Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Avon
Shop insect repellents or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion

Effectively repels mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. PABA-free. Nongreasy. With vitamin E and aloe. 4 fl. oz. Read and follow label directions and precautions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (252 reviews)
5 stars
212
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
8
236 of 252(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Review 21 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcarnes
Location:California
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
works well
Date:July 31, 2013
"Used this when I visited my parents in Arkansas in July. I did not get one bug bite! Seems to work great, and I like that it has only a light scent."
Review 22 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gonnaplotz
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Good Product
Date:July 30, 2013
"The Skin-So-Soft Bug Guard Plus is a good product. Upside: Easy to apply. Effective against flying insects. Easy on your skin. Helps protect against sun damage. Reasonable cost. Convenient to use.
Downside: Isn't broad-spectrum UV protection, so if staying out very long, must be used with a broad-spectrum product. Must be reapplied after about 2 hrs, as insect repellent wears off.
Still think it's a good product and I use it during mosquito season successfully.
"
Review 23 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dingodawg13
Location:Seattle
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Marine certified, Marine approved!!
Date:July 30, 2013
"Before all there was, was Deet and the probability of some form of cancer. Avon comes up with a product that smells good and gets rid of bugs. I have been wearing this product since discovering it back in the late eighties with a bunch of ground pounding grunts in the infantry. On three continents, two in third world countries this product has held its own! Would have never looked your way had it not been for the Marines that used it quite frequently."
Review 24 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CB59
Location:Cadillac, MI
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Avon or Deet
Date:July 29, 2013
"I believe the skin so soft bug guard works just as well as any product with 25% Deet. You do not have to worry about absorbing the Deet into your body and you are getting SPF 30 protection from the sun"
Review 25 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ily905
Location:New York
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
Always works
Date:July 27, 2013
"I've been using this product for 14 years. I travel a lot to the carribbean and they have a lot of Mosquitos and I make sure I have my SSS Bug Guard. It's a great sunscreen as well."
Review 26 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sean
Location:NJ shore
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
OFF DOESN'T WORK, SKIN-SO-SOFT DOES
Date:July 21, 2013
"The white bottle of Skin-So-Soft w/ Bug Guard + Sunblock is my favorite of the green, white, + blue bottles that I bought last summer, because there is no alcohol as with the pump bottle, and most of all - the fragrance is very light and does not overwhelm. I will say that for the green bottle, too - that it also does not overwhelm you. As for effectiveness, when I am working outside, if I miss putting some on my neck yet put it on all the other exposed areas(ARMS, LEG, FACE), I'll notice "wow, I got bit on my neck and nowhere else."
And in high-mosquito marshy neighborhoods where I would get bit 10+ times by mosquitos during a work day without it, I will only get bit once or twice.
"
Review 27 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NanaKathy
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
A must have!
Date:July 19, 2013
"My husband and I just returned from a mission trip to Honduras. I loaded us up with Avon Bug Guard lotions, sprays and towelettes. Not one bug bite and no sunburns. I ended up sharing our products with the entire team. Wonderful products."
Review 28 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eatenalivebybugs
Location:Bentonville, AR
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
This really works
Date:July 18, 2013
"I've been using this product for several years already and got to depend on it completely!
After I apply the lotion on myself, I can spend all day outdoors and not get bitten at all. It's pleasant and easy to apply to most of the vulnerable body parts.
"
Review 29 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Golfman
Location:Lake of the Ozarks
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Reliable Product
Date:July 17, 2013
"This product performs wonderfully. It keeps the bugs away and the Sun from burning your skin. I use it every time I will be out doors playing golf, boating, hiking, etc. You do have to put up with an oily feeling but to me it is worth it."
Review 30 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
texaspuppy
Location:Paducah, KY
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Dry
It's not worth the price
Date:July 17, 2013
"It's overpriced, greasy and does not repel any bugs. But it smells good."
Review 31 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jaydee
Location:Maryland
Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus/SPF 30
Date:July 17, 2013
"We absolutely love this sunscreen with built in bug repellent. One of our children is allergic to all sunscreens except this one and it is a bonus that there is a bug repellent in it. This product also repels mosquitoes and protects us from all sorts of bug bites. We buy it 4 or more bottles at a time as our whole family uses it! The scent is light enough that we don't smell like sunscreen or bug repellent all day. We highly recommend it."
Review 32 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crystal1
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
I love this stuff
Date:July 16, 2013
"I live in northern Michigan. This is the best sunscreen to protect from sun and bugs. Also swimmers itch. Helps keep my skin soft too and smells nice."
Review 33 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susielouwho
Love this product
Date:July 13, 2013
"I really like this product!. The mosquitos are terrible in Florida and it works really well for that and as a sunscreen. I wish it came in an spf 15 though."
Review 34 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SARS
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
Great product for Sensitive Skin
Date:July 11, 2013
"My son has extremely sensitive skin. Almost all sunscreen, even the ones recommended by derms and peds, create rashes or splotches after an hour after they are put on.
Avon's Skin so Soft does its job AND leaves my son's skin flawless! This is the first sunscreen that actually does not cause his skin to rash.
The reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because it has fragrance in it. The smell is pleasant but unnecessary. I don't like putting "fragrance" on my toddler but since this is the only sunscreen that works with his sensitive skin I'll have to deal with it for the season."
Review 35 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janniebug
Location:Doerun Ga
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Best Ever
Date:July 11, 2013
"This product is the best, not only it has a sunblock, but also repels insects. I would recommend this to everyone who loves the out doors."
Review 36 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rias
wonderful
Date:July 11, 2013
"went to Jekyll Island Ga. It was recommended by friends to use skin so soft to guard off the mosquitoes. Wow did it work. Very pleased with product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wolfette
NO DEET
Date:July 11, 2013
"About the most effective bug repellant I've ever used that doesn't involve DEET, with the added bonus of also having a sunscreen in the mix."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sueofgenerations
Location:Linn, Missouri
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
Skin-So-Soft Bug Guard Plus
Date:July 8, 2013
"I love this product. I have used it for 2 weeks after arriving in Missouri. No mosquito bites."
Review 39 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nicole24
Location:Seattle, wa
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
Love it!
Date:June 30, 2013
"This product is amazing. I used it in central america where Mosquitos and sand fleas are everywhere. It was perfect during the day and kept them away. I got a couple bites during my 8 day stay but my friends had so many. I will bring this whenever I travel!"
Review 40 for SKIN SO SOFT Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Gentle Breeze SPF 30 Lotion
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Storm1952
Location:Maryland
AVON Online Store shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
BUGS BE GONE
Date:June 28, 2013
"I buy this product every year before the summer starts; it is much better than the skin so soft oil or spray; when it come to fighting off mosquitoes it protects the skin from the sun, it also still works even after you go for a swim. This product is like a lotion and a sun screen, which is good for the bugs and the sun."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.