Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 376 reviews
5 Stars
318
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
15
351 of 376(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Review 1 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Machelle
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
Wonderful
Date:July 23, 2014
"We went to the lake and were in the sun from 11am to 3pm. We all have a fair complexsion. The kids and I weren't burnt when we got home. My husband who refused to put this on was burnt all over. Kids legs aways look bad from all the bug bites but when i use this they don't. I won't go any where with out it. LOVE IT!!!"
Review 2 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
noname100
Location:Indiana
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
gentle breezes blow bad
Date:July 10, 2014
"an associate gave me a bottle of the spray lotion. It is the most noxious smell that I have encountered except for the dead skunk in the road Won't be buying any of your products again."
Review 3 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lca0203
Location:Miami, FL
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
One and only
Date:June 30, 2014
"I have tried EVERY single sunscreen lotion for my son since he was a baby and they all give him a crazy rash all over the next day. When I say we have used all I mean everything they sell in the store, even baby ones. This is the ONLY one that works for him. I dont know what this does not have that every other sunscreen does but its amazing. PLEASE dont ever discontinue this product its a life savor. And the Bug GUARD is a huge plus!"
Review 4 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnaLynn
Location:San Antonio, TX
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Great Sunscreen!
Date:June 29, 2014
"Just a note to all the previous reviewers complaining about nail polish damage with this sunscreen - Many sunscreens usually contain an emulsifying agent that is almost identical to one of the agents in nail polish remover. If you want to avoid damaging your manicure, you can wear latex gloves when applying any sunscreen lotion.
This sunscreen works great. My son is allergic to mosquito bites and this really helps repel the mosquitoes! When he plays outside I reapply as needed. My kids also used this sunscreen at the beach for 3 days straight and they were free of sunburn! I recommend SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard lotion!"
Review 5 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NinaW
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Beware: Dissolves nail polish!!
Date:June 24, 2014
"I love the scent, texture and SPF, I widely recommend this product if you don't wear nail polish, otherwise it will dissolve it, I just had a manicure the day before and was wearing my Speed Dry Fast Time Teal... ruined."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
missbojangles
Location:St. Louis, MO
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
Greatest Stuff Ever
Date:June 10, 2014
"My family lake swims a lot in the summer. This is the only bug repellent that won't wash off. And the sunscreen is strong enough for my fair-skinned self. I recommend this product to anyone who goes camping or swims outside."
Review 7 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lulu80
Location:Boxford, MA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Works great for sun and bugs
Date:June 9, 2014
"I spent 7 hours gardening, right down in the dirt. There were lots of bugs and bees. I came in without a sunburn and without a bite. This is a great product that does double duty. The lotion is creamy and easy to apply and non-sticky. The scent is pleasant. I heartily recommend this to anyone who is going to be outdoors. This product works."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KatesGreat
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
SSS Bug Guard Gentle Breeze
Date:May 9, 2014
"I have found this product to be a repellent to chiggers which we have in Southern Maryland. I apply to my lower legs when working in the yard and no bites. The sun block works fine and I do not find it sticky. I always apply in the house, then wash off my palms before going out. The label states that it is harmful to nail polish, but the print is very fine. Try reading the label on a can of OFF!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ellemenohp
Saved my vacation
Date:January 8, 2014
"I am a bug magnet and this pleasantly scented sunblock, along with other Skin-So-Soft products, saved my vacation and spared my husband from having to look at bug bite welts!"
Review 10 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irie
Location:Sandy Springs, GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin type:Dry
Bug Free.
Date:December 26, 2013
"Once I applied this product to my skin the mosquitoes and sand-flies (in Barbados) went on vacation and we enjoyed our vacation. Actually the said bugs took 'terminal leave'. This product is excellent."
Review 11 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Msharp23
Location:Boston, ma
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Same ole, same ole..
Date:October 31, 2013
"Loved the idea of SSS branching out into a lotion since my childhood, but the price point doesn't fit the quality or size. The bottles are so small that they seem more like a trial size and unfortunately I will not be buying SSS again (even after buying 3 lotions)."
Review 12 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DASE
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Too much odor
Date:October 23, 2013
"I was very disappointed when I received this product. It's Gentle Breeze fragrance is quite pronounced. When I use bug repellant I am usually camping, hiking, rowing. Nobody wants to smell perfume on the trail. So I guess I will just use it in my garden but even there I would rather be smelling the real flowers.
I was told there is a scentless product in an areosol can, but I don't buy those cans.
"
Review 13 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LuvsShopping
Location:CA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Best product
Date:October 17, 2013
"I love this even if i'm just out in the yard watering flowers, traveling, or getting a little sun. Never have to worry about getting bugs/bees stinging me. Great tube to throw in my beach tote and kids love it too. This isn't greasy and soaks in, leaves skin soft, and the scent is light doesn't bother my allergies. I will keep buying this because it works. The spf 30 is great too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Edgarj1
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Love it.
Date:October 16, 2013
"I really like this lotion. The smell is mild but nice. I am very happy I ordered it."
Review 15 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pupmomsusan
Location:Covington, Ga.
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
GREAT ALL OVER PRODUCT
Date:October 7, 2013
"There are yellow biting flies in Fla. on vacation during the summer and nothing worked to keep them off but this product. They are very plentiful and the bites are especially nasty. Horrid itching becoming sores that can last for months and leave scars. I was so happy to finally find something that works. It's a great sunscreen and skin treatment."
Review 16 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
M155y
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Nothing like it
Date:September 27, 2013
"Being an avid fisherman, I am out on a bug infested lake all day long throughout the summer and this product passes the test. I don't get bitten or burned and most days I don't even reapply. Also good when gardening, BBQ's, hanging out, etc. Try to find something like it, good luck, I've tried.If you prefer a spray, they have a sister product that is a spray. Try it for yourself, you'll be amazed."
Review 17 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JennLyn
Location:Port Wentworth (Savannah Area), GA
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Best Product I've Ever Purchased!!!!
Date:September 27, 2013
"Born and raised in South Georgia, and for some reason I'm one of those people who can stand outside and end up being the only person who is bitten by several mosquitoes. I was told there is something in my skin (like a small group of people) that attract bugs to bite.
Hands down, this product has worked for me and has been the best. Since using this product, I have not been bitten by any bugs or mosquitoes. The reviews are true, if you have the same issue as I described, spend a little and purchase this product. I promise, you will not be disappointed!!!!! :-)
"
Review 18 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BerniB
Location:Lanham, Md
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Skin So Soft Lotion
Date:September 19, 2013
"I tried it mainly for the mosquito protection attributes and it does seem to work, but I think it's only for a certain amount of time, like maybe 2-3 hrs., which still is good, so I'm reapplying after a couple of hours for protection against mosquitoes, and it smells nice too."
Review 19 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
annesg
Location:Staten Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
WORKS AND SMELLS QUITE NICE
Date:September 8, 2013
"My husband and I wore this product recently to a block party. We needed lotion for day in the sun; bug guard once the sun went down- mosquitoes are really nasty this year. No suntan lotion smell or bug repellent smell, quite pleasant and non greasy. Oh, it was effective on both counts. We always carry with us one or two SSS bug guard towelettes, just slip in a pocket."
Review 20 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
OutdoorsEnthusiast
Location:Morris County, NJ
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Disappointed; 3 strikes and you're out
Date:September 8, 2013
"Unfortunately, when I used this product while hiking this summer, I still got two mosquito bites. Also, the skin on my arms and legs where I had applied the product felt uncomfortably sticky (I was hoping for "skin so soft"). The third strike is that although the scent was not horrible, it still smelled more like insect spray than a beauty product."