Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Perfume or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray

A floral heart blooming with honey, citrus and vanilla. It's the perfect first, and a favorite to hold onto for years. 1.7 fl. oz. SCENT SENSE: this is a floral scent. Beautiful, feminine scent that evokes flowers.
Overall rating:
4.585 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 234 reviews
5 Stars
185
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
10
1 Star
6
197 of 217(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Review 21 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
By: jwallace
on March 25, 2014
About the reviewer
By: jwallace
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I've been wearing this perfume for the last couple of weeks and I love it.
Once I first started buying my own cosmetics and perfumes around the age of 15-16, I asked my mom about products she'd recommend. She enthusiastically told me that Sweet Honesty from Avon was one of her favorite scents as a teenager. Her adolescence was spent in the 1970's and 80's, so I knew it was some oldschool ish. Nonetheless, I had always been curious about it. It would be years after my mom told me about the perfume that I'd buy it.
I'm in my twenties now, and when I was shopping for more perfumes to add to my collection, I remember what my mother said and bought it online.
When I first spray it, it smells very strong...like that kinda musky old lady smell.
After it settles though, it smells GREAT. It makes me feel very relaxed, and it reminds me of my childhood. It makes me feel as if I am literally revisiting the past, when I was more carefree and things were more simple. I get nostalgic. I know the scent's from the 70's but the smell itself reminds me of the 90's (my childhood decade). Even the packaging. I find that very pleasant, and it is a mood booster for me.
No other fragrance has had that effect on me.
It's hard to describe what it smells like but it has a slight baby powder odor and then some. It's not a "sexy" smell, but it's not a bad smell either. It just smells good and clean to me. It also lasts on me, it does not "wear off" right away.
I would be fine with wearing this just about everyday but when it comes to special occasions I will wear something sexier, and modern. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best innocent frangrance!
By: LNinTX
on March 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By: LNinTX
Location:tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
" Sweet Honesty has been my favorite perfume since 1978. I wish Avon would offer it again in the shower gel, cologne rollette, and bar soap, since it is one of their classic scents, I'm surprised as the limited forms they offer it in. Please, please PLEASE bring back the shower gel and other forms!!! "
+7points
7OUT OF 7people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet honesty
By: mary37
on March 1, 2014
About the reviewer
By: mary37
Location:denver,co
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
" i have loved sweet honesty ever since i was little when my older cousins would wear it now i found avon and i see they have sweet honesty so thats my number one cologne. "
+3points
4OUT OF 5people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfume that leaves a lasting memory
By: knittingen
on February 21, 2014
About the reviewer
By: knittingen
Location:Dallas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" Like another reviewer, this was my first perfume also. Only at the time I received it, I didn't know it was a perfume. I got it as a gift when I was probably only 4 or 5 years old. It came in a bottle shaped like a statue of a girl and looked like porcelain (it must of been a special edition). I always kept in on top of my dresser, proudly displaying it. Once I turned 11 (or so) I noticed the top part of the girl had begun to turn yellow. I inspected the statue only to discover the top portion was made of plastic. I turned the top of the girl figurine around and around, and it came off! Inside was the sweetest, best fragrance I had ever smelled. I immediately dabbed some on as perfume and went out to play with friends (being as I was only 11 years old). Within months the bottle was empty. Before I put the container away, I looked at it all around to discover more about what the scent was. It was easy to inspect because it was such a bright day that the sunlight lit up my room. I spotted a tiny golden label at the bottom that said "Sweet Honesty". This was my first experience with perfume, and it lives with me today as a 30 year old woman. I will buy it and continue to wear it for the rest of my life. "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Old fashioned, babyish
By: Marsupial
on February 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By: Marsupial
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
-3points
0OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I really don't like this. To me, it doesn't evoke flowers--it evokes baby powder. That's all I get from this, baby powder plus an overpowering musk overlay. I know this is an Avon "classic" but it's a really old-fashioned, uninteresting snoozer. Avon makes much better perfumes now. "
-3points
0OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good for the Price
By: LaurenS
on January 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By: LaurenS
Location:Rochester, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Bought this during a BOGO sale on cologne sprays. I chose this bottle because I remember my mother used to keep the body powder form of Sweet Honesty in the downstairs bathroom. It was always such an innocent, sweet and loving smell. When the bottle arrived today I sprayed a little in my bedroom and the smell is exactly as it was 20+ years ago, it really took me back to those sweet moments at home with my mother. However, be careful with how much you use. This has a scent similar to baby powder (with a touch of musk), and has the ability to be headache-inducing. Go easy on it! "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oldie but Goodie
By: GAGirl55
on January 16, 2014
About the reviewer
By: GAGirl55
Location:Goergia
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" As most of the other post, I too have been wearing Sweet Honestly since the early 70's. I started wearing Vanilla Fields a few years ago and although I still like it, it does not compare to Sweet Honestly. I just found the Avon site and once again found this item and without thinking twice got it once again. I just got my order and right this moment I am surrounded by the most wonderful scent I believe I have ever worn. Thanks Avon for incredible prices and products. I miss selling Avon sometimes, now I remember why. "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent light fragrance
By: doodie112546
on January 3, 2014
About the reviewer
By: doodie112546
Location:Matinsburg West Virginia
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I have a friend of 50 years that I had bought this for right before Christmas as matter of fact just before she died . She was not on much for make up but this she did like because it was light and I di as well . Smelled very good on her. There was a recent sale that I bought the powder , the spray , and deodorant and got it at a great value . I kept it when she died at least I can use it to remind me of her once in awhile I spray a little on the pillow next tome and it reminds me of her being here. She died in Sept after I got this but I won't return it got to keep for myself and do that with it occasionally See about 8 years ago I brought her here to live what time she had left because she was dying from cancer and every year we could add to what we had was a gift of love for us both to share. . I know this has nothing to do with the fragrance itself except that it is a great light smell that if you don't like heavy this is great . "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This scent still works for me many years later ...
By: Markarli
on December 1, 2013
About the reviewer
By: Markarli
Location:NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
" I have been wearing this for eons and still love it. It is easy to wear, works with my chemistry and is so inexpensive. I just adore everything about this fragrance. "
+4points
4OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved over the years
By: SweetHonesty
on November 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By: SweetHonesty
Location:Moorhead, IA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" This is the only perfume I will buy. I don't like heavy over powering scents and this is very light. I have used it many years and I hope you never discontinue it "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clean and Simple!
By: Shelley88
on November 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By: Shelley88
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" A light, airy smelling cologne. Not over powerful and makes you feel young. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice perfume
By: Anonymous
on October 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By: Anonymous
Location:Campbell, CA
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
" I wouldn't describe this perfume as honey/vanilla. It smells like baby powder. I am giving mine to my mom because she loves powdery scents. It smells nice, but I prefer fruity/floral scents a bit more. "
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect!!
By: vintage
on September 23, 2013
About the reviewer
By: vintage
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" sweet honesty fragrance is always a treat, it takes you back to simple times with the light fresh scent.love it!!!! "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Honesty is the best
By: eekque
on September 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By: eekque
Location:Topeka, Kansas
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
" I have used Sweet Honesty since it came out which is probably over 30 years. I have severe allergies and Sweet Honesty is light, refreshing and lasts a long time. Everytime I wear it, I get compliments. It's a great gift to give. Everytime it's on sale, I stock up. I wish they had some more products made of Sweet Honesty, I would buy them. Thank you Avon "
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My fabulous "back to basics" scent!
By: SoCASweetie
on September 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By: SoCASweetie
Location:Irvine CA
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I love this fragrance for its simplicity and unobtrusiveness. I can spray it on no matter where I am without being overwhelming. No one asks "what perfume do you have on" they tell you that you smell good.
I love it and plan to stock up. :) "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore this when I was younger
By: SusanDK
on September 12, 2013
About the reviewer
By: SusanDK
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" I wore Sweet Honesty in the early 70s when I was a preteen. I remember that I loved the scent. For the past few weeks I had been smelling Sweet Honesty so I wondered if they still made it. A friend told me they did so I went to the Avon website and ordered some. Still love it and it makes be feel young again. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Fav Perfume
By: Mutara
on September 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By: Mutara
Location:Wheatland MO
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" The first perfume my mother let me wear as a young lady was Sweet Honesty and its always been a fave of mine, I got it for my girls and for my granddaughter. Great Smell, not to strong, I've always loved it and always will. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY
By: NFMM
on August 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By: NFMM
Location:San Diego, CA
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I was pleasantly surprised when I used this product. The scent is lovely and it has a lasting effect. Some of the expensive ones that I have used stay on for a couple of minutes and it's gone. I also have gotten compliments on how good I smell.I hope Avon won't change it...it is great as it is..... "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brings back memories
By: antonsgg
on July 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By: antonsgg
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
" I used Sweet Honesty years ago, I'am so glad that I have ordered this it brings back memories of years ago. I also ordered the body cream and it is wonderful!!!! "
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Sweet Honesty Cologne Spray
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Honesty
By: sillawnna10
on July 22, 2013
About the reviewer
By: sillawnna10
Location:Denver, CO
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
" Have been using this scent since it first came out in the 70's. It has been my "signature scent" for all these years.I once dressed up for Halloween and gave out candy in the MFG. Co. I worked for. No one knew I was the Manager as I passed by over 100 employees except one alert gal who said "I know who you are.....I can tell by your perfume". Recently, a relative I had not seen for awhile, hugged me and it was followed by the words...."You always smell so good"!!! thank you Sweet Honesty. "
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>