Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop insect repellents or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (252 reviews)
5 stars
212
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
8
236 of 252(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Review 1 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellemenohp
Saved my vacation
Date:January 8, 2014
"I am a bug magnet and this pleasantly scented sunblock, along with other Skin-So-Soft products, saved my vacation and spared my husband from having to look at bug bite welts!"
Review 2 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irie
Location:Sandy Springs, GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin type:Dry
Bug Free.
Date:December 26, 2013
"Once I applied this product to my skin the mosquitoes and sand-flies (in Barbados) went on vacation and we enjoyed our vacation. Actually the said bugs took 'terminal leave'. This product is excellent."
Review 3 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Msharp23
Location:Boston, ma
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Same ole, same ole..
Date:October 31, 2013
"Loved the idea of SSS branching out into a lotion since my childhood, but the price point doesn't fit the quality or size. The bottles are so small that they seem more like a trial size and unfortunately I will not be buying SSS again (even after buying 3 lotions)."
Review 4 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DASE
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Too much odor
Date:October 23, 2013
"I was very disappointed when I received this product. It's Gentle Breeze fragrance is quite pronounced. When I use bug repellant I am usually camping, hiking, rowing. Nobody wants to smell perfume on the trail. So I guess I will just use it in my garden but even there I would rather be smelling the real flowers.
I was told there is a scentless product in an areosol can, but I don't buy those cans.
"
Review 5 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvsShopping
Location:CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Best product
Date:October 17, 2013
"I love this even if i'm just out in the yard watering flowers, traveling, or getting a little sun. Never have to worry about getting bugs/bees stinging me. Great tube to throw in my beach tote and kids love it too. This isn't greasy and soaks in, leaves skin soft, and the scent is light doesn't bother my allergies. I will keep buying this because it works. The spf 30 is great too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edgarj1
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love it.
Date:October 16, 2013
"I really like this lotion. The smell is mild but nice. I am very happy I ordered it."
Review 7 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pupmomsusan
Location:Covington, Ga.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
GREAT ALL OVER PRODUCT
Date:October 7, 2013
"There are yellow biting flies in Fla. on vacation during the summer and nothing worked to keep them off but this product. They are very plentiful and the bites are especially nasty. Horrid itching becoming sores that can last for months and leave scars. I was so happy to finally find something that works. It's a great sunscreen and skin treatment."
Review 8 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
M155y
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Nothing like it
Date:September 27, 2013
"Being an avid fisherman, I am out on a bug infested lake all day long throughout the summer and this product passes the test. I don't get bitten or burned and most days I don't even reapply. Also good when gardening, BBQ's, hanging out, etc. Try to find something like it, good luck, I've tried.If you prefer a spray, they have a sister product that is a spray. Try it for yourself, you'll be amazed."
Review 9 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennLyn
Location:Port Wentworth (Savannah Area), GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best Product I've Ever Purchased!!!!
Date:September 27, 2013
"Born and raised in South Georgia, and for some reason I'm one of those people who can stand outside and end up being the only person who is bitten by several mosquitoes. I was told there is something in my skin (like a small group of people) that attract bugs to bite.
Hands down, this product has worked for me and has been the best. Since using this product, I have not been bitten by any bugs or mosquitoes. The reviews are true, if you have the same issue as I described, spend a little and purchase this product. I promise, you will not be disappointed!!!!! :-)
"
Review 10 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BerniB
Location:Lanham, Md
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Skin So Soft Lotion
Date:September 19, 2013
"I tried it mainly for the mosquito protection attributes and it does seem to work, but I think it's only for a certain amount of time, like maybe 2-3 hrs., which still is good, so I'm reapplying after a couple of hours for protection against mosquitoes, and it smells nice too."
Review 11 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annesg
Location:Staten Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
WORKS AND SMELLS QUITE NICE
Date:September 8, 2013
"My husband and I wore this product recently to a block party. We needed lotion for day in the sun; bug guard once the sun went down- mosquitoes are really nasty this year. No suntan lotion smell or bug repellent smell, quite pleasant and non greasy. Oh, it was effective on both counts. We always carry with us one or two SSS bug guard towelettes, just slip in a pocket."
Review 12 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OutdoorsEnthusiast
Location:Morris County, NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Disappointed; 3 strikes and you're out
Date:September 8, 2013
"Unfortunately, when I used this product while hiking this summer, I still got two mosquito bites. Also, the skin on my arms and legs where I had applied the product felt uncomfortably sticky (I was hoping for "skin so soft"). The third strike is that although the scent was not horrible, it still smelled more like insect spray than a beauty product."
Review 13 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazybirder
Location:Pittsburgh PA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Works!
Date:September 7, 2013
"This works as both a sunscreen and mosquito deterrent. As soon as I put it on, the bugs stay away from the area. You need to put it on your face too or they switch their attentions there. So far, no ticks or chigger have bothered me. It also smells nice and the smell fades, so you have to remember to wash it off when you get home. I like how it disappears into your skin. Essential stuff!"
Review 14 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUSYBEE2
Location:Long Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Works for me
Date:September 6, 2013
"A good friend recommended this product to me and I find that it does the job VERY well!"
Review 15 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbzf
Location:Gaithersburg MD
It Works!
Date:August 20, 2013
"I bought this lotion for all four couples who went to Costa Rica with us this summer and it works! Even in the jungle, no bites! The fact that it's also a sunscreen is a huge bonus. And it has no unpleasant smell like most other bug repellants. I would highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sudoArt2
Location:Tarryal, Coorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
sudoArt2
Date:August 16, 2013
"I love Skin So Soft creme. Covers areas well and I have complete protection from biting flies,mosquitoes and other pesty insects. thank you"
Review 17 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NissinIndia
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Kept away the biggest bugs!!!
Date:August 6, 2013
"So, this summer, we took our son to India for the first time to visit family. Our wonderful Avon Rep, Marie Di, recommended this product. We bought four bottles for the three of us (2 adults and one child). We put it on in the morning and before bed for 3 weeks. And if we were in a really mosquitoe infested place, we would reapply during the day.
The mosquitoes in India are very problematic. Besides being as big as a house, some also transmit fevers. This lotion was AMAZING!!! We all loved the gentle breeze scent and we were not bitten at all when we used this cream. I remember going to India in the past and being eaten alive. I will never go without this product again! I highly recommend this cream to anyone going to a tropical place because it really works."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mialine88
Location:Miami
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Good product and smell good
Date:August 4, 2013
"+++ : This lotion smell good and make your skin really soft
++ : protect it well ! I've nerver got sunburns during my holidays in Florida in July !!!
- : the repellent part of the product is not enough strong for people who are bitten a lot by mosquitos.
"
Review 19 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sallvie
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not too greasy
Date:August 2, 2013
"Went on smooth. After the sun went down I noticed I wasn't being bitten, so the bug repellent lasted a lot longer than I expected."
Review 20 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sjbc
black fly deterent
Date:July 31, 2013
"This is the only thing I know that deters Adirondack Black Flies. We use copious amounts around our hairline and ears. Yes, it takes off nail polish, which is worrisome, since we are putting it on our skin, but that is better than black fly bites."