effect on me.
It's hard to describe what it smells like but it has a slight baby powder odor and then some. It's not a "sexy" smell, but it's not a bad smell either. It just smells good and clean to me. It also lasts on me, it does not "wear off" right away.
I would be fine with wearing this just about everyday but when it comes to special occasions I will wear something sexier, and modern."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best innocent frangrance!
By LNinTX
on March 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By LNinTX
Location:tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"Sweet Honesty has been my favorite perfume since 1978. I wish Avon would offer it again in the shower gel, cologne rollette, and bar soap, since it is one of their classic scents, I'm surprised as the limited forms they offer it in. Please, please PLEASE bring back the shower gel and other forms!!!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet honesty
By mary37
on March 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By mary37
Location:denver,co
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"i have loved sweet honesty ever since i was little when my older cousins would wear it now i found avon and i see they have sweet honesty so thats my number one cologne."
+2points
3OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfume that leaves a lasting memory
By knittingen
on February 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By knittingen
Location:Dallas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"Like another reviewer, this was my first perfume also. Only at the time I received it, I didn't know it was a perfume. I got it as a gift when I was probably only 4 or 5 years old. It came in a bottle shaped like a statue of a girl and looked like porcelain (it must of been a special edition). I always kept in on top of my dresser, proudly displaying it. Once I turned 11 (or so) I noticed the top part of the girl had begun to turn yellow. I inspected the statue only to discover the top portion was made of plastic. I turned the top of the girl figurine around and around, and it came off! Inside was the sweetest, best fragrance I had ever smelled. I immediately dabbed some on as perfume and went out to play with friends (being as I was only 11 years old). Within months the bottle was empty. Before I put the container away, I looked at it all around to discover more about what the scent was. It was easy to inspect because it was such a bright day that the sunlight lit up my room. I spotted a tiny golden label at the bottom that said "Sweet Honesty". This was my first experience with perfume, and it lives with me today as a 30 year old woman. I will buy it and continue to wear it for the rest of my life."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Old fashioned, babyish
By Marsupial
on February 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By Marsupial
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I really don't like this. To me, it doesn't evoke flowers--it evokes baby powder. That's all I get from this, baby powder plus an overpowering musk overlay. I know this is an Avon "classic" but it's a really old-fashioned, uninteresting snoozer. Avon makes much better perfumes now."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good for the Price
By LaurenS
on January 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By LaurenS
Location:Rochester, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Bought this during a BOGO sale on cologne sprays. I chose this bottle because I remember my mother used to keep the body powder form of Sweet Honesty in the downstairs bathroom. It was always such an innocent, sweet and loving smell. When the bottle arrived today I sprayed a little in my bedroom and the smell is exactly as it was 20+ years ago, it really took me back to those sweet moments at home with my mother. However, be careful with how much you use. This has a scent similar to baby powder (with a touch of musk), and has the ability to be headache-inducing. Go easy on it!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oldie but Goodie
By GAGirl55
on January 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By GAGirl55
Location:Goergia
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"As most of the other post, I too have been wearing Sweet Honestly since the early 70's. I started wearing Vanilla Fields a few years ago and although I still like it, it does not compare to Sweet Honestly. I just found the Avon site and once again found this item and without thinking twice got it once again. I just got my order and right this moment I am surrounded by the most wonderful scent I believe I have ever worn. Thanks Avon for incredible prices and products. I miss selling Avon sometimes, now I remember why."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent light fragrance
By doodie112546
on January 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By doodie112546
Location:Matinsburg West Virginia
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have a friend of 50 years that I had bought this for right before Christmas as matter of fact just before she died . She was not on much for make up but this she did like because it was light and I di as well . Smelled very good on her. There was a recent sale that I bought the powder , the spray , and deodorant and got it at a great value . I kept it when she died at least I can use it to remind me of her once in awhile I spray a little on the pillow next tome and it reminds me of her being here. She died in Sept after I got this but I won't return it got to keep for myself and do that with it occasionally See about 8 years ago I brought her here to live what time she had left because she was dying from cancer and every year we could add to what we had was a gift of love for us both to share. . I know this has nothing to do with the fragrance itself except that it is a great light smell that if you don't like heavy this is great ."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This scent still works for me many years later ...
By Markarli
on December 1, 2013
About the reviewer
By Markarli
Location:NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"I have been wearing this for eons and still love it. It is easy to wear, works with my chemistry and is so inexpensive. I just adore everything about this fragrance."
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved over the years
By SweetHonesty
on November 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By SweetHonesty
Location:Moorhead, IA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"This is the only perfume I will buy. I don't like heavy over powering scents and this is very light. I have used it many years and I hope you never discontinue it"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clean and Simple!
By Shelley88
on November 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By Shelley88
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"A light, airy smelling cologne. Not over powerful and makes you feel young."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>