Avon Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free and DEET-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 289 reviews
5 Stars
244
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
270 of 289(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Review 21 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works!
By crazybirder
on September 7, 2013
About the reviewer
By crazybirder
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This works as both a sunscreen and mosquito deterrent. As soon as I put it on, the bugs stay away from the area. You need to put it on your face too or they switch their attentions there. So far, no ticks or chigger have bothered me. It also smells nice and the smell fades, so you have to remember to wash it off when you get home. I like how it disappears into your skin. Essential stuff!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 22 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me
By BUSYBEE2
on September 6, 2013
About the reviewer
By BUSYBEE2
Location:Long Island, NY
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"A good friend recommended this product to me and I find that it does the job VERY well!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 23 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Works!
By mbzf
on August 20, 2013
About the reviewer
By mbzf
Location:Gaithersburg MD
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I bought this lotion for all four couples who went to Costa Rica with us this summer and it works! Even in the jungle, no bites! The fact that it's also a sunscreen is a huge bonus. And it has no unpleasant smell like most other bug repellants. I would highly recommend this product."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 24 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sudoArt2
By sudoArt2
on August 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By sudoArt2
Location:Tarryal, Coorado
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I love Skin So Soft creme. Covers areas well and I have complete protection from biting flies,mosquitoes and other pesty insects. thank you"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 25 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kept away the biggest bugs!!!
By NissinIndia
on August 6, 2013
About the reviewer
By NissinIndia
Location:New York
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Dry
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"So, this summer, we took our son to India for the first time to visit family. Our wonderful Avon Rep, Marie Di, recommended this product. We bought four bottles for the three of us (2 adults and one child). We put it on in the morning and before bed for 3 weeks. And if we were in a really mosquitoe infested place, we would reapply during the day.
The mosquitoes in India are very problematic. Besides being as big as a house, some also transmit fevers. This lotion was AMAZING!!! We all loved the gentle breeze scent and we were not bitten at all when we used this cream. I remember going to India in the past and being eaten alive. I will never go without this product again! I highly recommend this cream to anyone going to a tropical place because it really works."
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 26 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product and smell good
By Mialine88
on August 4, 2013
About the reviewer
By Mialine88
Location:Miami
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"+++ : This lotion smell good and make your skin really soft
++ : protect it well ! I've nerver got sunburns during my holidays in Florida in July !!!
- : the repellent part of the product is not enough strong for people who are bitten a lot by mosquitos.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 27 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not too greasy
By Sallvie
on August 2, 2013
About the reviewer
By Sallvie
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Went on smooth. After the sun went down I noticed I wasn't being bitten, so the bug repellent lasted a lot longer than I expected."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 28 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
black fly deterent
By sjbc
on July 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By sjbc
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This is the only thing I know that deters Adirondack Black Flies. We use copious amounts around our hairline and ears. Yes, it takes off nail polish, which is worrisome, since we are putting it on our skin, but that is better than black fly bites."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 29 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works well
By dcarnes
on July 31, 2013
About the reviewer
By dcarnes
Location:California
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Used this when I visited my parents in Arkansas in July. I did not get one bug bite! Seems to work great, and I like that it has only a light scent."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 30 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product
By gonnaplotz
on July 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By gonnaplotz
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The Skin-So-Soft Bug Guard Plus is a good product. Upside: Easy to apply. Effective against flying insects. Easy on your skin. Helps protect against sun damage. Reasonable cost. Convenient to use.
Downside: Isn't broad-spectrum UV protection, so if staying out very long, must be used with a broad-spectrum product. Must be reapplied after about 2 hrs, as insect repellent wears off.
Still think it's a good product and I use it during mosquito season successfully.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 31 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marine certified, Marine approved!!
By Dingodawg13
on July 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By Dingodawg13
Location:Seattle
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Before all there was, was Deet and the probability of some form of cancer. Avon comes up with a product that smells good and gets rid of bugs. I have been wearing this product since discovering it back in the late eighties with a bunch of ground pounding grunts in the infantry. On three continents, two in third world countries this product has held its own! Would have never looked your way had it not been for the Marines that used it quite frequently."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 32 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Avon or Deet
By CB59
on July 29, 2013
About the reviewer
By CB59
Location:Cadillac, MI
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I believe the skin so soft bug guard works just as well as any product with 25% Deet. You do not have to worry about absorbing the Deet into your body and you are getting SPF 30 protection from the sun"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 33 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always works
By Ily905
on July 27, 2013
About the reviewer
By Ily905
Location:New York
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've been using this product for 14 years. I travel a lot to the carribbean and they have a lot of Mosquitos and I make sure I have my SSS Bug Guard. It's a great sunscreen as well."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 34 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OFF DOESN'T WORK, SKIN-SO-SOFT DOES
By Sean
on July 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By Sean
Location:NJ shore
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"The white bottle of Skin-So-Soft w/ Bug Guard + Sunblock is my favorite of the green, white, + blue bottles that I bought last summer, because there is no alcohol as with the pump bottle, and most of all - the fragrance is very light and does not overwhelm. I will say that for the green bottle, too - that it also does not overwhelm you. As for effectiveness, when I am working outside, if I miss putting some on my neck yet put it on all the other exposed areas(ARMS, LEG, FACE), I'll notice "wow, I got bit on my neck and nowhere else."
And in high-mosquito marshy neighborhoods where I would get bit 10+ times by mosquitos during a work day without it, I will only get bit once or twice.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 35 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have!
By NanaKathy
on July 19, 2013
About the reviewer
By NanaKathy
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"My husband and I just returned from a mission trip to Honduras. I loaded us up with Avon Bug Guard lotions, sprays and towelettes. Not one bug bite and no sunburns. I ended up sharing our products with the entire team. Wonderful products."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 36 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This really works
By Eatenalivebybugs
on July 18, 2013
About the reviewer
By Eatenalivebybugs
Location:Bentonville, AR
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I've been using this product for several years already and got to depend on it completely!
After I apply the lotion on myself, I can spend all day outdoors and not get bitten at all. It's pleasant and easy to apply to most of the vulnerable body parts.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 37 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable Product
By Golfman
on July 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By Golfman
Location:Lake of the Ozarks
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"This product performs wonderfully. It keeps the bugs away and the Sun from burning your skin. I use it every time I will be out doors playing golf, boating, hiking, etc. You do have to put up with an oily feeling but to me it is worth it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 38 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It's not worth the price
By texaspuppy
on July 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By texaspuppy
Location:Paducah, KY
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"It's overpriced, greasy and does not repel any bugs. But it smells good."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 39 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus/SPF 30
By Jaydee
on July 17, 2013
About the reviewer
By Jaydee
Location:Maryland
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"We absolutely love this sunscreen with built in bug repellent. One of our children is allergic to all sunscreens except this one and it is a bonus that there is a bug repellent in it. This product also repels mosquitoes and protects us from all sorts of bug bites. We buy it 4 or more bottles at a time as our whole family uses it! The scent is light enough that we don't smell like sunscreen or bug repellent all day. We highly recommend it."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 40 for Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this stuff
By Crystal1
on July 16, 2013
About the reviewer
By Crystal1
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I live in northern Michigan. This is the best sunscreen to protect from sun and bugs. Also swimmers itch. Helps keep my skin soft too and smells nice."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>