Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Insect Repellents or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 375 reviews
5 Stars
317
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
15
350 of 375(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Review 21 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BUSYBEE2
Location:Long Island, NY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Works for me
Date:September 6, 2013
"A good friend recommended this product to me and I find that it does the job VERY well!"
Review 22 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mbzf
Location:Gaithersburg MD
It Works!
Date:August 20, 2013
"I bought this lotion for all four couples who went to Costa Rica with us this summer and it works! Even in the jungle, no bites! The fact that it's also a sunscreen is a huge bonus. And it has no unpleasant smell like most other bug repellants. I would highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sudoArt2
Location:Tarryal, Coorado
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
sudoArt2
Date:August 16, 2013
"I love Skin So Soft creme. Covers areas well and I have complete protection from biting flies,mosquitoes and other pesty insects. thank you"
Review 24 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NissinIndia
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
Kept away the biggest bugs!!!
Date:August 6, 2013
"So, this summer, we took our son to India for the first time to visit family. Our wonderful Avon Rep, Marie Di, recommended this product. We bought four bottles for the three of us (2 adults and one child). We put it on in the morning and before bed for 3 weeks. And if we were in a really mosquitoe infested place, we would reapply during the day.
The mosquitoes in India are very problematic. Besides being as big as a house, some also transmit fevers. This lotion was AMAZING!!! We all loved the gentle breeze scent and we were not bitten at all when we used this cream. I remember going to India in the past and being eaten alive. I will never go without this product again! I highly recommend this cream to anyone going to a tropical place because it really works."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mialine88
Location:Miami
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Good product and smell good
Date:August 4, 2013
"+++ : This lotion smell good and make your skin really soft
++ : protect it well ! I've nerver got sunburns during my holidays in Florida in July !!!
- : the repellent part of the product is not enough strong for people who are bitten a lot by mosquitos.
"
Review 26 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sallvie
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Not too greasy
Date:August 2, 2013
"Went on smooth. After the sun went down I noticed I wasn't being bitten, so the bug repellent lasted a lot longer than I expected."
Review 27 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sjbc
black fly deterent
Date:July 31, 2013
"This is the only thing I know that deters Adirondack Black Flies. We use copious amounts around our hairline and ears. Yes, it takes off nail polish, which is worrisome, since we are putting it on our skin, but that is better than black fly bites."
Review 28 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dcarnes
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
works well
Date:July 31, 2013
"Used this when I visited my parents in Arkansas in July. I did not get one bug bite! Seems to work great, and I like that it has only a light scent."
Review 29 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gonnaplotz
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Good Product
Date:July 30, 2013
"The Skin-So-Soft Bug Guard Plus is a good product. Upside: Easy to apply. Effective against flying insects. Easy on your skin. Helps protect against sun damage. Reasonable cost. Convenient to use.
Downside: Isn't broad-spectrum UV protection, so if staying out very long, must be used with a broad-spectrum product. Must be reapplied after about 2 hrs, as insect repellent wears off.
Still think it's a good product and I use it during mosquito season successfully.
"
Review 30 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dingodawg13
Location:Seattle
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Marine certified, Marine approved!!
Date:July 30, 2013
"Before all there was, was Deet and the probability of some form of cancer. Avon comes up with a product that smells good and gets rid of bugs. I have been wearing this product since discovering it back in the late eighties with a bunch of ground pounding grunts in the infantry. On three continents, two in third world countries this product has held its own! Would have never looked your way had it not been for the Marines that used it quite frequently."
Review 31 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CB59
Location:Cadillac, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Avon or Deet
Date:July 29, 2013
"I believe the skin so soft bug guard works just as well as any product with 25% Deet. You do not have to worry about absorbing the Deet into your body and you are getting SPF 30 protection from the sun"
Review 32 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ily905
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Always works
Date:July 27, 2013
"I've been using this product for 14 years. I travel a lot to the carribbean and they have a lot of Mosquitos and I make sure I have my SSS Bug Guard. It's a great sunscreen as well."
Review 33 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sean
Location:NJ shore
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
OFF DOESN'T WORK, SKIN-SO-SOFT DOES
Date:July 21, 2013
"The white bottle of Skin-So-Soft w/ Bug Guard + Sunblock is my favorite of the green, white, + blue bottles that I bought last summer, because there is no alcohol as with the pump bottle, and most of all - the fragrance is very light and does not overwhelm. I will say that for the green bottle, too - that it also does not overwhelm you. As for effectiveness, when I am working outside, if I miss putting some on my neck yet put it on all the other exposed areas(ARMS, LEG, FACE), I'll notice "wow, I got bit on my neck and nowhere else."
And in high-mosquito marshy neighborhoods where I would get bit 10+ times by mosquitos during a work day without it, I will only get bit once or twice.
"
Review 34 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NanaKathy
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
A must have!
Date:July 19, 2013
"My husband and I just returned from a mission trip to Honduras. I loaded us up with Avon Bug Guard lotions, sprays and towelettes. Not one bug bite and no sunburns. I ended up sharing our products with the entire team. Wonderful products."
Review 35 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eatenalivebybugs
Location:Bentonville, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
This really works
Date:July 18, 2013
"I've been using this product for several years already and got to depend on it completely!
After I apply the lotion on myself, I can spend all day outdoors and not get bitten at all. It's pleasant and easy to apply to most of the vulnerable body parts.
"
Review 36 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Golfman
Location:Lake of the Ozarks
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Reliable Product
Date:July 17, 2013
"This product performs wonderfully. It keeps the bugs away and the Sun from burning your skin. I use it every time I will be out doors playing golf, boating, hiking, etc. You do have to put up with an oily feeling but to me it is worth it."
Review 37 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
texaspuppy
Location:Paducah, KY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
It's not worth the price
Date:July 17, 2013
"It's overpriced, greasy and does not repel any bugs. But it smells good."
Review 38 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaydee
Location:Maryland
Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus/SPF 30
Date:July 17, 2013
"We absolutely love this sunscreen with built in bug repellent. One of our children is allergic to all sunscreens except this one and it is a bonus that there is a bug repellent in it. This product also repels mosquitoes and protects us from all sorts of bug bites. We buy it 4 or more bottles at a time as our whole family uses it! The scent is light enough that we don't smell like sunscreen or bug repellent all day. We highly recommend it."
Review 39 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crystal1
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
I love this stuff
Date:July 16, 2013
"I live in northern Michigan. This is the best sunscreen to protect from sun and bugs. Also swimmers itch. Helps keep my skin soft too and smells nice."
Review 40 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
susielouwho
Love this product
Date:July 13, 2013
"I really like this product!. The mosquitos are terrible in Florida and it works really well for that and as a sunscreen. I wish it came in an spf 15 though."