Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 289 reviews
5 Stars
244
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
270 of 289(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Review 1 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful
By Machelle
on July 23, 2014
About the reviewer
By Machelle
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Oily
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"We went to the lake and were in the sun from 11am to 3pm. We all have a fair complexsion. The kids and I weren't burnt when we got home. My husband who refused to put this on was burnt all over. Kids legs aways look bad from all the bug bites but when i use this they don't. I won't go any where with out it. LOVE IT!!!"
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
gentle breezes blow bad
By noname100
on July 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By noname100
Location:Indiana
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
-4points
0OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
"an associate gave me a bottle of the spray lotion. It is the most noxious smell that I have encountered except for the dead skunk in the road Won't be buying any of your products again."
-4points
0OUT OF 4people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One and only
By lca0203
on June 30, 2014
About the reviewer
By lca0203
Location:Miami, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"I have tried EVERY single sunscreen lotion for my son since he was a baby and they all give him a crazy rash all over the next day. When I say we have used all I mean everything they sell in the store, even baby ones. This is the ONLY one that works for him. I dont know what this does not have that every other sunscreen does but its amazing. PLEASE dont ever discontinue this product its a life savor. And the Bug GUARD is a huge plus!"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sunscreen!
By AnaLynn
on June 29, 2014
About the reviewer
By AnaLynn
Location:San Antonio, TX
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"Just a note to all the previous reviewers complaining about nail polish damage with this sunscreen - Many sunscreens usually contain an emulsifying agent that is almost identical to one of the agents in nail polish remover. If you want to avoid damaging your manicure, you can wear latex gloves when applying any sunscreen lotion.
This sunscreen works great. My son is allergic to mosquito bites and this really helps repel the mosquitoes! When he plays outside I reapply as needed. My kids also used this sunscreen at the beach for 3 days straight and they were free of sunburn! I recommend SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard lotion!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beware: Dissolves nail polish!!
By NinaW
on June 24, 2014
About the reviewer
By NinaW
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love the scent, texture and SPF, I widely recommend this product if you don't wear nail polish, otherwise it will dissolve it, I just had a manicure the day before and was wearing my Speed Dry Fast Time Teal... ruined."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Stuff Ever
By missbojangles
on June 10, 2014
About the reviewer
By missbojangles
Location:St. Louis, MO
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My family lake swims a lot in the summer. This is the only bug repellent that won't wash off. And the sunscreen is strong enough for my fair-skinned self. I recommend this product to anyone who goes camping or swims outside."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great for sun and bugs
By Lulu80
on June 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By Lulu80
Location:Boxford, MA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I spent 7 hours gardening, right down in the dirt. There were lots of bugs and bees. I came in without a sunburn and without a bite. This is a great product that does double duty. The lotion is creamy and easy to apply and non-sticky. The scent is pleasant. I heartily recommend this to anyone who is going to be outdoors. This product works."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SSS Bug Guard Gentle Breeze
By KatesGreat
on May 9, 2014
About the reviewer
By KatesGreat
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I have found this product to be a repellent to chiggers which we have in Southern Maryland. I apply to my lower legs when working in the yard and no bites. The sun block works fine and I do not find it sticky. I always apply in the house, then wash off my palms before going out. The label states that it is harmful to nail polish, but the print is very fine. Try reading the label on a can of OFF!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saved my vacation
By Ellemenohp
on January 8, 2014
About the reviewer
By Ellemenohp
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I am a bug magnet and this pleasantly scented sunblock, along with other Skin-So-Soft products, saved my vacation and spared my husband from having to look at bug bite welts!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bug Free.
By Irie
on December 26, 2013
About the reviewer
By Irie
Location:Sandy Springs, GA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Once I applied this product to my skin the mosquitoes and sand-flies (in Barbados) went on vacation and we enjoyed our vacation. Actually the said bugs took 'terminal leave'. This product is excellent."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Same ole, same ole..
By Msharp23
on October 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By Msharp23
Location:Boston, ma
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Loved the idea of SSS branching out into a lotion since my childhood, but the price point doesn't fit the quality or size. The bottles are so small that they seem more like a trial size and unfortunately I will not be buying SSS again (even after buying 3 lotions)."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too much odor
By DASE
on October 23, 2013
About the reviewer
By DASE
Location:California
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I was very disappointed when I received this product. It's Gentle Breeze fragrance is quite pronounced. When I use bug repellant I am usually camping, hiking, rowing. Nobody wants to smell perfume on the trail. So I guess I will just use it in my garden but even there I would rather be smelling the real flowers.
I was told there is a scentless product in an areosol can, but I don't buy those cans.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best product
By LuvsShopping
on October 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By LuvsShopping
Location:CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I love this even if i'm just out in the yard watering flowers, traveling, or getting a little sun. Never have to worry about getting bugs/bees stinging me. Great tube to throw in my beach tote and kids love it too. This isn't greasy and soaks in, leaves skin soft, and the scent is light doesn't bother my allergies. I will keep buying this because it works. The spf 30 is great too."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it.
By Edgarj1
on October 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By Edgarj1
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I really like this lotion. The smell is mild but nice. I am very happy I ordered it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT ALL OVER PRODUCT
By pupmomsusan
on October 7, 2013
About the reviewer
By pupmomsusan
Location:Covington, Ga.
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"There are yellow biting flies in Fla. on vacation during the summer and nothing worked to keep them off but this product. They are very plentiful and the bites are especially nasty. Horrid itching becoming sores that can last for months and leave scars. I was so happy to finally find something that works. It's a great sunscreen and skin treatment."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing like it
By M155y
on September 27, 2013
About the reviewer
By M155y
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Being an avid fisherman, I am out on a bug infested lake all day long throughout the summer and this product passes the test. I don't get bitten or burned and most days I don't even reapply. Also good when gardening, BBQ's, hanging out, etc. Try to find something like it, good luck, I've tried.If you prefer a spray, they have a sister product that is a spray. Try it for yourself, you'll be amazed."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Product I've Ever Purchased!!!!
By JennLyn
on September 27, 2013
About the reviewer
By JennLyn
Location:Port Wentworth (Savannah Area), GA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Born and raised in South Georgia, and for some reason I'm one of those people who can stand outside and end up being the only person who is bitten by several mosquitoes. I was told there is something in my skin (like a small group of people) that attract bugs to bite.
Hands down, this product has worked for me and has been the best. Since using this product, I have not been bitten by any bugs or mosquitoes. The reviews are true, if you have the same issue as I described, spend a little and purchase this product. I promise, you will not be disappointed!!!!! :-)
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skin So Soft Lotion
By BerniB
on September 19, 2013
About the reviewer
By BerniB
Location:Lanham, Md
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I tried it mainly for the mosquito protection attributes and it does seem to work, but I think it's only for a certain amount of time, like maybe 2-3 hrs., which still is good, so I'm reapplying after a couple of hours for protection against mosquitoes, and it smells nice too."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORKS AND SMELLS QUITE NICE
By annesg
on September 8, 2013
About the reviewer
By annesg
Location:Staten Island, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My husband and I wore this product recently to a block party. We needed lotion for day in the sun; bug guard once the sun went down- mosquitoes are really nasty this year. No suntan lotion smell or bug repellent smell, quite pleasant and non greasy. Oh, it was effective on both counts. We always carry with us one or two SSS bug guard towelettes, just slip in a pocket."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 20 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed; 3 strikes and you're out
By OutdoorsEnthusiast
on September 8, 2013
About the reviewer
By OutdoorsEnthusiast
Location:Morris County, NJ
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Unfortunately, when I used this product while hiking this summer, I still got two mosquito bites. Also, the skin on my arms and legs where I had applied the product felt uncomfortably sticky (I was hoping for "skin so soft"). The third strike is that although the scent was not horrible, it still smelled more like insect spray than a beauty product."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>